Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V5, Panasonic & Olympus Mirrorless System!
reno7
Mar 3 2013, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(bengkai @ Mar 3 2013, 11:56 AM) thanks again. also sometime i think my macro shot is not as vibrant as you guys, its due to camera type. I am having E-PL3. Its not bcos of camera type but its the way how u post processing the picture.. I always shoot raw and do final pp in lightroom.. Adjusting white balance, xposure, colour vibrant and so on.. My original image is not as nice as u saw... This post has been edited by reno7: Mar 3 2013, 02:44 PM
tcm7782
Mar 3 2013, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(reno7 @ Mar 3 2013, 12:56 PM) Its not bcos of camera type but the way how u post processing the picture.. I always shoot raw and do final pp in lightroom.. Adjusting white balance, xposure, colour vibrant and so on.. My original image is not as nice as u saw...  same same here
kenary820
Mar 3 2013, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(Mowgly @ Mar 3 2013, 11:31 AM) Great pictures here guys, here's mine to share. Oly EP3 with kit lens. Was on holiday when i took this, noisier than I'd like. Crossings by JonDoyou, on Flickr Anyway, wanted to ask if you guys have any suggestions for Wide Angle lenses for m43? Everything made for m43 seems so expensive Until now i still haven't gotten a replacement for my kit lens to do landscapes and street cause i cant afford the wide angles on market.  Nice photo bro..the cheap lens to go wide is samyang fisheye..you can defish later..or maybe belomo half the price.
bengkai
Mar 3 2013, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(tcm7782 @ Mar 3 2013, 01:08 PM) same same here  thanks guys. i shoot in JPEG + RAW format. Somehow i am lousy in post processing, a lot to learn. Hopefully will improve as time goes by.
reno7
Mar 3 2013, 07:32 PM
QUOTE(bengkai @ Mar 3 2013, 06:34 PM) thanks guys. i shoot in JPEG + RAW format. Somehow i am lousy in post processing, a lot to learn. Hopefully will improve as time goes by. Just follow ur feeling when adjusting setting in pp.. If it pleases to ur eyes, then it will also to us.. Last time I dont bothered to shoot raw but after got some advice from bro Kenary, its a must for me..  U can always ask some basic lightroom tutorial from bro tcm7782 and bro kenary820 who are good in pp..
kenary820
Mar 3 2013, 08:13 PM
QUOTE(reno7 @ Mar 3 2013, 07:32 PM) Just follow ur feeling when adjusting setting in pp.. If it pleases to ur eyes, then it will also to us.. Last time I dont bothered to shoot raw but after got some advice from bro Kenary, its a must for me..  U can always ask some basic lightroom tutorial from bro tcm7782 and bro kenary820 who are good in pp..  One reason to shoot in raw is its uncompress file. In jpeg each time you pp or transfer the file somehow you quality will degrade. One disadvantage of raw is the size. It eat up the storage, of course another reason to use raw is white balance. Nevertheless recently I read jpeg nowaday are very good should be forgotten at all. I believe no matter how good your sooc photo..pp still required at least level curve adjustment..its just personal opinion..peace!
bengkai
Mar 3 2013, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(kenary820 @ Mar 3 2013, 08:13 PM) One reason to shoot in raw is its uncompress file. In jpeg each time you pp or transfer the file somehow you quality will degrade. One disadvantage of raw is the size. It eat up the storage, of course another reason to use raw is white balance. Nevertheless recently I read jpeg nowaday are very good should be forgotten at all. I believe no matter how good your sooc photo..pp still required at least level curve adjustment..its just personal opinion..peace!  level curve adjustment??? sound like rocket scientist haha
kenary820
Mar 3 2013, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(bengkai @ Mar 3 2013, 10:00 PM) level curve adjustment??? sound like rocket scientist haha ya at first i also pening la a pro commenting my photo using that term..level curve..its the highlight shadow exposure adjustment..in some photo this is the simple way to increase the dynamic range.
Mowgly
Mar 4 2013, 10:04 AM

QUOTE(kenary820 @ Mar 3 2013, 05:47 PM) Nice photo bro..the cheap lens to go wide is samyang fisheye..you can defish later..or maybe belomo half the price. Thanks man! yeah I've thought of the Samyang too, but I was actually planning to use it for street photography like this guy. http://www.flickr.com/photos/jbhildebrand/I dont have any experience with fisheyes, but wouldnt the distortion be bad if its pictures of people? Read up on defishing, never knew it was possible, but i think it doesnt quite solve the issue if the people in pictures are not centered. Right? http://www.ylcamera.com.my/product.php?pag...dbrowse_order=0as cheap as it gets, its still RM1.1k.  walao...
kenary820
Mar 4 2013, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(Mowgly @ Mar 4 2013, 10:04 AM) Thanks man! yeah I've thought of the Samyang too, but I was actually planning to use it for street photography like this guy. http://www.flickr.com/photos/jbhildebrand/I dont have any experience with fisheyes, but wouldnt the distortion be bad if its pictures of people? Read up on defishing, never knew it was possible, but i think it doesnt quite solve the issue if the people in pictures are not centered. Right? http://www.ylcamera.com.my/product.php?pag...dbrowse_order=0as cheap as it gets, its still RM1.1k.  walao... looking at the flick you dont need wide, probably 20mm and more. The reason to use wide lens you need to be very close to your subject. You need to ask yourself are you always take street photo 1-3m to your subject? If yes, then you need wide lens, if not better use the uwa/fisheye to landscape or space. Even @14mm i feel the subject easily drown in the frame unless i get closer.
Mowgly
Mar 4 2013, 01:54 PM

QUOTE kenary looking at the flick you dont need wide, probably 20mm and more. The reason to use wide lens you need to be very close to your subject. You need to ask yourself are you always take street photo 1-3m to your subject? If yes, then you need wide lens, if not better use the uwa/fisheye to landscape or space. Even @14mm i feel the subject easily drown in the frame unless i get closer. 20mm? wouldnt that be too narrow on m43? am still pretty new, so not too sure with technical side. Isnt the kit 14mm wider than 20mm? Not really, mostly landscape instead of street. But i want to try and go into street, i like the effect of street pics especially when shooting from the hip. Instead the other option i have is to get a wide converter WCON-P01 for Olympus. Wanted to ask if anyone here have any experience or not? with the WCON This post has been edited by Mowgly: Mar 4 2013, 03:18 PM
subrok007
Mar 4 2013, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(Mowgly @ Mar 4 2013, 01:54 PM) 20mm? wouldnt that be too narrow on m43? am still pretty new, so not too sure with technical side. Isnt the kit 14mm wider than 20mm? Not really, mostly landscape instead of street. But i want to try and go into street, i like the effect of street pics especially when shooting from the hip. Instead the other option i have is to get a wide converter WCON-P01 for Olympus. Wanted to ask if anyone here have any experience or not? with the WCON i been using 19mm prime lens all the time for street photography, snapshot... i found that the 19mm n 20mm is really an ideally in street photography..ngam ngam... n the most important is large aperture compare to kit lens only..  i feel that 14mm could be an ideally when using in indoor snapshot.. This post has been edited by subrok007: Mar 4 2013, 03:35 PM
kenary820
Mar 4 2013, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(Mowgly @ Mar 4 2013, 01:54 PM) 20mm? wouldnt that be too narrow on m43? am still pretty new, so not too sure with technical side. Isnt the kit 14mm wider than 20mm? Not really, mostly landscape instead of street. But i want to try and go into street, i like the effect of street pics especially when shooting from the hip. Instead the other option i have is to get a wide converter WCON-P01 for Olympus. Wanted to ask if anyone here have any experience or not? with the WCON If you serious into landscape, stretch your budget and get the pana/oly uwa. You will not regret
kenary820
Mar 4 2013, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(subrok007 @ Mar 4 2013, 03:32 PM) i been using 19mm prime lens all the time for street photography, snapshot... i found that the 19mm n 20mm is really an ideally in street photography..ngam ngam... n the most important is large aperture compare to kit lens only..  i feel that 14mm could be an ideally when using in indoor snapshot.. agree with you bro: 19mm,20mm,25mm would be nice for street, but I only own kitlens
subrok007
Mar 4 2013, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(kenary820 @ Mar 4 2013, 07:50 PM) agree with you bro: 19mm,20mm,25mm would be nice for street, but I only own kitlens  no worry bro, pana 20mm only cost around RM1100...... this picture shot by kit lens using miniature feature.. but not really miniature in the end  while this picture is snapshot This post has been edited by subrok007: Mar 4 2013, 08:25 PM
Mowgly
Mar 4 2013, 08:33 PM

Thanks for the suggestions guys, will try out some options. Definitely would want the uwa  but have you guys tried the WCON before? Subrok, can share some pics of your 19mm?
kenary820
Mar 4 2013, 08:52 PM
[quote=subrok007,Mar 4 2013, 08:23 PM] no worry bro, pana 20mm only cost around RM1100...... this picture shot by kit lens using miniature feature.. but not really miniature in the end » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Love this photo, looks like sooc no pp? even RM1100 I got no bullet left. RM300 I grab haha.. This post has been edited by kenary820: Mar 4 2013, 08:53 PM
reno7
Mar 4 2013, 10:52 PM
[quote=kenary820,Mar 4 2013, 08:52 PM] [quote=subrok007,Mar 4 2013, 08:23 PM] no worry bro, pana 20mm only cost around RM1100...... this picture shot by kit lens using miniature feature.. but not really miniature in the end » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Love this photo, looks like sooc no pp? even RM1100 I got no bullet left. RM300 I grab haha.. [/quote] Rilek la bro hehehe..
Mowgly
Mar 5 2013, 11:35 AM

Natural History Museum by JonDoyou, on Flickr Don't blame it on the sunshine. by JonDoyou, on Flickr Limehouse Docks, London by JonDoyou, on Flickr Critics and comments welcome guys! Happy working, it sucks!