AWARENESS, plagarism!

azarimy
post May 23 2006, 04:35 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

dont confuse urself between plagiarism and imitation. imitation is the best form of flattery. it means ur work is really good that others start to refer to it, tries to be like u, think like u, produce like u. when people start referring to u in the design world, u know u're that good.

plagiarism is just WRONG. plain and simple.
etsuko
post May 23 2006, 04:49 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(angeldothack @ May 23 2006, 12:05 PM)
hmm, mind to tell the rest of the story..? have not been following up here for a while. thanks smile.gif
i know of one..forgot if it was Honda or Toyota's website. the idea was imitated entirely.

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 23 2006, 04:35 PM)
dont confuse urself between plagiarism and imitation. imitation is the best form of flattery. it means ur work is really good that others start to refer to it, tries to be like u, think like u, produce like u. when people start referring to u in the design world, u know u're that good.

plagiarism is just WRONG. plain and simple.
so where do u draw the line for imitation or plagiarism..? blink.gif

if someone copies your design or style it's imitation..? and if the person just blindly takes your work and claim it as your own is plagiarism..?
azarimy
post May 23 2006, 08:34 PM

10,672 posts

there's a fine line there, but there's an accepted consesus amongst designers on this issue.

plagiarism is taking works of others without permission, and some even dare to claim its their own work. for example, u steal mona lisa, and claim its your work.

imitation, on the other hand, openly credits the source, with or without permission. for example, u painted an exact copy of mona lisa, and claims that the copy is ur work, but the original belongs to da vinci.

style, on the other hand, is even more subjective. but i believe among artists and designers, style is something that is acceptable to copy. come to think of it, no one can actually claim a particular style belongs to him. u can associate a style with a person, but style cant be "owned" legally.

i mean, what if i copyright my style of "painting using right hand"? should anybody painting with their right hand get a permission from me? that's absurd biggrin.gif.

it's the same about certain colours and all. we can associate red-yellow with selangor, but at the same time it's mcdonalds'. petronas intentionally picked a designer colour: colour that does not exist naturally. there was an issue on this long time ago, but dah lupa lah. they wanted to claim the colour was theirs or something. i was in school at that time...
junkieG
post May 24 2006, 12:13 AM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

i only copy other peoples style... for example, like those candy button for website

sumtimes, client want me to modified other people website...cant say no to dat or else no jobs...

n'ways i just do whut ever it takes to survive...i dun give a **** bout imitation or plagiarism in my werk wiff client...if u cant find any free particular stock photos, wut can u do besides stealing from corbis?

in d end of the day, u know who u are...

dats why i said i will be smiling if i see any plagiarism in my previous work...coz it already happend and whut else can u do besides b|tchin around the forum or among ur frens and family?

life goes on, move forward , improvice, learn from ur mistake like how the **** can dis people steal ur "best" "original" artwork?? did u leave the cd's on the floor? or u can it be u terforgot on not to blardy handout ur raw werk to client?

sumtimes we gave mockup/show ur concept or idea to them...yes at this point its veryy50/50 chances u gonna get paid...worst case kena rob...but whut else can u do? just wanna talk and talk without showing ur artwork?

dun know bout u guyz but i must earn more then rm1.3k per month as a designer to support my lifestyle

so just gotta do whut it takes...steal rob snatch print screen alter modified speed time backup is the art of computer graphic designer in darkside mode

aniways all my words are pointless coz just wanna realease sum tension...cannot sleep for more then 48 hours and my back bone is fu++king hurting! rclxub.gif

edit* just gotta reply dis dude

With a mentality like that junkieG and StupidKhor you sure wont get far. Our works, our designs is not a multimillion production like a movie or a music album. We are simple designers who earn from our work. If a person is to benefit from you and you are happy that someone uses your work then you are also encouraging that everyone should do it. Can you have the common sense to realise the negative factors outweigh the positive factors by alot?

waaaaa since when u can predict my future? demn terer la u...regarding the multimillion dollar production, i'd say, ABUTHEN! who sayz anithing bout not being realistic?! i am being realistic by realising, when my werk is being plagiarize, there is nuthin dat i can do but to smile n thinking how sucky dat person is...

the way i see things now is like u want me to do whut actually?? slap the guy? lol! now dat is kiddies! IF u feel like seriously dun want other people rob ur werk, just go get ur werk "copyright" or "register" and enjoy ur life...i think u think alot but less doin graphix werk

aniways um just curious, since u sayz my mentality wont get me far (am still survivng after 6 years aniway) how much is ur salary now and where do u see urself in 3 years time? nahh....make it 3 weeks ago...

opss! do not answer dat in public ph34r.gif

This post has been edited by junkieG: May 24 2006, 12:36 AM
TSnada-
post May 24 2006, 01:19 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(junkieG @ May 24 2006, 12:13 AM)
i only copy other peoples style... for example, like those candy button for website

sumtimes, client want me to modified other people website...cant say no to dat or else no jobs...

n'ways i just do whut ever it takes to survive...i dun give a **** bout imitation or plagiarism in my werk wiff client...if u cant find any free particular  stock photos, wut can u do besides stealing from corbis?

in d end of the day, u know who u are...

dats why i said i will be smiling if i see any plagiarism in my previous work...coz it already happend and whut else can u do besides b|tchin around the forum or among ur frens and family?
life goes on, move forward , improvice, learn from ur mistake like how the **** can dis people steal ur "best" "original" artwork?? did u leave the cd's on the floor? or u can it be u terforgot on not to blardy handout ur raw werk to client?

sumtimes we gave mockup/show ur concept or idea to them...yes at this point its veryy50/50 chances u gonna get paid...worst case kena rob...but whut else can u do? just wanna talk and talk without showing ur artwork?

dun know bout u guyz but i must earn more then rm1.3k per month as a designer to support my lifestyle

so just gotta do whut it takes...steal rob snatch print screen alter modified speed time  backup is the art of computer graphic designer in darkside mode
aniways all my words are pointless coz just wanna realease sum tension...cannot sleep for more then 48 hours and my back bone is fu++king hurting!  rclxub.gif

waaaaa since when u can predict my future? demn terer la u...regarding the multimillion dollar production, i'd say, ABUTHEN! who sayz anithing bout not being realistic?! i am being realistic by realising, when my werk is being plagiarize, there is nuthin dat i can do but to smile n thinking how sucky dat person is...

the way i see things now is like u want me to do whut actually?? slap the guy? lol! now dat is kiddies! IF u feel like seriously dun want other people rob ur werk, just go get ur werk "copyright" or "register" and enjoy ur life...i think u think alot but less doin graphix werk

aniways um just curious, since u sayz my mentality wont get me far (am still survivng after 6 years aniway) how much is ur salary now and where do u see urself in 3 years time? nahh....make it 3 weeks ago...

opss! do not answer dat in public ph34r.gif
Frankly from your reply I can see your a person who thinks only of yourself and not for others. You are a shallow person without morals or ethics, needless to say you might be surving in the industry but with such shallow mentality no one will respect you. You are the type of person who ruins the names of 'designers'. Dude, man if you seriously must know I'm design student who has freelanced for over 2 years and I feel that in Malaysia our industry and designers has alot of potential and future but because of alot of shortsighteness like yours we are held back.

Who says you should just b**** to friends and in forum if someone plagarises your work, who says you have to slap anyone? I reported that designer who plagarised and stole pictures from DA in theOneAcademy and supposedly hes in deep trouble right now. I am strongly against the act of plagarism or copying of any sort. It is degrading and highly immoral and if anyone uses it an excuse that a client wants it than you have no backbone yourself and you've not heard of the term 'dignity' or 'integrity'. Professionalism and maturity are other words lacking in your vocabulary. It also tells me how you deal with situations in other matters. The easiest way is the best because its the shortest way to benefits eventhough you might lose alot of your dignity along the way.

Looking at your mentality alone is a joke. You call yourself a designer and your proud to have survived in the industry for over 6 years and want to compare your paycheck and your future with mine? Get a reality-check my friend and look in the mirror if better yet go read books and improve your vocabulary, grammar and knowledge.

This post has been edited by nada-: May 24 2006, 01:37 AM
etsuko
post May 24 2006, 10:37 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 23 2006, 08:34 PM)
there's a fine line there, but there's an accepted consesus amongst designers on this issue.

plagiarism is taking works of others without permission, and some even dare to claim its their own work. for example, u steal mona lisa, and claim its your work.

imitation, on the other hand, openly credits the source, with or without permission. for example, u painted an exact copy of mona lisa, and claims that the copy is ur work, but the original belongs to da vinci.

style, on the other hand, is even more subjective. but i believe among artists and designers, style is something that is acceptable to copy. come to think of it, no one can actually claim a particular style belongs to him. u can associate a style with a person, but style cant be "owned" legally.

i mean, what if i copyright my style of "painting using right hand"? should anybody painting with their right hand get a permission from me? that's absurd biggrin.gif.

it's the same about certain colours and all. we can associate red-yellow with selangor, but at the same time it's mcdonalds'. petronas intentionally picked a designer colour: colour that does not exist naturally. there was an issue on this long time ago, but dah lupa lah. they wanted to claim the colour was theirs or something. i was in school at that time...
why does it always come down to these kinda things.. anyway, instead of bashing each other up (though it helps sometimes).. shakehead.gif can we just carry on with the reasons, the problems and the possible solutions Malaysia can implement in being known less as a country who only produces 'pirated' stuff most of the time.

so it's like that discussion we were having sometime ago. is being a copycat right or if acknowledging yourself as a copycat is right. anyway, i think i understand where you're coming from but I still dun like the idea of imitating at all costs. you might be inspired by a certain something of a design then you'll use it but taking the whole thing from (website examle) background right down to footer style is just plain plagiarism.

sometimes a lil change of something that's inspired you might be something innovative you've not come about.

as to the idea of a client approaching me and asking me to copy a website entirely or asking me to edit a template they'd have purchased, I'd either suggest someone else to do it for them or I'd tell them the hourly rate they'd have to pay me wouldn't be worth asking us to edit their template.

simple, honest and not allowing myself to bend my own principles.
junkieG
post May 25 2006, 02:08 AM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

QUOTE(nada- @ May 24 2006, 01:19 AM)
Frankly from your reply I can see your a person who thinks only of yourself and not for others. You are a shallow person without morals or ethics, needless to say you might be surving in the industry but with such shallow mentality no one will respect you. You are the type of person who ruins the names of 'designers'. Dude, man if you seriously must know I'm design student who has freelanced for over 2 years and  I feel that in Malaysia our industry and designers has alot of potential and future but because of alot of shortsighteness like yours we are held back.

Who says you should just b**** to friends and in forum if someone plagarises your work, who says you have to slap anyone? I reported that designer who plagarised and stole pictures from DA in theOneAcademy and supposedly hes in deep trouble right now. I am strongly against the act of plagarism or copying of any sort. It is degrading and highly immoral and if anyone uses it an excuse that a client wants it than you have no backbone yourself and you've not heard of the term 'dignity' or 'integrity'. Professionalism and maturity are other words lacking in your vocabulary. It also tells me how you deal with situations in other matters. The easiest way is the best because its the shortest way to benefits eventhough you might lose alot of your dignity along the way.

Looking at your mentality alone is a joke. You call yourself a designer and your proud to have survived in the industry for over 6 years and want to compare your paycheck and your future with mine? Get a reality-check my friend and look in the mirror if better yet go read books and improve your vocabulary, grammar and knowledge.
i am looking forward wiff dis kind of feedback actually...just gotta love em' smile.gif

before dat i never/dun steal other peoples werk in my whole life...but i love to improvise if i see any lack in it.......i was in ur situation before ..u know, seeing other student ciplak others werk via internet...i kept quiet dat time...in d end, i manage to beat japanese, hongkies, taiwanese, indonesian student (few locals too)if i were loose at their hand also i dun mind...coz i know its not their original artwork...

but u in the other hand, being whut u are, u know, reporting and such, it stop the plagiarism...makes me wonder y u care so much bout plagiarism in college...its normal imho...people do whut it takes to survive...but being kang cheong bout dis aint muh style...in d end , these robbers only menyusahkan diri sendiri when entering real designers world...

ouh yeah my vocab and grammer sux because i have a copywriter in my office...so english writing and such is never being a problem...unlike u ...blogger ...ewwWww

just understand the fact that nobody is perfect

bottom line
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

1-st i am sumthing dat u will never be...

2-nd im kindda tired now and later, so no more comment from me...meaning dis is my last post bout "awareness" thread

3-rd u make me laugh too wiff ur mentality and ur blog...2 years of freelance and people like me holding u back? wait....let me laugh...hhkaahkakhakhakhahk!!!!

people like me will always improvise on other peoples werks N ideas...

people like u will remain original...like a stone...dead, boring, so yesterday, u know wink.gif

main reason is,because u syiok sendiri wiff u design, u never improvise in ur design, u dun even hve strong rationale for ur logos dat u created, very bad execution in typho...but u seek for other people comment and such...

ahhh the pleasure dat i taste now is undefineable.... just like ur logos, UNDEFINEABLE concept, but u want comment and u will be finalising the logos by next week...wth?

u know whut,

the only thing dat holding u back is u.

dun blame me or others... u sux coz u just love to write and do less design...dun u think so?

------------------------------------------------------------

i wish u all the best in becoming a good designer/freelancer/blogger
azarimy
post May 25 2006, 04:39 AM

10,672 posts

u are the saddest designer wannabe that i've ever met/read about. period.

dont call urself a designer. u're a disgrace.

the saddest part? u'll stay that way and wont know what u're missing.
etsuko
post May 25 2006, 10:32 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

sigh.. i try and i try.. sweat.gif

if you all wanna do this, go right ahead la..

i'll just sit back and see when the mod/staff/admin comes in and 'kancho' u all nicely later.

LoL!
eddychstu
post May 25 2006, 11:09 AM

Why so serious?
2,347 posts

design is abt inspiration and idea. u got inspiration from ppl's design, process with further modification and enhancement with own idea, thats not a plagarism.

plagarism generally means "copy and paste" work.

imho,

junkieG - experienced designer, he knows wats the fastest effective way to deliver quality work.

nada - a new blood to the design industry, we can expect new and origianal idea from him.

so stop bashing, u guys can work together as a team laugh.gif

This post has been edited by eddychstu: May 25 2006, 11:48 AM
X.E.D
post May 26 2006, 06:17 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

-Blanked out, everyone appears to be realist-

EDIT: Well, I read the other posts (starting with the ones above me), and nada was really overreacting. The last post you made seemed to be really insulting- it truthfully shows that you haven't stepped in someone else's shoes ever. (3rd paragraph)

ANY Designer has the choice of using the Creative Commons License which they can base an isuuement of a Cease and Desist letter on.
Ta-dang. Originality 0, if coupled with copyright, 1.

Have anyone ever made a TRUELY "original" design? I won't be expecting to see one, even if that would be his/her University assignment. Pure originality is non-existant these days despite anyone trying to defy it. I can go overboard and say that that design uses the 65,536 color patlette of 16Bit color. Since those colors have been used before, is it original anymore? You're pirating colors! *rolls eyes*

-nada, if you're so unhappy, notice the original design holders and tell them about it. C&D is VERY efficent, but you need to have lawyer connections as an extra plus.

Sorry if I happen to be extremely incoherent- I deleted a lot of stuff that was supposed to be the "glue" of the article. And with my posting side turning 180 degrees, well let's say I'll read every post in discussion threads from now onwards.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: May 26 2006, 06:41 PM
TSnada-
post May 26 2006, 08:25 PM

264 posts

X.E.D

So because there is no 'original' ideas of today are you accepting the act of plagarism? So are you trying to state nothing is original nowadays, hence plagarism is a normal act and should be accepted? I'm not assuming things I'm asking it. Your so good at proof reading did you miss out these parts?

QUOTE(junkieG @ May 24 2006, 12:13 AM)

so just gotta do whut it takes...steal rob snatch print screen alter modified speed time  backup is the art of computer graphic designer in darkside mode
aniways all my words are pointless coz just wanna realease sum tension...cannot sleep for more then 48 hours and my back bone is fu++king hurting!  rclxub.gif

He clearly states that he would do whatever for his personal gain including stealing other peoples work for self gain and here your telling me i'm being too sensitive and should look from his perspective? Have we all sunk so low that we lose our own diginity, principles and ethics?You stated it yourself, how many designers can hire a lawyer for copyrighting or plagarism issues? Why would I even need to consider seeing from his narrowminded perspective?

Who is talking about design holders or colour plattes, my goodness. I'm talking about 100% plagarising work and using it as your own or stealing photographs that are copyrighted and dont belong to you. Do you even know the difference of referencing and just plain downright immoral plagarising and because plagarism is happening alot should we accept it because more people are doing it? Do tell me how do you like it if people cut cue in a taxi whilst you been waiting there for half and hour? Hey, it happens alot in Malaysia, maybe we should accept it too.

doh.gif

TSnada-
post May 26 2006, 08:36 PM

264 posts

closing this thread because I find it going nowhere and the whole awareness discussion has become somewhat of a joke.

Good luck to you all and good day

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0128sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:57 AM