Trading Card Games Magic the Gathering, a TCG by WOTC
XenoFr3ak
Aug 15 2006, 09:52 PM
Im will not be doing any extended format caused I dun have the cards for it, unless y T2 Gruul Beats are capable of handling extended format decks @Zio : The reason are started back Magic cause I got shock lands aka dual lands(4x Stomping Ground and 4x Blood Crypt). I think the best way to start Magic again is to got with type 2 and try to get the shock lands (Dual lands).
zio
Aug 15 2006, 11:32 PM
Best way to start is to get dual lands? Ouch...thats some pretty expensive way to start again...
Well, i have lots of old cards but its a question of finding them..a few hypnotic spectres lying around, some sengir vamps, some strip mines, ice quake..what else...hymm to tourach...
Sealed or Draft seems to be less painful on the wallet though...
magic2k
Aug 16 2006, 12:23 AM
ok guys i just received some very important news from a friend: QUOTE In the last few weeks a single seller from Malaysia has dumped a large number of NrMt vintage cards on eBay. The cards in question include as many as 60 each of Dual lands (Unlimited versions of Plateau, Tundra and Underground Sea; Revised versions of Bayou, Plateau, Savannah, Taiga, Tropical Island, and Volcanic Island) and as many as 20 each of Arabian Nights cards Ali from Cairo, Serendib Efreet, Diamond Valley, and Jihad. The seller is actively adding more eBay auctions of the same cards.
I have heard back from three different purchasers that the cards are high quality fakes. They easily pass the bend and water tests, and at first glance look real. Upon close inspection (especially when compared with real cards) the colors are a little off, and under magnification the print method differs from the one used by Carta Mundi. For those of you familiar with them, think alternate 4th versus regular 4th.
I don't know how long the seller will remain active, but most sales have been to the US and you can be sure many of these cards will end up being resold. If you have an opportunity to purchase any of these cards at a price too good to be true, make sure to check them carefully. if anyone in KL or any part of malaysia has info on this please inform me or even better, report to wizards of the coast. this guy is really bringing down malaysian rep in the magic community and contaminating the vintage market. if you see someone selling old duals that are in perfect condition beware. here's an example of one of his ebay auctions
XenoFr3ak
Aug 16 2006, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(magic2k @ Aug 16 2006, 12:23 AM) ok guys i just received some very important news from a friend: if anyone in KL or any part of malaysia has info on this please inform me or even better, report to wizards of the coast. this guy is really bringing down malaysian rep in the magic community and contaminating the vintage market. if you see someone selling old duals that are in perfect condition beware. here's an example of one of his ebay auctionsOUCH !!! have to put an end to this ... this ebay-er feedback is 100%. ppl who buy from him dunno its fake. Somebody have to stop this guy. @Zio: Yeah man, i see most Magic decks must have dual lands .. but when Time Spiral comes out ... and Kamigawa black phase out, there will not be many nonbasic lands but that also depends what kinda lands ae coming out for Time Spiral. I believe sealed/draft are much more cheaper and if u r lucky .. u might just get dual lands from there
Holi^oNe
Aug 16 2006, 02:33 AM

Fwahhh ~! I checked out his auction and his previous sales. HIGHLY SUSPICIOUS. Too many mint condition old-school duals. I really doubt that such a collection of cards could be unscathed for so long. The other thing is that the seller is selling them way below market value , and I think he has over 100 of them on sale or sold. The only other person I knew off who had that many dual lands at any one time was Khoo Wei Wren who sold all of his in the 2000 KL Grand Prix to a japanese guy. But of course that was 6 years ago and his were all real. Honestly kinda sucks man having people like that in Malaysia , giving our community a bad name.
lepakboy
Aug 16 2006, 02:42 AM
Its horrible to think that people would sink to this level and trick people into buying fake cards. I can also see why they fall for it. These cards are so old and not many people have ever seen Arabian Night cards up close (I know I haven't). He must be caught because he is runing the image for the M'sia MTG market. Terry Soh has already bought attention to out relatively small MTG community by beating 2005 World Runner Up Frank Krasten, last thing we need is to be reminded we are a country where piracy and fraud runs rampant. As for a returning player into MTG, nows better than ever to play. There are so many viable decks out there that there is one suited to everyone. Sure most 'Competitive' decks run Shock Lands that cost quite a small fortune, but Heartbeat is still a viable contender. Its cheap to make and just as effective in beating metagame decks. Also as an added bonus, Extended Heartbeat is also a major contender where you kill via a Brain Freeze or Tendrils of Agony. Below is a link to a match between a Heartbeat vs Hand in Hand deck from the Honolulu Pro Tour 2005. http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgevent/pthon06/qf4Check it out
lepakboy
Aug 16 2006, 04:09 AM
QUOTE(magic2k @ Aug 15 2006, 07:46 PM) EDIT: i'm waiting for time spiral before i do any Extended format deck testing. but i expect the next extended season to be like last time; tog, boros deck wins, CAL and friggorid being tier 1. tier 1.5 will be rock, ravager. Doesn't Apoc rotate out the moment Time Spiral hits? If so a lot of decks will suffer. Most notably 'Rock' Pernicious Deed was a vital part of the deck. Affinity will always be a strong contender though ..Tier 1.5 ? maybe. but I've tested Friggorid. It has its slow points but can be amazingly fast if you get a good hand.
zio
Aug 16 2006, 09:56 AM
What exactly is Heart Beat? Well, truth to be said, I dont mind investing in one deck just to get a feel of the game once more. From then on, I'll probably just go into Sealed or Draft. I do not want to amass another collection so Constructed is definitely not the way I plan to stay on. edit: Read the heartbeat thing, interesting...prolly will build one...assuming this is the decklist: 10 Forest 10 Island 1 Swamp 1 Mountain 4 Sakura-Tribe Elder 4 Drift of Phantasms 1 Maga, Traitor to Mortals 4 Sensei's Divining Top 4 Remand 4 Muddle the Mixture 1 Boomerang 4 Heartbeat of Spring 4 Early Harvest 4 Kodama's Reach 1 Compulsive Research 1 Recollect 1 Weird Harvest 1 Invoke the Firemind Anyone selling any of these things? This post has been edited by zio: Aug 16 2006, 11:30 AM
magic2k
Aug 16 2006, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(lepakboy @ Aug 16 2006, 04:09 AM) Doesn't Apoc rotate out the moment Time Spiral hits? If so a lot of decks will suffer. Most notably 'Rock' Pernicious Deed was a vital part of the deck. Affinity will always be a strong contender though ..Tier 1.5 ? maybe. but I've tested Friggorid. It has its slow points but can be amazingly fast if you get a good hand. the rotation for Extended is next year, oct 20 2007. the 3 major blocks that are rotating are Invasion, Odyssey, Onslaught and sevent ed. i like friggorid, has a lot of speed even with an average hand. zio, dun play that heartbeat build...recollect is for safe/beginner players and boomerang/compulsive research is useless. better play 1 extra weird harvest, 1 savage twister and 1 gigadrowse.
magic2k
Aug 16 2006, 12:03 PM
EDIT:double post
btw, is anyone going to be at cc sj this friday? i might be going there.
This post has been edited by magic2k: Aug 16 2006, 12:04 PM
zio
Aug 16 2006, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(magic2k @ Aug 16 2006, 12:01 PM) the rotation for Extended is next year, oct 20 2007. the 3 major blocks that are rotating are Invasion, Odyssey, Onslaught and sevent ed. i like friggorid, has a lot of speed even with an average hand. zio, dun play that heartbeat build...recollect is for safe/beginner players and boomerang/compulsive research is useless. better play 1 extra weird harvest, 1 savage twister and 1 gigadrowse. Lol i am a beginner. but ill take into account your cards. 4 Sakura-Tribe Elder 4 Drift of Phantasms 1 Maga, Traitor to Mortals 4 Sensei's Divining Top 4 Remand 4 Muddle the Mixture 1 Boomerang 4 Heartbeat of Spring 4 Early Harvest 4 Kodama's Reach 1 Compulsive Research 1 Recollect 1 Weird Harvest 1 Invoke the Firemind Or 2 x weird harvest 1 x savage twister 1 x gigadrowse So ermm..anyone with these cards, jst PM me
Holi^oNe
Aug 16 2006, 12:54 PM

QUOTE(zio @ Aug 16 2006, 12:11 PM) Lol i am a beginner. but ill take into account your cards. 4 Sakura-Tribe Elder 4 Drift of Phantasms 1 Maga, Traitor to Mortals 4 Sensei's Divining Top 4 Remand 4 Muddle the Mixture 1 Boomerang 4 Heartbeat of Spring 4 Early Harvest 4 Kodama's Reach 1 Compulsive Research 1 Recollect 1 Weird Harvest 1 Invoke the Firemind Or 2 x weird harvest 1 x savage twister 1 x gigadrowse So ermm..anyone with these cards, jst PM me  I honestly don't advise you to build a type2 deck with Kamigawa. As you know local scene mainly place emphasis on type 2 and Kamigawa block is to phase out in around 2 months time once Time Spiral ( the upcoming set ) becomes legal. If you really build up on Kamigawa block then you'll find yourself with quite a few dead end cards until extended season hits. Evenmore so since Kamigawa block focuses mainly on legends and chances for legends to get reprinted are very slim. Just my 2 cents from my experiences , then again I might be just speculating.
zio
Aug 16 2006, 02:04 PM
Ahh the deck is jst for me to get back into the groove of things as cheap and competitive as i can.
I probably wont surface much in Constructed tourneys. Mostly Sealed..
lepakboy
Aug 16 2006, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(magic2k @ Aug 16 2006, 12:01 PM) the rotation for Extended is next year, oct 20 2007. the 3 major blocks that are rotating are Invasion, Odyssey, Onslaught and sevent ed. Lolz, no wonder the prices of Pernicious Deed's are still so high on the US market. My bad, hrmm in that case a lot of decks still exist, for now. I do hope that Time Spiral brings about some good cards as its a return to Dominaria.
lepakboy
Aug 16 2006, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(zio @ Aug 16 2006, 02:04 PM) Ahh the deck is jst for me to get back into the groove of things as cheap and competitive as i can. I probably wont surface much in Constructed tourneys. Mostly Sealed.. Those kami cards should easily be found in the CC in DJ. I'm sure if you dig the common bin you'll find most of it  . As for the rares well there is always e-bay but if you want you can just get them off most players as those cards are really quite common anc cheap. Only one that might be a problem is 4x Sensei Devining Top. True that Kamigawa is rotating out in October but remember you can always play extended
XenoFr3ak
Aug 16 2006, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(magic2k @ Aug 16 2006, 12:03 PM) EDIT:double post btw, is anyone going to be at cc sj this friday? i might be going there. Yo Magic2k ... i will be going there if u r going there. Its my off-day. Can practise my deck wif u. What do u say??. PM me or perhaps u could call me if u r going. Let me know early yea  Heartbeat deck is the cheapest to build cause no shock/dual lands. Kamigawa block will phase out when Time Spiral become legal, its up to u Zio. The only decks which I know do not use much Kamigawa cards are Zoo, Gruul beats and Ohzhov aggro ... but I could be wrong. This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Aug 16 2006, 09:37 PM
zio
Aug 16 2006, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Aug 16 2006, 09:29 PM) Yo Magic2k ... i will be going there if u r going there. Its my off-day. Can practise my deck wif u. What do u say??. PM me or perhaps u could call me if u r going. Let me know early yea  Heartbeat deck is the cheapest to build cause no shock/dual lands. Kamigawa block will phase out when Time Spiral become legal, its up to u Zio. The only decks which I know do not use much Kamigawa cards are Zoo, Gruul beats and Ohzhov aggro ... but I could be wrong. And that would practically involve some form of dual lands? Haha, im fine with cards going out of legality. 1. I am building it just to get back into things basically on game play, card interaction and rulings 2. Its a combo deck and it involves some level of difficulty meaning I will be able to grasp the more difficult workings of MTG in the future (hopefully) 3. Even if I become active in MTG, I'll join mostly Sealed tournies, pretty much what I do for VS System So yeah, Heartbeat works fine for me. Help me source some of the cards will ya?
XenoFr3ak
Aug 16 2006, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(zio @ Aug 16 2006, 10:07 PM) And that would practically involve some form of dual lands? Haha, im fine with cards going out of legality. 1. I am building it just to get back into things basically on game play, card interaction and rulings 2. Its a combo deck and it involves some level of difficulty meaning I will be able to grasp the more difficult workings of MTG in the future (hopefully) 3. Even if I become active in MTG, I'll join mostly Sealed tournies, pretty much what I do for VS System So yeah, Heartbeat works fine for me. Help me source some of the cards will ya?  I see .. well, no worries. I will start diggin around. Ah ha ... found 1 Compulsive Research and 1 Recollect. Sweeet
lepakboy
Aug 17 2006, 07:49 AM
Good luck with your heartbeat deck Zio. Its a lovely deck and although I spend most of my time playing Zoo or my Rogue (Solar Flare thing ....), I still find time to break out the trusty old Sakura Tribe Elder, Heartbeat of Spring, and Drifts of Phantasm *Yummy* Most damage I did was 45 via Demonfire. *ahh* good times.
This post has been edited by lepakboy: Aug 17 2006, 07:49 AM
zio
Aug 17 2006, 10:31 AM
Hey, thanks... so far in the midst of securing two hearbeats of spring...
other than ebay, is there an MTG community that goes online to trade?!