AWARENESS, plagarism!

TSnada-
post Dec 21 2005, 09:54 PM, updated 20y ago

264 posts

I was just walking in sg wang a few hours ago and I saw a large amount of designs that are from the internet as well as my friends from certain international forums were used on t shirts. I see it more and more now and I just want to say

"Please do not support plagarism of any sort, please dont plagarise and steal others work from overseas"

I'm not accusing anyone of this but just spreading an awarenes, as i see more and more places that are stealing designs from overseas by the use of internet. This is really a serious problem and I've seen the problem grow more and more. Plagarism is a serious matter and no one should do it and no excuses for such an act.

anyway cheers + peace
dinodog_Jr
post Dec 21 2005, 10:35 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Well..i dun think majority Local consumers will give a damn bout this Design copyright. They might dun even knw tos design are from oversea. The design suit their taste & the price is Right is wat consumer care bout mostly.

In fact, u r asking for serious Design clothes for ur personal taste, u won't choose Sg wang neither.

Even Government haven't start to notice this phenemenon, rite?(i not sure bout this statement..but i knw they are more serious in Pirated Movies & softwares.)

Dat's Hard to avoid such trend in Local. sorry to say dat.

This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Dec 21 2005, 10:37 PM
etsuko
post Dec 21 2005, 10:50 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

Well, that's the thing about the internet. It's not only a source for research but a source for plagiarism. it's humongous resource is available for any person looking for a quick buck to higher a designer to produce 'his' design so it could be sold.

Anyway, I guess the positive part to look at it is that these designers are rather well known or have a product that's really sold in the market. smile.gif But I can understand what it feels like.

As much as righteousness goes, I don't think I'd spend more than RM100 on a mere t-shirt. I guess it's cause i'm not in the target market they're looking at. tongue.gif
TSnada-
post Dec 21 2005, 11:06 PM

264 posts

actually this awareness is aimed towards designers only. Sorry i didnt make it clearer earlier. As designers have the social responsiblity of not allowing and spreading plagarism, whether the market wants it or not. I believe you can still create good and attractive designs to sell without plagarising just because the market is demand. If not then we would give in to everything that consumers want and it also gives excuses to some designers to make a quick buck.

etsuko
post Dec 21 2005, 11:40 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(nada- @ Dec 21 2005, 11:06 PM)
actually this awareness is aimed towards designers only. Sorry i didnt make it clearer earlier. As designers have the social responsiblity of not allowing and spreading plagarism, whether the market wants it or not. I believe you can still create good and attractive designs to sell without plagarising just because the market is demand. If not then we would give in to everything that consumers want and it also gives excuses to some designers to make a quick buck.
okie, just to make one thing clear. sometimes designs are inspirations and have been known to be almost impossible to be totally original. so unless a design is 60% exact like the inspiration, then it should be considered as plagiarism.

on a second note, as much as designer may design to their own liking, if they retain to believe that they're designs are superb and they're reluctant to give consumers what they want, their product will not sell.

apparels are a matter of trend. if that type of design is the new thing, everyone would be buying it and you can't complain because most of the market is built upon people like this. if you think your design will create that trend without the help of marketing, think again.

so yea.. make sure you design improvising on inspiration and not design following on inspiration. smile.gif

cheers.
sonictheory
post Apr 25 2006, 12:32 AM

510 posts

is there anyway to register our design to be copyrighted, so incase anyone copy our design, we can sue them?...
dinodog_Jr
post Apr 25 2006, 10:57 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Der is no way to stop pirated products.

Save ur time & let them spread u reputation & fame in a low cost way.

It is much worthy to get copyright if u r into top-line of fashion/graphics designer. Like tos clothes are not for casual wear or common consumer.

Maybe u r at the same boat of D & G & Georgio Armani ?!

Tos branded sport-wear design is much more to be pirated target. And i still haven't read paper bout cetak rompak t-shirt. If not mistaken, i came across Disney T-shirt once time.

Majority would not care bout steal-art for clothes printed.

Just wondering wat type of graphics/design from u worth so much "protection"?
etsuko
post Apr 25 2006, 11:32 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

design has been a very subjective thing for a very long time.. however, I think the only thing that can't be copied is style. but that too in the near future can be forged with scanning and high definition printing.

anyway, the only law available in trying to protect designers work nowadays is the licenses governed under Creative Commons. just don't be too confident that with that, your design won't be used by others.
momochi zabuza
post Apr 25 2006, 12:58 PM

I never think about money, beautiful things make money
719 posts

just yesterday i had a presentation for installation.. seeing the desktop and hope to see other presentation for the installation.. but end up seeing a final year project that taking templates from templatemonster.. haih...

FINAL YEAR tuhhhh
dinodog_Jr
post Apr 25 2006, 02:08 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

haha.. did u teasing the creator?

put a shame on him.
momochi zabuza
post Apr 25 2006, 02:42 PM

I never think about money, beautiful things make money
719 posts

erm i dunno.. just spit out from what i see... mysight is myside.. maybe at this current time .. he's reading to this statement. tongue.gif

xetajones
post Apr 26 2006, 09:31 PM

Connecting Brains
586 posts

QUOTE(momochi zabuza @ Apr 25 2006, 12:58 PM)
just yesterday i had a presentation for installation.. seeing the desktop and hope to see other presentation for the installation.. but end up seeing a final year project that taking templates from templatemonster.. haih...

FINAL YEAR tuhhhh
Thats a normal thing. Sometimes take other people stuff the whole and just it. That is so uncool.

Well there is a few term that I used when I was studying: -
Photostat Design - copy whole whole 80% and above coppied. High risk if the lecturer is very knowlegable. No risk if lecturer knows nothing
Instant Noodle Design - Fast to cook, good to see. Get a magazine or some internet archive, mantain the layout and do some changes here and there. 50%-80% copied. Average risk.
DIY Design- all original work- this need lots of work and lots of explanation. It have to start from idea-conceptualization to the end. High risk of failure, some people just do not appricaite. Beauty is in the eye of beholder.

Conclusion - cook instant noodle lo. whistling.gif
dinodog_Jr
post Apr 26 2006, 11:57 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

sometimes as a responsible designer/artist, dare to admit in front of ur freinds or anyone who knows the truth behind those arts is a good attitude too.
Just dun show-off or boastful about ur stealing artwork before someone found out How you done dat. Be a humble copy-cat.

We cannot blame on ppl "stealing or copying" arts. Ironically, majority of us do this too in this widen net-sphere.

However when someone deny their acts, it will start to let me look down on dat fellow.

jayhan
post Apr 27 2006, 12:27 AM

7 ☆ DSLR noob
2,707 posts

for sure, when u look into other ppl's work for insipration or reference, indeed u will somehow, adapt something from their work, style can be easily copied, but idea has to be original

for me, the most obvious plagiarism is those hk movies
TSnada-
post Apr 27 2006, 01:10 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Apr 26 2006, 11:57 PM)
We cannot blame on ppl "stealing or copying" arts. Ironically, majority of us do this too in this widen net-sphere.

However when someone deny their acts, it will start to let me look down on dat fellow.
We cannot blame people on stealing or copying other peoples works? Really, I have to say that is by far the most unintelligent reply I've seen so far. If your a designer, how can any company or designer respect you for saying such brainless comment. What your saying is since so many people do it, its ok to do it and because a fellow admits he copies other peoples works it justifys his act of copying/plagarism?

I would well advise all designers here at lowyat.net.forum to carefully think about copying or plagarism as this is a highly unethical action and you will not make it far or be respected with that kind of mentality. If people in your college are copying/plagarising and steal other peoples work from the internet then expose them and embarass them, if you dont you are no different from the people who keep quiet when someone cuts queue at a taxi stand.

dinodog_Jr
post Apr 27 2006, 03:21 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(nada- @ Apr 27 2006, 01:10 PM)
We cannot blame people on stealing or copying other peoples works? Really, I have to say that is by far the most unintelligent reply I've seen so far. If your a designer, how can any company or designer respect you for saying such brainless comment. What your saying is since so many people do it, its ok to do it and because a fellow admits he copies other peoples works it justifys his act of copying/plagarism?

I would well advise all designers here at lowyat.net.forum to carefully think about copying or plagarism as this is a highly unethical action and you will not make it far or be respected with that kind of mentality. If people in your college are copying/plagarising and steal other peoples work from the internet then expose them and embarass them, if you dont you are no different from the people who keep quiet when someone cuts queue at a taxi stand.
hey Mr. Nada. Pls read again the sentence der is a "............................". Perhaps my description word is a harsh & directly. Remind again the " ...

I felt u always aggressive over any one replies.. Pls check on ur egonistic attitude. it will do u good for future prospect.

U need to improve the way u advise on ppl. You need to apologize.

Moreover, a well-thought person will neva judge someone intelligent instead of improving them wif a good manner.
tpk1031
post Apr 27 2006, 04:14 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(nada- @ Apr 27 2006, 01:10 PM)
I have to say that is by far the most unintelligent reply I've seen so far. If your a designer, how can any company or designer respect you for saying such brainless comment.
wah... hey..... i'm telling u this bcoz i dun hope u will get trouble urself in ur future....pls give ur comment in a polite way... this is a discussion forum...yes..u may give any comment... but not to hurt ppl's feeling.

This post has been edited by tpk1031: Apr 27 2006, 04:15 PM
TSnada-
post Apr 27 2006, 08:37 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Apr 27 2006, 03:21 PM)
hey Mr. Nada. Pls read again the sentence der is a "............................". Perhaps my description word is a harsh & directly. Remind again the " ...

I felt u always aggressive over any one replies.. Pls check on ur egonistic attitude. it will do u good for future prospect.

U need to improve the way u advise on ppl. You need to apologize.

Moreover, a well-thought person will neva judge someone intelligent instead of improving them wif a good manner.
Dear dinodog_jr, I'm not advising your or giving your constructive criticism, what I'm saying is a statement. You want me to care about feelings when your saying its ok to rip-off others work as long as you are humble about it (read your earlier post about being a "humble copycat") Your description was neither harsh or direct, infact it only had content that was unethical and with words like "be a humble copy-cat", I can clearly see support the act of plagarism/copying. If you believe the act of copying/plagarism is correct eventhough your humble about it please tell me so.

I might be frank and rude, but I do not try to make excuses of justifying that plagarism and copying is ok because lots of people are doing it. As said earlier, you might as well say it is also ok to cut queue, as long as you dont get caught and you arent rude, since alot of people are doing it.
dinodog_Jr
post Apr 27 2006, 09:30 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Do u actually learn ur art completely from ur mindset , like solitude from this world?!

Did anything dat inspired or directing u to do art?

If yes u was inspired from anything else, u are just another copycat.

The humble copycat i mean is when U r copy something, dun insists that u r the one who create from the scratch. Just tell ppl how u get inspired from someone else before they found out the truth.

Since when i encourage ppl to copy 100% from someone and use for their own purpose?! All of my art i dun even dare to say i am "my own inspiration". Sure der are lotsa combination & mixture of ideas & concepts in our arts/design. Another point of Humble copycat.

U can refer to Jayhan, he get wat i mean. Inspiration from the others and adapt it, blend it, evolute the essense to make something u can accept.

This is the meaning behind the Humble copycat.

And the words u teased on me can actually Directing to anybody else in this world.
Pls mind ur harsh attitude in forum. I had seen ppl using egonistic attitude in International art forum and get banned away.

stop being rude and make freinds aroudn this world, ok?!

(Btw, i think u had misunderstand my points from the beginning in ur latest reply.)

tpk1031
post Apr 27 2006, 10:09 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(nada- @ Apr 27 2006, 08:37 PM)

I might be frank and rude, but I do not try to make excuses of justifying that plagarism and copying is ok because lots of people are doing it. As said earlier, you might as well say it is also ok to cut queue, as long as you dont get caught and you arent rude, since alot of people are doing it.
Mr nada from ur statement seems like u have experience in the designer world.. r u a designer?..

0.0177sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:42 PM