7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Diablo 2 is the best game ever, D3 sux....

Shadow Kun
post May 21 2012, 12:22 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(takkicom @ May 21 2012, 12:09 PM)
too bad i prefer D2>d3 also
excuess having more skill on rune but end up only few usable rune

gameplay ok just the map really small
limited number of runes forces you to make a decision which one is best for a certain situation, which is a good thing. you have to strategize and really customize your skills rather than 1 skill that can do everything at any time.
WaCKy-Angel
post May 21 2012, 12:30 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

ayam somewhat agree...

Other than graphic is alot (or maybe abit) better quality, and almost 3D (zoom function), i cant see anything more interesting than Diablo II.

Except D3 can be played online, but i think D2 can too although i never tried.

I was just playing starter edition and wasnt really trying very hard, and had already max lvl 11 and killed skeleton king..
mistabean
post May 21 2012, 12:32 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ May 21 2012, 12:20 PM)
Cough, I saw that coming even before I killed zoltun kulle  tongue.gif
kekekeke... you might, I don't. But my character does, and that is a bit strange for me.
victorchin
post May 21 2012, 12:37 PM

20 posts

I am experienced in Diablo & Diablo 2. I completed Diablo 3 Normal mode.

I can't help but feel something is missing in Diablo 3. However, ppl who never played Diablo before might like this a lot.
Overall, I have mixed feeling with this game.

Story:
It is a bit rushed. I dun understand how Leah's father is Diablo. You mean her mother has s e x with a giant red demon???
Also, Tyrael looks bad, like an old Mexican... lol. At least make him look legendary face, like Qui Gon Jin in Star Wars.
The final Prime Evil feels stupid in the story. I never knew evil demon can be so dumb.
Very lacked of NPC development and story, perhaps it is because I am accustomed to Warcraft story.

Gameplay:
I like the skill animation. Enemy difficulty is pretty ok. Nightmare mode is interesting when running with friends.
Depth of the gameplay is a bit shallow for me. Diablo 2 gameplay is more detailed, allowing user to customize different build.
Why they take out the talent tree??? These can make the game more interesting and allow ppl to sell their characters in RMAH.
The D3 world is too small. Too linear. I expect side quests and as we progress to higher difficulty level, new areas are uunlocked.

Graphic:
Initially it feels weird. After a while, I think it is definitely more artistic than Diablo 2. But no more gothic horror feel.
Overall this direction is still acceptable for me.

Zelda85
post May 21 2012, 12:39 PM

695 posts

I still like D3 comapre to D2. I think the story line is quit ok ....
If you really talk to the npc and listen every word they say is interesting.
You might check whether have you really explore it by viewing the achivement of chatting with NPC biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Zelda85: May 21 2012, 12:45 PM
dinzmalayneum
post May 21 2012, 12:42 PM

232 posts

IMO
- D2 built for RPG
- D3 built for MMMoRPG
Shadow Kun
post May 21 2012, 12:44 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(victorchin @ May 21 2012, 12:37 PM)
dude spoiler man!

This post has been edited by Shadow Kun: May 21 2012, 12:44 PM
takkicom
post May 21 2012, 12:46 PM

422 posts

AH not bad later i play cause crafting is expensive and so hard to get thing you want ah same price get better

I like AH that way
olman
post May 21 2012, 12:48 PM

1,998 posts

i just hate the fact that tyrael tok so much about being the pureness of justits but never loan me his asskicking sword wen i battle big daddy or is it now mama
ReWeR
post May 21 2012, 12:48 PM

Foreveralone
1,715 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 21 2012, 12:30 PM)
ayam somewhat agree...

Other than graphic is alot (or maybe abit) better quality, and almost 3D (zoom function), i cant see anything more interesting than Diablo II.

Except D3 can be played online, but i think D2 can too although i never tried.

I was just playing starter edition and wasnt really trying very hard, and had already max lvl 11 and killed skeleton king..
wait until u play inferno ...

my friend at level 15 play in normal difficulty die like every 5 min, he said D3 is really much harder to play than D2 (he's a D2 player).
gaeria84
post May 21 2012, 12:49 PM

837 posts

I enjoyed Diablo 3, but I enjoyed Diablo 2 even more when it came out 12 years ago.
My major gripe with the game is how they shifted the focus from the world to the gameplay. Here are some major points

Diablo 2
- World is a living and breathing one, and epic in scale with very interesting towns and locations. Day/night & weather cycles set the tone for the world
- NPCs are actually interesting. In Diablo 2, NPCs move around and react to changes in the world. I still remember all the interesting conversations I had with the npcs in the game, just to name a few, the ever charming Warriv, greedy Gheed, scumbag Geglash, the sexy and silver-tongued Asheara, the enigmatic Natalya
- In Diablo 2, you are an adventurer in this world, and before you head out into danger, you would do well to prepare yourself. Health & mana potions, antidote, stamina and thawing potions are all available at your disposal to prepare you for anything that might come in your way

Diablo 3
- The world is very artificial, very confined spaces just to get from point A to point B, and kill monsters in the process
- NPCs are just there to sell or repair your stuff. The npc backstory and conversations feel forced

This post has been edited by gaeria84: May 21 2012, 12:49 PM
tgrrr
post May 21 2012, 12:49 PM

939 posts

QUOTE(takkicom @ May 21 2012, 12:09 PM)
too bad i prefer D2>d3 also
excuess having more skill on rune but end up only few usable rune

gameplay ok just the map really small

It's not like Diablo 2 you have tons of skills to use all the time. Usually it's just maximizing your points into a few most useful skills nia. Plus once put in the points and it's permanent. D3 actually give us much more flexibility and options, and it's only 1 week after game launch ler..
XEN -v- gK
post May 21 2012, 12:52 PM

137 posts

I notice something unfair.
When people compare D2 to D3, they are comparing D2 +LoD +3 years of patches and content, while D3 is just a newly release (vanilla).
They should compare D2 vanilla with D3 vanilla.
D2 vanilla has no runes, no skill synergy and other stuff that make it so great.

QUOTE(mistabean @ May 21 2012, 11:20 AM)
Game ending

This leave room for an expansion?

Shadow Kun
post May 21 2012, 12:55 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ May 21 2012, 12:49 PM)
I enjoyed Diablo 3, but I enjoyed Diablo 2 even more when it came out 12 years ago.
My major gripe with the game is how they shifted the focus from the world to the gameplay. Here are some major points

Diablo 2
- World is a living and breathing one, and epic in scale with very interesting towns and locations. Day/night & weather cycles set the tone for the world
- NPCs are actually interesting. In Diablo 2, NPCs move around and react to changes in the world. I still remember all the interesting conversations I had with the npcs in the game, just to name a few, the ever charming Warriv, greedy Gheed, scumbag Geglash, the sexy and silver-tongued Asheara, the enigmatic Natalya
- In Diablo 2, you are an adventurer in this world, and before you head out into danger, you would do well to prepare yourself. Health & mana potions, antidote, stamina and thawing potions are all available at your disposal to prepare you for anything that might come in your way

Diablo 3
- The world is very artificial, very confined spaces just to get from point A to point B, and kill monsters in the process
- NPCs are just there to sell or repair your stuff. The npc backstory and conversations feel forced
im actually quite happy with the backtory in D3. i feel really close to my hirelings especially my fave the "gentleman thief" scoundrel when we chit chat while fighting together.

scoundrel: theres this one girl i know, shes fair as a sun.

me: then why did you leave her?

scoundrel: well my friend, every sun must set.

epicness laugh.gif
takkicom
post May 21 2012, 12:56 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(tgrrr @ May 21 2012, 12:49 PM)
It's not like Diablo 2 you have tons of skills to use all the time. Usually it's just maximizing your points into a few most useful skills nia. Plus once put in the points and it's permanent. D3 actually give us much more flexibility and options, and it's only 1 week after game launch ler..
12year of work can done within 7 hrs
only 6 skill can be use
long potion cooldown

lack of customization

doesnt say they game were very bad just lack of
map very repeat
gbwedward
post May 21 2012, 12:57 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(victorchin @ May 21 2012, 12:37 PM)
I am experienced in Diablo & Diablo 2. I completed Diablo 3 Normal mode.

I can't help but feel something is missing in Diablo 3. However, ppl who never played Diablo before might like this a lot.

Story:

Gameplay:
I like the skill animation. Enemy difficulty is pretty ok. Nightmare mode is interesting when running with friends.
Depth of the gameplay is a bit shallow for me. Diablo 2 gameplay is more detailed, allowing user to customize different build.
Why they take out the talent tree??? These can make the game more interesting and allow ppl to sell their characters in RMAH.
The D3 world is too small. Too linear. I expect side quests and as we progress to higher difficulty level, new areas are uunlocked.

Graphic:
Initially it feels weird. After a while, I think it is definitely more artistic than Diablo 2. But no more gothic horror feel.
Overall this direction is still acceptable for me.
if u bothered to listen to all the conversations,

if this helps, he's in human form when making sweet love
olman
post May 21 2012, 12:59 PM

1,998 posts

aaaaa now i know y d3 took 12 years to launch

most of it is due to AH, DRM, dumbing down for console entrance, leave it open to World of Diablo
Shadow Kun
post May 21 2012, 12:59 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(takkicom @ May 21 2012, 12:56 PM)
12year of work can done within 7 hrs
only 6 skill can be use ----> so that you learn to strategize and CUSTOMIZE your skillset
long potion cooldown ----> so that you can no longer mindlessly spam potion while fighting and figure out an actual way to survive

lack of customization ----> in diablo 2 you are stuck with 1 build per character. in diablo 3 you can CUSTOMIZE your skillset according to the situation

doesnt say they game were very bad just lack of
map very repeat
there

This post has been edited by Shadow Kun: May 21 2012, 01:00 PM
victorchin
post May 21 2012, 01:04 PM

20 posts

D3 is not comparable to MMORPG like World of Warcraft.
Blizzard can make D3 shines out much more by adding better RPG & MMORPG elements in the game.

For example:
Build real cities like Dragon Age 1. Allow side quests. This builds up story in Sanctuary
and the ppl living in it. They could have done this by following some aspect of World of Warcraft.
Players will venture outside the city surrounding region to quests and fight bosses.
Also builds up story for Followers. This bumps up the longevity of the game.
In WoW, the game can lasts for a few years!

Give character statistics to play around.
Give them the option to tweak the face they want. Dun want everyone look like old man... lol
Maybe also allow Fallout type of traits they can take during character development.
E.g. someone choose trait that at night, he/she improved accuracy of hit?

The auction house looks and performed ok. But do we really need to exit the game to go to Auction House?
Why dun access it during game at city?
C-Fu
post May 21 2012, 01:33 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

My take is that, the storyline is just full of cliches and DUH moments. And the tries-to-be-but-not-scary-at-all environment unsure.gif that one was a big LETDOWN for me.

For people who enjoys the looting and collecting stuff, they will enjoy this game. the "hates gonna hate but people still plays it anyway" is not really true anyway, since there aren't any new alternatives (torchlight 2 is not gonna be here anytime soon), people who enjoys this sorta games have no choice but to suck up. It only mean that the game is not all that great like the hype.

QUOTE(mistabean @ May 21 2012, 11:20 AM)
I got a few issues with how the story presented itself, to be honest.

Act II

That one was a real downer for me, but not like what you said. It's more like

And at Act III

That was a serious DUH moment for me.

But what everybody is saying is exactly true. D3's single player is not really a single player mode, but a multiplayer mode just by yourself doh.gif that's really stupid IMO. If you exit the game halfway, then the whole dungeon's gone. If I REALLY want the whole dungeon gone, I could've just started from whatever point that I want from the menu, since they have that feature!

The separate loot for each player is a nice addition.
The still-funny logic that demons carry gold.... in hell.... is still ridiculous laugh.gif
The dumbed-down Normal for insane Hell difficulty is great for every kinds of players.
The one-stash-for-all-characters is great.
The Followers story is good, but not great. No sidequests? Why build a half-way story-featureset?
The statistics system based on your item is great. So many many viable builds instead of two-three builds for each character in Diablo 2.
The limited skills is good, but again, not great. If you're gonna limit skills from 20+ in Diablo 2 to just four, you're just asking for hatred ler doh.gif
The many, many merchants.... what's the point really? And no merchant side quests? (at least till Act III, since I haven't finished Act III yet)

True, and I agree. My significant other tried this game (I exposed her to minecraft before) and she LOVED IT. It seems scary for her and not for me at all, which makes me wonder, maybe it was scary for us in Diablo 2, and after 10+ years we've all grown up and got exposed to the world, that games like this is not scary at all anymore. hmm.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:16 PM