Bodybuilding Thread V11, Bodybuilding Q&A
kubuk
Jul 1 2012, 10:50 PM
Bros, I wanna ask. I don't have a power rack in my gym or a squat rack. So when I do squats, I normally have my spotter to load weights onto me. Is there anyway of letting go of the weights other than throwing the weights down to the floor?
And btw, possible to replace barbell squats with hack squats or front squats on days without spotters? I used to use the smith machine but I always suffer from either back or knee pain.
kubuk
Jul 2 2012, 01:07 PM
Yeah. I just do a clean to get it into front squat position. But does it work the legs the same?
I tried getting a 60kg barbell onto my back by doing a clean, shoulder press and then load it onto my back this morning. Back feels like crap while loading it probably cause I had to round my back. The part my arms had to go behind my neck feels scary. Like my arms are gonna get pulled off.Never gonna do it again. Especially if I'm sleepy from watching last night's final lol.
kubuk
Jul 3 2012, 10:59 PM
Squat machines don't do the same justice as normal squats for me. I can squat so much more on smith machine than normal squats. The vertical movement feels very unnatural though. Kinda hard either on my lower back or knees. My quads don't feel as worked too..
kubuk
Jul 18 2012, 02:02 PM
How much lean mass do you guys put on a month during bulking? I gain roughly 1-2kg a month but today a trainer came up and told me I'm gaining too slow. He wants to train me for free but I don't like the feeling of being pushed.
kubuk
Jul 18 2012, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(-Dan @ Jul 18 2012, 06:08 PM) Realistically, 1-2kg increments of lean mass per month is about as much as you can get naturally. Usually the only times when a person can manage to put on more than that is when he/she has just started training and keeps their diet in check very well, or if he/she is juicing. IMO, there's no real point in going crazy on a bulk and gaining a load of fat because all it'll really do is make you want to cut when you look at yourself in the mirror, in which case that'll get in the way of your initial goal of wanting to gain muscle. Having calories no more than 500 about maintenance is a good area to be in to minimize fat gains but still provide enough for gaining muscle. And like kurtkob78 said, if you can manage to gain 12-24kg of pure muscle in a year, that is a MASSIVE amount. Think of the size of a 400g steak in a restaurant. Now imagine 45 steaks (taking the middle number). That's a lot of meat.  I thought I was making good progress. Very discouraging when people tell me my methods are not right.. Btw I don't clean bulk on purpose lol. I wanna dirty bulk also cannot. I eat around 3.5k calories. about 900 calories over maintenance and my bf still stays below 8%. My body metabolism is just too high. I can lose muscle tone very fast if I don't keep up with my food.
kubuk
Jul 18 2012, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jul 18 2012, 10:30 PM) Still on the diet topic, egg has 78 calories but almost 70% of fat RDI per day. Since there is a no-cooking policy in my campus, is it OK if I bulk by eating around 6-8 eggs a day? Which uni are you in? My uni hostel doesnt allow cooking but I just cook lol. Try cooking french toast and so on. I don't really like taking protein solely from eggs. You have to eat a lot of them although white eggs are pure protein. I rather eat meat but thats just me.
kubuk
Jul 18 2012, 11:06 PM
Yeah your plan is kinda good. Hmm. Is it around Sunway area? I don't really watch what I eat. Fat and cholesterol wise. I don't put on weight easily. Don't think its a wise idea to take whey as your main source of protein..
Ps: most unis do that cause its easier to maintain. most students dont give a damn to the cleanliness after cooking resulting in oily kitchen and stuff..
This post has been edited by kubuk: Jul 18 2012, 11:10 PM
kubuk
Jul 22 2012, 10:28 AM
I wear gloves all the time. Instead of using wrist strap during pulling movements, I just strap my gloves on tight. But for military presses, I take off my gloves. The weight pressing against the padding kills my palm.
kubuk
Jul 27 2012, 12:35 PM
Went to train for the first time after a week plus because of exams. Chest and tricep day. Can't work out at all. I feel so out of breath with my working weight. Decreased it by 5kg and it feels too light. But when I increase it, I feel like packing my bags and go home lol. Normal to feel weak after laying off for a week? I didn't take supplements at all during that 1 week period too. (I'm not on creatine either)
Btw, what do you guys do on days like this? Push yourself? I already feel like shit and training today is a waste of time. Managed to burnout my chest. Barely. Hardly touched my tricep though. Can't even maintain my form during pulldowns
This post has been edited by kubuk: Jul 27 2012, 12:38 PM
kubuk
Jul 27 2012, 01:52 PM
I never thought that laying off for a week could weaken me as much as this. Cant imagine how you guys feel.
kubuk
Jul 31 2012, 08:20 PM
Hey guys while on the topic of injury, I would like to ask how a slipped disc feels like. Or anything to do with the spine. I googled the symptoms and it says that the pain will radiate around
I'm currently suffering from back pain for about a month now. It only hurts when I bend back. It will hurt if I bend forward only if I bend backwards. It doesn't radiate around. Doesn't interfere with my workout or life either so I don't bother checking it out with the doctor. Doesn't hurt when I deadlift or anything.
PS: pain started when I went heavy squatting on the smith machine. I continued with the pain till I finished 4 sets of 9 reps squats. Quit doing after that. I hope this is muscle related. 1 month is too long though..
kubuk
Aug 6 2012, 04:07 PM
Wtf man my BF went from 7% to 14% during 1 month of bulking. 6 kg gained. I'm not sure if the scale is accurate or not but I feel fat.. I've never had my BF gone above 10% in my life. Above 10% abs still defined for the rest of you?
kubuk
Aug 12 2012, 10:47 AM
Your deadlift seems to be the Romanian deadlift, not the conventional deadlift. Why do you go backwards before you squat haha. I think your form is ok IMO.
kubuk
Aug 15 2012, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(potemkin @ Aug 15 2012, 11:45 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « That Squat Rack looks familiar , you are training at FF Curve no ? walao. like that also can recognize lol!
kubuk
Aug 18 2012, 08:39 AM
QUOTE(Zeekgreymon @ Aug 17 2012, 10:54 PM) guys.. wnna ask something here, what is the recommended mp3 player to bring at the gym? my shorts doesnt have pocket so i tend to stick it at side of my short. you get what i mean? sry for fail english I use my phone to listen to songs. You can use the arm band but it feels gay to me. I simply put it anywhere. Like for example if I'm doing bench presses, I put my phone on my tummy. Just carry it around. No harm.
kubuk
Aug 20 2012, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(sickboy @ Aug 20 2012, 11:43 PM) Anyone know if this cablebar setup is as effective as Olympic Barbell I'm using it for Deadlift and Bent Over Row  Machine looks sick. Never seen one of these before  Wanna try it someday
kubuk
Aug 24 2012, 02:32 PM
I don't feel anything in my abs after working out either. I think its a matter of getting used to it. My obliques still can feel sore the next day though. So no pain no gain doesn't mean anything  but you must feel the soresness/pain/whatever you wanna call it DURING your workout. This post has been edited by kubuk: Aug 24 2012, 02:33 PM
kubuk
Sep 7 2012, 06:52 PM
Hey guys. I'm not trolling about. I wanna ask about masturbation/sex effects on bodybuilding. Since ejaculation reduces test levels, should we reduce the number of times ejaculating? Or is it negligible. Any personal experience?
kubuk
Sep 7 2012, 08:20 PM
But then test levels are already screwed after working out. Won't jacking off screw it close to zero and there won't be any anabolic environment? But then again.. Bodybuilding is a lifestyle but is it worth not jacking off.. Decisions decisions..
I don't know if this is psychological or what but I feel more pumped in the gym if I don't cum anywhere between 2 days. Come on guys. Don't be shy.
kubuk
Sep 8 2012, 11:11 AM
Bodybuilding is full of bro science. If you like what you're hearing, just follow it.