15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Bodybuilding Thread V11, Bodybuilding Q&A

alien9
post Jul 6 2012, 01:36 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(VaLeNrUdOn @ Jul 5 2012, 10:35 AM)
holy crap...hack squats are really NO JOKEs!!friggin tough and the quads are killed man...LOL...

btw..mike..in another thread i asked you guys about the should pains during squats....and how the barbell doesn't reach my traps....I"VE BEEN DOING IT WRONG smile.gif

now all's good:)
That is good that you are able to correct your form. And how is your bar placing at the moment? High bar or low bar?
alien9
post Jul 6 2012, 01:01 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Jul 6 2012, 04:19 AM)
Guys, I did not grow any gram of muscle for almost 2 months now(switched from Mass Gain to Whey Protein). I'm stuck at 60kg (4 months ago I'm 52kg).

I consume 3000+ calories, 80 - 100 gram of protein per day.
I'm 20 now but I do not grow any facial hair at all. Maybe something wrong with testosterone ? I'm real man, with high sex drive, and I'm straight.
1. Check your workout; either you are doing progressive loading or you have done the same weight and reps for the past two months.
2. Are you having enough rest? Posting in a thread at 4.19 am means that either you have a nocturnal lifestyle or you didn't have you sleep or you are Batman. Which one are you?
3. Check your diet; increase your calorie intake. You managed to gain 4kg in 2 months with your current diet. My take on this is that your calorie in take has reach calorie maintenance level thus you aren't growing and losing any weight. Up your intake.

p.s: If you've read the pinned thread / stickies, there is a thread titled Pinned: Why aren't you growing by Darklight79. All your answers should be there
alien9
post Jul 7 2012, 02:57 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(jAck66 @ Jul 7 2012, 02:45 AM)
gaining and cutting at the same time possible or not?..
For overweight newbie, it is possible. For advance weightlifter that truly understand their diet and body, it can be done but it's a very slow process. It is called body recomp.
alien9
post Jul 7 2012, 12:31 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(rideon @ Jul 7 2012, 10:02 AM)
and how would u do that? i thought u cn only do one step at a time?  i mean for overweight newbie whom can cut n gain at the same time...
I've read a few article about it; and it happened to me. Was 100kg before I've started weightlifting. 7 months after that, I'm still 100 kg but I've increased my muscle mass. The thigh and quads muscle increase, chest arm and back also have increase in muscle.

A have an exam in a few hours, I'll post the article here later on.
alien9
post Jul 10 2012, 06:46 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(potemkin @ Jul 10 2012, 06:38 PM)
Since we are kinda on the topic of shoulders, what do you guys do on shoulder day?
The usual front raise, lateral raise and bent over rear delt raise. But I've read an article in T-Nation about a shoulder workout, called Triple Triad. Well basically it is just a tri-sets of dumbbell shoulder press, front raise and a lateral raise. 10 reps for each exercises for a total of 30 reps per sets for 3 sets. Then end it up with a bent over rear delt raise. The burning effect from the 30 reps of exercises is really great. Tried it and love itt
alien9
post Jul 11 2012, 12:12 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(gannicholas @ Jul 11 2012, 10:36 AM)
Sifus  flex.gif
Let's just say i worked on my Chest, Shoulders and Triceps on Monday
Biceps, Abs and Back on Tuesday
Today's wednesday, and i'm planning to work on my Chest, Shoulders and Triceps once again
But the thing is, those muscle group had 48 hours of rest but they're still aching
Chest ache if if my hands are straight, i move my left hand to my right thighs. right hand to my left thighs if you know what i mean
Triceps ache if my hands are straight
Shoulder seems fine i guess  hmm.gif
Should i work those muscle group out or should i rest and prob work out on legs or do some light cardio?
Thanks  icon_rolleyes.gif
No leg day in between?

QUOTE(gannicholas @ Jul 11 2012, 11:38 AM)
What if i workout my Chest, Shoulders and Triceps when its still aching a lil' bit. Will it effect my muscle growth?  hmm.gif
Less is sometimes more. Let the muscle heal properly before you are going to workout on that part again.
alien9
post Jul 13 2012, 01:14 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jul 12 2012, 10:38 PM)
Posa satu bulan kene stop. Pergi terawih smpai kol 9-10pm. Xsempat gi gym. Continue SS after Raya.
Terawih boleh buat sorang2 dekat rumah. Haha. Pegi gym kalau niat baik pun ibadah jugak biggrin.gif

But I'm guessing that since in Ramadhan, there might be a lot of complication to go to the gym and workout as usual, I will try to focus on my form. Try to learn how to engage/activate the correct muscle when I'm doing all the exercises. Form is also very important guys for you to move forward.
alien9
post Jul 13 2012, 10:57 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Jul 13 2012, 04:06 PM)
actually my current regime is something close to SS/SL.

I do deadlifts and squats everyday. Bench press, barbell row and military press on alternate days.
still struggling to do chin ups. sad.gif
clean bulking means adding around 500-600 calories to your diet? hmm.gif
Whoa man. Squats and Deads every day? And max effort for every workout day? That would be impressive, but taxing your body nonetheless.

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jul 13 2012, 07:14 PM)
haha, tapi gi gym mase ada terawih rasa bersalah la  laugh.gif
Nk buat mcm mana, itu aje cara yg ada. Kita cuba mendapatkan badan yg sihat pun ibadah. Instead of just buat terawih sahaja, pegi gyn then balik tu terawih. 2 ibadah, x banyak pahala? unsure.gif

Added on July 13, 2012, 10:57 pmBut hey man, it is just advice. You can do what ever you want to do. LOL

This post has been edited by alien9: Jul 13 2012, 10:57 PM
alien9
post Jul 14 2012, 10:16 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Jul 14 2012, 08:19 AM)
I don't know about you guys, I usually start with 5kg and then keep adding a 1kg plate after 5 rep. But most of the time I can only go up to 22kg before my pelvic area gets pain. Doing 5x5 anyway. smile.gif deadlift same thing 40lbs max.

Starting a clean bulk now, loading on oats, milo, fried eggs, peanut butter and cakes in the morning. But I still cant hit the target of 3500kcal. sad.gif
You are doing 5x5 stronglifts protocol isn't? But why do you add 1kg plate after 5 rep? That is not stronglifts, it is more like an inverted pyramid protocol.

Cakes is not considered in a clean bulk IMO.
alien9
post Jul 16 2012, 07:12 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Jul 14 2012, 04:00 PM)
Hey guys, so i decide to do strength training this Ramadhan

I'm not going to cut off or tukar routine, just going to train at night, but reduce my frequency to 4x a day at night, keeping all the volume and intensity the same

Sahur i'm going to eat like crazy, so as at night, but i will expect some weight loss

any advice on keeping my strength gains? berbuka ayam seekor Lol?
Of course you need to train your strength, especially deadlift remember?
Going for strength training would be very tiresome and if you do it before break fast, how to you plan to stay hydrated? From my experience, I would consume the most fluid during workout whenever I go for strength training.

QUOTE(Decky @ Jul 15 2012, 01:16 PM)
Hello again.

Should I be active in sports when I start working out to gain mass as a skinny underweight person?

I recently went for futsal one day after my workout (stronglifts) and after that my legs were really tired and sore. It was slightly sore till my next workout session so I decided against going for fear of injuring myself (correct thing to do?)

What happens if I miss one session? Do I have to deload the next session?

For your first question:
By doing more exercises such as weightlifting on daytime and futsal on night time, you will increase your calorie maintenance level. According to Harris-Benedict Equation;
>If you are moderatetely active (moderate exercise/sports 3-5 days/week) : Calorie-Calculation = BMR x 1.55
>If you are very active (hard exercise/sports 6-7 days a week) : Calorie-Calculation = BMR x 1.725

If your totalled exercises for a week is 6-7, you need extra calorie just to hit your calorie maintenance which mean you need to eat a lot more to become bigger. If it is not a problem for you, then it is ok but I doubt that because eating lots of food is a problem for most skinny people.

For your second and third questions:
The answer would be nothing. You just need to continue where you left it. Let say you miss workout A, do the same workout for the next session. But, I'm suggesting you to ease down on the futsal because you need to give your muscles a rest because it needs them to recover. If you ain't giving them sufficient time, you will put lots of stress on your muscle and that would call overtraining.
alien9
post Jul 18 2012, 12:31 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Jul 17 2012, 07:35 PM)
aduii my lower back and elbow is not yet ok

feels like taking 2 weeks off without going to the gym starting today till 31st of August

pure rest, no bs

is it a good idea?
One word, "don't add salt to injury".
alien9
post Jul 20 2012, 01:13 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jul 18 2012, 10:30 PM)
Still on the diet topic, egg has 78 calories but almost 70% of fat RDI per day. Since there is a no-cooking policy in my campus, is it OK if I bulk by eating around 6-8 eggs a day?
Fats from egg yolks are the good fats. You need them if you want to have higher testosterone level. I would say that the RDI is not applicable to most bodybuilder. Just take them eggs as long as it is within your macro.

QUOTE(labuharry @ Jul 18 2012, 10:37 PM)
hallo to all otai bodybuilder fans. can someone give me some simple diet plan for getting lean. its pretty hard to make complete 5 or 6 small meals in office. some told me just eat white bread every 3 hours. just wondering if some otai here wanna share it. my height 168cm weight 67kg with 20% of fat >.<
And why you need to eat every 3 hours?

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jul 19 2012, 11:17 AM)
Acutually its just an estimation. I check every calories on the net, so it might not be accurate.
If your estimation is incorrect by a huge margin, then it is hard for you to achieve your goal properly.
You said that 4 tablespn of peanut butter=80 kcal but the real value should be 400 kcal for 4 tablespoon. That is a HUGE different
alien9
post Jul 20 2012, 11:16 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(rc2x @ Jul 20 2012, 10:16 PM)
For BB squat, need to be low to hit the hamstring rite?
Go at least parallel. It will save your knees but to answer your question, partial squat, parallel and atg squat do hits the hamstring but it all depend on you stance (normal/wide) and how deep you go.
alien9
post Jul 21 2012, 01:10 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(kicksense @ Jul 21 2012, 04:53 AM)
Thanks man. Look like i'll give it a try for the 1st week of puasa with 3x5. I am night shift worker. Huhu.
p/s : really keen to learn Oly lifting. wink.gif

Added on July 21, 2012, 4:59 amWhen you think your squat was in perfect form, and suddenly after adding more and more weight, the dark side will now show itself..

dark side : bad form, weakest bodypart
The form will always have a chance of 'breaking' when you are out of your 'comfort' zone. By comfort zone is that the weight that you don't usually lift / heavier.

You can always see some form breaking when a powerlifter is trying to lift a PR in a meet. Most of them don't care about the form, they just care about lifting the weight (just like Benedikt Magnússon when he is trying to deadlift 1,000 lbs).

But if you see on the westside barbell, from what I've read, they rarely train their 1RM and always train squat using box squat technique. Why not train their 1RM? Because 1RM have a high chance of breaking the from thus increasing the chance of injury. Why box squat? Because box squat is a good technique to squat and it does limit the injury.

Added on July 21, 2012, 1:12 pm
QUOTE(rc2x @ Jul 21 2012, 06:12 AM)
Wide stance hit that part harder. Because i did try do goblet squat too. BTW how to make sure i do not stress my knee too much? The tension around the knee part quite strong.
Find a good position for your stance. If you think that normal stance have a great effect on your knees, do wide. But most important is to go at least parallel.

This post has been edited by alien9: Jul 21 2012, 01:12 PM
alien9
post Jul 22 2012, 11:47 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Jul 22 2012, 10:02 PM)
just asking a stupid question.

Is there anyway to get huge arms? I know that that spot reduction doesn't work, but does spot addition work? tongue.gif I feel that my arms doesn't really have the 'size'..it does pop out of my shirt if I bend my elbow, but is it possible to like make it obvious even when I'm not bending my elbow?

Don't worry bout my bottom, I don't want to look like a chicken either. biggrin.gif
It is not stupid question but the term you are using is stupid. Hahaha. True, spot reduction doesn't work but if you want a bigger biceps and triceps, you must do biceps and triceps exercises. Doing leg exercises doesn't increase your biceps size right? But it sure does help.
alien9
post Jul 23 2012, 08:35 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(gannicholas @ Jul 23 2012, 07:22 PM)
[attachmentid=2962331]
Started working out at Sunway Pyramid CF, not used to it though  sweat.gif
Everything is in pounds. I'm too used to KGs @ WWM CF already
And the jam to Sunway is horrible, eventhough i'm staying like 800m away only. Especially during puasa @_@
Out of topic
Anyways i'm currently working 3 muscle groups per day, but i recently enter college and i was thinking of cutting it to two muscle group per day

Back & Biceps
Chest & Triceps
Shoulder & Abs
Deadlift, Squats and Legs

What do you guys think?
I spent average errrr, 45 minutes on one group muscle?
Thanks!
That is a good grouping IMO. You can do deadlift and squat on your leg day but from my experience, if you do heavy weights on that exercise (80% 1RM - 1RM), it would be very taxing.

Hope that whatever exercises you choose for your muscle group do target them muscles from different angle. For example, front raise + lateral raise + bent over raise for shoulder.
alien9
post Jul 23 2012, 09:28 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(gannicholas @ Jul 23 2012, 09:09 PM)
Sorry, didnt understand a part of your sentence, mine elaborating in a simplified way?
"(80% 1RM - 1RM), it would be very taxing. "

And thanks alot!  rclxms.gif  flex.gif

When you do max effort squat (weight is within 80% - 100% of 1Rep Max) it takes a lot of energy. Then if you have a max effort deadlift on the same day, that would be very tiresome.

The only time when I do both the squat and deadlift max effort is when I started weightlifting (stronglift 5x5) and at that time, the weight is not that heavy. Now, I can't do both of them (max effort) on a single day if I have another 7 exercises for my lower body.
alien9
post Jul 25 2012, 08:40 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Jul 25 2012, 08:08 PM)
I've been doing full body for 1 year and a half before changing to some splits.

Don't expect me for aesthetic too tho cos im aiming for powerlifting, and yeah did some oly lifts too

anyways from what i saw, i asked a friend of mine do SL for 3 months, after he changed to split

i can see his gains, EVERYWHERE
Of course man. I was also in the same boat as you. Been doing SL for 11 months and then switch to PHAT because I also wanted to have the aesthetic body but didn't want to left the powerlifting side entirely.

Anyway, an article by CT about training for different purposes.
http://www.gorskikotar.com/genious/advice_Thibaudeau.php
alien9
post Jul 25 2012, 10:45 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Jul 25 2012, 10:32 PM)
nahh, 11 months to learn about form and getting strength progression is very nice to be honest

i did SS/SL for around 8 months too, i sambung lama because i know i can still progress a lot with SS/SL

went from 200lbs squats to 255lbs squats. For my bodyweight of 136lbs, 255lbs made me wet already Lol

now aiming for 2x bw squats and 2.8x deadlifts. but my lower back sakit so end up kena tunggu lama sikit  doh.gif

after SL i did some 5/3/1 before i change to madcow.

Would say that i really love doing squat and deadlift progs.
Ahhh, talking about diet, i find myself in ddeeeep shiet

the only thing that i do right now is

a) have complex carbs
b) have enough proteins and fat

but still, i don't watch what i eat because

living with parents ( if you eat eggs, chicken a lot they will scold you etcetc. just want to jaga hati, end up makan ayam pun sometimes sorok sorok Lol)
Well, you can always talk to your parents about the eggs or anything that is 'against' their belief. But don't just talk, provide them with the science. As you know, the 'it is bad to eat lots of eggs' research are done by cereal (as in breakfast cereal) company to downgrade the eggs reps on a very little sedentary people about cholesterol; which entirely disregard about the good and the bad cholesterol. This is what Charles Poliquin said:
#5 from http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_articl...liquin_top_tips

alien9
post Jul 25 2012, 11:45 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ Jul 25 2012, 11:38 PM)
If only the world is so perfect, where people will listen to whatever scientific proof that is laid before them.
Well, you can always try. Rather than just try to say something without any proof to back it up right? I've done that with my parents, stating about the need to eat saturated fat (animal fat) and consuming almost 10 eggs a day. I've got science to back my statement so they know that I know what I'm talking about.

If somebody reject something just because they personally dislike them, then there is nothing you can do about it. Just like what happened to TMW subscribers about IF. Felt sorry about them sad.gif

15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0444sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:50 PM