QUOTE(mistabean @ May 21 2012, 11:20 AM)
Cough, I saw that coming even before I killed zoltun kulle Diablo 2 is the best game ever, D3 sux....
Diablo 2 is the best game ever, D3 sux....
May 21 2012, 12:20 PM
837 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
May 21 2012, 12:49 PM
I enjoyed Diablo 3, but I enjoyed Diablo 2 even more when it came out 12 years ago.
My major gripe with the game is how they shifted the focus from the world to the gameplay. Here are some major points Diablo 2 - World is a living and breathing one, and epic in scale with very interesting towns and locations. Day/night & weather cycles set the tone for the world - NPCs are actually interesting. In Diablo 2, NPCs move around and react to changes in the world. I still remember all the interesting conversations I had with the npcs in the game, just to name a few, the ever charming Warriv, greedy Gheed, scumbag Geglash, the sexy and silver-tongued Asheara, the enigmatic Natalya - In Diablo 2, you are an adventurer in this world, and before you head out into danger, you would do well to prepare yourself. Health & mana potions, antidote, stamina and thawing potions are all available at your disposal to prepare you for anything that might come in your way Diablo 3 - The world is very artificial, very confined spaces just to get from point A to point B, and kill monsters in the process - NPCs are just there to sell or repair your stuff. The npc backstory and conversations feel forced This post has been edited by gaeria84: May 21 2012, 12:49 PM |
May 21 2012, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(Ahlok @ May 21 2012, 01:51 PM) too many so called veteran players critic on Diablo 3..LOL Heard of Torchlight 2? but i still enjoy diablo 3 more because of co-op and the it required broadband connecton to play last time diablo 2, i was student and no money to buy original copy, so ends up playing single player alone with pirated version. now everyday i will complete my office task more efficient and go home on time.. then meet my colleagues/ friends in the game.. also told my GF that i will only spend time with her during weekend until i reach level 60 at least....LOL QUOTE Like the original Torchlight, Torchlight II will feature randomly-generated dungeons for the player to explore, and numerous types of monsters to fight for experience and loot. Torchlight II maintains the same basic gameplay as its predecessor, but features overland areas with multiple hub towns, and a longer campaign. Other new features include time of day cycles, weather effects, and a redesigned user interface. Players will be able to customize character appearance with choice of gender, face, and hair style. Additionally, several elements from the first game will be returning, such as pets, fishing, and a retirement system Torchlight 2 is very similar to Diablo 2, but with very unique features that no other action RPGs have. I particularly love - Can be played in offline mode, LAN and internet connection - Infinite dungeon (the game will basically never end) - Fame system (it's basically a title system like Diablo 2, where you will get a title after completing each difficulty whereas in Torchlight, it's governed by the amount of fame you get) - Shared stash (in fact Torchlight 1 was the first action RPG with this system) - Fishing (able to fish up food for pets and occasional random loot) - Pet system (able to send pets to town to sell items. In Torchlight 2, they revamped this even further, they added many new pets and also a shopping list, where you can get your pet to buy stuff like potions, scrolls from town for you) - Lots of new features: auto arrange items, item filters It sounds a lot like what Diablo 3 should've been, if the D3 devs listened to fans. |
May 21 2012, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ May 21 2012, 02:34 PM) it may seem that way in the beginning but im pretty sure as we go on we will find uses for what seems as useless runes in teh beginning. especially when pvp is implemented later on. cant wait to see what crazy combination of skill ppl r going to use. Jay Wilson already said that they won't balance pvp in Diablo 3. So, certain class combinations and spec will be overpowered. i understand after years of playing the same kind of system we tend to stick to it and shun new ones as we have to discard all that we have learned and familiarized to re-learn the game again. starting anew makes us feel like a noob and that scares the shit out of a lot of people. so we can see a lot of people dissed the new system without even bothering to understand what new challenges it brought with it. fear of the unknown. it's normal. yeah choosing between a big pot and small pot can be challenging at times i guess.. |
May 21 2012, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ May 21 2012, 02:52 PM) Sorry, it was Bashiok, not JW.http://hydramist.tv/diablo-3/blizzard-anno...-sport-for-you/ If World of Warcraft's pvp scene is any indication, you should give D3 pvp a miss I can bet it won't be balanced at all. QUOTE implementing RMAH is a win win situation since there's gonna be a pvp function, ppl will want to get better gears to stay on the competitive edge. Like it or not, RMT will happen regardless so blizzard might as well give players this option which provides a more secure transaction and earn money while at it. PVP in Diablo 3 will be: Match begin! Red Team: Oh look, Blue Team's a... Blue Team wins! Red Team: ... cleave team This post has been edited by gaeria84: May 21 2012, 03:04 PM |
May 22 2012, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ May 22 2012, 10:59 AM) blizzard had already addressed to people that legendary items might not be the best items in game in one of the responses, rares and unique items should have higher status than the legendary ones so there's diversity of each person. Actually quite sad that they didn't have any set items in the game.instead of coming here and whine about what you don't know and cause unneeded attention, how about you go directly to blizzard forums and ask? if you're lucky enough you'll get responses from blizz supports to clarify |
May 22 2012, 11:18 AM
May 22 2012, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ May 22 2012, 11:23 AM) as a reward? make things easier kena tiau make things more challenging and rewarding kena tiau oso kah? No lah, disappointed with blizz's direction in D3. - Set items should drop as early as level 10 because finding all the matching sets is time consuming and may take the entire playthrough from level 1-60 to complete a set. Plus, it's really gratifying to get your first set at level 10, then your next set a few levels later and so on. - Legendary items should have stats which scale with level This post has been edited by gaeria84: May 22 2012, 12:15 PM |
May 22 2012, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ May 22 2012, 12:10 PM) im okay with it. lot of people talk about replay values. if everything is available from level one things will get boring. at least there's incentive to level up and leveling in D3 is not actually a grueling task like the previous installments. There is hardly any replay value in D3im ok with your expectation on how you think the game "should" be. pretty sure everybody else have theirs too. Also like to add that part of the fun in Diablo is farming runs, to farm bosses over and over to see if they drop any good loot. To this end, they made boss fights tough and lengthy, but have a high percentage of dropping rares. They killed this by making bosses not drop rares after the first kill. Once you killed a boss in normal, rares will rarely/never drop from the same boss again in later difficulties. |
May 22 2012, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ May 22 2012, 12:24 PM) D2 formula of 'kill boss, rewarded with sets/rares/uniques' works just fine D3 formula of 'kill boss, rewarded with only white/magic items' seems a bit eh. Also, the biggest contradiction in D3. They claim that D3 allow you to have flexible builds through the skill system, then they introduce this QUOTE Nephalem Valor is a new system introduced in Diablo III. It is intended among other systems to make sure that the end game is fun and exciting and also that the game is balanced so a 3-minute run of the same area won't be the most efficient way to acquire loot. Nephalem Valor is one of the major new systems in Diablo III and it kicks in at level 60. It is still in testing and Blizzard is still working out the details. Here’s how it currently works internally: Rare and Champion packs already have great loot on them. By killing a Rare or Champion pack, not only do you get their loot, but you’ll also receive a buff granting you increased magic find and gold find. However, if you change a skill, skill rune, passive, or leave the game, the buff disappears. As an extra reward, if you kill a boss while this buff is active, you’ll receive extra loot drops from that boss. The exact amount of magic find and gold find provided by the buff is still being reviewed, as is the amount of extra loot you get from a boss while the buff is active. Blizzard is also playing around with whether or not the buff stacks, what the duration should be, and whether or not it should persist through death. The buff should be strong enough to make staying in your current game more rewarding than creating a new game. At the same time, if the buff is too strong, it risks making shorter play sessions feel not worthwhile. This system is expected to encourage players to stick with a skill build of their choice, select an area of the game they enjoy, and sweep it for rare and champion packs on their way to a boss, finishing off a run with a boss that’ll be worth killing. If you wanted a shorter play session you could be done at that point, but if you have more time, the path of least resistance would ideally be to stay in the same game and make your way towards the next boss Everyone knows in D3 you have to have different builds to counter different packs Blizz just has to suck it up and admit they have no idea what they were doing with D3 This post has been edited by gaeria84: May 22 2012, 12:41 PM |
May 22 2012, 02:29 PM
QUOTE i dont see anything wrong with rewarding players who are able to stick to 1 build. it's a form of a challenge to sacrifice effectiveness in exchange for a magic and gold find buff. Penalty =/= challenge And my point was, well, consider this scenario. D3 dev: Hey, we are introducing a new skill system which rewards players for experimenting with many builds instead of one! Not like D2 where you only use one build! Players: Cool! D3 dev: We are also introducing the nephalem valor buff, where if you stick with only one build, we will reward you with extra loot! Players: ![]() QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ May 22 2012, 01:52 PM) Nope, it only guarantees one extra item drop, which is probably another white/magic item rofl |
| Change to: | 0.0220sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:09 AM |