Travel Langkawi V3

SUSWintersuN
post Apr 30 2012, 12:48 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Apr 30 2012, 11:39 AM)
Yup. But i dont noe how it tastes. 300-400g, depends on what other dishes you order. Lobster wont make u full.

In between lobster and tiger prawn, i prefer tiger prawn. I ordered lobster bcoz my spouse neva eat lobster b4. geez --"
i also never eat lobster b4 haha.. 300g will be around rm50.. cheap!!! i think eat other place few hundred sweat.gif

then other than lobster i plan order fish and scallop. U think enuff for 2?

scallop cook wif cheese like tao
samlee860407
post Apr 30 2012, 12:55 PM

4,631 posts

300g I think very small only leh

When I order at orkid it's around rm100 per lobster.

Also very small few piece nia. Later I upload the pictar u see lo.

And yes orkid ria got menu and u can ask them
SUSWintersuN
post Apr 30 2012, 02:09 PM

3,173 posts

wah rm100 per lobster.. dunno wallet can tahan or not sweat.gif

like dat meal for 2 will be around rm200
etigge
post Apr 30 2012, 02:56 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 30 2012, 10:56 AM)
Im there for 2 days so maybe when reach I will try the restoran u mention. Its nasi goreng/ nasi kandar style? Then next day lunch wat u rekomen?

Night maybe i will try samlee rekomen seafood. From earlier post i read is orkid seafood rite? Im very little order seafood. Is it just ask them rekomen how to cook thne htey will cook their special style? If got menu easier la but i think most seafood dun haf menu 1
Wan Thai is a Malay Thai restaurant and their speciality is off course tomyam koong (recommmended) and also ikan kengsom jenahak (very recommended) and many other Thai food. The cooks are Pattani cooks and very authentic Thai food unlike those found here in KL. They have many other dishes, you can ask for the menu and as mentioned earlier Sinaran Restoren is a nasi campur kind of eatery. Not that I don't recommend chinese food but most chinese food there is ' outa ' ones, especially breakfast and lunch. The locals cooks differently (you will definately complain and those who moved there from mainland are those who cannot make it back home, so go figure). Unless you have stayed there for 13 years you won't get used to it, ha,ha.

As for good chinese food you can find them at night and worth mentioning is Yu Loong Restoren, Orchid Restoren (at night in Kuah) and also to a small extent Wonderland. Teo Seafood is also good if you don't mind kena cut throat a bit. Remember to always try the prawns in Langkawi. They are super fresh and nice! Also ask for grouper (koay kao) or jenahak (ang choh) and specify those which is fished from the sea and not cultured in cages. If you know them, there are fishermen who still used hook and line for fishing and these are the best fish.
yiivei
post Apr 30 2012, 03:39 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 30 2012, 12:55 PM)
300g I think very small only leh

When I order at orkid it's around rm100 per lobster.

Also very small few piece nia. Later I upload the pictar u see lo.

And yes orkid ria got menu and u can ask them
He calculated it based on frozen price. Fresh lobster normally costs RM75 and above.

I have attached the pic for your reference. The pic is a fresh lobster ard 350g for RM80++ if i dun recall wrongly.

Added on April 30, 2012, 3:41 pmIf you intend to go for mangrove tours, i strongly recommend the butter prawn in hole in the wall.

This post has been edited by yiivei: Apr 30 2012, 03:42 PM

yiivei
post Apr 30 2012, 03:44 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

Bird paradise

P/S: I managed to attach in the office, but not at home. Sweat! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by yiivei: Apr 30 2012, 03:45 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
samlee860407
post Apr 30 2012, 04:25 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Apr 30 2012, 03:39 PM)
He calculated it based on frozen price. Fresh lobster normally costs RM75 and above.

I have attached the pic for your reference. The pic is a fresh lobster ard 350g for RM80++ if i dun recall wrongly.

hmm..maybe maybe

anyway,

i pay RM100++ for this. fresh la, not frozen

20120408 2012.04.07 Orkid Ria @ Langkawi-6 by samlee860407, on Flickr

SUSWintersuN
post Apr 30 2012, 04:39 PM

3,173 posts

Nice to eat or not the lobster? Need to peel the shell like prawn?

I never eat b4 sweat.gif
zstan
post Apr 30 2012, 06:32 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(wolve @ Apr 30 2012, 03:13 AM)
Just got back from Tioman, and eager to go on another island getaway! Would appreciate advice on:

1. What's the best hotel for budget of RM100/night?
2. How easy is it to get around, i.e. from Pantai Cenang area to Kuah?

And other suggestions deeply appreciated! biggrin.gif Thanks!

PS: Me + hubby + young daughter will be traveling together ^^
1. Malibest! biggrin.gif but won't get nice view though

2. Just drive all the way straight, follow TLDM and then Kuah. about 20-30 minutes

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 30 2012, 04:39 PM)

I never eat b4 sweat.gif
So what do you think the white stuff beneath the shell is?
samlee860407
post Apr 30 2012, 08:38 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 30 2012, 04:39 PM)

I never eat b4 sweat.gif
no need peel. but the head part still got meat, that one need to bite sendiri like crab
wolve
post May 1 2012, 05:07 AM

92 posts

Thanks for the replies, you people are the best!! biggrin.gif

Booked Air Asia tickets, 2 adults and 1 child = RM444 for return trips! biggrin.gif

Going to book rooms for 3 nights here: http://www.agoda.com/asia/malaysia/langkaw...omes_hotel.html

Question: What's the average price for lobster dishes? Anyone had it at Langkawi recently? biggrin.gif

Added on May 1, 2012, 5:10 am
QUOTE(yiivei @ Apr 30 2012, 03:39 PM)

Added on April 30, 2012, 3:41 pmIf you intend to go for mangrove tours, i strongly recommend the butter prawn in hole in the wall.
RM80+ per portion is cheap wor!! biggrin.gif thanks for the info, don't think it will be that damaging to the wallet ^^ Need to indulge in scallops as well !

This post has been edited by wolve: May 1 2012, 05:10 AM
Blackbird
post May 1 2012, 07:25 PM

291 posts

Just got back from a 4d3n trip.(Sat evening to Tue noon) Been to Langkawi a few times already, but this time finally tried the mangrove tour. Damn worth it. For those of u intend to go mangrove tour, just do it. U will not regret it. The guide was very professional, explaining in detail. I went to this agent called TCY Travel and Tours (opposite of The Cabin). Paid RM90 for the 6hrs tour(9-3pm, lunch included).
And also visited the Bird Paradise Wildlife Park, also worth it. Got to feed the birds and other animal. Quite an experience. Overall this trip is exciting, weather was good throughout. Pics coming soon.... biggrin.gif
I stayed at The Cabin for 1night and Fave Hotel for 2 nights.
For The Cabin, it's unique. Imagine they renovate the cabin into a room. And its smack right in the middle of Pantai Cenang.
Fave Hotel, well... it's a new hotel. Open Dec 2011. So everything is new. Less than 5min drive to Cenang. Nice view of the small paddy field.
Both hotels are recommended if u wanna stay at Cenang.
Car rental is a bit expensive due to long weekends, they raised up the price. Rented a Kia Picanto(quite a new car but makan minyak la this car), for RM270 throughout the 4days.
What else eh... if there is anything that i can help, pls. ask ya. biggrin.gif

Ok, for food, if u want nice nasi lemak, do try out the Saloma Nasi Lemak Daun Pisang(dinner). Their nasi lemak ayam rempah was so good that I ended up tambah nasi and sambal! Hahahaha... but this is my standard la, what might be good/nice to me might be normal to u guys. It's near to Dataran Lang.
gunh
post May 1 2012, 08:29 PM

459 posts

Blackbird,

Beside kia, is there any d segment car available? Sonata, camry or accord??? Roughly what's theprice if uknow...
Blackbird
post May 1 2012, 08:32 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ May 1 2012, 08:29 PM)
Blackbird,

Beside kia, is there any d segment car available? Sonata, camry or accord??? Roughly what's theprice if uknow...
I'm not sure whether they hv camry, sonata or accord. See all the normal cars only.
samlee860407
post May 2 2012, 07:08 AM

4,631 posts

After lunch, we are really smelly and tired liao, so we head straight to check in at Four Points by Sheraton @ Langkawi

super empty lobby. Even though it's 2pm++ liao, but room still not ready =.='

Luckily, it's ready after 5 minutes. Quite a big room eh....

The beach here is very very sux imo. Sand is not that soft, the sea water is not clear at all, more over when i step in it, the muddy (or tak tau apa) sand make my whole leg black =.=

But the infinity pool is bestest....loved it.

Four Points by Sheraton is a very new hotel in Langkawi, they are doing promotion rate of only RM320 nett per night. And while I am using cash + points which I accumulate in the past (I am a SPG member), I pay less than RM500 for 3 nights here.

IMO, although the location of this hotel sux, nothing to eat nearby, nothing to do nearby, and it's a 15minutes drive to Pantai Cenang, but with such huge room and the pool, i think RM320 nett per night is quite a good choice.

This post has been edited by samlee860407: May 2 2012, 07:09 AM
wolve
post May 2 2012, 11:07 AM

92 posts

The Cabin is nice! but cannot book from Agoda. Plus a bit higher-priced than Casa Fina. Might reconsider ^^
yiivei
post May 2 2012, 12:38 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

QUOTE(wolve @ May 1 2012, 05:07 AM)
Thanks for the replies, you people are the best!! biggrin.gif

Booked Air Asia tickets, 2 adults and 1 child = RM444 for return trips! biggrin.gif

Going to book rooms for 3 nights here: http://www.agoda.com/asia/malaysia/langkaw...omes_hotel.html

Question: What's the average price for lobster dishes? Anyone had it at Langkawi recently? biggrin.gif

Added on May 1, 2012, 5:10 am

RM80+ per portion is cheap wor!! biggrin.gif thanks for the info, don't think it will be that damaging to the wallet ^^ Need to indulge in scallops as well !
Ya. I ordered the small size fresh lobster since there is only the two of us. Go ahead and give it a try.

yiivei
post May 2 2012, 12:42 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

Four point tongue.gif

samlee860407
post May 2 2012, 12:44 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ May 2 2012, 12:42 PM)
Four point  tongue.gif
ehh u stay here too?
yiivei
post May 2 2012, 01:08 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 2 2012, 12:44 PM)
ehh u stay here too?
For a night. brows.gif

151 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:24 AM