QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Jan 3 2013, 07:23 PM)
How do you hook to LTE Network?I tried on my modem always got "Registration Failed"
(True 4G) LTE 100-150Mbps 2013-2014 Malaysia V1, LTE is going to replace 3G in future
Jan 3 2013, 07:38 PM
373 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Nilai, N9 |
Jan 3 2013, 07:44 PM
2,094 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Jan 3 2013, 07:45 PM
166 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(alf233 @ Jan 3 2013, 12:09 PM) hahaha.. but they (internet provider) are shouting to their paying customers and potential customers that they are ready with LTE.. but until today still no announcement? And when they finally do roll out LTE... the speed will be "with a Likely Average Speed of (gasp, drumroll) 1Mbps..." 1. Upgrading to LTE ready equipment since Dec 2011 http://www.digi.com.my/tomorrownetwork/ 2. Gearing up to be this first to launch LTE in Asia (when there are already many LTE networks in Asia) http://www.malaysianwireless.com/2012/10/d...-first-in-asia/ 3. 50% of their network is LTE ready http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...ness%2F12126988 Added on January 3, 2013, 7:46 pm QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Jan 3 2013, 07:23 PM) I wonder when this will be available in Penang...This post has been edited by xelamil: Jan 3 2013, 07:46 PM |
Jan 3 2013, 08:12 PM
2,094 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(xelamil @ Jan 3 2013, 07:45 PM) And when they finally do roll out LTE... the speed will be "with a Likely Average Speed of (gasp, drumroll) 1Mbps..." Hahahaha, not that bad lar....maybe around 10-30Mbps?Added on January 3, 2013, 7:46 pm I wonder when this will be available in Penang... If the speed for LTE is only 1Mbps, I suggest you sue the telco provider and make big hu ha about it. |
Jan 3 2013, 08:26 PM
8,416 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Jan 3 2013, 08:12 PM) Hahahaha, not that bad lar....maybe around 10-30Mbps? Guess I should sue themIf the speed for LTE is only 1Mbps, I suggest you sue the telco provider and make big hu ha about it. ![]() Complained and waited for more than 6 months all giving excuses Planning to wait for the last time until Maxis last promise is to solve it by the end of January Note, this is DC-HSPA+ This post has been edited by blacktubi: Jan 3 2013, 08:27 PM |
Jan 3 2013, 08:30 PM
132 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 3 2013, 08:26 PM) Guess I should sue them report skmm first, if not solved then tribunal pengguna, f still not solve then only get a good lawyer and sue them ![]() Complained and waited for more than 6 months all giving excuses Planning to wait for the last time until Maxis last promise is to solve it by the end of January Note, this is DC-HSPA+ |
Jan 3 2013, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(alf233 @ Jan 3 2013, 08:30 PM) report skmm first, if not solved then tribunal pengguna, f still not solve then only get a good lawyer and sue them SKMM = CheckCfm = Check Case closed with remarks Maxis will resolve the issue with our clients. Maxis someone like an engineer told me the amount of upgrade is limited Only solution is to build a new tower to distribute the load, I am so frustrated and decided stop arguing. Just wondering if pushing more bandwidth and backhaul to a tower should help right I guess Maxis is not committed to handling this complaint at all |
Jan 3 2013, 08:53 PM
394 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Jan 3 2013, 07:44 PM) I'm working in the telco industry and was physically just right beside the transmission site moments ago.... :-) do you know the schedule for LTE? and does we need to terminate and subscribe another package too use LTE? hope u can answer this as many people also want to ask this question |
Jan 3 2013, 09:53 PM
222 posts Joined: Nov 2012 From: Milky Way |
Jan 3 2013, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 3 2013, 08:41 PM) SKMM = Check wow.. you have actually done that.. you must be really frustrated then..Cfm = Check Case closed with remarks Maxis will resolve the issue with our clients. Maxis someone like an engineer told me the amount of upgrade is limited Only solution is to build a new tower to distribute the load, I am so frustrated and decided stop arguing. Just wondering if pushing more bandwidth and backhaul to a tower should help right I guess Maxis is not committed to handling this complaint at all there are basically 2 types of congestions: 1. the backhaul is sufficient but there are too many users. example tower is dc hspa+ (42Mbps) and backhaul is also 42Mbps. but bandwidth is shared by too many users, hence congested 2. backhaul is shared for several sites and not enough to sufficiently provide bandwidth to a site. example although the tower can give you 42Mbps, but backhaul is only 10Mbps pushing more bandwidth will only solve number 2.. and technically its really challenging to add tower to a place that already has coverage because this will create huge interference.. Added on January 3, 2013, 10:19 pm QUOTE(wavezard @ Jan 3 2013, 08:53 PM) do you know the schedule for LTE? maxis: according to their lte video, main cities and will be expanded in stagesand does we need to terminate and subscribe another package too use LTE? hope u can answer this as many people also want to ask this question celcom: the schedule available on their web digi: as claimed in one of their press releases, 50% coverage.. and thats a lot.. if u live in city/town i'm sure your area will be within 50% your 2nd question: working in telco industry doesnt mean we know everything. i myself working in telco industry on technical side and deal with lte almost everyday, but dont really know how is it going to be sold (marketing stuff) however i know the technical stuff of lte pretty well and happy to share it here This post has been edited by alf233: Jan 3 2013, 10:19 PM |
Jan 3 2013, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(alf233 @ Jan 3 2013, 10:10 PM) wow.. you have actually done that.. you must be really frustrated then.. Looks like my problem is so severe there are basically 2 types of congestions: 1. the backhaul is sufficient but there are too many users. example tower is dc hspa+ (42Mbps) and backhaul is also 42Mbps. but bandwidth is shared by too many users, hence congested 2. backhaul is shared for several sites and not enough to sufficiently provide bandwidth to a site. example although the tower can give you 42Mbps, but backhaul is only 10Mbps pushing more bandwidth will only solve number 2.. and technically its really challenging to add tower to a place that already has coverage because this will create huge interference.. This is what they told me, I don't actually understand. They even know their site is congested. Hope you can help if you understand these |
Jan 3 2013, 10:32 PM
166 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Jan 3 2013, 08:12 PM) Hahahaha, not that bad lar....maybe around 10-30Mbps? I can hope it's not so bad...If the speed for LTE is only 1Mbps, I suggest you sue the telco provider and make big hu ha about it. But then, a certain WiMax provider also started claiming 4G... with up to 1Mbps download speed... At the minimum, those claiming 4G, should have decency to provide minimum better than average of HSPA+ Added on January 3, 2013, 10:39 pm QUOTE(alf233 @ Jan 3 2013, 10:10 PM) Aiks... Penang tak de...This post has been edited by xelamil: Jan 3 2013, 10:39 PM |
Jan 3 2013, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(xelamil @ Jan 3 2013, 10:32 PM) I can hope it's not so bad... WiMAX is 4G, as defined by ITU (international telecommunications union). Literally 4G can be using either WiMAX or LTE technologyBut then, a certain WiMax provider also started claiming 4G... with up to 1Mbps download speed... At the minimum, those claiming 4G, should have decency to provide minimum better than average of HSPA+ |
Jan 3 2013, 10:50 PM
82 posts Joined: Aug 2011 From: Kg. Buah Pala |
QUOTE(alf233 @ Dec 31 2012, 05:57 PM) 2 things you forgot (or probably you dont know): 1. DL & UL have different spectral efficiency.. DL can do MIMO spatial multiplexing and 64QAM, whereas UL can only do 1 stream and 16QAM. And because of this difference, the capacity of DL & UL in FDD will never be symmetrical (as what you claim). What I meant by spectral efficiency is "DL Spectral efficiency in LTE" and "UL Spectral efficiency in LTE". So if you compare DL spectral efficiency of TD-LTE & FDD, they are of course the same. Try answer this (any Telco RF engineer can sure work this out very easily): How many bits can be transmitted in a subcarrier in (i) TD-LTE (ii) FDD LTE for DL? The answer is the same for both. And same goes for the UL. Do you understand what is spectral efficiency now? Number of bits per Hertz. I guess you get confused with spectral efficiency and capacity. Did you intentionally left out the total number of subcarriers in regards of spectrum width, mind you without that you can't calculate the maximum throughput? You forgot the fact that the total number of subcarriers are different in 2X10MHz versus 1X20MHz setups? When you do the calculation of radio resources to bits conversion, of course they are similar but it has of no interests to network operators. The spectral efficiency which you argued on has nothing more than the technical meaning of bits conversion related to RF than efficient use spectrum for service deployments. The spectrum argument has been dead since voice became purely packet switched. Pure data players such as YES, P1, Clearwire, Vivid Wireless and others who provide mobile broadband players hardly see any advantages from using FDD.It is also natural for WIMAx operators to take this route for their next upgrade since WIMAx is also based on TDD. There is no urgent need for them prioritized QoS for voice services. HD Voice is packet based which can be handled with upper layers. If they need, there is the 3G networks to fall back on for pay per minute calls. QUOTE(alf233 @ Dec 31 2012, 05:57 PM) 2. True that TD is flexible, but you can't really have a different TD configuration (ratio) in an area, that will cause massive interference. So you'll have to stick to only 1 configuration, and if you want to change it, you will need to change in the whole network. You can have different TD configurations but you will need border in between the network area, e.g. TDD mode 1 in west Malaysia and TDD mode 2 in east Malaysia. You probably haven't come across this? Of course you can't use the same strategy as FDD with TDD. But I see you lack the experience and knowledge in deploying your products in real commercial situations. TDD excels in urbanized setups and indoor coverages where you have isolated hotspots that hardly overlaps with other microcells footprints.Take Softbank's Wireless City Planning Project for Metropolitan Tokyo. The number of microcells they'll deploy is about 150 units per sq km all of them with just about the size of a shoebox.Dark fibre is plentiful in metropolitan Tokyo for backhaul. Each "shoebox" will be pumped with 10GE access to a centralised local exchange office which synchronizes time for all of them.So what's your problem with inteferences? Moreover (if you don't know) the sales of LTE microcells is expected to dominate and surpass macro base stations by 2014. It'll expect to make up 90% of all base stations by 2016. DC-HSPA+ will continue to serve greater areas outside the cities, while wifi hotspots will offload data in public areas. QUOTE(alf233 @ Dec 31 2012, 05:57 PM) Let me guess, your resource and reference on LTE is only google, thats why your knowledge is so limited? I'm sharing with you what I've compiled from 3GPP specs the peak speed (MAC layer) of FDD and all configurations of TDD below. All are using total of 20MHz. Hope this is enough to open your mind a bit. I can also tell you which TDD mode is widely used, what makes their peak speed difference if you are interested to know. I can even share with you how to find 3GPP specs, if you dont know how to find them. I've not told you this until now but FYI, I've been a registered member with ETSI since the REL99 days, company forced me to do it upon joining. I'll wouldn't suggest engineers to concentrate reading up those specs without proper exposure and touching knowledge materials supplied by their companies research depts. Without proper guidance and hands-on from seniors or trainers, the contents are gibberish even to most engineers out there. They make good references for facts finding but not cookbooks.QUOTE(alf233 @ Dec 31 2012, 05:57 PM) If you compare FDD 2x10MHz with TDD 1x20MHz Mode 1 (which divides the resource equally for DL & UL just like FDD), can you see that FDD gives more capacity? Do you know why? I can help to explain if you're interested to know more about resource allocation in LTE Answer: FDD 2x10MHz DL 75.4Mbps UL 25.1Mbps TDD 1x20MHz Mode 0 DL 38.3Mbps UL 29.5Mbps TDD 1x20MHz Mode 1 DL 69.4Mbps UL 19.9Mbps TDD 1x20MHz Mode 2 DL 95.6Mbps UL 9.9Mbps TDD 1x20MHz Mode 3 DL 95.6Mbps UL 14.9Mbps TDD 1x20MHz Mode 4 DL 112.3Mbps UL 9.9Mbps TDD 1x20MHz Mode 5 DL 125.5Mbps UL 5.4Mbps TDD 1x20MHz Mode 1 DL 53.8Mbps UL 24.7Mbps You hid the fact that 75mbps can only be achieved by TDD-LTE if there's only a single user occupying the whole subcarrier for himself. In a multi user environment that contends, TDD mode's wider lanes will be at advantage. The challenge for throughput is to send as much data over the link with the fixed amount of time. It's true that in a single user environment where one gets to download continuously over a subcarrier for a longer period of time FDD achieves greater transfer speeds but if assuming you have a competition where who gets to paint a larger overall portion of the road, TDD can have just as much covered with higher capacity making up for it.Try benchmarking TDD with more users contending with downloads at the same time, real world condition speeds will drop considerably. One proof I will show you is from a presentation given by a Korean working with NSN, unless he's trying to pull off a lie with the crowd, the results are contrasting compared to the theoretical maximum thoughput which you took from your 3GPP specs boldly. Not that it did indicate any caveat emptor when quoting them. Did they specifically mentioned the conditions when they conducted the tests? Do you now know why I only refer to specs for referencing?They don't tell best practices. ![]() In fact if they have extra spectrum to spare, just like in the case of Clearwire acquisition, Softbank intends to use full 40MHz and give speeds of upto 4-5 times that of what those FDD networks Verizon and ATT are doing.On top of that they can even provide unlimited quotas with the added capacity which none of the 2 FDD players can ever dare commit. |
Jan 3 2013, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 3 2013, 10:24 PM) Looks like my problem is so severe I guess you're getting good signal but couldnt get good speed?This is what they told me, I don't actually understand. They even know their site is congested. Hope you can help if you understand these A friend in Maxis told me that Maxis will usually upgrade their network in stages everytime there is a congestion until they cannot upgrade anymore. If that's what Maxis engineer told you, your area must be really congested that they cannot upgrade anymore. Building new tower is the easiest solution as it will relieve the congestion by segregating the users but this is technically very challenging.. I'm sure they would have done that if possible Hope LTE will come to your area soon and will relieve the congestions there. If that still doesnt solve your problem, then I'd highly recommend you to get fixed broadband (Unifi or Maxis fiber or time.com) which at least guarantees the speed |
Jan 3 2013, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(alf233 @ Jan 3 2013, 10:45 PM) WiMAX is 4G, as defined by ITU (international telecommunications union). Literally 4G can be using either WiMAX or LTE technology Most WIMAX chipset manufacturers are moving into the TD-LTE camp since both technologies are similarly related.Inefficient and corrupted governments love playing spectrum auctioning games.They are auctioning little blocks of them everywhere telling people they are scarce and pricing them at exceptional high costs. As an end result, the move is actually to deter competition from smaller players from entering the next generation game. In the case of USA, the ones who can only afford most of the blocks auctioned are the 2 monopoly giants which are Verizon and AT&T. Don't you see they are continuing their monopoly practices because only the big guns are the only ones who can afford the purchases? Similarly in Malaysia, the joint team ups are only benefiting the big players such as TM and Maxis. Eventually the smaller players such as P1 will have to end up being absorbed and merged itself into the giants or be eliminated. They are singulating out companies which they only have interests in and make them payback for the continuation of their monopoly tactics.Cronies get themselves with money acquired from licensing and at the same time maintain their monopoly. Some way or another you will be able to find that people who sits in the FCC or communication commisions have their interests in the giant monopolistic telcos. |
Jan 3 2013, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Jan 3 2013, 10:50 PM) Answer: Let me guess.. You are an old WiMAX engineer working with NSN? Did you intentionally left out the total number of subcarriers in regards of spectrum width, mind you without that you can't calculate the maximum throughput? You forgot the fact that the total number of subcarriers are different in 2X10MHz versus 1X20MHz setups? When you do the calculation of radio resources to bits conversion, of course they are similar but it has of no interests to network operators. The spectral efficiency which you argued on has nothing more than the technical meaning of bits conversion related to RF than efficient use spectrum for service deployments. The spectrum argument has been dead since voice became purely packet switched. Pure data players such as YES, P1, Clearwire, Vivid Wireless and others who provide mobile broadband players hardly see any advantages from using FDD.It is also natural for WIMAx operators to take this route for their next upgrade since WIMAx is also based on TDD. There is no urgent need for them prioritized QoS for voice services. HD Voice is packet based which can be handled with upper layers. If they need, there is the 3G networks to fall back on for pay per minute calls. Of course you can't use the same strategy as FDD with TDD. But I see you lack the experience and knowledge in deploying your products in real commercial situations. TDD excels in urbanized setups and indoor coverages where you have isolated hotspots that hardly overlaps with other microcells footprints.Take Softbank's Wireless City Planning Project for Metropolitan Tokyo. The number of microcells they'll deploy is about 150 units per sq km all of them with just about the size of a shoebox.Dark fibre is plentiful in metropolitan Tokyo for backhaul. Each "shoebox" will be pumped with 10GE access to a centralised local exchange office which synchronizes time for all of them.So what's your problem with inteferences? Moreover (if you don't know) the sales of LTE microcells is expected to dominate and surpass macro base stations by 2014. It'll expect to make up 90% of all base stations by 2016. DC-HSPA+ will continue to serve greater areas outside the cities, while wifi hotspots will offload data in public areas. I've not told you this until now but FYI, I've been a registered member with ETSI since the REL99 days, company forced me to do it upon joining. I'll wouldn't suggest engineers to concentrate reading up those specs without proper exposure and touching knowledge materials supplied by their companies research depts. Without proper guidance and hands-on from seniors or trainers, the contents are gibberish even to most engineers out there. They make good references for facts finding but not cookbooks. Answer: You hid the fact that 75mbps can only be achieved by TDD-LTE if there's only a single user occupying the whole subcarrier for himself. In a multi user environment that contends, TDD mode's wider lanes will be at advantage. The challenge for throughput is to send as much data over the link with the fixed amount of time. It's true that in a single user environment where one gets to download continuously over a subcarrier for a longer period of time FDD achieves greater transfer speeds but if assuming you have a competition where who gets to paint a larger overall portion of the road, TDD can have just as much covered with higher capacity making up for it.Try benchmarking TDD with more users contending with downloads at the same time, real world condition speeds will drop considerably. One proof I will show you is from a presentation given by a Korean working with NSN, unless he's trying to pull off a lie with the crowd, the results are contrasting compared to the theoretical maximum thoughput which you took from your 3GPP specs boldly. Not that it did indicate any caveat emptor when quoting them. Did they specifically mentioned the conditions when they conducted the tests? Do you now know why I only refer to specs for referencing?They don't tell best practices. ![]() In fact if they have extra spectrum to spare, just like in the case of Clearwire acquisition, Softbank intends to use full 40MHz and give speeds of upto 4-5 times that of what those FDD networks Verizon and ATT are doing.On top of that they can even provide unlimited quotas with the added capacity which none of the 2 FDD players can ever dare commit. Hang on, isn't this an LTE thread, why there is a WiMAX stuff here? I guess maybe you should start a new thred on WiMAX vs LTE then i won't bother to argue with your closed mind.. To be honest i didn't even bother reading everything that you wrote, your mind is really sealed with one technology. No point for further discussion/argument. Like I told you before, I'm open to any technology and nuetral whether its FDD or TD LTE... Lets just wait and see which one (FDD LTE or TD LTE) will be the choice of Malaysia users. Well at least we know already FDD LTE is more commonly deployed worldwide.. No WiMAX please or open new thread I forgot one thing, you were saying FDD vs TD are because of political issues west vs east... Looks like your exposure on LTE is not really enough.. Dont you know that all LTE vendors.. I repeat all, from west (NSN, ALU, Ericsson) and from east (Huawei, ZTE, Samsung, NEC) have both FDD LTE and TD LTE solutions? Ok you didnt know this, well at least you should thank me for telling you this good piece of information This post has been edited by alf233: Jan 3 2013, 11:15 PM |
Jan 3 2013, 11:13 PM
Here some good news. Just yesterday SKMM had just announced that they'll be refarming the 800MHz trunk radio bands.
A total of some 30MHz blocks will be released. On sidenote, there's an emerging 700MHz block(Band 44) that the Asia Pacific Telecommunity is planning for future TD-LTE use. Although Malaysia is leaving this out for their digital terrestrial Tv services, neighbouring countries such as Australia, Japan, Korea, Papua New Guinea, New Zealand, Mexico, Taiwan, India, Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam have shown support and interest leaving Malaysia out. Link source: www.apt.int/sites/default/files/Upload-files/SATRC/SAPIV-WGS01-INP-08_700_MHz_Band_Plan.pdf Added on January 3, 2013, 11:18 pmHere some good news. Just yesterday SKMM had just announced that they'll be refarming the 800MHz trunk radio bands. A total of some 30MHz blocks will be released. On sidenote, there's an emerging 700MHz block(Band 44) that the Asia Pacific Telecommunity is planning for future TD-LTE use. Although Malaysia is leaving this out for their digital terrestrial Tv services, neighbouring countries such as Australia, Japan, Korea, Papua New Guinea, New Zealand, Mexico, Taiwan, India, Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam have shown support and interest leaving Malaysia out. Link source: www.apt.int/sites/default/files/Upload-files/SATRC/SAPIV-WGS01-INP-08_700_MHz_Band_Plan.pdf This post has been edited by Ahn3hn3h: Jan 3 2013, 11:18 PM |
Jan 3 2013, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Jan 3 2013, 11:01 PM) Most WIMAX chipset manufacturers are moving into the TD-LTE camp since both technologies are similarly related. We have SPRM / MACC / PDRM special branch / FBI in the house!!!!Inefficient and corrupted governments love playing spectrum auctioning games.They are auctioning little blocks of them everywhere telling people they are scarce and pricing them at exceptional high costs. As an end result, the move is actually to deter competition from smaller players from entering the next generation game. In the case of USA, the ones who can only afford most of the blocks auctioned are the 2 monopoly giants which are Verizon and AT&T. Don't you see they are continuing their monopoly practices because only the big guns are the only ones who can afford the purchases? Similarly in Malaysia, the joint team ups are only benefiting the big players such as TM and Maxis. Eventually the smaller players such as P1 will have to end up being absorbed and merged itself into the giants or be eliminated. They are singulating out companies which they only have interests in and make them payback for the continuation of their monopoly tactics.Cronies get themselves with money acquired from licensing and at the same time maintain their monopoly. Some way or another you will be able to find that people who sits in the FCC or communication commisions have their interests in the giant monopolistic telcos. |
Jan 3 2013, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(alf233 @ Jan 3 2013, 11:11 PM) Let me guess.. You are an old WiMAX engineer working with NSN? You do too much of guessing la bro and you're always welcome to join us since we've a much brighter and prospectful future path.Hang on, isn't this an LTE thread, why there is a WiMAX stuff here? I guess maybe you should start a new thred on WiMAX vs LTE then i won't bother to argue with your closed mind.. To be honest i didn't even bother reading everything that you wrote, your mind is really sealed with one technology. No point for further discussion/argument. Like I told you before, I'm open to any technology and nuetral whether its FDD or TD LTE... Lets just wait and see which one (FDD LTE or TD LTE) will be the choice of Malaysia users. Well at least we know already FDD LTE is more commonly deployed worldwide.. No WiMAX please or open new thread I forgot one thing, you were saying FDD vs TD are because of political issues west vs east... Looks like your exposure on LTE is not really enough.. Dont you know that all LTE vendors.. I repeat all, from west (NSN, ALU, Ericsson) and from east (Huawei, ZTE, Samsung, NEC) have both FDD LTE and TD LTE solutions? Ok you didnt know this, well at least you should thank me for telling you this good piece of information No doubt it's still new but you know, WIMAX2 might absorb many of the good elements of its TD-LTE cousin and evolve into something far better. Mobile networks are fast evolving into pure data packet switching. Back when TD-LTE was still in its infant stage, labs that wanted to compare FDD-LTE equipments used WIMAX for spectrum efficiency benchmarks. It was the next closest cousin to TD-LTE. |
| Change to: | 0.0279sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:29 AM |