DOTA2 V4, Open Beta soon?

ZeratoS
post Apr 2 2012, 12:17 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

QUOTE(hard2k @ Apr 2 2012, 12:12 AM)
the fun of playing dota is about how best ur teamwork i have play countless of game where u can said our team wont win but we managed to pull out and win the game?
imagine if this shity conceed go on u wont find a good game at all
enemy team mega kill omg omg we cant wiin conceed conceed now?
please dont put it here dota is the same without those conceed thing and still become the best game ever then those copier
This.

I used to play at 1800 ~ 2000 MMR/PSR in HoN. Can't get any good games going because everyone would just concede at 15. Play what?

HoN is HoN anyway, if one enjoys HoN, then play that. I for one won't play a game where you can get "early access" to new heroes. That's power purchase right there.

http://www.heroesofnewerth.com/heroview.php?hid=195

Early release on heroes like this lmao. Love the skillset, Silence on demand, Tinker nuke without the line of sight requirement, a bird with balanar's sceptre upgrade. Shining pinnacle of game balance right there.

This post has been edited by ZeratoS: Apr 2 2012, 12:19 AM
Ivan113
post Apr 2 2012, 12:20 AM

925 posts

chill guys, just chill, we all know which has a better system and also a better game rolleyes.gif
vo0de3_x | oum@n
post Apr 2 2012, 12:22 AM

SEE ALL MY BINTANG
1,453 posts

one thing i dun like abt hon is they keep on release new heroes and so many heroes in the list ... well ... it is good that we have variety of hero to use but those heroes getting imba and imba doh.gif
even though dota 2 has lesser heroes now but i still enjoy the game play biggrin.gif
both game have its advantage and disadvantage ... no point to keep argue abt which is good or no good ... if u like it then play it ..if dun like then dun play ... thats all xD

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 2 2012, 12:24 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Apr 2 2012, 12:04 AM)
The system itself is fine but it has the added effects of encouraging people to give up. Because this is not present in DotA2, people actually fight instead of give up. The problem lies with having the option to concede be available for use. Do you honestly want to enjoy one good game or play 20 games of 15 minute concedes as an organized (and winning) team? Ask yourself that.

I'm in favour of DotA2's means of tackling leavers (having had experience in HoN since its closed beta) as you can see from the current state of SEA HoN where players have no incentive to actually take care of their accounts.

DotA2 also has a hidden ELO/MMR/PSR as far as I know (it was mentioned in the v1 or v2 thread I believe) so its roughly equal to HoN. Their F2P system is also stupid as hell because it does nothing for the benefit of the game (lets be honest, grinding for coins to unlock heroes was terrible) and it encouraged S2 to release stupidly broken heroes like Emerald Warden so people would fork out moolah for it. The contrast here is HoN's microtransactions are purely aesthetic. Huge + in my book.

I've had a sufficient amount of experience at relatively med-high tier play in all 3 games (LoL, DotA2, HoN) and I can say that DotA2 is by far the least problematic when it comes to generic pubs. But then again, time will tell.

P.S: And unlike the other two games, Valve actually DOES stuff. Fat chance ga*rena actually does anything for you people.
actually even if i'm winning by a lot i rather allow them conceed and look for a more even match doh.gif but thats just my own opinion.
Ivan113
post Apr 2 2012, 12:28 AM

925 posts

well from my point of view, LoL and HoN is more like arcade style, means very entertaining if it is pub game, but in DotA or DOTA2, it is more to competitive style, where they stress a lot in term of teamwork and game balance
vo0de3_x | oum@n
post Apr 2 2012, 12:29 AM

SEE ALL MY BINTANG
1,453 posts

hon = fast pace
dota = time consuming lol
but not bad ... overall both also good game biggrin.gif

Ivan113
post Apr 2 2012, 12:31 AM

925 posts

QUOTE(vo0de3_x | oum@n @ Apr 2 2012, 12:29 AM)
hon = fast pace
dota = time consuming lol
but not bad ... overall both also good game biggrin.gif
and fast pace game are only suitable for pubbish style tongue.gif
tarvalslain87
post Apr 2 2012, 12:32 AM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,054 posts

Chill la.... Both has it pros and cons.. Just play whichever you like... No point arguing.. And this thread is for dota 2 =P
ZeratoS
post Apr 2 2012, 12:33 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Apr 2 2012, 12:24 AM)
actually even if i'm winning by a lot i rather allow them conceed and look for a more even match doh.gif but thats just my own opinion.
Yes well, I do take into account the opponents and I try to finish the game quickly. Nobody likes being on the losing end.
nightshade_nova
post Apr 2 2012, 12:37 AM

443 posts

http://www.cyborgmatt.com/2012/04/dota-2-29th-march/

Is this new sobek hero april fool or not? hmm.gif
Ivan113
post Apr 2 2012, 12:40 AM

925 posts

for those who don't know

This post has been edited by Ivan113: Apr 2 2012, 12:43 AM
Agito666
post Apr 2 2012, 12:42 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Apr 2 2012, 12:40 AM)
for those who don't know

fixed

CODE
[YOUTUBE]hGtC0edLHM[/youtubel]

This post has been edited by Agito666: Apr 2 2012, 12:43 AM
TSsasaug
post Apr 2 2012, 02:24 AM

Small Fud
1,936 posts

Met a team on pubs but luckily 4 of us was in party with 1 random.

Am + Cm go mid, prophet + pudge btm(sprout and hook combo), lion solo top. They play so CM-ish but we still manage to take the game with good fight =D

Tide solo is so awesome, damn early get the ulti and arcane boot then you run around ganking. I don't have money issue with wards/smoke/tp. Although I solo a Lion, I still become like their main threat early into the game until late game. <3 Tidehunter
nightshade_nova
post Apr 2 2012, 02:46 AM

443 posts

DTS running clinkz(again!) and kunkka against EG. rclxms.gif

Added on April 2, 2012, 2:57 amWah...kk+ds combo so potent lvl 1 first blood.

Added on April 2, 2012, 3:31 amAnother win for DTS.The performance of DTS's clinkz is so consistent.You guys should really see the game once the vod is up.

This post has been edited by nightshade_nova: Apr 2 2012, 03:31 AM
SUSdD_se7en
post Apr 2 2012, 03:43 AM

Ang! Ang! Ang!
887 posts

why i run load the dota 2 script then nothing happen when i press \ and up arrow, down arrow? icon_question.gif
choyster
post Apr 2 2012, 06:13 AM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Apr 2 2012, 12:04 AM)
The system itself is fine but it has the added effects of encouraging people to give up. Because this is not present in DotA2, people actually fight instead of give up. The problem lies with having the option to concede be available for use. Do you honestly want to enjoy one good game or play 20 games of 15 minute concedes as an organized (and winning) team? Ask yourself that.

I'm in favour of DotA2's means of tackling leavers (having had experience in HoN since its closed beta) as you can see from the current state of SEA HoN where players have no incentive to actually take care of their accounts.

DotA2 also has a hidden ELO/MMR/PSR as far as I know (it was mentioned in the v1 or v2 thread I believe) so its roughly equal to HoN. Their F2P system is also stupid as hell because it does nothing for the benefit of the game (lets be honest, grinding for coins to unlock heroes was terrible) and it encouraged S2 to release stupidly broken heroes like Emerald Warden so people would fork out moolah for it. The contrast here is HoN's microtransactions are purely aesthetic. Huge + in my book.

I've had a sufficient amount of experience at relatively med-high tier play in all 3 games (LoL, DotA2, HoN) and I can say that DotA2 is by far the least problematic when it comes to generic pubs. But then again, time will tell.

P.S: And unlike the other two games, Valve actually DOES stuff. Fat chance ga*rena actually does anything for you people.
Conceding takes away 1 of the most important thing in the game , a sweetass comeback win biggrin.gif but yeah pubs would just usually give up
jaithesimpleguy
post Apr 2 2012, 10:19 AM

186 posts

hi i just to play dota 2 last week. how to:

1) open the overall board? (where you can see the K/D/A of all hero and such?) Tab have difference function now. pressing it will switch me to leaver's hero. WTF? Pressing "~" will make the console appear too. Is that important?

2) DotA 2 have laugh/dance/talk/taunting or not?

3? How to set the same color to all opposing team? (eg. allies = blue, enemy = red)

4) Is there a way to permanently see my latency/ping during the whole gaming process?

This post has been edited by jaithesimpleguy: Apr 2 2012, 10:47 AM
tarvalslain87
post Apr 2 2012, 11:20 AM

5,054 posts

Im also new to Dota 2... So ill answer what i know...

1) Top left corner in game 2nd from the left or 3rd cant remember. Or my hotkey for it is '\' key above enter key. Im sure you can set it in settings

2) I saw a taunt option for hotkey but never tried it. If talk means teamtalk its just enter and everyone in game is shift+enter

3) Its in the settings under games tab. Search for simple colours and on it.

4) Not sure about this. I also wanna know the way to check my ping

Hope that helps
LostWanderer
post Apr 2 2012, 11:21 AM

315 posts

overall board you can set it in options menu

when dota 2 = retail, you can taunt if you bought stuffs from the store

you don't really need to set same color as (> = allies, X = enemies...always on whichever team you are on

number 4, not sure, but u can check your ping with -ping i believe in chat menu
tarvalslain87
post Apr 2 2012, 12:14 PM

5,054 posts

Same colour are much more easier to look at for some people...

126 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:07 AM