7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

V1 Proton Exora Bold Owners and Fans Thread, Calling all owner and future one...

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 13 2012, 02:35 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ Jun 13 2012, 01:55 PM)
too bad..but i think silver queue wont be that long..
What color has the longest queue?

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 13 2012, 03:52 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(doctor.AGF @ Jun 13 2012, 02:49 PM)
first it was elegant brown, now people are crazy about white  rclxm9.gif
White difficult to maintain. With brown, less easy to see the dirt. So brown best for lazy people.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 14 2012, 06:52 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jun 13 2012, 11:34 PM)
my place in ss3 has a good tyre shop. their 2nd tyre quite cheap and good
What do you mean by 2nd tire?

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 14 2012, 08:38 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jun 13 2012, 11:34 PM)
my place in ss3 has a good tyre shop. their 2nd tyre quite cheap and good
2nd tires is one thing i will NEVER do, unless you know it's history.

1. Tires are rubber and rubber cracks with age. Tire have a shelf life and anything more than 4 or 5 yrs is pass it's shelf life. Once pass and driving at high speed, you better go write your wills first.

2. Some tires shop will use sharp knife to cut the rubber groves to make it looks 'new'. That means thinner tires so again, go write your wills first.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 14 2012, 10:40 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(waisiong.chan @ Jun 14 2012, 10:19 AM)
hi all,

anyone experienced strong petrol smell inside EB cabin after filling the petrol? any workaround or reason behind this?

Just asking the obvious. Did you left the door or window open when doing refilling?
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 14 2012, 10:08 PM

12,696 posts

Don't know why you people have to wait. I can get one almost anytime.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 16 2012, 06:21 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(klate @ Jun 15 2012, 09:04 PM)
Hi .....

I'm new Exora bold user from Penang.... Book the car on ~May 15th and got to drive the car on 2nd June.

The Exora is an addition to my current ride - Toyota Unser and Volvo 850 T5 ... still haven't decide if will let go Unser or not
smile.gif .

My first impression of the Exora was .... Woww .... what a good deal for RM80k. Not bad for something coming from Proton, to be honost it is above my expectation for power, space, comfort and accessories ...could it be because I have low expectation for Proton in the first place?
Yap. Same here. My budget was RM160K but this Bold fits all my criteria at half the price so why not? Got it without bank loan but none of my friend could understand why I picked a Proton shocking.gif

BTW, that 850T5 is a great car. I was shocked how come something that looks so big and bulky could be so nibble in handling.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 16 2012, 07:19 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(klate @ Jun 16 2012, 06:24 PM)
Agree that 850T5 Wagon is a great car even even after 16 yrs elapse. It has been serving me well...what I like most it can carry 5 bicycle (MTB) 4 on the roof and 1 inside, if necessary it can still cruise the h/way @ 150 easily with all that loads.

I prefer 850T5 driving alone, but cannot beat the comfort of Exora when travel with family.
I was tossing between 2nd hand Cireon C8, Estima, Odyssey, Grandis, Rexton for quit a long time..... eventually end up with Exora after few test drive smile.gif. Feel that I have made a right decision. With RM90 roadtax, RM80k, and a new car it is a good trade off for some comfort that I would miss from a bigger MPV. 

All above statement is true for now, yet to see/experience the Proton EB Quality and Reliability over time.
I did considered the Estima and Grandis. I didn't like used Estima for fear of bad luck. I didn't like the Grandis interior plus no test car to drive. Ended up with CFE because it drives great. And like you, don't know how's the engine and CVT going to hold up but I suppose Proton will take care of that for the initial 3 years.

Right now, things I didn't quite like but for that price, how to complain?
1. Below 60 kph, CVT makes too much noise
2. Paint work seems pretty thin
3. Still new but I am getting 12 liter/100-km. Not great. Not bad either.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jun 16 2012, 07:22 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 17 2012, 03:40 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(richsense @ Jun 17 2012, 02:24 PM)
Can anyone share what is your tyre air pressure for front and rear? I was following the measurement on the side of the driver seat but the front tyres look like not enough air. I put front 31 and back 37. Now I change front tyres to 37 and rear 37. The feel is much more different. Not sure whether it is the correct air pressure for EB or not.
Tire pressure is a compromise. Just randomly quoting figures to illustrate what I meant, not actual.

For example:
Front for comfort: 28psi
Front for performance: 30
Front for fuel economy: 33

So Proton compromises at 31psi.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 17 2012, 11:26 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(cocodemon @ Jun 17 2012, 09:05 PM)
bro klate, mind sharing ur batch no? mind is 86853
for others with this problems, what is ur batch no?
When did you get your Bold with this batch 86853? You problem with it?

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 17 2012, 11:54 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(doctor.AGF @ Jun 17 2012, 11:52 PM)
Hi, you can find the number on the driver door plate.
just wanna ask if you let go your steering does the car go straight or pulls to the left
TQ
Left
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 18 2012, 11:13 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(doctor.AGF @ Jun 18 2012, 12:00 AM)
I just want to know why all exora pull to the left and no one is making noise
dont you people get annoyed from having to always hold the steering wheel tilted to the right to maintain straight driving???
Not serious on level road. Sometime none.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 18 2012, 10:56 PM

12,696 posts

Over rough ground, noise from dashboard center and left hand side. Proton quality?

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 19 2012, 10:54 AM

12,696 posts

Moving from standstill. There is a time lag of about 1 second after pressing accelerator before power comes in. You people have same issue?

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 19 2012, 12:00 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(amd2105 @ Jun 19 2012, 09:28 AM)

The last part, the rear dvd player really testing my patience as i've read everything in the manual (no dvd was tested yet). Plugged in the usb, the display shows the mp3 was on play mode but no sound, stucked at this point until today. Is there any cable or is there any other point that was missed during the process?
You should read Page 127 regarding oil chart. I bet 99% of Bold owner don't bother reading that IMO, is one of the most important page.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 19 2012, 12:31 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(karlbum @ Jun 19 2012, 12:22 PM)
read that page and i believe the cheapest petronas syntium 1000 (15w50) is enough for the car.... according to the charts lah smile.gif
No. The best is 10W30.

And unbelievably, it says you must not use Semi-Synthetic or Fully Synthetic. Very strange indeed....

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 19 2012, 01:08 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(karlbum @ Jun 19 2012, 12:47 PM)
i base it on ambient temperature... malaysia once reached 40 in 1998... and the trend is going up... so i chose 15w50... and no i dare not say the best... merely good enough .... 

during 1k and 5k i used 10w30 smile.gif
That is an exception and I wouldn't worry about that.

But if you insist on worrying, I reckon you should go for 10W40 (have to be Semi or Synthetic, no Mineral). 15w50 is too thick and the range far too wide so increase risk of oil breaking down.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 19 2012, 02:11 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(karlbum @ Jun 19 2012, 01:58 PM)
if we focus on SAE 30 (10w30) as being the best fit for exora bold wouldn't that make the best that petronas has to offer at syntium 5000 0w30?

because the difference between 10w30 and 0w30 is cold start viscosity?
just saying because i believe this is what is offered at most proton sc and some dont let ppl use their own oil.
The car manual said you CAN NOT use 0W30. Not enough protection. Have to stick with oil starting with at least 10W**

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 19 2012, 02:19 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(majuperak @ Jun 19 2012, 02:15 PM)
Exora Bold kawan2,

Now am considering Exora Bold Premium CVT .... initially was thinking of Altis 1.6E or 1.8E. Current drive is Livina 1.6A .... need advise
what is it that you don't like about the Lavina and wanting to change to Bold? I thought the Lavina is a perfectly fine MPV.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 19 2012, 04:54 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(karlbum @ Jun 19 2012, 02:47 PM)
Optiplex: i thought *W is cold start rating... and so the lower it is the better because provide better cold start protection... the number behind is for protection after engine running?

so i understand that after engine runs.. if they say 10w30 is good any 30 is good.

but your point seems to point that 0w wont offer enough protection... cold start protection?

or what is ur understanding of the SAE Rating?
Your understanding of oil viscosity is also my understanding and I am as confused as you are. Have a look at Page 127 whereby it says you can't use 0W or 5W.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:17 PM