15 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

yhoong12
post Jul 18 2012, 02:09 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 18 2012, 02:06 PM)
not really
sometimes u sign the offer letter first before they proceed to apply the pass.
but in the end, it is the same..even if u signed and pass rejected, offer is void.
Oo... izit ? haha, i dunno but just say it based on my and my friend experience.
yhoong12
post Jul 18 2012, 03:48 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jul 18 2012, 03:01 PM)
you mean that they probably gonna take longer than that to revert back to me? actually I do know about that, jus saying that the whole application process at least gonna take months since they have multiple layers of interviews too. Like my ex-colleague case, the application took him like 7months, lol
OMG.. luckily your ex-colleague patient enough to wait for 7 month..LOL

Added on July 18, 2012, 3:49 pm
QUOTE(sapapa @ Jul 18 2012, 03:35 PM)
Hi guys, for first-timers like me working in Singapore for the first time, this company retain 15% of my monthly salary for the first 6 months and the reason they give is to pay the income tax incase I left the company before 6 months.

Now, 6 months has passed and I asked the HR, he explained to me that this money will return back to me next year which is a total of 1 1/2 years working OR if I quit the company.

Anyone experience such cases before, like retaining some of your monthly income to pay for income tax incase you run away from the company?
hmm hmm.gif , different company different practice??

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jul 18 2012, 03:49 PM
yhoong12
post Jul 18 2012, 04:47 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jul 18 2012, 04:18 PM)
same like my company.
only give back once I quit or get PR. not minimum waiting period.
I.e if i work here forever and never apply PR, ill never see the 6months 15%.

*yhoong
For my friend's case he was interviewed 7 times, channeled to a few dept. So if getting back to you after an interview take them 2weeks++, 7 months for 7interviews fits the description.
OIC, haha...7 month is a long period, i wonder if i get any other offer from other company in the period,then i give up waiting and go for it which cause me the opportunity, i will be extremely sad cry.gif cry.gif ...haha

Added on July 18, 2012, 4:48 pm
QUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 18 2012, 04:28 PM)
Working at Shipyard is really challenging and very good to gain experience working with Singaporean and ppl from other countries.. however, your position is not really in demand in other oil and gas area beside production and construction, I believe Production Engineer scope of work is to provide engineering support to the Product Shops.

With Malakoff, mostly they will assign you to do power plant system.. good if you take care of power plant boiler or turbine..

you need to plan, what you want to be in the future and at which industry you bwill be..

recent SGD conversion to RM is 1: 2.498 (Money Changer).. as i claim direct to company, I'm using Maybank rate which is 1: 2.542

O? i thought bank conversion rate should be lower than money changer?

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jul 18 2012, 04:48 PM
yhoong12
post Jul 19 2012, 08:36 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(masshimo @ Jul 18 2012, 10:43 PM)
Hello forum-er,
I remember I saw someone posted a link on the steps/procedure in application of employment pass in SG.
Any kind soul can share the link to me?

Thanks. =)
Click This ??
Employment Pass Before you apply
yhoong12
post Jul 19 2012, 10:51 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(sweetheart0222 @ Jul 19 2012, 10:44 AM)
any suggestion where to do medical checkup when applying for ep? (prefer places near cck ave 4, woodlands)
Medical checkup not arranged by company one?
yhoong12
post Jul 19 2012, 11:21 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

Need some help, i notice some owner will post room for rent at mrt notice board, so i want to know if boonlay or lakeside mrt got the notice board, if got where is it?

Added on July 19, 2012, 11:22 am
QUOTE(sweetheart0222 @ Jul 19 2012, 11:18 AM)
no ... that's why i'm asking for recommendation...
Ops... sorry, cant help, but company will pay for the medical checkup fee right?

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jul 19 2012, 11:22 AM
yhoong12
post Jul 19 2012, 04:14 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jul 19 2012, 02:56 PM)
Anyone can recommend me a good buffet dinner in Singapore? (International Buffet with sashimi)

Budget around $35 to $45 nett. Thanks.
Survey at groupon or deal.sg, can get very nice deal for buffet
yhoong12
post Jul 19 2012, 04:33 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

Why nowadays room with full furnish does not include bed ?seriously no idea why would this happen...
yhoong12
post Jul 19 2012, 05:44 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 19 2012, 05:00 PM)
lol fully furnished should include bed as well.. May be the owner/agent not willing to hook out their pocket to get you new 1.
sad sia....i look thru all the available link on 1st page of the thread, sms them, all say furnish but without bed. sad...

left only one choice that is go to mrt notice board to see got any adv there. cry.gif
yhoong12
post Jul 20 2012, 09:27 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 20 2012, 08:56 AM)
the ocbc has any benefit? got something called "NETS" function?  notworthy.gif
I think most bank have the NETS function, it is common in singapore to pay via NETS.

OCBC got, cause i using it now. you can check it behind the atm card. brows.gif

Added on July 20, 2012, 9:36 am
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 19 2012, 05:49 PM)
around lorong geylang, see alot used bed next to road
if u dun mind, u can go and pick up   brows.gif
haha, owner will kick me out if they saw the bed. tongue.gif

Added on July 20, 2012, 9:37 am
QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 19 2012, 10:53 PM)
How long have you been in Singapore? You're influenced by Sgrean slang. "sia" "sia" "sia".. Why need to have "sia" ? biggrin.gif
haha, not for long only, but the "sia" is influenced by my secondary malay schoolmate, but i also notice that singaporean use it also...haha

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jul 20 2012, 09:37 AM
yhoong12
post Jul 20 2012, 02:14 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 20 2012, 11:35 AM)

your owner give u blank stare and think where i seen this bed before  brows.gif
seriously
buy a new one, bed bug bite worse than mosquito bite, few day also still there one shakehead.gif
Seriously i wont do that...haha, get a portable bed since the place is only for sleep. noneed so nice bed..haha
yhoong12
post Jul 20 2012, 02:42 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 20 2012, 01:31 PM)
where got cheap  doh.gif  why all the thing seem expensive for me , especially M&M chocolate 1 pack need 4.5SGD at tanjong pagar 7-11?  doh.gif
7-11 is never cheap. when you start earning money here, you wont think it is expensive.
yhoong12
post Jul 20 2012, 02:58 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 20 2012, 02:31 PM)
when i rented my current apartment i told the landlady i dun want any beds cos i wanna buy my own.
I also hoping to get decent bed but when i think of if i not able to stay long at the room for long period, due to having problem with owner, i saw quite some news about it, then how i going to deal with the bed? shocking.gif

Added on July 20, 2012, 3:02 pm
QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jul 20 2012, 02:37 PM)
The lousiest car i see in Singapore is like Honda or Toyota with no single sight of our lousy over priced proton. Majority of cars are VW and Mazda.

If wanna compare house/apartment, Singapore is so much better than Malaysia. Every building in Singapore is so well maintained not like Malaysia 100 years din paint and look like crap. Singapore buildings look so new man!! I dont mind living in HDB cos its the same or even better than the crap aprtment we have in malaysia.

Malaysia everywhere also so dirty and the people so cheapskate and lazy. I really cannot stand the malaysian life. Snatch thieves everywhere. Dont even feel safe when walking in the afternoon. shakehead.gif
Since you already got so many comment about Malaysia, did you ever try to work in singapore? maybe after you work here, you will miss certain thing about malaysia, but is different in term of everyone

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jul 20 2012, 03:02 PM
yhoong12
post Jul 20 2012, 03:55 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jul 20 2012, 03:37 PM)
y pay so much for accomodation? I think its just a luxury if u spend half for accomodation. Lessay earn 2k. I can easily get a room for 500 or less. Not like malaysia get a stupid small shit room for 1k.

Everything in Malaysia is expensive!!! and the quality sux!! Quality of life in sigapore is soooo much better than malaysia.
You can get alot different price of room, it is all depend on what they provide you, 1K for a small shit room in malaysia? are you sure? how many place you have worked b4?

Added on July 20, 2012, 3:57 pm
QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jul 20 2012, 03:46 PM)
Last time i stayed in Sg few yrs ago, my rent for a room is only SGD300. Its nearby Yew Tee station and about 5 mins or less walk from the MRT. Quite convenient i would say unless u compare to thos lazy malaysians who only sit the whole day and not walk mroe than 100 steps. Go where also need use car. Parking need park directly infront of shop.

Speak of internet, streamyx so sux compare sg wifi and streamyx so expensive!!

I cannot think of a single thing malaysia can fight sg except corruption, lazyness, dirty, stupid and low class. If talk about food, singapore famous in world for its chilly crab and chicken rice. Not lose a bit to Malaysia.
Last time?? rclxub.gif ...so long ago thing do change, and since you stay at Sg before and you think SG is way better than malaysia, why you are not working in singapore?

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jul 20 2012, 03:57 PM
yhoong12
post Jul 20 2012, 04:28 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 20 2012, 04:15 PM)
suppose is S pass for my case ? my salary does not hit the requirement. i applied on 17th ... now 20th still no news ... i damn worried.
salary wise you does not hit the requirement, but since you are a degree holder, for sure they will apply EP for you, if the application failed, then you shud ask the company to reapply again with SP, but this situation normally wont happen la.
yhoong12
post Jul 23 2012, 09:04 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

Saving is important, but lifestyle is also important. because if you live the way of keep on thinking i want to save more and more money, dont even want to join colleague for lunch or what ever event, eventually you will sick of staying in Singapore or even hate it,you miss home so much that you would choose to go back to Malaysia .
yhoong12
post Jul 23 2012, 10:04 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 23 2012, 09:52 AM)
lifestyle ? for example  rolleyes.gif
haha, you want to save alot money, for sure you will stay at home all the time(weekend), eat cup mee and do thing that can save money, bring lunch box instead of joining lunch group and anti-social. By doing this, saving no problem, but will you enjoy ur life ?

For me, saving is a must, but living a balance life is more important, it will not make you feel that you are living a meaningless life,spend wisely, go out with friend, is a fun life, cannot totally compare to malaysia, but it still better.
yhoong12
post Jul 23 2012, 10:05 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 23 2012, 09:54 AM)
hi, sifus.

wanna ask if my employer applied EP for me but my salary doesnt hit the requirements. will MOM EP online automatically apply S Pass for me instead ? waited for 6 days here and i think gg already
Do you check the status? i dont think MOM will automatically apply S Pass for you, they will reject the EP and your employer shud reapply or apply S Pass for you
yhoong12
post Jul 23 2012, 10:13 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 23 2012, 10:07 AM)
means have to reapply again ? or MOM will apply S PASS for me instead ? i am so gan jiong now
Crazy kids already stated that salary requirement is not the only stick to measure, so if you are a fresh graduate, you are eligible for E Pass. if need to reapply, is up to your company one, MOM dont do those extra work for you. they just process it, approve or reject only, no automatically apply this pass or that pass if the previous pass application failed.
yhoong12
post Jul 23 2012, 10:16 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jul 23 2012, 10:14 AM)
and if im not mistaken the building for EP and SP also different correct?
EP is beside the river one, SP is somewhere around lavender?
not rly sure
EP is at clarke quay, SP i think is at tanjung pagar? same place with work permit??

15 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0456sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:18 PM