150 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Need recommendation/advice for CarAudio system V2, Please use this thread (omg v1 Aug 2005)

lowyat101
post Jun 29 2012, 08:09 PM

2,545 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 26 2012, 11:53 PM)
rm2k can get you a pretty good HU and component set.

for HU, take a pick on either pioneer/alpine (audition if possible, if not then just pick based on design/functions etc)

component set you may search through this thread, or the v1 recommendation thread, or even the brand thread for what brand/model you should be looking for
Thanks for the info bro. Is it recommended to upgrade both the HU and the component set at the same time? Or shall I upgrade 1 of them first and see how's the result before upgrading the other one?

TSQuazacolt
post Jun 29 2012, 08:28 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Jun 29 2012, 08:09 PM)
Thanks for the info bro. Is it recommended to upgrade both the HU and the component set at the same time? Or shall I upgrade 1 of them first and see how's the result before upgrading the other one?
better both for "best effect", or if you really wanna learn what item (HU, or component set speakers) does what (what changes/difference) then you can opt to do 1 at a time.

even in "group"/combination upgrades, unless you got the money to buy the whole set, it is recommended to go in 2 pairings:
HU + component speakers

then

amp (4 channel if you're not looking for further upgrades to drive BOTH comp speakers and woofer) + subwoofer
lowyat101
post Jun 29 2012, 08:30 PM

2,545 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 29 2012, 08:28 PM)
better both for "best effect", or if you really wanna learn what item (HU, or component set speakers) does what (what changes/difference) then you can opt to do 1 at a time.

even in "group"/combination upgrades, unless you got the money to buy the whole set, it is recommended to go in 2 pairings:
HU + component speakers

then

amp (4 channel if you're not looking for further upgrades to drive BOTH comp speakers and woofer) + subwoofer
Thanks for the quick response thumbup.gif

I read your previous posts, seems that you also upgraded the HU + component as the 1st step. Do you feel a huge different after you added teh amp?

TSQuazacolt
post Jun 29 2012, 08:32 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Jun 29 2012, 08:30 PM)
Thanks for the quick response  thumbup.gif

I read your previous posts, seems that you also upgraded the HU + component as the 1st step. Do you feel a huge different after you added teh amp?
i wouldnt say huge difference having the amp to drive the component, rather a huge difference because i have a subwoofer to drive the low frequencies, and the midbass (component set) being driven properly altogether.

music works in harmony, one cant be without the other wink.gif
lowyat101
post Jun 29 2012, 08:37 PM

2,545 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 29 2012, 08:32 PM)
i wouldnt say huge difference having the amp to drive the component, rather a huge difference because i have a subwoofer to drive the low frequencies, and the midbass (component set) being driven properly altogether.

music works in harmony, one cant be without the other wink.gif
Sounds good.

May I know what are the features to look for in a HU that can drive a component set? Do I need to look for certain number of pre-outs? And its voltage?

TSQuazacolt
post Jun 30 2012, 05:25 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Jun 29 2012, 08:37 PM)
Sounds good.

May I know what are the features to look for in a HU that can drive a component set? Do I need to look for certain number of pre-outs? And its voltage?
for entry/mid levels, you can probably just look into functionality (BT? usb?)

mid/high ends you can look into tuning options etc.

never really bothered about the preouts/voltage as pioneer/alpine have their pre outs/voltage ratings etc being "standard"
izso
post Jul 2 2012, 07:12 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Jun 29 2012, 08:37 PM)
Sounds good.

You need to look at your components sensitivity instead of your HU. Most HU's have a pretty decent preout voltage anyway so check your components. The higher the sensitivity the easier it is to drive with low power. And when I say high, I mean >90dB.
k3bar
post Jul 2 2012, 05:24 PM

hi to all sifu..i am newbie in audio..i wish to know what is the different between 1 way sub/woofer and 2 way sub/woofer..i understand 1way,2way,3way and 4 way speaker, but confius on woofer type..thanks in advance sifu..
TSQuazacolt
post Jul 2 2012, 05:29 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(k3bar @ Jul 2 2012, 05:24 PM)
hi to all sifu..i am newbie in audio..i wish to know what is the different between 1 way sub/woofer and 2 way sub/woofer..i understand 1way,2way,3way and 4 way speaker, but confius on woofer type..thanks in advance sifu..
i dont think people have frequency crossing/filtration for subwoofers? as its usually just low frequencies?
krayden
post Jul 2 2012, 07:42 PM

578 posts

Think he means single and dual voice coil.
simon3041
post Jul 2 2012, 08:12 PM

LoV3
1,528 posts

Greeting guys! finally i found this thread, and it is kind of useful for me biggrin.gif

- My ride: Perodua Kancil
- Prefers SQ/SPL/SQL: Prefer SPL, but SQL also can
- File format/medium used for my source: mp3~ Usb~ Pendrive~
- Music genre: Bass Bass bass!!! biggrin.gif Pitbull songs~
- Budget: RM1000 < x < RM500
- Setup type preferences: errrmmm donno wat's this... sorry
- Other requirements (if any): i am kind of crazy guy.. love heavy bass, newbie in choosing brand of subwoofer and amp~

thanks a lot guys~ biggrin.gif
Sh@rty 5
post Jul 3 2012, 02:53 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(donavan1986 @ Jun 29 2012, 06:32 AM)
Hi, this model can use Steering control or not? Mine is G specs and if this model can't have steering control then it will be useless for me...
since it is made for toyota, everything would be working as it used too blush.gif

sharing the pic of it after getting it installed on one of our member's Altis

really like the oem fell u get

wub.gif
k3bar
post Jul 3 2012, 10:22 AM

QUOTE(krayden @ Jul 2 2012, 07:42 PM)
Think he means single and dual voice coil.
thank you kraydon..but which want is better?
krayden
post Jul 3 2012, 10:25 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(k3bar @ Jul 3 2012, 10:22 AM)
thank you kraydon..but which want is better?
Same. Only diff is the option to play diff impedance to suit your amp.
SVC will normally be 4ohm.
If your amp supports 2ohm then you might wanna get the 4ohm DVC.
Sound wise.... same.
TSQuazacolt
post Jul 3 2012, 10:59 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(simon3041 @ Jul 2 2012, 08:12 PM)
Greeting guys! finally i found this thread, and it is kind of useful for me biggrin.gif

- My ride: Perodua Kancil
- Prefers SQ/SPL/SQL: Prefer SPL, but SQL also can
- File format/medium used for my source:  mp3~ Usb~  Pendrive~
- Music genre: Bass Bass bass!!! biggrin.gif Pitbull songs~ 
- Budget: RM1000 < x < RM500
- Setup type preferences: errrmmm donno wat's this... sorry
- Other requirements (if any):  i am kind of crazy guy.. love heavy bass, newbie in choosing brand of subwoofer and amp~

thanks a lot guys~ biggrin.gif
maybe look into rockford (assuming original) amp or monoblock + woofer and be done with it? maybe their component set too

it will definitely be over rm1k though
simon3041
post Jul 3 2012, 12:04 PM

LoV3
1,528 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 3 2012, 10:59 AM)
maybe look into rockford (assuming original) amp or monoblock + woofer and be done with it? maybe their component set too

it will definitely be over rm1k though
rockford = brand ? so how can i buy it? i mean is there any specifications? biggrin.gif please give me more details, i am so noob in this... haha notworthy.gif sweat.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Jul 3 2012, 12:06 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(simon3041 @ Jul 3 2012, 12:04 PM)
rockford = brand ? so how can i buy it? i mean is there any specifications? biggrin.gif please give me more details, i am so noob in this... haha  notworthy.gif  sweat.gif
google rockford fosgate
simon3041
post Jul 3 2012, 12:39 PM

LoV3
1,528 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 3 2012, 12:06 PM)
google rockford fosgate
all rite thanks, on my way... any pros and cons?

Edit : (i googled.. went to the main website, there is many terms tat i don't understand though, hahha so which model i need to look for,bro) laugh.gif

This post has been edited by simon3041: Jul 3 2012, 12:46 PM
izso
post Jul 4 2012, 06:49 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(simon3041 @ Jul 3 2012, 12:04 PM)
rockford = brand ? so how can i buy it? i mean is there any specifications? biggrin.gif please give me more details, i am so noob in this... haha  notworthy.gif  sweat.gif
I tell you what dude, since you're really newbie to this, why don't you just say how much you plan on spending and we'll tell you what you can and cannot buy.

Personally if you're a basshead, practically almost any speaker set you can find will suite your requirements except perhaps those 'immitation/cheap' brands.

Added on July 4, 2012, 6:51 am
QUOTE(krayden @ Jul 3 2012, 10:25 AM)
Same. Only diff is the option to play diff impedance to suit your amp.
SVC will normally be 4ohm.
If your amp supports 2ohm then you might wanna get the 4ohm DVC.
Sound wise.... same.
I'm a little opposed to this theory. Perhaps 2ohm and 4ohm setup subs may not sound that different, but I've played around with 8ohm subs and 1ohm setups, very different la. I don't like 8ohm!

This post has been edited by izso: Jul 4 2012, 06:51 AM
krayden
post Jul 4 2012, 10:01 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Jul 4 2012, 06:49 AM)
I'm a little opposed to this theory. Perhaps 2ohm and 4ohm setup subs may not sound that different, but I've played around with 8ohm subs and 1ohm setups, very different la. I don't like 8ohm!
I do agree with you. But at your regular rm300 sub range, I doubt you can tell any diff. I prefer 4 to 2 ohm myself. Never played with 8ohm b4, too high end. Maybe your 8ohm setup lacked the power to perform?

150 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:30 PM