7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

Mackiddo
post Jul 24 2012, 01:26 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(lawrence1437 @ Jul 23 2012, 11:48 PM)
Hi, i am currently travel between Singapore and Malaysia everyday, however my pass will be expired at 27/7 and i don't intend to renew it, my question is, when 27/7, can i use white card to go in Singapore and back using it?
surrender/cancel your pass and you will get back the white card
Mackiddo
post Jul 24 2012, 05:31 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ewejin83 @ Jul 24 2012, 03:21 PM)
Hi everyone!

I'm so excited to work in Singapore. Right now I'm waiting for my medical check-up to be approve by this week, once its done, I can start to look for single room near bedok/chai chee area where I'll be working. smile.gif

I will commence my new job on early next month. rclxm9.gif
your excitement would probably die down when you noticed how costly things are in Singapore.

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 24 2012, 03:41 PM)
the excitment will wear off then u back to malaysia most probably in 6 month time rolleyes.gif
i would say 3 months top smile.gif

Added on July 24, 2012, 5:33 pm
QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 24 2012, 02:17 PM)
flame ?

i smell a bbq on our next gathering ...heheh..
eh time to organize another round of bbq since lot's of newbies going Sg work force this year.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 24 2012, 05:33 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 24 2012, 06:20 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ryanlaw86 @ Jul 24 2012, 05:50 PM)
sigh, one year there, the only thing i find worth it is the starbucks ... after conversion its cheaper a bit than malaysia tongue.gif
haha. really ? i never really compare smile.gif . probably not anymore with 2.5 . anyway no different also coz I can't afford such a luxury drinking at Starbucks

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 24 2012, 06:22 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 24 2012, 07:09 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 24 2012, 06:26 PM)

Btw, I am driving back this friday. Drop off at Kajang Town. Let me know if anyone keen to follow - 2 space available
S$ 25 (One way - pick up at your place if you are around East)

Pm me.
No driving extra slow to push mlm / hard core selling along the way or anything like that rite ? sad.gif
Mackiddo
post Jul 25 2012, 08:38 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jul 25 2012, 05:06 PM)
ya. i drive to work everyday in KL. that is going to change once i move to singapore tongue.gif

i've tried checking the status online. but "no record found". a bit sad sad.gif
you still can drive to work in Sg. No one is stopping you
Mackiddo
post Jul 26 2012, 02:23 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 26 2012, 12:23 PM)
i also heard my friend said those chinese economy rice 2.3-3 only. any idea for kallang area food price ?
yup $2 only. rice with 1 vege. very economy.
seriously I'll try eat at my company cafeteria for lunch. 1 meat + 1 fish + 1 vege = S2.20 smile.gif , 2 fish + 1 meat also $2.20 . chinese tea, coffee & tea FOC

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 26 2012, 02:26 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 26 2012, 08:14 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(SONYSONY @ Jul 26 2012, 08:09 PM)
any idea when to exchange SG dollar? i need go SG this sept just shortly and then nxt year after CNY to work. the SG currency is very high, make losses RM if now change. tq
by the things are going, better to change ASAP rather than wait as rm is sliding down against sgd as we speak.

Probably can hit 2.75 next year ? rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 26 2012, 08:15 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 27 2012, 11:06 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Jul 27 2012, 05:00 PM)
analyst says that the rate will stay below 2.55 until end of this year. it will then slowly adjust back to 2.40 in 2013........
2.40 is history.
Mackiddo
post Jul 29 2012, 10:30 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 28 2012, 10:35 PM)
Any suggestion for broadband in kallang area ?

My utility room 400 sgd without wifi ... Sh!t
Singtel 3G mobile broadband
Mackiddo
post Jul 29 2012, 08:59 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 29 2012, 12:22 PM)
Anyone have any update recently on the mobile package offer by 3 telco? I know Singtel already introduced their data mobile plan according to package you sign which previously is flat 12gb/mth for all package. Is another 2 telco also do the same?
still 12gb ?
Mackiddo
post Jul 30 2012, 11:00 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(kuro-oni @ Jul 30 2012, 10:26 AM)
Taking into consideration if I were asked in for interview the travel cost (and possible overnight accommodations) I could be spending quite a large amount on just a possibility. And with the recent tightening of the foreign worker quota...

PS: I think most people would've start looking through online job market when job hunting, its just that obvious a step. But I'm asking about renting a place in Singapore whilst looking for one. Staying in a hotel is way too expensive to consider.
you could not rent any residential room without a work pass. Your best bet would be staying at travel lodge in Sg or staying in JB

Added on July 30, 2012, 11:02 am
QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 30 2012, 09:52 AM)
The nowdays singtel 3g damn sucks, i use until want throw hp already  vmad.gif

in MRT, Oursite company and inside company , the speed totally unstable, worst than the DIGI  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
nope. no problem here. I'm using 3G mobile broadband and 3G wireless broadband. Speed is good.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 30 2012, 11:02 AM
Mackiddo
post Jul 30 2012, 03:02 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(boonping @ Jul 30 2012, 02:59 PM)
Hi May i know whether ican enter Singapore with just a copy of IPA my employer mailed to me or i still need to fill in immigration card? thanks
need to fill in white card, unless you have work pass, pr or Singaporean
Mackiddo
post Jul 30 2012, 03:04 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 30 2012, 12:21 PM)
how come? my friend also faced same problem with me, which area u using? mad.gif
my BBOM at home. 4.75mbps out of prefect 7.2mbps. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Mackiddo
post Jul 30 2012, 04:17 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(stupid434 @ Jul 30 2012, 04:15 PM)
hey guys, if let say i get an offer in singapore and i quit after few months and go back to malaysia, will this affect my future application on working permit/S pass/Employment pass?
no one can really tell for sure. But unlikely.

Added on July 30, 2012, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 30 2012, 04:16 PM)
Hi, just curious. Any of you know whether there's any lending restrictions whereby money borrowed in Singapore cannot be sent out of the country?

What's stopping someone from borrowing money in Singapore at 1.5%, and putting it into Malaysian FDs at 3%? (by similarly arranging for the security of the borrowings on the same FD?)
There's no restrictions. I think you still need to declare to Msia Immigration if you plan to bring in >US$10k equivalent.

You can move the $ and put in Msia FD but wary of the depreciation of RM tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 30 2012, 04:20 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 30 2012, 06:28 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(alvinchan81 @ Jul 30 2012, 05:50 PM)
just submitted my PR application today. has been in SG for 10 months. EP2 and salary at $6000. living in a private house area. sister PR status and own a landed house.

bank got $10k cash and 10k gold saving account.

got chance to get PR status ?
sure give you. no worries.
Mackiddo
post Jul 30 2012, 06:48 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jul 30 2012, 06:43 PM)
Hi, 2moro i will move to sg and start to work there. I am going to bring my luggage over the kastam and i just wonder is there anything particular that i need to pay attention to? i only bring cloth and shampoo/bodywash etc.
no alcohol, no ciggy, no meat, no eggs for Sg custom. and no CHEWING GUM !
Mackiddo
post Aug 3 2012, 10:11 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(xenotzu @ Aug 3 2012, 09:52 PM)
Great to see Chong Wei going into finals of Olympics badminton.  Think will meet Lin Dan.  Anyone knows where Malaysians will gather to watch Chong Wei vs Lin Dan for Badminton finals in Singapore?  Like to be with fellow Malaysians to cheer Chong Wei on for gold.  Don't want to be around Singaporeans to do that.  Besides, they have their instant Singaporeans (from China) to play for them, ie. Tianwei for table tennis!
Geylang rclxms.gif drool.gif
Mackiddo
post Aug 6 2012, 07:05 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(aeiou007 @ Aug 6 2012, 02:46 PM)
Yah..you are right..
Any ideas on what is the best way from JB to woodlands if not driving?  smile.gif
else just stay in Singapore..but then i can't bring my wife there..(dependent pass?)
if stay JB, then my wife will be there with me.. cool2.gif

best u settled down urself 1st. then only think of bringing ur waifu

Added on August 6, 2012, 7:06 pm
QUOTE(aeiou007 @ Aug 6 2012, 10:35 AM)
forgot to mention..woodlands..
i found the rental atleast SGD600:P
pretty normal rate.

Added on August 6, 2012, 7:08 pm
QUOTE(aeiou007 @ Aug 6 2012, 10:40 AM)
yes. that is the reason why I undecided where to stay.. and i'm driving to SG. and need to pay VEP.. blink.gif
how cool. driving to work thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 6 2012, 07:08 PM
Mackiddo
post Aug 7 2012, 03:41 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Aug 7 2012, 02:29 PM)
Standard Chartered in massive shit?

IN A bombshell statement New York’s Department of Financial Services added Standard Chartered, a British bank, to the rank of financial institutions under siege, calling it a "rogue institution". It accuses Standard Chartered of executing 60,000 secret transactions worth $250 billion for Iranian customers in exchange for “hundreds of millions of dollars” in fees. In a footnote the regulator also says that there is evidence of similar “schemes” with other countries subject to American sanctions, including Libya, Myanmar and Sudan.

Economist news article
Just remove/cancel their license to operate thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 7 2012, 03:42 PM
Mackiddo
post Aug 9 2012, 05:58 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ff7yta @ Aug 9 2012, 10:44 AM)
Malaysians can buy and drive singapore registered vehicles in singapore?
not only Malaysian. any nationalities can buy sg car and drive here as long you have the proper documents

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0542sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:43 PM