AWARENESS, plagarism!

etsuko
post Dec 21 2005, 10:50 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

Well, that's the thing about the internet. It's not only a source for research but a source for plagiarism. it's humongous resource is available for any person looking for a quick buck to higher a designer to produce 'his' design so it could be sold.

Anyway, I guess the positive part to look at it is that these designers are rather well known or have a product that's really sold in the market. smile.gif But I can understand what it feels like.

As much as righteousness goes, I don't think I'd spend more than RM100 on a mere t-shirt. I guess it's cause i'm not in the target market they're looking at. tongue.gif
etsuko
post Dec 21 2005, 11:40 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(nada- @ Dec 21 2005, 11:06 PM)
actually this awareness is aimed towards designers only. Sorry i didnt make it clearer earlier. As designers have the social responsiblity of not allowing and spreading plagarism, whether the market wants it or not. I believe you can still create good and attractive designs to sell without plagarising just because the market is demand. If not then we would give in to everything that consumers want and it also gives excuses to some designers to make a quick buck.
okie, just to make one thing clear. sometimes designs are inspirations and have been known to be almost impossible to be totally original. so unless a design is 60% exact like the inspiration, then it should be considered as plagiarism.

on a second note, as much as designer may design to their own liking, if they retain to believe that they're designs are superb and they're reluctant to give consumers what they want, their product will not sell.

apparels are a matter of trend. if that type of design is the new thing, everyone would be buying it and you can't complain because most of the market is built upon people like this. if you think your design will create that trend without the help of marketing, think again.

so yea.. make sure you design improvising on inspiration and not design following on inspiration. smile.gif

cheers.
etsuko
post Apr 25 2006, 11:32 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

design has been a very subjective thing for a very long time.. however, I think the only thing that can't be copied is style. but that too in the near future can be forged with scanning and high definition printing.

anyway, the only law available in trying to protect designers work nowadays is the licenses governed under Creative Commons. just don't be too confident that with that, your design won't be used by others.
etsuko
post Apr 28 2006, 10:24 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

sigh.. people.. designers..

the whole reason nada- started this is to vent out his diappointment and findings so easily found on plagiarism and the like.

I'm not gonna side anyone here but act as an outside reviewer. I've been reading this thread and following thus far. Before it becomes a war of intellects or a "eh, move la! my car better than yours la. - Hitz.FM" scenario. I'd just like to share a few words and try to make peace with everyone here.

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Apr 26 2006, 11:57 PM)
sometimes as a responsible designer/artist, dare to admit in front of ur freinds or anyone who knows the truth behind those arts is a good attitude too.
Just dun show-off or boastful about ur stealing artwork before someone found out How you done dat. Be a humble copy-cat.

We cannot blame on ppl "stealing or copying" arts. Ironically, majority of us do this too in this widen net-sphere.

However when someone deny their acts, it will start to let me look down on dat fellow.

According to my investigation of this topic, the war began when dinodog_Jr said this. To my understanding of what he said, he refers that it's okie to copy as long the designer is responsible enough to admit it. This statement itself made it a double edged knife because you're saying it's okie to copy as long they admit it. You also implied that those who aren't honest would make you look down on them which strengthens the statement that copying is something should be allowed.

Before you say anything, just read on.

QUOTE(jayhan @ Apr 27 2006, 12:27 AM)
for sure, when u look into other ppl's work for insipration or reference, indeed u will somehow, adapt something from their work, style can be easily copied, but idea has to be original
jayhan said everything well here and it's on the spot right. he refers that everyone has 'copied' from an inspiration and adapted into their work. a 100% style that's truely unique isn't easy to copy but it can be copied. just like what he said. smile.gif

QUOTE(nada- @ Apr 27 2006, 01:10 PM)
We cannot blame people on stealing or copying other peoples works? Really, I have to say that is by far the most unintelligent reply I've seen so far. If your a designer, how can any company or designer respect you for saying such brainless comment. What your saying is since so many people do it, its ok to do it and because a fellow admits he copies other peoples works it justifys his act of copying/plagarism?

I would well advise all designers here at lowyat.net.forum to carefully think about copying or plagarism as this is a highly unethical action and you will not make it far or be respected with that kind of mentality. If people in your college are copying/plagarising and steal other peoples work from the internet then expose them and embarass them, if you dont you are no different from the people who keep quiet when someone cuts queue at a taxi stand.
now, I can understand why nada- took it very personally and preached to all designers still studying. since he started the topic, his post was to instil a degree of justice and try to act upon plagiarism. That said, he's just being protective hence vented out his anger.

it sounded personal and like anyone here, i'd also be pissed if someone said that to me. however, if it was said then normally it's for a reason or it wouldn't be put into such a long paragraph. tongue.gif

in conclusion to all this, I think everyone should lighten up and retrace their steps of what they might've said or how they might've phrased what they wanted to say.

maybe what dinodog meant to say was to be a 'humble copycat', a designer who's copied an inspiration at least 60% should just admit it if asked. what nada- was doing was just protecting his belief and strong justice towards plagiarism.

so that's that about this topic. i should've studied law or become a negotiator at times. be at peace everyone.. icon_rolleyes.gif

p/s: just remembered I said this before..

.. sometimes designs are inspirations and have been known to be almost impossible to be totally original. so unless a design is 60% exact like the inspiration, then it should be considered as plagiarism.

This post has been edited by etsuko: Apr 28 2006, 10:27 AM
etsuko
post May 3 2006, 11:11 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

i think if the copyright were strong here.. not many companies will be suing because not all of em can afford to do so.. especially if the typical people knows this and a small time designer has created a hype for themselves.. these low lifes will just piggy back on the smaller one knowing that these small ones can't do anything about it..

why? because they don't have the money to sue.. tongue.gif
etsuko
post May 22 2006, 12:15 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(mclelun @ May 21 2006, 05:55 PM)
i am not a desginer student, i just study programming.

but during my college life,  the lecturer keep on stressing issues on pliagarism and reference.

i duno whether local designing college is teach student about all this copyright and pliagarism thing/??
they do.. and there are sources or powers that even promote them..and I ain't talking about friends.
etsuko
post May 23 2006, 11:13 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

actually, you can't blame them for thinking that because they might've decided to just change the negative thought of design being plagiarized and allowing the other person to earn more than they do, to something positive like 'wow! my style/design is unique at a point that someone is trying to copy it.'

actually, as long other designers realize where the original originated from I think the plagiarism protection ethics will organically come in on its own.

for instance, the reason you noticed a plagiarism act is because you know where the works originated from. which is good and because it's this good, clients who understand these things will not use the person's work unless the copyright has been cleared up.

so for the clients who just allows this to happen later, it's either they don't know and aare waiting for other designers to tell them about it or are just being arrogant people who don't care about design at all.
etsuko
post May 23 2006, 04:49 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(angeldothack @ May 23 2006, 12:05 PM)
hmm, mind to tell the rest of the story..? have not been following up here for a while. thanks smile.gif
i know of one..forgot if it was Honda or Toyota's website. the idea was imitated entirely.

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 23 2006, 04:35 PM)
dont confuse urself between plagiarism and imitation. imitation is the best form of flattery. it means ur work is really good that others start to refer to it, tries to be like u, think like u, produce like u. when people start referring to u in the design world, u know u're that good.

plagiarism is just WRONG. plain and simple.
so where do u draw the line for imitation or plagiarism..? blink.gif

if someone copies your design or style it's imitation..? and if the person just blindly takes your work and claim it as your own is plagiarism..?
etsuko
post May 24 2006, 10:37 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 23 2006, 08:34 PM)
there's a fine line there, but there's an accepted consesus amongst designers on this issue.

plagiarism is taking works of others without permission, and some even dare to claim its their own work. for example, u steal mona lisa, and claim its your work.

imitation, on the other hand, openly credits the source, with or without permission. for example, u painted an exact copy of mona lisa, and claims that the copy is ur work, but the original belongs to da vinci.

style, on the other hand, is even more subjective. but i believe among artists and designers, style is something that is acceptable to copy. come to think of it, no one can actually claim a particular style belongs to him. u can associate a style with a person, but style cant be "owned" legally.

i mean, what if i copyright my style of "painting using right hand"? should anybody painting with their right hand get a permission from me? that's absurd biggrin.gif.

it's the same about certain colours and all. we can associate red-yellow with selangor, but at the same time it's mcdonalds'. petronas intentionally picked a designer colour: colour that does not exist naturally. there was an issue on this long time ago, but dah lupa lah. they wanted to claim the colour was theirs or something. i was in school at that time...
why does it always come down to these kinda things.. anyway, instead of bashing each other up (though it helps sometimes).. shakehead.gif can we just carry on with the reasons, the problems and the possible solutions Malaysia can implement in being known less as a country who only produces 'pirated' stuff most of the time.

so it's like that discussion we were having sometime ago. is being a copycat right or if acknowledging yourself as a copycat is right. anyway, i think i understand where you're coming from but I still dun like the idea of imitating at all costs. you might be inspired by a certain something of a design then you'll use it but taking the whole thing from (website examle) background right down to footer style is just plain plagiarism.

sometimes a lil change of something that's inspired you might be something innovative you've not come about.

as to the idea of a client approaching me and asking me to copy a website entirely or asking me to edit a template they'd have purchased, I'd either suggest someone else to do it for them or I'd tell them the hourly rate they'd have to pay me wouldn't be worth asking us to edit their template.

simple, honest and not allowing myself to bend my own principles.
etsuko
post May 25 2006, 10:32 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

sigh.. i try and i try.. sweat.gif

if you all wanna do this, go right ahead la..

i'll just sit back and see when the mod/staff/admin comes in and 'kancho' u all nicely later.

LoL!

0.0177sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:09 AM