14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

[Club/Discussion] Acer Aspire™ V3 Notebook Rev 1.0, Last updated @ 12:00PM, 20/05/2013

porselinaheart
post Jun 1 2012, 08:38 AM

Old Timer
576 posts

just got mine yesterday, biggrin.gif RM2450.

Added on June 1, 2012, 2:07 pm
QUOTE(yunsyn @ May 21 2012, 03:17 AM)
i just found out when i play game starcraft II...left side very heat and hot air come out...i use cooler pad too.

and the AC adepter was so hot....
so i just play 3-4 hours only then stop.

but when i surf net then everything normal.
advise to get one of those laptop cooler fans that attach to side vents. was very effective with my previous 5475G, which had roughly the same vent location, shape and size of the V3-571G.

2 Quick questions to all the sifus out there:

1) I want to upgrade my RAM. How do i do this without voiding my warranty?

2) Anyone manage to pick up a keyboard gel cover yet?

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Jun 3 2012, 09:26 PM
Eugene91
post Jun 1 2012, 09:29 PM

6,109 posts

Got the V3-471G Olympic already~

The speaker grill above the keyboard is gimmick? lol..
Speakers are actually below the palm rest.

The temps on idle and while burning recovery disc seems good, even the HDD. Palm rest, touchpad, keyboard surface temps is not that noticable. (Without cooler pad) Better than my 6935G with coolerpad thumbup.gif

TSTDUEnthusiast
post Jun 1 2012, 10:42 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(porselinaheart @ Jun 1 2012, 08:38 AM)
just got mine yesterday, biggrin.gif RM2450.

Added on June 1, 2012, 2:07 pm

advise to get one of those laptop cooler fans that attach to side vents. was very effective with my previous 5475G, which was roughly the same shape and size of the V3-571G.

2 Quick questions to all the sifus out there:

1) I want to upgrade my RAM. How do i do this without voiding my warranty?

2) Anyone manage to pick up a keyboard gel cover yet?
hmm.gif I did ask the sales person about the notebook's warranty if I proceed to upgrade the RAM, but he told me it'll be fine even without the warranty stickers over the screws securing the cover over the hard disk drive and RAM. We could just act clueless and blame it all on the salesmen, can't we? icon_idea.gif

Eugene91
post Jun 1 2012, 11:17 PM

6,109 posts

I ran Furmark and it seems that it mentioned (THROTTLING: -322MHz) This is not a good sign?
GT630M max temp was 92c

UPDATE:

I did a fresh installation of Windows 7 HP X64, burned apps & drivers via Acer eRecovery.

GeForce GT630M Specs.

3DMark 11
Compared scores of overall and gpu with scores at Notebookcheck quite similar laugh.gif

After FIFA Online 2
Played well, no throttle felt.

After Blackshot
Most of the time good, some slight lag (could be due to server/internet)

**Games .exe are forced to run with Nvidia GPU**

As seen in the sensor detection of GPU-z
Core: 797.3MHz / Memory: 896.8MHz / Shader:1594.7MHz

This post has been edited by Eugene91: Jun 2 2012, 10:48 PM
porselinaheart
post Jun 3 2012, 12:13 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

i have an issue trying to run Sonic Generations. The config only allows me to select the intel HD4000 as the graphic hardware, and when i launch the game it gives the error that "hardware is not detected'

anybody got a fix? already tried forcing both .exe files to run using the nvidia gt640
-kytz-
post Jun 3 2012, 02:20 PM

12,573 posts

Would like to ask whether the CPU of this machine I'd able to handle Lightroom4 smoothly or not? Let's say compare the processing power of this laptop against a desktop i5-3550k

TDUEnthusiast, need your input here smile.gif

And also whether the GT640M would be able to play most games at 1080p?

Planning to either get another laptop (current laptop slow) or get a desktop. Consideration for laptop is because I will be going to Aussie in July next year for studies (1year) lolz. If I get a desktop then I'll use the slow lappie to bring overseas.
TSTDUEnthusiast
post Jun 3 2012, 02:48 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(porselinaheart @ Jun 3 2012, 12:13 PM)
i have an issue trying to run Sonic Generations. The config only allows me to select the intel HD4000 as the graphic hardware, and when i launch the game it gives the error that "hardware is not detected'

anybody got a fix? already tried forcing both .exe files to run using the nvidia gt640
http://forums.sega.com/showthread.php?3858...A-Optimus-Issue. This may help you.

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 3 2012, 02:20 PM)
Would like to ask whether the CPU of this machine I'd able to handle Lightroom4 smoothly or not? Let's say compare the processing power of this laptop against a desktop i5-3550k

TDUEnthusiast, need your input here smile.gif

And also whether the GT640M would be able to play most games at 1080p?

Planning to either get another laptop (current laptop slow) or get a desktop. Consideration for laptop is because I will be going to Aussie in July next year for studies (1year) lolz. If I get a desktop then I'll use the slow lappie to bring overseas.
hmm.gif. The GT 640M on the V3-571G is quite decent, and it should play most games at 1920x1080 fine, but most likely with a mix of mid-high graphical settings or just medium depending on the game with or without extra eye candies like AA / AF and et cetera on.

Anyway, based on this and this, the Intel Core i7 3610QM is comparable to an Intel Core i5 2500K or even faster, but slightly slower than an Intel Core i5 3550K. It is therefore considered as pretty powerful, and should have no problems in running Lightroom 4.

Updated thread with disassembling guide.

Temperature Report : It seems that even with a new layer of thermal paste ( Arctic Cooling MX-4 ), the working temperature of the laptop hasn't changed much, which leads me to believe that it's either Acer has used a thermal paste of the same grade, or that the performance of the cooling system is bottlenecked by the small vents around the V3-571G.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Jun 3 2012, 03:16 PM
porselinaheart
post Jun 3 2012, 05:10 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

Just installed and tested Adobe Creative Suite Master Collection . apart from a slight wait for startup for a few apps like Indesign ( around 10-5 seconds more compared to the other apps ), everything runs smoothly.

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Jun 3 2012, 05:13 PM
-kytz-
post Jun 3 2012, 07:45 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Jun 3 2012, 02:48 PM)
http://forums.sega.com/showthread.php?3858...A-Optimus-Issue. This may help you.
hmm.gif. The GT 640M on the V3-571G is quite decent, and it should play most games at 1920x1080 fine, but most likely with a mix of mid-high graphical settings or just medium depending on the game with or without extra eye candies like AA / AF and et cetera on.

Anyway, based on this and this, the Intel Core i7 3610QM is comparable to an Intel Core i5 2500K or even faster, but slightly slower than an Intel Core i5 3550K. It is therefore considered as pretty powerful, and should have no problems in running Lightroom 4.
Updated thread with disassembling guide.
Thanks TDUEnthusiast smile.gif Is the keyboard area and palm rest hot? I'm having a nightmare with my Dell SXPS 16 now, it's glossy and the keyboard area is always quite hot. Quite unbearable without a cooler and not to mention it's kinda "sticky" if you know what I mean.

There's switchable graphics right? Between the GT640m and the HD4000? smile.gif
TSTDUEnthusiast
post Jun 3 2012, 07:58 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 3 2012, 07:45 PM)
Thanks TDUEnthusiast smile.gif Is the keyboard area and palm rest hot? I'm having a nightmare with my Dell SXPS 16 now, it's glossy and the keyboard area is always quite hot. Quite unbearable without a cooler and not to mention it's kinda "sticky" if you know what I mean.

There's switchable graphics right? Between the GT640m and the HD4000? smile.gif
Yes, the default GPU that is used is the HD4000, while the GT 640M is kicked into action when you start playing games. smile.gif

Anyway, no, the keyboard area and the palm rest area is always cool or slightly warm biggrin.gif. I find the palm rest area to be pretty fine in terms of stickiness, i.e not getting too sticky to be unbearable, but of course wiping of the surface with a slightly damp cloth is recommended from time to time biggrin.gif.
porselinaheart
post Jun 3 2012, 09:12 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

thanks for the link, TDUEnthusiast. I still haven't managed to get sonic to work, but i did find some updated drivers for the 640 GT. They're the ones for the Aspire V3-7710G, but work great on on my v3-571G

1. Go here:
[http://support.acer.com/us/en/product/default.aspx?modelId=4247

2. download the nvidia vga driver.

3. unzip

4.install

Added on June 3, 2012, 9:24 pmi have an extra lcd monitor at home, so for fun i set up extended dips;ays for my home setup, and OMG i'm lovin having extra desktop real estate! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Jun 3 2012, 09:24 PM
Abk92
post Jun 7 2012, 07:13 PM

717 posts

Hye Guys..
This V3-571G machine come with Nvidia Geforce GT 640M LE or 640M?
hyde787
post Jun 8 2012, 10:08 AM

QUOTE(Abk92 @ Jun 7 2012, 07:13 PM)
Hye Guys..
This V3-571G machine come with Nvidia Geforce GT 640M LE or 640M?
It is come with 640M.
Abk92
post Jun 8 2012, 02:54 PM

717 posts

Wow nice GPU!!!
robertlee
post Jun 11 2012, 03:37 PM

321 posts

TDUEnthusiast

Base on the photo you open up the V3-571G

Its that possible the change the harddisk without open up like you did ?

I plan to replace it with a SSD drive.

TSTDUEnthusiast
post Jun 11 2012, 07:57 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(robertlee @ Jun 11 2012, 03:37 PM)
TDUEnthusiast

Base on the photo you open up the V3-571G

Its that possible the change the harddisk without open up like you did ?

I plan to replace it with a SSD drive.
Yes. The hard disk cover is separate smile.gif.
azrin_kiko
post Jun 11 2012, 10:03 PM

634 posts

Well, im an owner of this v3-571g but it comes with i5-3210m processor... hm hm
puteraX2020
post Jun 12 2012, 09:41 AM

763 posts

Im am an owner of V3-571g ... i didnt know this model also have i5 as well.. mine is an i7-3610qm smile.gif

BTW i think we can update the graphic card to .9616 as i accidently update it from V5-571g just now.. but it works fine as its also a 600m series drivers from acer...
mrkenn
post Jun 14 2012, 10:05 PM

723 posts

Hi guys. Wanna ask how does 1366x768 look on a 15.6 inches laptop? does the pixels look a bit too big? what about when gaming?

tq
Happy_Igneel
post Jun 14 2012, 11:42 PM

41 posts

HI guys,anyone have 2nd hand parts for reviving my beloved aspire? sad.gif

Item(s):Acer 4920 Power Board Ribbon Cable

Picture:

it is connected to the power switch board.

14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:41 AM