125 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Monk Discussion, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

Nels
post May 31 2012, 03:44 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

I'm so tired farming for 1k dps item sad.gif

But yeh playing around the map with 5 stack of nephalem is still fun I guess.
evofantasy
post May 31 2012, 03:51 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ May 31 2012, 03:34 PM)
blinding flash?
omg...i js went to hell n it's omgwtfbbq de...inferno confirm gg...lolx
yeah blinding flash...
really a key skill for me...
it buys so much time for both survivability and to burst (if u rune the 3sec increase damage)...
only time i would remove it is for the earth ally when fighting belial...

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 31 2012, 03:37 PM)
yeah, not that easy. i prefer to use shield. the block + stats does help.
k. thanks for the info. i hate wasps!!! tongue.gif

but if you're in Act II see wasp in desert on Road to Alcarnus, you can bring wasp into the camp. NPC can help you hit. biggrin.gif
1. no time to change
2. no like deadly reach

i use hundred fist, and now at lvl 60 there's the rune to allow it to hit with a wave at the last punch. goes quite far across.

i alternate between that one and the rune for holy damage.

Added on May 31, 2012, 3:39 pm

oh very good already.

i went through Hell mode with only 3k+ dps and 20k+ HP.

only reach spire there, 2nd last boss (Tyreal ex-lieutenant) that's when I got fed up, go out buy new weapon for 7.5k dps or so. tongue.gif by that time my HP was around 30k-35k

so i finished Hell mode at 7.5k dps + 30k++ HP or so.
yeah the armor helps a lot and cause of that u can go crazy wit more damaging skills instead of defensive ones...
the primary is up to u, i am using double primary and a pseudo-rotation using both (get to the 3rd hit quicker for bonuses)...
the range from reach is useful when u are low on spirit allowing u to kite a little...

i got through hell with around 5k damage i think...
i was bothered so much with vit gears (stacking goldfind lolx)...
life on hit was what really carried me through =)
goldfries
post May 31 2012, 04:11 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Life on Hit i used earlier, in normal mode and such. Hell / Nightmare mode, the damage too much. Life on Hit also no use. tongue.gif

I use heal + wind + 7 side + serenity.

one thing interesting about this game is that there is NO PERFECT or RIGHT combo as all the skills + runes have their strengths and you can choose go gear then tune skills, or choose skills and find gear..........whichever. biggrin.gif

for me, if the situation I find it difficult - it's a signal for me to change armor or skill sets, especially the passive skill and rune types. I usually carry 2 types of armor also, one for HP and one for DPS.
Quazacolt
post May 31 2012, 04:19 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 31 2012, 04:11 PM)
Life on Hit i used earlier, in normal mode and such. Hell / Nightmare mode, the damage too much. Life on Hit also no use. tongue.gif

I use heal + wind + 7 side + serenity.

one thing interesting about this game is that there is NO PERFECT or RIGHT combo as all the skills + runes have their strengths and you can choose go gear then tune skills, or choose skills and find gear..........whichever. biggrin.gif

for me, if the situation I find it difficult - it's a signal for me to change armor or skill sets, especially the passive skill and rune types. I usually carry 2 types of armor also, one for HP and one for DPS.
yes and no.

in lesser difficulties, you can face roll and whatever skill sets/runes or even gear are viable. as difficulty goes up, your skill sets/rune and even gear choices are terribly skewered and only have VERY MINOR variations from players to player.

eg: most inferno monks run with 3 defensive skills pretty much.
typical passives have seize the initiative, one with everything, resolve etc.
goldfries
post May 31 2012, 04:23 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

was referring to the game in general la. yes, choices are narrowed but it's still not fixed. There will be variations, and of course logically there are some skills / runes / others that may not be helpful at all to the situation.

and good thing you mentioned about Elective mode the other day. Helped me heaps man, if not for that I don't think I can pass Hell mode.
evofantasy
post May 31 2012, 04:26 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 31 2012, 04:19 PM)
yes and no.

in lesser difficulties, you can face roll and whatever skill sets/runes or even gear are viable. as difficulty goes up, your skill sets/rune and even gear choices are terribly skewered and only have VERY MINOR variations from players to player.

eg: most inferno monks run with 3 defensive skills pretty much.
mostly for melee class i guess...
the range class have quite varied builds...

blizzard do acknowledge the issue with melee in inferno and would make changes to it...
goldfries
post May 31 2012, 04:27 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 31 2012, 04:19 PM)
finished hell mode with fleet footed, seize the initiative and transcendent. that time no care about OwE already. biggrin.gif probably go back to OwE when going Inferno mode.

no my char pokai liao. 8k money left. 7.24k dps only. with 31k hp. i haz bad feeling about Inferno mode.

I go try standing with wind around me at New Tristram entrace, also died. LOL. and I thought my death ad Slaughtered Calf or whatever Inn when talking to Leah was LOL enough.

iOnine
post May 31 2012, 04:28 PM

494 posts

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/monk...;YXT!ZZYabZ

my firm build with dual 2x dagger.
can tank and solo any bos in Hell.
inferno yet to try today.

current stats (not fully EQ)
8k dps
40k hp

unlimited spirit,
mass heal,
mass damage,
and spirit dump skills! smile.gif

This post has been edited by iOnine: May 31 2012, 04:29 PM
Quazacolt
post May 31 2012, 04:29 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 31 2012, 04:23 PM)
was referring to the game in general la. yes, choices are narrowed but it's still not fixed. There will be variations, and of course logically there are some skills / runes / others that may not be helpful at all to the situation.

and good thing you mentioned about Elective mode the other day. Helped me heaps man, if not for that I don't think I can pass Hell mode.
np bro, glad to be of help smile.gif
Nels
post May 31 2012, 04:31 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

Any of you running monk with around 700 1handed + shield? What is your health ? I die too often lately after switching from duel wielded.
leongkokloon
post May 31 2012, 04:33 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(Nels @ May 31 2012, 04:31 PM)
Any of you running monk with around 700 1handed + shield? What is your health ? I die too often lately after switching from duel wielded.
even dual wield will die... now

9k dps, 40k hp 1 hit act champion die d
Quazacolt
post May 31 2012, 04:34 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 31 2012, 04:27 PM)
finished hell mode with fleet footed, seize the initiative and transcendent. that time no care about OwE already. biggrin.gif probably go back to OwE when going Inferno mode.

no my char pokai liao. 8k money left. 7.24k dps only. with 31k hp. i haz bad feeling about Inferno mode.

I go try standing with wind around me at New Tristram entrace, also died. LOL. and I thought my death ad Slaughtered Calf or whatever Inn when talking to Leah was LOL enough.
my fleet footed was quickly replaced in nightmare. only really used it in normal as i solo. nightmare beyond i almost always (until recently inferno) 100% coop with friends so the dmg scaling from more players really prevented me to play the game half assedly

that said, coop is leaps and bounds more fun than solo despite the sometimes ridiculous scaling smile.gif
nothing beats laughing at each other on ventrilo when stupid wipes happen and/or shitty combo of mobs and we have to kite ALL THE WAY back to new tristram town (our early hours of inferno experience lol)

oh and i dont have OwE too, as i find simply gearing gear with "All resistance" does the same shit. few 10's of resist variants wont make or break me. might as well go beacon of ytar for faster cooldowns biggrin.gif

Added on May 31, 2012, 4:35 pm
i dual wield most of the time, shield if shit's too tough, full time shield on coop tanking

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: May 31 2012, 04:35 PM
evofantasy
post May 31 2012, 04:37 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

it is my main build...
am having around 30k health but with a truckload of resist...
Nels
post May 31 2012, 04:37 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(leongkokloon @ May 31 2012, 04:33 PM)
even dual wield will die... now

9k dps, 40k hp 1 hit act champion die d
haha that's the thing. MY DW build almost the same as yours. Got bored of tanking with very low damage. Using 1 handed + shield, 21khp + 17k damage, is a lot better but die too often sad.gif oh god. If only I can reach 40k with this damage. money problem lagi.

Added on May 31, 2012, 4:38 pm
QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 31 2012, 04:37 PM)
it is my main build...
am having around 30k health but with a truckload of resist...
Oh resist? How much resist you have? I'm on 21k hp with 214 resist. - i knw it sarks cause I hardly dodge firebomb lately.

This post has been edited by Nels: May 31 2012, 04:38 PM
evofantasy
post May 31 2012, 04:39 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Nels @ May 31 2012, 04:37 PM)
haha that's the thing. MY DW build almost the same as yours. Got bored of tanking with very low damage. Using 1 handed + shield, 21khp + 17k damage, is a lot better but die too often  sad.gif oh god. If only I can reach 40k with this damage. money problem lagi.

Added on May 31, 2012, 4:38 pm

Oh resist? How much resist you have? I'm on 21k hp with 214 resist. - i knw it sarks cause I hardly dodge firebomb lately.
700+ unbuffed (using one with everything passive)...
resist + life on hit = tanking goodness
Nels
post May 31 2012, 04:46 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 31 2012, 04:39 PM)
700+ unbuffed (using one with everything passive)...
resist + life on hit = tanking goodness
700!?! dudeeeeeeeeeeeeeee can i knw which part of the EQ you stack resist? how many Dex you have? damnnnnn sweet.

This post has been edited by Nels: May 31 2012, 04:47 PM
evofantasy
post May 31 2012, 04:52 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Nels @ May 31 2012, 04:46 PM)
700!?! dudeeeeeeeeeeeeeee can i knw which part of the EQ you stack resist? how many Dex you have? damnnnnn sweet.
pick 1 resist which u want and resist all...
for example a gear have: 50 physical resist (my choice) and 25 resist all...
when u have one with everything passive, u'll get 75 resist in total per piece of gear...
so that's what i pretty much do...
running at 1.3k dex now which is really low for now as i just started nightmare on saturday and reached inferno on monday lolx...
damage is around 12k unbuffed...

i'll slowly add heavy vit gears...
atm still having around 90 goldfind lolx
technoraver
post May 31 2012, 04:53 PM

★ ayam watching jew ★
944 posts

guys,

i saw ppl having unlimited spirit..
how they do it?
ghoss
post May 31 2012, 04:54 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(technoraver @ May 31 2012, 04:53 PM)
guys,

i saw ppl having unlimited spirit..
how they do it?
it means they have more than what they're spending . not really unlimited sweat.gif
technoraver
post May 31 2012, 04:57 PM

★ ayam watching jew ★
944 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ May 31 2012, 04:54 PM)
it means they have more than what they're spending . not really unlimited sweat.gif
hmm...spirit regen items?
coz i saw video at utube..the fella can keep spam serenity non stop till KO boss in hell

125 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:17 PM