128 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V31, Help the G Users out, First post!

antt00
post Apr 23 2012, 09:21 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Apr 23 2012, 09:16 AM)
Ah cool, can count on you to test kernels and all tongue.gif

Hmm sounds like a fix one thing another thing breaks kinda situation so far.

Remembered you saying thoravukk nothing significantly diff. Tried older NEAKs, nothing too different as well (as opposed to GB NEAK, which had blazing speed).

Still waiting for a kernel with good performance, and hopefully decent battery, in that order tongue.gif
Wanna try abyss AOSP kernel? brows.gif
http://www.nonsolosmartphone.it/abyssaosp-...ernel-t488.html
snigapoe
post Apr 23 2012, 09:22 AM

2,388 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 23 2012, 09:21 AM)
might be interested in trying this rom
since i was looking for new rom to flash too tongue.gif
antt00
post Apr 23 2012, 09:24 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Apr 23 2012, 09:22 AM)
might be interested in trying this rom
since i was looking for new rom to flash too tongue.gif
Eh.. kernel not rom. This one for AOSP rom. got another one for samsung roms. Dun mix them up. whistling.gif
snigapoe
post Apr 23 2012, 09:25 AM

2,388 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 23 2012, 09:24 AM)
Eh.. kernel not rom. This one for AOSP rom. got another one for samsung roms. Dun mix them up.  whistling.gif
yea
typo error
it seems that even for upgrading hydrogenic rom to newer release i would require completely wipe or else i would having random reboot and hang
ellimist
post Apr 23 2012, 09:26 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 23 2012, 09:21 AM)
Hmmmmmmmm. Heard about this one too, maybe should give it a go hmm.gif

Eh what's the difference flashing zip,tar, and zimage via the cwm/mobile odin app ah?

Want to start practising a safer method also lol
antt00
post Apr 23 2012, 09:29 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Apr 23 2012, 09:26 AM)
Hmmmmmmmm. Heard about this one too, maybe should give it a go  hmm.gif

Eh what's the difference flashing zip,tar, and zimage via the cwm/mobile odin app ah?

Want to start practising a safer method also lol
if you use cwm manager
zimage/tar --> use flash kernel
zip --> use flash update.

Mobile odin i not so familiar. I think its tar for flash kernel. Dunno about zip or zimage.
snigapoe
post Apr 23 2012, 09:30 AM

2,388 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 23 2012, 09:29 AM)
if you use cwm manager

Mobile odin i not so familiar. I think its tar for flash kernel. Dunno about zip or zimage.
i always reboot into cwm mode before flashing
dosen't know we can done it from the app itself
ellimist
post Apr 23 2012, 09:33 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 23 2012, 09:29 AM)
if you use cwm manager

Ah okie, and you download CWM in case you need to do from actual recovery itself, makes sense biggrin.gif

Hmm so if I flash zimage/tar via app, won't go through recovery basically? Thought it kinda still boots into recovery, just that it does it automatically for you? unsure.gif
antt00
post Apr 23 2012, 09:36 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Apr 23 2012, 09:33 AM)
Ah okie, and you download CWM in case you need to do from actual recovery itself, makes sense biggrin.gif

Hmm so if I flash zimage/tar via app, won't go through recovery basically? Thought it kinda still boots into recovery, just that it does it automatically for you? unsure.gif
Dunno. I think not. Like mobile odin, it does not need recovery, only root. Basically it straight away reboot like normal.

Anyway, the problem with flashing zip file in recovery is the updater script is the zip file which normally cleans cache. By direct flashing zimage or tar there is no script to execute. So even if it goes through recovery, it is still safe.
snigapoe
post Apr 23 2012, 09:40 AM

2,388 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 23 2012, 09:36 AM)
Dunno. I think not. Like mobile odin, it does not need recovery, only root. Basically it straight away reboot like normal.

Anyway, the problem with flashing zip file in recovery is the updater script is the zip file which normally cleans cache. By direct flashing zimage or tar there is no script to execute. So even if it goes through recovery, it is still safe.
learn something new today
thanks for the head up
i will start using this method for a safer flashing...

before and after we don need to wipe anything right?>

This post has been edited by snigapoe: Apr 23 2012, 09:40 AM
pikachu01
post Apr 23 2012, 09:44 AM

1,510 posts

Guys, ever encountered the device heating up after loading Tegrak overclock module? This occurs even without any tweaks of sorts at Tegrak. Just loading it.
antt00
post Apr 23 2012, 09:45 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Apr 23 2012, 09:40 AM)
learn something new today
thanks for the head up
i will start using this method for a safer flashing...

before and after we don need to wipe anything right?>
Normally kernel you do not need to wipe anything.

Added on April 23, 2012, 9:46 am
QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Apr 23 2012, 09:44 AM)
Guys, ever encountered the device heating up after loading Tegrak overclock module? This occurs even without any tweaks of sorts at Tegrak. Just loading it.
Had not used tegrak since moving to ICS. Will try later if free. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by antt00: Apr 23 2012, 09:46 AM
snigapoe
post Apr 23 2012, 10:05 AM

2,388 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 23 2012, 09:45 AM)
Normally kernel you do not need to wipe anything.

Added on April 23, 2012, 9:46 am
Had not used tegrak since moving to ICS. Will try later if free.  tongue.gif
oh
i used to wipe almost everything before flashing on either rom or kernel tongue.gif
antt00
post Apr 23 2012, 10:09 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Apr 23 2012, 10:05 AM)
oh
i used to wipe almost everything before flashing on either rom or kernel tongue.gif
Rom yes i will always wipe. But kernel i seldom (almost never) wipe.
zyrl
post Apr 23 2012, 10:10 AM

Thunder buddies for life, right, Johnny?
885 posts

Why do we need to buy an external micro sd for S2?

i thot it already have a 16GB/32GB internal memory? Is it not enuf?
snigapoe
post Apr 23 2012, 10:10 AM

2,388 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 23 2012, 10:09 AM)
hah always learn something new from you
thanks.... rclxms.gif
it would seems that my knowledge on android is so so so weak

Added on April 23, 2012, 10:12 am
QUOTE(zyrl @ Apr 23 2012, 10:10 AM)

this is really depend on user
for me i play with flashing from time to time
so i felt safer to keep it on external sd card
to be truth the internal memory not enough for me to keep all my data
TB single occurance backup already taken up almost 3gb of my storage

This post has been edited by snigapoe: Apr 23 2012, 10:12 AM
antt00
post Apr 23 2012, 10:13 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

Depends on your usage. Some people like games like those gameloft ones than can take up alot of space. Some fill with songs, videos, pictures, etc... If you need you need. If you dun need then dun need lor, rolleyes.gif
olygopoly
post Apr 23 2012, 10:19 AM

2,300 posts

hello guys. im having problem with my samsung s2 G version. always have this camera failed and have to batery pull sumtimes like blackberry to restart phone.tried to root using doomlord just like what stated in this forum to replace the camera.ipk file but dunt think could root it because didnt have the superuser icon. any idea how to solve the prob ?
ellimist
post Apr 23 2012, 10:27 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 23 2012, 09:36 AM)

Hmm, true that, makes sense. Thanks for the info smile.gif

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 23 2012, 10:09 AM)
When changing between diff kernels (eg siyah to voku) also you don't wipe anything?
madlocke
post Apr 23 2012, 11:01 AM

187 posts

by the way, the internal, although mentioned 16GB, only 11.5GB available to user.. the rest used by the system..

my ext micro-sd 32GB is filled with music/pic/videos.. internal for the roms and games.. modern combat 3 already put ~1.3GB..

brows.gif brows.gif

128 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:11 PM