East Msian buying from BookDepository?, mind sharing your experience

TSRogue112
post Apr 1 2012, 10:12 AM, updated 14y ago

Hi there!
I'm looking to buy books from TBD and like all things online, I'm worried if items actually arrive, considering that it will be delivered in regular post. sweat.gif

I ran a search and I saw a couple of threads on that matter but I'd like to hear the experiences of East Malaysians (or Kuching to be more specific).
Did your orders arrive ok? Were they delayed? Please share if you don't mind! thumbup.gif
dkk
post Apr 1 2012, 11:52 PM

11,400 posts

Never heard of them. But do let us know the result. I'll continue to watch this thread.

BTW: are they shipping by air or surface mail?
mintyais
post Apr 2 2012, 11:09 AM

186 posts

I'm worried if items actually arrive, considering that it will be delivered in regular post.

Saya juga banyak membeli buku online, terutama buku-buku yang tak sampai ke major bookstore di KL seperti MPH, Kinokuniya, Borders dan Popular. Saya dulu selalu membeli dari Amazon.com, tapi sekarang saya cenderung membeli buku di Book Depository kerana tiada shipping cost dikenakan (thanks Dian for the suggestion!).

The money goes into my Paypal account which I then use to buy books online (bookdepository.com — free shipping!). I just placed an order for The Prague Cemetery and You Are Not So Smart. There’s no better feeling than to use the money you get from writing to buy books other people wrote.

Source: Here.

Coming from a guy who's another book lover and always buy books from the site, I'm sure he will make a lot of noise if the site is fake.

TSRogue112
post Apr 3 2012, 08:11 AM

@dkk; Air mail if I'm not mistaken. smile.gif

@mintyais; Thanks for sharing, though I'm actually looking for some East Malaysian reviews. x)
mintyais
post Apr 4 2012, 06:56 AM

186 posts

Hmm I tried to google and find for you, but no results. Let's hope any West Malaysians who used the service before help you. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mintyais: Apr 4 2012, 06:59 AM
rexus
post Apr 4 2012, 08:05 AM

Bruh
614 posts

The site isn't fake. But I'm from West Malaysia though, they post the parcel using royal mail, wrapped with bubble wrap. biggrin.gif
yng
post Apr 4 2012, 10:14 AM

Agree with rexus, all my packages arrived in royal mail and wrapped nicely with bubble wrap too.

From West Malaysia too - bought twice last year.
1st order: Small book A5 size about 8mm thick. Reached within 2 weeks' time. Was amazed. Encouraged, place second order.
2nd order: A4 hardcover book about 2cm thick. Reached 1 month 1 day's time. Was worried and emailed to TBD and asked them to resend but received the following day.

My advice: small thin books should be okay.. but thicker books seem to take longer. And if urgent, don't order from them.

mintyais
post Apr 4 2012, 10:42 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(yng @ Apr 4 2012, 10:14 AM)
Agree with rexus, all my packages arrived in royal mail and wrapped nicely with bubble wrap too.

From West Malaysia too - bought twice last year.
1st order: Small book A5 size about 8mm thick. Reached within 2 weeks' time. Was amazed. Encouraged, place second order.
2nd order: A4 hardcover book about 2cm thick. Reached 1 month 1 day's time. Was worried and emailed to TBD and asked them to resend but received the following day.

My advice: small thin books should be okay.. but thicker books seem to take longer. And if urgent, don't order from them.
I have a question. When they sent you the hardcover book, how they wrapped the book? I hope you don't mind the question. smile.gif
yng
post Apr 6 2012, 12:14 AM

I can't recall now if got bubble wrap...think must have. It was packaged nicely in a brown hardboard like most stuff is and book in perfect condition. I was a little worried didn't get or too big for the mailbox only. The thinner book was in bubble wrap envelope.
mintyais
post Apr 6 2012, 04:23 PM

186 posts

Okay, thank you for the information. biggrin.gif
kar2on
post Apr 17 2012, 10:43 AM

284 posts

bookdepository is the best book website for Malaysians to buy books from. Not only are they 'real', they're also cheaper than MPH and the kinokuniya, although popular and borders may be slightly cheaper (if they have the stock).

More importantly, they ship for free to Malaysia, and it usually takes 3-4 weeks for the book to come. I bought about 10-20 books from them last year, and I love their service.

The books are very nicely wrap, and usually come a free complimentary book mark smile.gif

I also order pre-releases since they're WAAAY cheaper, but still not as cheap as the big bad wolf. However, book depository has a much much larger selection.

Bottom, I recommend them 110%

Also check out betterworldbooks for second hand books that are cheap. They also ship free, but from the US. And for some reason they seem to ship in just about 1-2 weeks smile.gif.
Blackfinn
post Apr 21 2012, 05:54 PM

Book Depository is Definitely Legit, I'm from KL and have bought from them multiple times. Their books are usually cheaper than any conventional bookstore in Malaysia and the shipping is free. Only complaint is that they take quite awhile to arrive, I waited for almost three weeks for one book once. Anyway, it's a fantastic online bookstore and their customer service is top notch, and besides. If the book doesn't arrive you can always open a dispute with payapl

yitjuan
post Apr 21 2012, 10:48 PM

arc reactor
688 posts

Before you buy from bookdepository, check and see if they are available at acmamall. The reason I say this is because I've noticed acmamall lower their prices to compete with bookdepository, and they are much faster in shipping. (being local)
Savor_Savvy
post Apr 25 2012, 07:37 PM

2,776 posts

im from east malaysia. just started using their service 2days ago. placed one order on monday, one on tuesday. the first order has just been shipped. will update here again after i have receive it. give and take 3 weeks i believe.
TSRogue112
post May 4 2012, 11:10 AM

Update:

Okay, since the day I started this topic I've received 3 books from TheBookDepository. The books were won from giveaways so it was sort of a trial run.

I'm pretty happy with the results. The books were received within 2 weeks (+/- a day or 2) of the stated dispatch date and the condition was fine. I was actually expecting it to be more battered due to the long distance and the handling but it wasn't too bad. Though imo the packaging could be a little sturdier.

I'll be buying more books from them in the future, since it's cheaper than the local stores (especially if you buy pre-order ones!) smile.gif
yclian
post May 5 2012, 10:07 AM

247 posts

I just bought quite a number of books few days ago from BD.

QUOTE(yitjuan @ Apr 21 2012, 11:48 PM)
Before you buy from bookdepository, check and see if they are available at acmamall. The reason I say this is because I've noticed acmamall lower their prices to compete with bookdepository, and they are much faster in shipping. (being local)
Not impressed by Acma. (Of course, this is just one instance of examples)

Amazon has shipping cost, BD now has 10% discount on all items 'til mid of May, Acma is reporting a very high original price.

yitjuan
post May 5 2012, 10:38 AM

arc reactor
688 posts

QUOTE(yclian @ May 5 2012, 10:07 AM)
I just bought quite a number of books few days ago from BD.
Not impressed by Acma. (Of course, this is just one instance of examples)

Amazon has shipping cost, BD now has 10% discount on all items 'til mid of May, Acma is reporting a very high original price.
and I can provide you with many instances of Acmamall being cheaper than BD.
yclian
post May 5 2012, 11:33 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(yitjuan @ May 5 2012, 11:38 AM)
and I can provide you with many instances of Acmamall being cheaper than BD.
Did I not make it clear earlier in the brackets, Mr. Obvious?
yitjuan
post May 5 2012, 11:36 PM

arc reactor
688 posts

QUOTE(yclian @ May 5 2012, 11:33 PM)
Did I not make it clear earlier in the brackets, Mr. Obvious?
I don't need to get into a flame war with you on this forum. Take it to PMs if you want to hurl insults.
Savor_Savvy
post May 11 2012, 08:59 PM

2,776 posts

hi, about book depository, they sent by normal parcel or poslaju? if we're not at home, will they leave a note or something? coz no tracking no, how to track? tq
yclian
post May 21 2012, 01:37 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ May 11 2012, 09:59 PM)
hi, about book depository, they sent by normal parcel or poslaju? if we're not at home, will they leave a note or something? coz no tracking no, how to track? tq
Just got my books, from order > process > dispatch > arrive, it took about 20 days.

I ordered about 10 books and I have received just 3 of them, they're not sent in bulk but each as individual conventional parcel, like this:

Savor_Savvy
post May 21 2012, 02:59 PM

2,776 posts

mine since 25th april till now, not yet arrive..
evanrue
post May 21 2012, 07:20 PM

146 posts

Hi, im from Kuching and I regularly order from BD if the books im looking for are not in AcmaMall.. Personally I like BD's service.. even though they mail books using normal AirMail (sometimes originating from the UK, sometimes from Belgium), the packaging are good enough to protect the books (envelope with bubblewrap inner layer, or box with bubblewrap if books are bigger)..

i have purchased up to 20 books so far, and i have received 19 of them. the one book i didnt receive was clearly overdue and since it is Airmail there is no way to track it. I've emaild BD and they are kind enough to offer either a refund or a new copy to be sent smile.gif

ohya, even if you order more than 1 book in one single order, all books are sent individually.. so some may arrive earlier than others despite being in a single checkout/order.

P/S: BD used to include cool bookmarks back then, i got 3 Periodic Table bookmarks and a few recipes bookmarks.. funny cause I'm lecturing Chemistry as a job biggrin.gif recently though, no bookmarks..
evanrue
post May 21 2012, 07:22 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ May 21 2012, 02:59 PM)
mine since 25th april till now, not yet arrive..
email them bro smile.gif ..they will email back asking you to recheck.. ive done that with my missing book and i guess we must be honest to them when reporting that our local post office cannot find it.. which makes me wonder, do they have a limit to the 'resending' option per buyer so that nobody can abuse the system? hmm.gif
Savor_Savvy
post May 21 2012, 10:01 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(evanrue @ May 21 2012, 07:22 PM)
email them bro smile.gif ..they will email back asking you to recheck.. ive done that with my missing book and i guess we must be honest to them when reporting that our local post office cannot find it.. which makes me wonder, do they have a limit to the 'resending' option per buyer so that nobody can abuse the system?  hmm.gif
ya, they ask me to recheck at my local post office, but since i don't have the tracking num with me, usually the post office won't bother.
evanrue
post May 23 2012, 09:47 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ May 21 2012, 10:01 PM)
ya, they ask me to recheck at my local post office, but since i don't have the tracking num with me, usually the post office won't bother.
lucky for me my post office is nearby.. ya, the staff asked for tracking number, but after i asked if can check by address or name, they said not possible, but they did try to look in their store and confirm none addressed to me..
Savor_Savvy
post May 23 2012, 08:43 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(yclian @ May 21 2012, 01:37 PM)
Just got my books, from order > process > dispatch > arrive, it took about 20 days.

I ordered about 10 books and I have received just 3 of them, they're not sent in bulk but each as individual conventional parcel, like this:
20 days or 20 working days?
yclian
post May 24 2012, 05:42 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ May 23 2012, 09:43 PM)
20 days or 20 working days?
20 days, and I still have 4 books more to wait. (rawr!)
TSRogue112
post Jun 2 2012, 02:02 PM

QUOTE(evanrue @ May 23 2012, 09:47 AM)
lucky for me my post office is nearby.. ya, the staff asked for tracking number, but after i asked if can check by address or name, they said not possible, but they did try to look in their store and confirm none addressed to me..
Which post office did you go to? (I'm from the same town)

I never knew that we could check by name and always assumed that no tracking num = cannot ask them to check at all. I'm still waiting very long for some of the stuff I'm supposed to get from the US.

@ Savor_Savvy
You totally should email the BD folks. They usually respond quite fast and were quick to offer a resend/refund when I emailed them about a damaged book.

This post has been edited by Rogue112: Jun 2 2012, 02:05 PM
evanrue
post Jun 5 2012, 10:12 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(Rogue112 @ Jun 2 2012, 02:02 PM)
Which post office did you go to? (I'm from the same town)

I never knew that we could check by name and always assumed that no tracking num = cannot ask them to check at all. I'm still waiting very long for some of the stuff I'm supposed to get from the US.
@ Savor_Savvy
You totally should email the BD folks. They usually respond quite fast and were quick to offer a resend/refund when I emailed them about a damaged book.
hi there smile.gif i asked them if can check by name and they said cannot.. but the person at the counter did help me to look through (physically) parcels from UK/Belgium and he can't find any.. this is the Pending office, Pusat Mel.
Savor_Savvy
post Jun 7 2012, 10:55 PM

2,776 posts

I hv asked for a refund. From 25 april till now, no news yet. My first purchase and not a good one. Still waiting for the second book which was sent on the 12 may.

This post has been edited by Savor_Savvy: Jun 7 2012, 10:58 PM
evanrue
post Jun 14 2012, 04:33 PM

146 posts

That's unfortunate to hear.. i have received my replacement book 3 days ago..

maybe you can try email them again.. i think they will consider it lost if the book has not arrived 1 month after shipping..
Savor_Savvy
post Jun 14 2012, 07:01 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(evanrue @ Jun 14 2012, 04:33 PM)
That's unfortunate to hear.. i have received my replacement book 3 days ago..

maybe you can try email them again.. i think they will consider it lost if the book has not arrived 1 month after shipping..
that was quick...
i dunno what is wrong. the address that i put in sibu is within town area. i think must be lost. no sign of it, not even a notice from pos office. the second book, sent on the 12th may till now also hvnt arrived. i dont dare to buy from the website anymore.
yclian
post Jun 15 2012, 12:28 PM

247 posts

I lost one of my books too (not receiving anything for 2 weeks, how saddening), will be visiting my nearby post office (call 1300-300-300 to find out) on Monday.

lifeyeah
post Jun 19 2012, 02:44 PM

61 posts

no worry, excellent service together wif free delivery fee .
cheryl15
post Jun 20 2012, 02:08 AM

62 posts

I'm from Kuching, ordered 3 books on 26/5, until now has already received 2 books, one of them has got serious wrinkles on upper conner of book, have no idea what cause it...
I'm still waiting for the 3rd book, hope that I can receive it.
lifeyeah
post Jun 20 2012, 09:14 AM

61 posts

tat is quite unlucky of u for ur 2nd book..hope u recieve ur 3rd book soon
TSRogue112
post Jun 20 2012, 07:12 PM

QUOTE(cheryl15 @ Jun 20 2012, 02:08 AM)
I'm from Kuching, ordered 3 books on 26/5, until now has already received 2 books, one of them has got serious wrinkles on upper conner of book, have no idea what cause it...
I'm still waiting for the 3rd book, hope that I can receive it.
Email them to get either a refund or new copy of book.
They may ask for pics sometimes.
lifeyeah
post Jun 21 2012, 12:59 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(Rogue112 @ Jun 20 2012, 07:12 PM)
Email them to get either a refund or new copy of book.
They may ask for pics sometimes.
yeah if u reli not satisfied, then tats is wad u gona do lor.
Savor_Savvy
post Jun 30 2012, 07:30 PM

2,776 posts

finally, after 2 months++, i have received the book. but unfortunately, the parcel has been tampered with. apparently, someone has opened it up, and taped it back. but the book is in good condition. dunno which ******* deliberately opened it, and checked the contents inside, or he/she read it, im not sure. planning to pay bookdepository back my refund.
dkk
post Jun 30 2012, 09:08 PM

11,400 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jun 30 2012, 07:30 PM)
finally, after 2 months++, i have received the book. but unfortunately, the parcel has been tampered with. apparently, someone has opened it up, and taped it back. but the book is in good condition. dunno which ******* deliberately opened it, and checked the contents inside, or he/she read it, im not sure. planning to pay bookdepository back my refund.
That'll be customs. Inspection.
dyumean
post Jul 1 2012, 03:37 AM

To encourage greater readership among fellow Malaysians and for all book lovers,
KULShopper shall take off RM5 for every Rm100 ( and in multiples of RM100 thereafter) for all books purchased through us!
Please visit our threads below to read what some of our buyers say about our service and reliability!

Do email kulshopper@gmail.com for further details.
THANK YOU!!!

CelciuzX
post Jul 16 2012, 04:46 PM

279 posts

I ordered a book for TBD once, it took about 2-3 weeks for it to arrive. & if your order get's lost/doesn't arrive they will give you a full refund or send you another copy.

& it is sent by air mail. No worries if you're not at home, cause the posman will just leave it in your letter box, no signature required.

My conclusion is TBD is a very trustable online book store. My order took a week longer than it was supposed to arrive so i sent them an email about it and they sent me another copy, so in the end i received two copies for the price of one. rolleyes.gif
yclian
post Jul 16 2012, 10:12 PM

247 posts

Just got my replacement biggrin.gif (about 15 days, yea, more than 14 days)

Happy.

puiwen
post Aug 28 2012, 03:09 PM

51 posts

Great to read that TBD might be a good choice to order books online. I used to order from acmamall as they provide free shipping with cheap prices. But after they revamped the whole website, the books became so overpriced that i'd rather order from MPHonline.
I'm going to TBD a shot!

chaithing
post Sep 3 2012, 12:58 PM

25 posts

book depository is nice... if you feel that you book is late.. wait for it..
if the delivery is more than 2 month, you can just inform their Customer Service and they will handle it right away.

haya5h1
post Feb 6 2013, 10:59 AM

28 posts

I ordered 2 artbooks (A4 size? roughly?) from book depository in early January. They were posted on 9 January and I still have not received them sad.gif

I stay in KL, so normally airmail from overseas takes about 10 working days to reach me. I'm hoping that it's just been delayed due to CNY deliveries and all the public holidays we had in January.

As they are quite oversized they probably cannot fit into my letterbox... in such a case, would the postman ring the doorbell or leave a note if no one is at home to receive it?
highbury1913
post Feb 6 2013, 08:10 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(haya5h1 @ Feb 6 2013, 10:59 AM)
I ordered 2 artbooks (A4 size? roughly?) from book depository in early January. They were posted on 9 January and I still have not received them sad.gif

I stay in KL, so normally airmail from overseas takes about 10 working days to reach me. I'm hoping that it's just been delayed due to CNY deliveries and all the public holidays we had in January.

As they are quite oversized they probably cannot fit into my letterbox... in such a case, would the postman ring the doorbell or leave a note if no one is at home to receive it?
They would try ringing the doorbell. If no answer, they'll leave a note.
haya5h1
post Feb 8 2013, 10:38 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(highbury1913 @ Feb 6 2013, 08:10 PM)
They would try ringing the doorbell. If no answer, they'll leave a note.
Thanks for the reply. So far, no package, no note.

I contacted Pos Malaysia about it and they want a tracking number. So I asked TBD if they have a reference number of any sort, but they just told me to try contacting my "local sorting office."

I'm quite at a loss as to what to do next. cry.gif
highbury1913
post Feb 9 2013, 08:04 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(haya5h1 @ Feb 8 2013, 10:38 PM)
Thanks for the reply. So far, no package, no note.

I contacted Pos Malaysia about it and they want a tracking number. So I asked TBD if they have a reference number of any sort, but they just told me to try contacting my "local sorting office."

I'm quite at a loss as to what to do next. cry.gif
International packages often get delayed here in Malaysia at the post office. I once ordered something from ebay, reached malaysia within a week but I only received it more than a month later. And with the CNY holidays, you should expect delays due to high volume. I recommend waiting until the end of the month. If by then still nothing, contact TBD and tell them your package was lost.
synical
post Feb 15 2013, 10:59 AM

653 posts

My personal experience with them is mostly pretty good; got most of my orders within a few weeks, and I would wait at most 2 months before emailing them about any waylaid orders because it is Pos Malaysia after all.

I thought I was the only one not getting them Book Depository bookmarks tongue.gif

(To be fair, I'm in KL and most of my orders to date are limited edition Moleskines as they're still cheaper than Cziplee, the cheapest you can find them in KL)

Speaking of Acmamall, I had a shitty book buying experience with them (this was before the site re-vamp) and they're not that much cheaper anyway.
synical
post Feb 15 2013, 11:00 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jun 30 2012, 07:30 PM)
Sounds like someone at Customs wanted a free read tongue.gif
SowYau
post Mar 5 2013, 12:30 AM

I try to be a movie reviewer
604 posts

QUOTE(haya5h1 @ Feb 6 2013, 10:59 AM)

I still waiting for my orders to arrived too. Books, blu-rays... from Amazon and ebay. I received an artbook from Amazon US last 2 weeks, I saw the custom clearance chop dated 28 Dec 2012. Not good. Looks like Pos M'sia is very slow.

By the way, I found out TBD is a bit pricey eventhough they offer free shipping to M'sia. I buy from Abebooks.com (an affiliation with Amazon.com), mostly cheaper than amazon and TBD even if factor in the shipping fee.
haya5h1
post Mar 5 2013, 05:58 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(SowYau @ Mar 5 2013, 12:30 AM)
I still waiting for my orders to arrived too. Books, blu-rays... from Amazon and ebay. I received an artbook from Amazon US last 2 weeks, I saw the custom clearance chop dated 28 Dec 2012. Not good. Looks like Pos M'sia is very slow.

By the way, I found out TBD is a bit pricey eventhough they offer free shipping to M'sia. I buy from Abebooks.com (an affiliation with Amazon.com), mostly cheaper than amazon and TBD even if factor in the shipping fee.
28 Dec?? wow...

So a funny thing just happened: I got back to TBD and explained that Pos Malaysia wanted a shipping number, and next thing I knew I got an email informing me of a refund XD Because the price of the books I ordered had gone up, they were unable to send another set and so they refunded my payment instead.:/ (and probably they don't want to risk sending the books again, as one shipment is already lost.)

One certainly can't fault TBD's customer service, they were prompt and professional at all times when replying to me. It's just a pity that Pos Malaysia's crappy service is getting in the way of all their good intentions...
Serendipity123
post Mar 10 2013, 01:09 PM

175 posts

I love TBD. Ordered from them twice and both orders came in within 3-4 weeks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Serendipity123: Mar 10 2013, 01:10 PM
haya5h1
post Mar 22 2013, 03:56 PM

28 posts

well, this is a surprise...
I got a yellow notice from Pos Malaysia yesterday telling me to pick up a delivery from the Pos Office Besar. Turns out it was my TBD order... two and a half months late. I went to collect it this morning and the counter guy handed me a white gunny sack sweat.gif Inside were my two books, still packed securely in a brown cardboard box. The shrinkwrap on both books was intact, so it doesn't seem like anyone tried to sneak a free read.

According to the Customs stamp, it was released by Customs on ?3 January, so apparently it's been... just... sitting in the Dayabumi basement for the last two months. Wow. Good job, Pos Malaysia.

I've emailed TBD asking them how to pay for them since they did indeed arrive. I wonder if they get this a lot?
liquidsny
post Mar 22 2013, 03:56 PM

589 posts

mine arrived 1 month after buying
i'm in peninsular
highbury1913
post Mar 22 2013, 11:46 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(synical @ Feb 15 2013, 11:00 AM)
Sounds like someone at Customs wanted a free read tongue.gif
actually it could just be customs checking to verify package. my packages are opened all the time.
highbury1913
post Mar 22 2013, 11:49 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(haya5h1 @ Mar 22 2013, 03:56 PM)
well, this is a surprise...
I got a yellow notice from Pos Malaysia yesterday telling me to pick up a delivery from the Pos Office Besar. Turns out it was my TBD order... two and a half months late. I went to collect it this morning and the counter guy handed me a white gunny sack  sweat.gif Inside were my two books, still packed securely in a brown cardboard box. The shrinkwrap on both books was intact, so it doesn't seem like anyone tried to sneak a free read.

According to the Customs stamp, it was released by Customs on ?3 January, so apparently it's been... just... sitting in the Dayabumi basement for the last two months. Wow. Good job, Pos Malaysia.

I've emailed TBD asking them how to pay for them since they did indeed arrive. I wonder if they get this a lot?
yes, it happens quite frequently.
jkgermanotta
post Apr 18 2015, 02:48 AM

112 posts

mine was Dispatched on 27 Mar 2015 but still don't get it until now. shah alam area.

:'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
rain_wolf
post Apr 19 2015, 06:34 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(jkgermanotta @ Apr 18 2015, 02:48 AM)
mine was Dispatched on 27 Mar 2015 but still don't get it until now. shah alam area.

:'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
Have you tried contacting them?
zellleonhart
post Jul 15 2015, 12:52 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Anyone know if Airmail needs someone to be at home to sign the parcel?

If no one at home, will they resend or I have to visit the post office to get it?

Savor_Savvy
post Apr 27 2017, 09:06 AM

2,776 posts

I bought two books from them few years back. One arrived after 2 months, one disappeared. But I received a refund for that.
shchiam1978
post Aug 3 2017, 07:58 PM

Polypterus Bichirs
2,432 posts

Hi all
I ordered the book from depository and should have receive the book anytime soon but how do I check whether the book will be delivered to me by pos Malaysia? Or could it be from other courier company
shchiam1978
post Aug 3 2017, 08:00 PM

Polypterus Bichirs
2,432 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Apr 27 2017, 09:06 AM)
I bought two books from them few years back. One arrived after 2 months, one disappeared. But I received a refund for that.
Is it delivered by pos Malaysia?
Savor_Savvy
post Aug 3 2017, 09:02 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(shchiam1978 @ Aug 3 2017, 08:00 PM)
Is it delivered by pos Malaysia?
Pos Malaysia. No tracking available.
shchiam1978
post Aug 4 2017, 01:31 PM

Polypterus Bichirs
2,432 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Aug 3 2017, 09:02 PM)
Pos Malaysia. No tracking available.
Thanks but how do we know whether the parcel has arrived.
Savor_Savvy
post Aug 4 2017, 03:04 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(shchiam1978 @ Aug 4 2017, 01:31 PM)
Thanks but how do we know whether the parcel has arrived.
You have to call Pos Malaysia and ask. Either they will send to your house or they will keep it in the warehouse.
shchiam1978
post Aug 5 2017, 07:17 AM

Polypterus Bichirs
2,432 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Aug 4 2017, 03:04 PM)
You have to call Pos Malaysia and ask. Either they will send to your house or they will keep it in the warehouse.
I called last 2 days ago and their response was they are unable to check by name nor address.

I'll just wait then.
Savor_Savvy
post Aug 5 2017, 08:32 AM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(shchiam1978 @ Aug 5 2017, 07:17 AM)
I called last 2 days ago and their response was they are unable to check by name nor address.

I'll just wait then.
Yes, they need the tracking number. When you ask Book Depository, they will say they have sent it out. No tracking number given.
shchiam1978
post Aug 7 2017, 08:24 AM

Polypterus Bichirs
2,432 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Aug 5 2017, 08:32 AM)
Yes, they need the tracking number. When you ask Book Depository, they will say they have sent it out. No tracking number given.
I was wondering whether they will leave the undelivered card by pos officer in my mailbox? Will they do that?
Savor_Savvy
post Aug 7 2017, 08:44 AM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(shchiam1978 @ Aug 7 2017, 08:24 AM)
I was wondering whether they will leave the undelivered card by pos officer in my mailbox? Will they do that?
It depends. Sometimes yes. It's not like Poslaju whereby you will know when they will deliver.

One of my books arrived 3 months later. One lost.
shchiam1978
post Aug 7 2017, 07:34 PM

Polypterus Bichirs
2,432 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Aug 7 2017, 08:44 AM)
It depends. Sometimes yes. It's not like Poslaju whereby you will know when they will deliver.

One of my books arrived 3 months later. One lost.
This is sad. According to depository, I need to let them know if I haven't receive the book by 4th and now it's 7th.

goey0614
post Aug 7 2017, 11:02 PM

181 posts

My first order was 19July, guess i am a bit impatience...wondering when will be arrived...wait is the only thing to do for now xD
Savor_Savvy
post Aug 7 2017, 11:03 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(shchiam1978 @ Aug 7 2017, 07:34 PM)
This is sad. According to depository, I need to let them know if I haven't receive the book by 4th and now it's 7th.
Yes, they will compensate for book loss.
shchiam1978
post Aug 8 2017, 12:37 PM

Polypterus Bichirs
2,432 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Aug 7 2017, 11:03 PM)
Yes, they will compensate for book loss.
I have received an email from depository and they are sending me another copy.
Still need to wait. The problem is we can't check from pos whether is there any parcel for us or not.

shchiam1978
post Aug 8 2017, 02:30 PM

Polypterus Bichirs
2,432 posts

Oh no.
I just got my book today and depository already sent another copy to me as they thought postman lost it.
If I send it back to them, will there be any charges
goey0614
post Aug 17 2017, 11:34 PM

181 posts

Got my books from bookdepository today, ordered on 19 Aug, quite fast and smooth for me thumbsup.gif , definitely will buy again from there xD
Kim Bi Jan
post Sep 4 2017, 02:03 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(goey0614 @ Aug 17 2017, 11:34 PM)
Got my books from bookdepository today, ordered on 19 Aug, quite fast and smooth for me thumbsup.gif , definitely will buy again from there xD
got your book on 9/19..but you posted this on 9/17..

either you can predict future...or..yup..u can predict future.. nod.gif
goey0614
post Sep 4 2017, 08:36 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(Kim Bi Jan @ Sep 4 2017, 02:03 PM)
got your book on 9/19..but you posted this on 9/17..

either you can predict future...or..yup..u can predict future.. nod.gif
I.must.had.mess.up.the.time doh.gif

* but ya the website is trustable for a very good price thumbsup.gif
Savor_Savvy
post Sep 14 2017, 09:54 AM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(shchiam1978 @ Aug 8 2017, 02:30 PM)
Oh no.
I just got my book today and depository already sent another copy to me as they thought postman lost it.
If I send it back to them, will there be any charges
You can pay them for that book and resell it here in Malaysia.
David dxd
post Jan 20 2018, 08:07 PM

Hello there, my order from book depository hasn't arrived since i placed my order at 1st of December 2017. So i wanna know which post office i can go and check since book depository asked to check with the LOCAL POST OFFICE ? BTW im from Kuching Sarawak
SUSBarbossa
post Jun 19 2018, 11:36 PM

407 posts

Just sharing my exp

Bought 2 books from and all received in perfect conditions with bubble wrap.

And its free delivery thus the problem surface which is the long duration of delivery. I had to wait 2 week for the books to arrive. But still I am satisfied.
hamster9
post Nov 4 2018, 08:00 AM

CFP
2,251 posts

Almost a month already.. Still no book. Request me to check with local post office..so impossible la :rage: no tracking number. Sigh.. Worried it doesn't reach me for Christmas sad.gif
SUSRyuGW90
post Dec 16 2018, 09:37 PM

576 posts

Waited for 3 weeks for the books to arrive
Goods in good condition

No complain since free shipping after all
Savor_Savvy
post Dec 16 2018, 11:05 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(RyuGW90 @ Dec 16 2018, 09:37 PM)
Goods in good condition
If by the fifth week your item hasn't arrive, you may file for a return/refund.
Savor_Savvy

2,776 posts

Goods in good condition
Savor_Savvy

2,776 posts

Goods in good condition
XuenXD
post Feb 16 2020, 04:10 PM

Hi there, I've recently purchased 10 books in a single order on Book Depository and wondered how will my books be delivered. I've looked into several articles and the comment way back in 2012 and found that BookDepository used to send the books individually, but those info was ages ago, not sure if it's outdated. I'm living in a terrace house and I'm worried that if BD do really deliver all/some of my books in a huge box, it won't be able to fit into my mailbox and if left outside when nobody is home, it will get wet in the case of a light rain, let alone a heavy rain. Anybody has a similar experience and you wouldn't mine sharing to ease my worries?
Savor_Savvy
post Mar 14 2020, 10:02 PM

2,776 posts

How is Book Depository now? Still no tracking number provided?
refacedier
post May 13 2020, 11:28 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Mar 14 2020, 10:02 PM)
How is Book Depository now? Still no tracking number provided?
I don't think that's possible. But I always wonder where will the lost books go to if it's not delivered.

I ordered 2 books from DB:
Order date: 9th April 2020

Haven't received tho.

BTW, has anyone successfully ordered and received very thick text book like 600+pages ? There's not a lot of choices, especially east MY, Kino is out of stock and my only resort is amazon cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Savor_Savvy
post May 14 2020, 06:27 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(refacedier @ May 13 2020, 11:28 PM)
I don't think that's possible. But I always wonder where will the lost books go to if it's not delivered. 

I ordered 2 books from DB:
Order date: 9th April 2020

Haven't received tho.
BTW, has anyone successfully ordered and received very thick text book like 600+pages ? There's not a lot of choices, especially east MY, Kino is out of stock and my only resort is amazon  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
I lost my Diablo 3 Prima Guide. Asked for refund in the 3rd month.
refacedier
post May 15 2020, 12:02 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ May 14 2020, 06:27 PM)
I lost my Diablo 3 Prima Guide. Asked for refund in the 3rd month.
3rd month as in March, or after 12 weeks? shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

seems like poslaju is not delivering these days. I received an item today that's sent by an agent.

Savor_Savvy
post May 15 2020, 08:48 AM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(refacedier @ May 15 2020, 12:02 AM)
3rd month as in March, or after 12 weeks?  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

seems like poslaju is not delivering these days. I received an item today that's sent by an agent.
After 8 weeks.
refacedier
post May 26 2020, 11:48 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ May 15 2020, 08:48 AM)
After 8 weeks.
Update us when you received
yours. I haven't received mine.

I think 2 more weeks I'm letting
Bookdepository know, since it's raya
everyone is not workin. the long wait
is real.

Savor_Savvy
post May 27 2020, 07:50 AM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(refacedier @ May 26 2020, 11:48 PM)
Update us when you received
yours. I haven't received mine.

I think 2 more weeks I'm letting
Bookdepository know, since it's raya
everyone is not workin. the long wait
is real.
This was at least 7 years ago. I haven't been buying from them since 2013.
refacedier
post May 27 2020, 10:37 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ May 27 2020, 07:50 AM)
This was at least 7 years ago. I haven't been buying from them since 2013.
oops didn't notice. great,
now i wonder whether
they're coming at all.

Savor_Savvy
post May 27 2020, 10:47 AM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(refacedier @ May 27 2020, 10:37 AM)
oops didn't notice. great,
now i wonder whether
they're coming at all.
Free Shipping = No tracking number whistling.gif

In Malaysia, if you don't have the tracking number, you can't track your parcel. Ask for refund if the item doesn't arrive in 2-3months.
refacedier
post May 27 2020, 10:57 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ May 27 2020, 10:47 AM)
Free Shipping = No tracking number  whistling.gif

In Malaysia, if you don't have the tracking number, you can't track your parcel. Ask for refund if the item doesn't arrive in 2-3months.
cry.gif cry.gif we need to sign
petition for this, can't we enjoy
books like other countries? sad.gif

wondering how my books
are surviving in the dark
cold abyss.

it's funny, I know there's no
tracking number provided, at
least they need to know where
the books got sorted out.
It's a big packet labeled
"bookdepository". Can't they
just make a sorting dept solely
for BD?

dawnreaver
post Jan 21 2022, 03:36 PM

659 posts

My experience with Book Depository, initially lost a lot of books when I set my delivery address to my home. One set of books even got delivered to the wrong address and the person was kind enough to drop it off at my place. I suspect this was just Pos Malaysia being irresponsible.

After that experience (and multiple refunds) I switched to Kinokuniya.

A few years back I started using Book Depository again when one of my colleagues advised to set the delivery address to the office, which in his opinion would lessen the chances of the books going missing. Since then, I only had one order go missing out of around 20 plus deliveries, and the missing order was delivered successfully the second time around.
masweil94 P
post Oct 2 2022, 01:35 PM

Probation

Anyone from Kuching/Samarahan (Sarawak) bought recently?

I had mine set for delivery to my office located in Samarahan (postcode = 94300).

Hasn't arrived for more than one month and as others have said it's untrackable.

Was told to try the local post office (is it POS Malaysia in this context?).

But there are so many...

Which one do I try my luck? confused.gif confused.gif
goey0614
post Apr 10 2023, 01:45 AM

181 posts

Just an update: Bookdepository will be closing soon on 26 March 2023, we can still drop our orders before the date and they will arrange for the shipment. It’s a very sad news for sure, so if anyone has some rare books to get, this will be the last chance 🥲

0.0541sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:04 AM