Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

davidbilly87
post Jul 9 2012, 12:50 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 9 2012, 12:38 PM)
Assuming HR applied for you, they should give you the IPA (In Principal Approval) letter. With this letter you can enter Singapore (use that normal 30 day white card) and start work liao. When you're working you may need to do Medical Checkup, then get HR to sign your IPA, then schedule an appointment with EPSC (Employment Pass Service Centre) to do the fingerprinting and process your EP Card.

Enjoy your stay here!
No, HR ditn reply me yet, today i just check status from MOM by using application no. given by HR tongue.gif

The EP need take photo? on the spot or give them passport size photo?

sp means medical checkup must done in this week? sad.gif
bradshaw6861
post Jul 9 2012, 01:17 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jul 9 2012, 12:34 PM)
in order to reach sg tuas at 7am. my colleague from Lima Kedai wake up at 4.xx am daily and out from house at 5.00am take bus.
he reached gelang patah at nearby 6.00am to take the 1st bus. then the yellow causeway link direct to jurong east. from there he takes company bus to tuas. so from around 1.5-2 hours just for transport.

i suggest you take also toothbrush/paste, shampoo, towel and new clothes to office just in case you need to work late for auditor jobs... biggrin.gif
happened to my friends who work in KL as auditors or some in banks. also during weekends.
your colleagues able to get a job that provides transportation...hope mine could hv such perks...i heard some of my friends...if work too late, cab fare can be claimed...wonder if they can cover the cab fare all the way back to JB-larkin
TUAS area seems abit complicated, i guess?
i think there are several stops at singapore that offers bus services all-the-way back to JB-Larkin?? like at the Queen st.??maybe i dont hv to stuck at the CIQ if i able get those services??

thks for advice..
TQ biggrin.gif
TSdeodorant
post Jul 9 2012, 01:50 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 9 2012, 12:50 PM)
sp means medical checkup must done in this week?  sad.gif

when you enter singapore you get a 30days white card. by the end of this 30 days you need to do the medical checkup, get HR to sign your IPA, and complete your formalities at EPSC. photo taking, just turn up at EPSC 15 min early, next to the office got photo taking service if u no have your own photo
ivanswk
post Jul 9 2012, 01:59 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(bradshaw6861 @ Jul 9 2012, 01:17 PM)
thks for advice..
TQ biggrin.gif
have this indian gal in my previous job
daily commuting from jb to sg everyday
she is the earliest to office and last to leave the office
if a gal can do it i think u can thumbup.gif

problem is few years down the road, she now only 1 level up from her last job, where her peers already in the mgt level
just saying time if use wisely can go a long way sweat.gif

think long term rolleyes.gif
crazy25kid
post Jul 9 2012, 02:07 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

No, HR ditn reply me yet, today i just check status from MOM by using application no. given by HR  tongue.gif

ur passport photo not usable in sg.
sg photo is white background, m'sia is blue.
just follow what rexona suggest below.
best is u take ur photo there...cause the officer later forgot take med say your photo not up to standard, u might end up taking photo there also. laugh.gif laugh.gif
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 9 2012, 01:50 PM)
when you enter singapore you get a 30days white card. by the end of this 30 days you need to do the medical checkup, get HR to sign your IPA, and complete your formalities at EPSC. photo taking, just turn up at EPSC 15 min early, next to the office got photo taking service if u no have your own photo
chess_gal
post Jul 9 2012, 02:26 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(bradshaw6861 @ Jul 9 2012, 09:04 AM)
Hi, wanted to get a job at Singapore but have several concerns so hoping someone would just help biggrin.gif

1. my CGPA only slightly more than 2.5/4. I'm an accounting grad, soon-to-be at least. had to extend my graduation due to bad grades. internship sucked so bad because i submitted my report like really late - C grade to be exact. I don't mind working at small auditing firm, just wonder if there's any marketability at Singapore...

2.  If I stay at JB, near to larkin station, how early should i be at the CIQ? 530, i suppose?? let's say i start work at 830am somewhere near Central region?? also what time i should leave Singapore back to JB?? I suppose the bus service doesn't work for 24 hrs, right?? Don't mind if the travelling 2 hrs++ back and forth everyday. it's not like i hv something else to do if i reach home earlier if i stay in sg. not to mention, im first jobber, stay at jb more economical.

thanks.
Judging from your writing, I think you stand a fair chance of getting hired in Singapore, while grades are equally important but ability to speak/write fluent English determines whether or not you are fit for the job.

Perhaps try to get someone to go through your resume that emphasize your strength and play down your weaknesses. And I like your attitude, humble. Hard to see it in fresh grads nowadays.

yhoong12
post Jul 9 2012, 02:27 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

your colleagues able to get a job that provides transportation...hope mine could hv such perks...i heard some of my friends...if work too late, cab fare can be claimed...wonder if they can cover the cab fare all the way back to JB-larkin
i think there are several stops at singapore that offers bus services all-the-way back to JB-Larkin?? like at the Queen st.??maybe i dont hv to stuck at the CIQ if i able get those services??

thks for advice..
TQ biggrin.gif
cab fare from singapore back to JB-Larkin i don't think can be claimed, quite expensive one. your friends say can be claim should be only in singapore.

Bus service back to JB-Larkin, only got 170,causeway,SJE. or maybe you can hook up with the factory bus when u at CIQ, pay them $1-2 can already.
maika_chan
post Jul 9 2012, 02:56 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 9 2012, 09:53 AM)
1. your co might have corp plan, pls check with HR
2. SG or HK again ? http://www.ezlink.com.sg/
get it immediately  nod.gif
Nope, don't have corp plan so at own expense, am searching for a budget one.

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 9 2012, 10:46 AM)
Since you are here only short term, no point signing up for a postpaid contract. Just go with one of the prepaid cards like Starhub Green. Where are you staying while in SG? On such a short term thing I'm assuming your company is posting you here? Shouldn't the hotel/service apartment have wifi internet?
Starhub Green. Got it! We've got our accomodation already which has wifi but am still looking for broadband as the work site doesn't have internet for 'visitors'.

Thanks!!
cute_boboi
post Jul 9 2012, 02:56 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

thks for advice..
TQ biggrin.gif
My friend who works in banking/trade, if I remember, after 9pm can ride cab.
All the way from Tg. Pagar (south) to Woodlands area (north)
Happens on average 1-2 times a week (and still is).

But no one cross border yet tongue.gif

yhoong12
post Jul 9 2012, 03:05 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(maika_chan @ Jul 9 2012, 02:56 PM)
Nope, don't have corp plan so at own expense, am searching for a budget one.
Starhub Green.  Got it!  We've got our accomodation already which has wifi but am still looking for broadband as the work site doesn't have internet for 'visitors'.

Thanks!!
Broadband will bonded you for two years, if you are stay in singapore for short term, it is not wise to do so.
maika_chan
post Jul 9 2012, 03:10 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 9 2012, 03:05 PM)
Broadband will bonded you for two years, if you are stay in singapore for short term, it is not wise to do so.
Oh, then what are my options if i need internet on the go? Thethering via my mobile phone? Please and thank you smile.gif
yhoong12
post Jul 9 2012, 03:20 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(maika_chan @ Jul 9 2012, 03:10 PM)
Oh, then what are my options if i need internet on the go?  Thethering via my mobile phone?  Please and thank you smile.gif
for your case, if you are looking for internet at work site, maybe you can request from company, because you will be in singapore just for a short period, not wise for you to sign broadband or postpaid which can provide you mobile internet, you can use prepaid to online, but quite costly if i not mistaken. the only way is to request from company.
Charizard
post Jul 9 2012, 03:42 PM

373 posts

No, HR ditn reply me yet, today i just check status from MOM by using application no. given by HR  tongue.gif

http://junjek.hubpages.com/hub/Procedure-t...ob-in-Singapore

Try the link, i wrote based on my exp. Should give you a brief idea.
bradshaw6861
post Jul 9 2012, 03:45 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 9 2012, 01:59 PM)
have this indian gal in my previous job
daily commuting from jb to sg everyday
she is the earliest to office and last to leave the office
if a gal can do it i think u can  thumbup.gif

problem is few years down the road, she now only 1 level up from her last job, where her peers already in the mgt level
just saying time if use wisely can go a long way  sweat.gif

think long term rolleyes.gif
hopefully I can be as tough as your ex-colleague. I only have to save up for the first couple of mths for the sg rental-deposit, then i will live in sg. after all, depends on the working location, if i work in north region, i probably will stay at JB a little longer.
were you suggesting that time should not just be spent on working and travel-to-work??? like if i use it wisely, i might have better career progression or smthg? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 9 2012, 02:26 PM)
Judging from your writing, I think you stand a fair chance of getting hired in Singapore, while grades are equally important but ability to speak/write fluent English determines whether or not you are fit for the job.

Perhaps try to get someone to go through your resume that emphasize your strength and play down your weaknesses. And I like your attitude, humble. Hard to see it in fresh grads nowadays.
biggrin.gif. Thanks for your reply. It definitely boost up my confidence or enlighten some hope that i could actually get a job over there. I will definitely discuss with lecturers or previous employers for good referrals. Hope my command of the language can be an extra credit or something biggrin.gif
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 9 2012, 02:27 PM)
cab fare from singapore back to JB-Larkin i don't think can be claimed, quite expensive one. your friends say can be claim should be only in singapore.

Bus service back to JB-Larkin, only got 170,causeway,SJE. or maybe you can hook up with the factory bus when u at CIQ, pay them $1-2 can already.
Oh yes, you are right, only within singapore area. Hopefully the cab can get me into the CIQ, so that I don't have to take public transport to the Woodlands CIQ...
The buses services mentioned are noted with thanks. I tried 170 at Kranji-JB Larkin, and causeway from Queen st. bugis - Larkin s well..SJE not sure...wonder if you know whether other regions have such bus services like straight back to JB-Larkin...

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 9 2012, 02:56 PM)
My friend who works in banking/trade, if I remember, after 9pm can ride cab.
All the way from Tg. Pagar (south) to Woodlands area (north)
Happens on average 1-2 times a week (and still is).

But no one cross border yet  tongue.gif
Ah...thanks for the info. noted...maybe cab ride is faster than MRT/ Bus during off-peak?? just curious..biggrin.gif
TSdeodorant
post Jul 9 2012, 03:48 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(maika_chan @ Jul 9 2012, 03:10 PM)
Oh, then what are my options if i need internet on the go?  Thethering via my mobile phone?  Please and thank you smile.gif

What I did in my 1st month in SG was use starhub green and then buy add-on data packages.

rates here http://www.starhub.com/support/mobile/faq/...lueprepaid.html

Main problem is that they don't give you any sms or notification when your package expires, so got few times I kena didn't notice my package expire then the pay-as-you-go pricing kicks in and owns my $$ balance.

Added on July 9, 2012, 3:50 pm
QUOTE(bradshaw6861 @ Jul 9 2012, 03:45 PM)
I only have to save up for the first couple of mths for the sg rental-deposit

get soft loan from parents and/or relatives to fund the deposit then return it to them later lor.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jul 9 2012, 03:50 PM
davidbilly87
post Jul 9 2012, 03:53 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 9 2012, 03:07 PM)
ur passport photo not usable in sg.
sg photo is white background, m'sia is blue.
just follow what rexona suggest below.
best is u take ur photo there...cause the officer later forgot take med say your photo not up to standard, u might end up taking photo there also.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
erm, i 1month ago already retake with white background with passport size in msia photo shop, just wonder the passport size standard both of msia and Singapore is same?
cute_boboi
post Jul 9 2012, 04:02 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Oh yes, you are right, only within singapore area. Hopefully the cab can get me into the CIQ, so that I don't have to take public transport to the Woodlands CIQ...
The buses services mentioned are noted with thanks. I tried 170 at Kranji-JB Larkin, and causeway from Queen st. bugis - Larkin s well..SJE not sure...wonder if you know whether other regions have such bus services like straight back to JB-Larkin...

Ah...thanks for the info. noted...maybe cab ride is faster than MRT/ Bus during off-peak?? just curious..biggrin.gif
I recall 2 operators, 170 SBS (normal and express) and Causeway Link.
I normally use 170 between Kranji and Larkin. Once you get familiar with the tempo, frequency and jam period, you'll be like duck in water.

Cab ride is given due to work late night (after 9/10pm is consider late for the staff) and for safety/security purpose.

yhoong12
post Jul 9 2012, 04:15 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

The cab can get you to CIQ, there is a taxi stand where near to train checkpoint, normally taxi drop people there. bus services straight back to JB-Larkin i think only those mentioned, coz normally what i saw at CIQ, for public transport just these only, other is bus kilang, van only.

And it is best to find job that have more stable working hours if you going to stay JB-Larkin

Added on July 9, 2012, 4:17 pm
QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 9 2012, 03:53 PM)
erm, i 1month ago already retake with white background with passport size in msia photo shop, just wonder the passport size standard both of msia and Singapore is same?
White background should be fine, as long as it is passport size can already.

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jul 9 2012, 04:17 PM
bradshaw6861
post Jul 9 2012, 04:59 PM

47 posts

will do so for if cannot bear the lifestyle of traveling back-and-forth. Thanks for advice smile.gif
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 9 2012, 04:02 PM)
I recall 2 operators, 170 SBS (normal and express) and Causeway Link.
I normally use 170 between Kranji and Larkin. Once you get familiar with the tempo, frequency and jam period, you'll be like duck in water.

Cab ride is given due to work late night (after 9/10pm is consider late for the staff) and for safety/security purpose.
Yeah, just did some research on the web, basically will take causeway link via woodlands CIQ, higher frequency and longer hour of services - last bus from queen st is 11++pm.
Hopefully future colleagues will give better insights. wish me luck! biggrin.gif
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 9 2012, 04:15 PM)
The cab can get you to CIQ, there is a taxi stand where near to train checkpoint, normally taxi drop people there. bus services straight back to JB-Larkin i think only those mentioned, coz normally what i saw at CIQ, for public transport just these only, other is bus kilang, van only.

And it is best to find job that have more stable working hours if you going to stay JB-Larkin

wonder if the train checkpoint near to the bus checkpoint?? i assume all at the same checkpoint - Woodlands CIQ. then i can walk to the bus checkpoint and back to larkin.
thanks for advice further. smile.gif
Ern3st
post Jul 9 2012, 05:06 PM

198 posts

Hi Guys,

May I know what is the minimum expenses (SGD) that I would need if I'm working in Singapore? I would appreciate if anyone could mention some major cost such as rental, transportation and food.

125 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:24 PM