150 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Need recommendation/advice for CarAudio system V2, Please use this thread (omg v1 Aug 2005)

+Newbie+
post Apr 10 2012, 03:38 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Apr 10 2012, 12:32 PM)
I'd recommend the entry level Rainbows. They are not bad for the price you pay for them. And the best part is they work really well without an amp too.
Thanks for the recommendation! I'll be sure to check it out.

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Apr 10 2012, 02:22 PM)
Bro, Kau punya 2k for HU and comp set kah?

If so, looks healthy ler ...

Alpine CDE-133BT, looks like you are going for feature HU. Then I guess Alpine should suit you just nice.
Yup. 2k + installation and cables.

What do you mean by feature HU?
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 10 2012, 04:43 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Apr 10 2012, 03:38 PM)
Thanks for the recommendation! I'll be sure to check it out.

bluetooth, EQ tuning, usb etc (features, basically. lol.)
+Newbie+
post Apr 10 2012, 05:09 PM

3,055 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 10 2012, 04:43 PM)
bluetooth, EQ tuning, usb etc (features, basically. lol.)
Oh ... ok .. I get it. laugh.gif

Yeah I kinda picked that one because it had all the bells and whistles without being the most expensive unit. Not sure about the SQ though.
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 10 2012, 05:24 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Apr 10 2012, 05:09 PM)

Yeah I kinda picked that one because it had all the bells and whistles without being the most expensive unit. Not sure about the SQ though.
SQ shouldnt be the highest concern when it comes to picking an entry level HU, besides, its kind of a toss up between alpine pioneer and its really up to preference.

if you can audit, go ahead, else, probably just go for features/looks/design when it comes to selecting HU especially an entry level one
MyWifeCar
post Apr 10 2012, 06:21 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Apr 10 2012, 03:38 PM)

Feature HU to me, I would say priority is given to having the funtions like BT ke, iPhone ke, iPod connectivity ke .... etc ke.

Instead of sound and EQ function.

2K is just nice lar... But definitely cannot get the KR2 and the V30 lor. You may settle for Focal PS165 or Morel Tempo .... or Alpine Type R. Or many more that around the range of 1K.... because I dunno how much is the HU you want to buy.

+Newbie+
post Apr 10 2012, 07:38 PM

3,055 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 10 2012, 05:24 PM)
SQ shouldnt be the highest concern when it comes to picking an entry level HU, besides, its kind of a toss up between alpine pioneer and its really up to preference.

if you can audit, go ahead, else, probably just go for features/looks/design when it comes to selecting HU especially an entry level one
I see. I'll really need to go hunting soon.

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Apr 10 2012, 06:21 PM)
Feature HU to me, I would say priority is given to having the funtions like BT ke, iPhone ke, iPod connectivity ke .... etc ke.

Instead of sound and EQ function.

2K is just nice lar... But definitely cannot get the KR2 and the V30 lor. You may settle for Focal PS165 or Morel Tempo .... or Alpine Type R. Or many more that around the range of 1K.... because I dunno how much is the HU you want to buy.
I see. Yeah. Just thinking of stretching the budget a bit because backside itchy. Haha.
FaezFarhan
post Apr 11 2012, 02:32 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

Bro Quazacolt should make a list of recommended shops in the first page biggrin.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 11 2012, 04:31 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Apr 11 2012, 02:32 PM)
Bro Quazacolt should make a list of recommended shops in the first page biggrin.gif
it would be biased to my own experience and preference and that wouldn't be nice smile.gif

myself and other members has made common recommendations time to time and i believe that would be enough
jtsk
post Apr 11 2012, 07:40 PM

Hi sifu's,

I have a few question in mind that need help from you all.

Firstly...I am using a stock speaker system with a pioneer avh-4150dvd system. However the sound quality is not up to my expectation...I would prefer a clearer vocal's and perhaps some moderate mid bass, I normally listen's to pop, r n b & dance music...now my questions is there is two components in my mind which are ;

1) rainbow slx265 deluxe 6.5"
Or
2) morel tempo 6"

between these both which is to be recommended assuming I were to run it with my HU alone without the need to add amps.

I can find and audit the morel set but I just couldn't find the rainbow set...perhaps some of you would guide me to a shop that have rainbow speaker system?

By the way my budget is around rm1k which I believe is sufficient for morel but aren't sure bout the rainbow...can someone let me know as well how much is the rainbow slx265 deluxe 6.5" ?

Thanks!!!
MyWifeCar
post Apr 11 2012, 08:17 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(jtsk @ Apr 11 2012, 07:40 PM)
Hi sifu's,

Firstly...I am using a stock speaker system with a pioneer avh-4150dvd system. However the sound quality is not up to my expectation...I would prefer a clearer vocal's and perhaps some moderate mid bass, I normally listen's to pop, r n b & dance music...now my questions is there is two components in my mind which are ;

Or
2) morel tempo 6"

between these both which is to be recommended assuming I were to run it with my HU alone without the need to add amps.

I can find and audit the morel set but I just couldn't find the rainbow set...perhaps some of you would guide me to a shop that have rainbow speaker system?

By the way my budget is around rm1k which I believe is sufficient for morel but aren't sure bout the rainbow...can someone let me know as well how much is the rainbow slx265 deluxe 6.5" ?

Thanks!!!
Where did you get the idea from for the Rainbow set?
jtsk
post Apr 11 2012, 08:30 PM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Apr 11 2012, 08:17 PM)
Where did you get the idea from for the Rainbow set?
Ermm...by google-ing and as well as some local ICE forum such as lowyat and overseas comment bout the rainbow set...why is there anything I should know bout rainbow?
kasey1314
post Apr 11 2012, 09:34 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

just bought and OEM player for my vios,wanted to get some entry level sound system to my vios,roughly 1.5k-2k....and i had some issues with the reception of the fm.not clear even at kl?
izso
post Apr 12 2012, 07:30 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(jtsk @ Apr 11 2012, 07:40 PM)
Hi sifu's,

Or
2) morel tempo 6"

Thanks!!!
Morels generally are quite power hungry so if your amp isn't up to par, it won't 'sing' well. But if you can make them 'sing', Morel's are pretty good.

If you want to audit the Rainbow, I have it in my Myvi. Also, CV Audio Uptown Damansara has the exact same setup in their company car, a Myvi as well. I've actually pitted my Rainbow setup against a few other Myvis with significantly more expensive setups and quite frankly came up as a pretty decent 'winner', considering the amount spent on my car was less than half of theirs. They had HU, amps, woofers, components, all mixed and matched. I just have stock HU, custom door panels, Rainbows, underseat woofer and that's it. Recently added the tweeter pod though.

Come come let me poison you cukup cukup. whistling.gif

Added on April 12, 2012, 7:33 am
QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Apr 10 2012, 05:09 PM)

If you don't mind 2nd hand sets, the Alpine 9855 is going for RM480 to RM800 these days depending on condition and seller. That one has pretty decent SQ, has EQ, X-over and if you have the Ipod wire, it'll connect to your Ipod too. And it's higher range than the Alpine 133 or whatever the model was you were looking at.

This post has been edited by izso: Apr 12 2012, 07:34 AM
jtsk
post Apr 12 2012, 04:24 PM

[quote=izso,Apr 12 2012, 07:30 AM]
Morels generally are quite power hungry so if your amp isn't up to par, it won't 'sing' well. But if you can make them 'sing', Morel's are pretty good.

If you want to audit the Rainbow, I have it in my Myvi. Also, CV Audio Uptown Damansara has the exact same setup in their company car, a Myvi as well. I've actually pitted my Rainbow setup against a few other Myvis with significantly more expensive setups and quite frankly came up as a pretty decent 'winner', considering the amount spent on my car was less than half of theirs. They had HU, amps, woofers, components, all mixed and matched. I just have stock HU, custom door panels, Rainbows, underseat woofer and that's it. Recently added the tweeter pod though.

Come come let me poison you cukup cukup. whistling.gif

Added on April 12, 2012, 7:33 am

Thanks bro for the info to audit in CV Audio Uptown...could I also ask what rainbow line u installed in ur myvi and how much for the rainbow system only without the underseat woofer?

By the way for morel their distributor is autocraft, what about for rainbow? Coz I am afraid of imitation...or is there one for rainbow? tongue.gif

izso
post Apr 13 2012, 07:12 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(jtsk @ Apr 12 2012, 04:24 PM)

Thanks bro for the info to audit in CV Audio Uptown...could I also ask what rainbow line u installed in ur myvi and how much for the rainbow system only without the underseat woofer?

By the way for morel their distributor is autocraft, what about for rainbow? Coz I am afraid of imitation...or is there one for rainbow? tongue.gif
The Rainbow I have installed is the entry level SLX I think. I didn't bother to ask back then since I had it installed as a guinea pig (ie-experiment). It worked surprisingly good without an amp and with the stock HU. It's recommended to be done with the door panel though which is different from the door panel you find in most shops. The speaker holder and all are placed higher up nearer to the arm rest rather than the usual low down at the door panel position (see picture)

The price should be in the RM1300 range including speaker wiring and all. Could be cheaper since I had this installed close to 3 years ago.

CV Audio doesn't sell imitation stuff. If they do they'd be in a lot of trouble since 90% of their customers are all luxury cars and sports cars. In this sort of community all you need is one person to complain and everyone else will know what happened and then you can say byebye to your business.
carcrazy
post Apr 13 2012, 09:57 AM

189 posts

Nice..how's the sound like
scoop7
post Apr 14 2012, 09:51 AM

orly? mai pen rai
1,154 posts

- My ride: Cherry Eastar
- Prefers SQ/SPL/SQL: SQ
- File format/medium used for my source: DVD, MP3, Audio CD, Radio, other video formats
- Budget: 1.5-2.5k
- Setup type preferences: HU + extra monitor for 2nd & 3rd row
- Other requirements (if any): USB + reverse camera

It's a family car & wife drives it mostly. Any recommendation of what to get? I'm totally know nuts abt ICE. My 18yr old wira only has the original radio set tongue.gif

Thanks for tips

This post has been edited by scoop7: Apr 14 2012, 09:53 AM
metaloid
post Apr 14 2012, 02:44 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

Hey guys my 2 doors are soundproofed with 2 layers of stp silver...i have confidence with this brand and its reputable installer but it seems that my friends accessory shop was making fun of it saying that its too thin and its useless and that i should change it (they knocked the door to test it). They are selling Dayana something like that( not dynamat). Theres no way i just wasted hundreds right? It pissed me off.
izso
post Apr 14 2012, 03:22 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Apr 13 2012, 09:57 AM)
Nice..how's the sound like
Not too shabby for the price I paid for it. Considering it did better than a Audison + MBQuartz + P80 setup, I'm pretty proud of it. LOL.

Added on April 14, 2012, 3:24 pm
QUOTE(scoop7 @ Apr 14 2012, 09:51 AM)
- My ride: Cherry Eastar
- Prefers SQ/SPL/SQL: SQ
- File format/medium used for my source: DVD, MP3, Audio CD, Radio, other video formats
- Budget: 1.5-2.5k
- Setup type preferences: HU + extra monitor for 2nd & 3rd row
- Other requirements (if any): USB + reverse camera

It's a family car & wife drives it mostly. Any recommendation of what to get? I'm totally know nuts abt ICE. My 18yr old wira only has the original radio set tongue.gif

Thanks for tips
If you know nuts, best you find a reliable installer and let them do the work. If you pick and match yourself whilst knowing nothing, it'll be worse! Where do you stay? If PJ area I recommend CV Audio Damansara Uptown, Audio Creations nearby Ara Damansara that side. If KL recommend EA Autoworks in Bukit Jalil area. These 3 shops I've had good customer experience with.

Added on April 14, 2012, 3:28 pm
QUOTE(metaloid @ Apr 14 2012, 02:44 PM)
Hey guys my 2 doors are soundproofed with 2 layers of stp silver...i have confidence with this brand and its reputable installer but it seems that my friends accessory shop was making fun of it saying that its too thin and its useless and that i should change it (they knocked the door to test it). They are selling Dayana something like that( not dynamat). Theres no way i just wasted hundreds right? It pissed me off.
Give a noobie a Ferrari and he'll drive it like a noobie. Give a pro a Proton and he'll drive it like a pro. Give you STP and it makes you happy, give you something else will it make you happy?

Thickness of material does not equate to how good it is. Knocking the door is the dumbest way of testing imho. The purpose of dampening materials is supposed to dampen the vibrations that cause ambient noise or that mess up the sound that emanates into your car. If the STP silver does the job, who cares what their stupid product Dayana or whatever does? If their product works too, good for them. If it doesn't it doesn't matter cuz the STP is doing the trick for you anyway. Right? STP have been around a loooooooong time doing dampening and soundproofing. If you tell me their products are hopeless I'd tend to think you're either an idiot or you don't know how to use their products.

This post has been edited by izso: Apr 14 2012, 03:28 PM
metaloid
post Apr 14 2012, 03:30 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Apr 14 2012, 03:22 PM)
Not too shabby for the price I paid for it. Considering it did better than a Audison + MBQuartz + P80 setup, I'm pretty proud of it. LOL.

If you know nuts, best you find a reliable installer and let them do the work. If you pick and match yourself whilst knowing nothing, it'll be worse! Where do you stay? If PJ area I recommend CV Audio Damansara Uptown, Audio Creations nearby Ara Damansara that side. If KL recommend EA Autoworks in Bukit Jalil area. These 3 shops I've had good customer experience with.

Give a noobie a Ferrari and he'll drive it like a noobie. Give a pro a Proton and he'll drive it like a pro. Give you STP and it makes you happy, give you something else will it make you happy?

Thickness of material does not equate to how good it is. Knocking the door is the dumbest way of testing imho. The purpose of dampening materials is supposed to dampen the vibrations that cause ambient noise or that mess up the sound that emanates into your car. If the STP silver does the job, who cares what their stupid product Dayana or whatever does? If their product works too, good for them. If it doesn't it doesn't matter cuz the STP is doing the trick for you anyway. Right? STP have been around a loooooooong time doing dampening and soundproofing. If you tell me their products are hopeless I'd tend to think you're either an idiot or you don't know how to use their products.
Oops wrong quote. Anyway Its definitely from a reliable installer if not the best one in Kuching. But hearing others say bad things to the brand and all is vmad.gif Its like they are making fun stp, of the guy who has tons of good reputation and my decision. But yea seriously if they dunno Stp and thinks its lousy they just gave me a bad impression. If the stuff is free they can bash it but im not happy to think my costly insulation is useless.

This post has been edited by metaloid: Apr 14 2012, 03:40 PM

150 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0485sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:31 AM