7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

Mackiddo
post Jul 1 2012, 12:53 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Jun 30 2012, 03:57 PM)
erm, i am receiving some cookie error.
try from here EM job openings

but gotta browse a bit

rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 1 2012, 12:54 AM
Mackiddo
post Jul 1 2012, 07:18 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Jul 1 2012, 01:29 AM)
thanx mackiddo  smile.gif

Oh ya Mackiddo, since u work in oil and gas field, i would like to seek some advices from you.

I am currently working in a manufacturing line with 2 years experience but if i decide to go for oil and gas, will my chances of getting a job low?

And from your website, should i search for a job with "fresh grad" or experience worker?
i think the chances are pretty much equal. No harm putting as fresh grads coz the salary structure is all there.
Mackiddo
post Jul 5 2012, 12:18 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(stanleysi @ Jul 4 2012, 10:51 PM)
Guys - I read somewhere in this forum (from 2009) that Malaysians with employment pass and staying in Singapore can drive a Malaysian registered car if :

nope

Added on July 5, 2012, 12:20 pm
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 5 2012, 09:04 AM)
Within the first year of employment pass and a valid malaysian license,you can drive a singapore registered car, i done it b4...malaysia registered car i not sure,but after one year, you need to convert license then only u can cont drive
correct

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 5 2012, 12:28 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 5 2012, 01:43 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(FuQuO @ Jul 5 2012, 01:37 PM)
Have to be prepared to work from Monday to Sunday. I just declined an interview for the position of electrical superintendent.
cool job actually, if it's OnG company
Mackiddo
post Jul 5 2012, 05:14 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 5 2012, 04:41 PM)
wow 6 years in Singapore and already can afford a OPC car , impresive leh rclxms.gif
teach us how almighty one  notworthy.gif
yeah. pretty impressive. low krass people like me don't even hope lar.
Mackiddo
post Jul 5 2012, 08:32 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Jul 5 2012, 06:15 PM)
hahaha thats woodlands.... im using tuas. and avoid peak hours. simple solution. tuas checkpoint. 5pm-7pm there is a sllight jam sometimes. so i finish work at 630. stay back have a cup of tea with colleagues till 730-8pm. and problem solved.

they dont have seperate lanes for big bikes in tuas and woodlands. but in tuas the space/queue is nothing like woodlands. there is ampel space for each bike to properly line up.. using the thumbprint/biometric lane is also a solution to this problem.
so staying back another 1 - 1 1/2 hour after work everyday is 'best of both world' ?
2nd link is pretty dark after 7.30pm and no road light since its a highway. Lots of trailers too.

Added on July 5, 2012, 8:35 pm
QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 5 2012, 06:48 PM)
Actually i was think of change to PR after 1 year work something due to cpf/ easy change job, but need to give up drive msia car into sg.

normally what total cost of the car?

let say i buy a toyota vios (new car)?
Singapore car wif current COE ? I would say probably S$100k

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 5 2012, 08:35 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 6 2012, 09:30 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 5 2012, 09:15 PM)
omg, vios also need 100k total?  shocking.gif
yup. if not, everyone would have own a car or two and Sg road will be congested to the max.

Added on July 6, 2012, 9:34 pm
QUOTE(stanleysi @ Jul 5 2012, 09:57 PM)
From the perspective of the law in SG is it illegal to own a Malaysian car and drive it around in SG whilst on an Employment Pass and residing in Singapore?

Thanks!
yes

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 6 2012, 09:34 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 10 2012, 07:20 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 10 2012, 01:06 PM)
SG driving license isnt an international driving license...u will still need to apply for an international driving license....goes the same for malaysia driving license who wants to apply/get an international driving license...
This is what I got
International Driving Permit(IDP)
I've actually applied International License from JPJ before for driving in one of the foreign country I visited. It's in a booklet form. Did that cause I'm not sure you could use license from right-hand-drive countries to drive in left-hand-drive countries ?

Added on July 10, 2012, 7:36 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 10 2012, 09:39 AM)
I believe our very own JBKing fits this description. Not sure if it was 2012 or late 2011 though.
2011. He's working for a very top Corp. That's an advantage i think.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 10 2012, 07:36 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 11 2012, 12:25 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jul 11 2012, 11:54 AM)

thanks smile.gif
yup my friend told me that too. he said that because we are moving to singapore etc. that's why the salary has to justify the move.
do you think they're trying to pay us less just because we're malaysians?
why would you wanna consider anything lesser just because you are Malaysian ? Unless that is what your market worth.
Mackiddo
post Jul 11 2012, 12:30 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 11 2012, 09:01 AM)
aisay...thanks for the info bro !
QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 11 2012, 09:38 AM)
Should put this in the first thread. Useful info.
QUOTE(hokin @ Jul 11 2012, 10:08 AM)
I like to add that before one can 'submit the same to the Singaporean authority to obtain the Singaporean driving licence' one will be required to sit and pass the Singapore Driving Basic Theory Test (BTT) first.
can consider using the SPOILER tags when quoting a super long post smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 11 2012, 12:30 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2012, 02:34 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 13 2012, 12:50 PM)
wah, so nice to have company share half of the interest.
yeah. mine only rebates back 40%.
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2012, 03:18 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 13 2012, 02:40 PM)
Guys, i will do medical checkup on next week, it is no need eat/drink for few hours b4 checkup?

or there are anything to care about?
12 hours fasting. shave your balls, if possible
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2012, 03:33 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 13 2012, 03:30 PM)
shocking.gif   why shave , dont scare me  blink.gif
really. gosh. They have the cough test right ? You have to show the Dr your balls when you cough.

The doctor is checking for hernia. Forcing a cough during a hernia exam causes your abdominal muscles to contract and increase pressure within your abdomen. This may force a hernia to bulge out, making it easier to detect during the examination.

Added on July 13, 2012, 3:34 pm
QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 13 2012, 03:25 PM)
hahah
funny dude
rclxms.gif
i'm not kidding btw

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 13 2012, 03:36 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 14 2012, 06:16 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Jul 14 2012, 12:50 PM)
I would recommend
1st solution of buying landed at JB and drive sg car.

i) You can really see people even singaporeans themselves going with this move of buying landed here and travelling to SG everyday for working purposes. Logical thinking: would I live in a bird nest or in a landed property with gardens or bigger area FOR the same amount of money or lesser?

ii) I've been to Horizon Hills and yes, I see it as a darn good place. Quite accessible to 2nd link and could avoid the terrible jam for the main causeway.

iii) Buying in IDR area could actually be a boon as properties prices are increasing in JB due to IDR and infrastructure, education, entertainment hub etc.

Disadvantages:
i)Property price bubble may happen in JB since there are too many housing estates being developed.
ii) Buying properties in SG will be an investment since their prices keep on increasing ~_~ BUT it will be a whole life investment unless your monthly earnings can sustain it.
iii) You said you planned to move to other country in few years time, well, depends again, you can always rent out your property in SG at a high price but then again, too many houses in JB.
Logical thinking : would i wanna risk being rob/mug/kidnap/murder each day ?

Mackiddo
post Jul 17 2012, 09:30 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(johnnywzm @ Jul 17 2012, 04:40 PM)
can share how u guys here back KL by bus?
is it safe? trip took how long? suggested method to buy ticket? thx
=D
you are totally safe from golden mile/boon lay up to the Malaysia immigration. From there on, it's a cowboy town. ..and, all the best, bon voyage !
Mackiddo
post Jul 18 2012, 07:12 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(FuQuO @ Jul 18 2012, 06:24 PM)
Regarding (2) - not sure what the position does but my humble advise is, u got to be ready to work 7 days a week. Payout is lucrative. With 2700 as base salary, u will be getting around 4.5k/month averagely, considering all bonuses and AWS. They pay out share options as well after certain years of service.
Shipyard is a really good place to learn. If ur intention is to work hard, learn, and get good money then my advise is to go ahead. If ur looking for a 9-5 office condition work then I suggest u to give it a miss.
Lastly, some of my friends have joined oil majors after several years working at shipyard in production line just FYI. Life is tough but the return is good. Think thoroughly before making any decision. Good luck.
shipyard have the highest fatalities rate among all the industries. $$$ doesn't come easy.
Mackiddo
post Jul 19 2012, 05:26 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jul 19 2012, 02:56 PM)
Anyone can recommend me a good buffet dinner in Singapore? (International Buffet with sashimi)

Budget around $35 to $45 nett. Thanks.
budget a bit too low for a good buffet in hotel. $45 = $39++
Maybe you could try Kuishin Bo buffet @ 39++

another way is to look for special credit card discount 1 for 1 to lower your cost.

Added on July 19, 2012, 5:27 pm
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 19 2012, 04:14 PM)
Survey at groupon or deal.sg, can get very nice deal for buffet
need to filter out those 'not so good' one

Added on July 19, 2012, 5:29 pm
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 19 2012, 11:21 AM)

Ops... sorry, cant help, but company will pay for the medical checkup fee right?
of coz

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 19 2012, 05:29 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 20 2012, 02:44 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 20 2012, 02:42 PM)
7-11 is never cheap. when you start earning money here, you wont think it is expensive.
i totally agreed.

Added on July 20, 2012, 2:46 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 20 2012, 02:31 PM)
obviously you haven't compared housing and car prices.
there's things more important that housing and car prices. Like securities, political stabilities, corruptions index, health services, educations ....

Added on July 20, 2012, 2:47 pm
QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jul 20 2012, 02:37 PM)
I really cannot stand the malaysian life. Snatch thieves everywhere. Dont even feel safe when walking in the afternoon. shakehead.gif
it's been years and nothing have change or improve, in fact its getting worst.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 20 2012, 02:47 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 20 2012, 05:12 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Jul 20 2012, 05:10 PM)
Ok, I should make some corrections to my earlier sentence. It is not easy to live in a comfortable life in Singapore as fresh grad. To have better living condition (for your own comfort), it probable need to take up half of your salary. haha.

Thanks inform, never know about that. (troll issue).
in your opinion, where is a place to live comfortably as fresh grad ?
Mackiddo
post Jul 23 2012, 10:46 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 23 2012, 10:18 PM)
What if like we search ourself somewhere online through propertyguru or iproperty? Is buyer liable to pay as well?
if no agent involve, then you don't pay

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0574sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:06 PM