126 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.16

MrAkay
post Aug 21 2012, 02:13 AM

440 posts

hey guys, say i wanted to buy a think thank bag. which shop should i go? i thinking of the speed convertables or the retrospective but i want to see in front of my face before first to make sure. any suggestions?

wops nvm, found it smile.gif

This post has been edited by MrAkay: Aug 21 2012, 03:17 AM
slimfox
post Aug 21 2012, 09:47 AM

392 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 20 2012, 02:44 PM)
3D tracking doesn't work well with D5100 with only 11 points, too little AF points across the screen, you are better off with auto area or single area AF-C
What happens if the target stays in the AF points? It should be in focus then right?
ruxyn_tang
post Aug 21 2012, 10:34 AM

218 posts

I'm using D5100 with 35mm 1.8G / 18-55mm. I'm looking to get an external flash. Yongnuo or Nissin? Due to tight budget so I'm opting for 3rd party one. Anyone can recommend? Thanks in advance. smile.gif
mmohdnor
post Aug 21 2012, 10:49 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(ruxyn_tang @ Aug 21 2012, 10:34 AM)
I'm using D5100 with 35mm 1.8G / 18-55mm. I'm looking to get an external flash. Yongnuo or Nissin? Due to tight budget so I'm opting for 3rd party one. Anyone can recommend? Thanks in advance. smile.gif
nissin di622mII (TTL) or yongnuo yn-565ex (TTL) these two should be good and cheap'er' than nikon speedlites. smile.gif
alpha001
post Aug 21 2012, 10:51 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Aug 21 2012, 11:49 AM)
nissin di622mII (TTL) or yongnuo yn-565ex (TTL) these two should be good and cheap'er' than nikon speedlites. smile.gif
how much cost each hmm.gif
mmohdnor
post Aug 21 2012, 10:54 AM

1,021 posts

bought my DI622MII for rm460 ...
For yongnuo's around the same price. I sold my 565EX units for rm440 recently, but now I don't have anymore stock for 565EX.
amduser
post Aug 21 2012, 12:36 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(slimfox @ Aug 21 2012, 09:47 AM)
What happens if the target stays in the AF points? It should be in focus then right?
depends...

when you half press shutter button you see the red dot blinking, that's the point it will focus and 3D tracking use motion tracking to track the subject, if it detect the subject is moving it will move the tracking point forward and if your subject suddenly stop moving it might not be able to focus sometime, that's what i found out when i shoot motorsport last time

i also found that AF-C on our camera doesn't work well with subject moving towards our camera but works better for left right and up down panning, and 3D tracking AF-C check for focus every few millisecond which i find not very good for me so i normally use single point or auto area

if you are moving yourself with your subject then better use single point AF-C
akira87
post Aug 21 2012, 12:51 PM

Weeeee~
779 posts

Seeing all those jargon in this thread make me feel dizzy. Obviously i have much to learn...

Anyway, next month i have to shoot a group photo of 150+ person in broad daylight (2pm) for a golf tournament. I most probably gonna climb up a tall ladder to take the shot.

What is the best setting to use? Sorry im a noob, forced by my boss to be a part time photographer for the company T_T
aldosoesilo
post Aug 21 2012, 01:03 PM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

QUOTE(ruxyn_tang @ Aug 21 2012, 10:34 AM)
I played with nissin, the TTL performance let me down.
so recently I just get myself a Nikon's brows.gif
slimfox
post Aug 21 2012, 01:59 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 21 2012, 12:36 PM)
depends...

when you half press shutter button you see the red dot blinking, that's the point it will focus and 3D tracking use motion tracking to track the subject, if it detect the subject is moving it will move the tracking point forward and if your subject suddenly stop moving it might not be able to focus sometime, that's what i found out when i shoot motorsport last time

i also found that AF-C on our camera doesn't work well with subject moving towards our camera but works better for left right and up down panning, and 3D tracking AF-C check for focus every few millisecond which i find not very good for me so i normally use single point or auto area

if you are moving yourself with your subject then better use single point AF-C
Usually I use AF-S single point. Was just trying out AF-C with 3D just to test the other day. Guess you can't expect much for a basic DSLR. AF-S single point makes great pictures BTW.

Thanks for explaining, I had the impression I had to take the camera in for servicing (looking at the results).
Agito666
post Aug 21 2012, 02:18 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Aug 20 2012, 05:41 PM)
Nice pictures like always!

Keep it up bro!! Must really learn from you wink.gif
learn how to get a nice chick ? brows.gif
amduser
post Aug 21 2012, 02:53 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(slimfox @ Aug 21 2012, 01:59 PM)
Usually I use AF-S single point. Was just trying out AF-C with 3D just to test the other day. Guess you can't expect much for a basic DSLR. AF-S single point makes great pictures BTW.

Thanks for explaining, I had the impression I had to take the camera in for servicing (looking at the results).
AF-S is the best for still life, events and portrait, i use AF-C for sports and panning only

you might need to change the AF-C priority selection to focus if you are on release mode, focus priority the camera will make sure it is in focus before taking the shoots while release mode the camera will take the shoot no matter it is in focus or while it is focusing
ruxyn_tang
post Aug 21 2012, 05:14 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Aug 21 2012, 10:49 AM)
I see. comparing Nissin di622mII would SB600 would be better tho?

Added on August 21, 2012, 5:15 pm
QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Aug 21 2012, 01:03 PM)
I played with nissin, the TTL performance let me down.
so recently I just get myself a Nikon's  brows.gif
Which speedlight?

This post has been edited by ruxyn_tang: Aug 21 2012, 05:15 PM
mmohdnor
post Aug 21 2012, 05:41 PM

1,021 posts

feature + consistency wise, SB600 (or any nikon speedlites) is of coz better lor ... power wise the nissin and yongnuo is actually equally powered or more than SB600 (the guide number and real life power output, this is from what reviews I read). You can check some reviews at http://speedlights.net/

If u can push a bit more on the budget, SB600/700 is a good choice. One time kawtim. But if budget is a constraint, nissin or yongnuo is not bad for the price. smile.gif
Agito666
post Aug 21 2012, 05:58 PM

11,861 posts

take my DSLR to exercise, spam time tongue.gif

here is the UC RG MS height comparison tongue.gif

DSC_8058 by Agito666, on Flickr

piscesguy
post Aug 21 2012, 06:42 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

Cute Girl at CEX 2012. tongue.gif
slimfox
post Aug 21 2012, 07:15 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 21 2012, 02:53 PM)
AF-S is the best for still life, events and portrait, i use AF-C for sports and panning only

you might need to change the AF-C priority selection to focus if you are on release mode, focus priority the camera will make sure it is in focus before taking the shoots while release mode the camera will take the shoot no matter it is in focus or while it is focusing
Thanks I will go and check this later.
amduser
post Aug 21 2012, 07:51 PM

5,542 posts

my house humidity level has reached 83% because of the weather, hope my lens dont get fungus soon shocking.gif

tomorrow has to sunbath them already
Agito666
post Aug 21 2012, 08:01 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 21 2012, 07:51 PM)
my house humidity level has reached 83% because of the weather, hope my lens dont get fungus soon shocking.gif

tomorrow has to sunbath them already
how you know humidity level shocking.gif
amduser
post Aug 21 2012, 08:08 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 21 2012, 08:01 PM)
how you know humidity level  shocking.gif
get the humidity meter from daiso for RM5 tongue.gif

but not sure is accurate or not

126 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top