Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V15, Free Installation / Super Speed ME promo
TSrattan
Apr 18 2012, 04:37 PM
Droid
QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 18 2012, 04:24 PM) Don't think you can have a switch between BTU and STB/RG. It has to be BTU -> RG -> 1. STB; 2. Switch. Yes correct. Overlooked that part. @kclai Its best to pull 2 RJ45 cables. 1 direct to the STB. One more to the switch/router/repeater. This post has been edited by rattan: Apr 18 2012, 04:37 PM
kclai
Apr 18 2012, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 18 2012, 04:24 PM) Don't think you can have a switch between BTU and STB/RG. It has to be BTU -> RG -> 1. STB; 2. Switch. Bro rattan, do you overlook the switch between BTU -> RG? really hope to resolve all these issue before apply for services. Added on April 18, 2012, 4:44 pmQUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 18 2012, 04:24 PM) Don't think you can have a switch between BTU and STB/RG. It has to be BTU -> RG -> 1. STB; 2. Switch. OK, thanks for all the advise, I know what to do next already. This post has been edited by kclai: Apr 18 2012, 04:44 PM
kimyee73
Apr 18 2012, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(rattan @ Apr 18 2012, 04:37 PM) Yes correct. Overlooked that part. @kclai Its best to pull 2 RJ45 cables. 1 direct to the STB. One more to the switch/router/repeater. If you're installing RG at different location than STB, I always advised my friends who are renovating their house to pull 2 cat5e cables from RG to TV location. This is because network cannot share same cable with STB and it would come in handy when you want to add media player, bd-live or smart tv in future. Irony is myself only install one cable because there is no Unifi when I did my renovation several years ago.
TSrattan
Apr 18 2012, 05:00 PM
Droid
QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 18 2012, 04:46 PM) If you're installing RG at different location than STB, I always advised my friends who are renovating their house to pull 2 cat5e cables from RG to TV location. This is because network cannot share same cable with STB and it would come in handy when you want to add media player, bd-live or smart tv in future. Irony is myself only install one cable because there is no Unifi when I did my renovation several years ago. Same here. pull extra never mind. also another thing to take into account when doing renovation is the 13a socket outlet. The more the better. I added 15 points in my server room lately. Still not enough
jovial
Apr 18 2012, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 18 2012, 04:46 PM) If you're installing RG at different location than STB, I always advised my friends who are renovating their house to pull 2 cat5e cables from RG to TV location. This is because network cannot share same cable with STB and it would come in handy when you want to add media player, bd-live or smart tv in future. Irony is myself only install one cable because there is no Unifi when I did my renovation several years ago. You can actually run two separate network devices using 1 Ethernet cable. Google for "network splitter". Ethernet cables have 8 wires but only 4 are used. It's not really perfect but it saves you having to hack the wall and run new cables. The cost is very minimal. Another option is to use mikrotik routers to do vlan tagging and untagging
firstknight
Apr 18 2012, 06:29 PM
errr... wah my post so far liao and no one responded...
anyway.. have anyone got WRT310N working with Unifi?
TSrattan
Apr 18 2012, 06:35 PM
Droid
QUOTE(jovial @ Apr 18 2012, 05:51 PM) You can actually run two separate network devices using 1 Ethernet cable. Google for "network splitter". Ethernet cables have 8 wires but only 4 are used. It's not really perfect but it saves you having to hack the wall and run new cables. The cost is very minimal. Another option is to use mikrotik routers to do vlan tagging and untagging
sanzo_reload
Apr 18 2012, 09:51 PM
Does anyone know whether I can get a 100m long ethernet cable online/around KL? The longest I've found on lelong is 30m..
djhenry91
Apr 18 2012, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(rattan @ Apr 18 2012, 05:00 PM) Same here. pull extra never mind. also another thing to take into account when doing renovation is the 13a socket outlet. The more the better. I added 15 points in my server room lately. Still not enough  wow...u r madness...server room
defaultname365
Apr 18 2012, 10:12 PM
Thanks to rattan for smooth application process! I have fixed Saturday for installation (originally Friday).
I wonder what I could do during this time to "ease" their installation process... perhaps pull out my computer LAN cable (no, not hank it out but have it more accessible to them), my phone wire, 4 free main sockets etc.
What else should I "prepare" ? Also, I am not sure about the ethernet the router Unifi uses - I use a PS3, Xbox 360 and a PC for ethernet. I wonder how many maximum ethernet port it has.
This post has been edited by defaultname365: Apr 18 2012, 10:14 PM
jovial
Apr 18 2012, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(sanzo_reload @ Apr 18 2012, 09:51 PM) Does anyone know whether I can get a 100m long ethernet cable online/around KL? The longest I've found on lelong is 30m.. Custom make...shops in lowyat can offer this service or even forumers in the tradezone But do realize that 100m is the max for Ethernet cable so get good quality cble
TSrattan
Apr 18 2012, 11:11 PM
Droid
QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Apr 18 2012, 10:06 PM) wow...u r madness...server room Someone just PM. Just finished house renovation. Did 8 points and not enough. Haha. So I'm not alone. Lolz
Neptern
Apr 18 2012, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(rattan @ Apr 18 2012, 11:11 PM) Someone just PM. Just finished house renovation. Did 8 points and not enough. Haha. So I'm not alone. Lolz Isn't it more cost effective to rent servers from european datacentres than setting up servers at home?
djhenry91
Apr 18 2012, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(rattan @ Apr 18 2012, 11:11 PM) Someone just PM. Just finished house renovation. Did 8 points and not enough. Haha. So I'm not alone. Lolz so...ur inside server.got wat.. interested
calvin92
Apr 19 2012, 01:30 AM
Any1 feel that torrent being slow down. Mine is below 100kb/s
TSrattan
Apr 19 2012, 01:51 AM
Droid
QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Apr 18 2012, 11:29 PM) so...ur inside server.got wat.. interested  secret bro... hehe.. only can share if you upgrade to vip20 with me... hehe  Added on April 19, 2012, 4:07 amQUOTE(defaultname365 @ Apr 18 2012, 10:12 PM) Thanks to rattan for smooth application process! I have fixed Saturday for installation (originally Friday). I wonder what I could do during this time to "ease" their installation process... perhaps pull out my computer LAN cable (no, not hank it out but have it more accessible to them), my phone wire, 4 free main sockets etc. What else should I "prepare" ? Also, I am not sure about the ethernet the router Unifi uses - I use a PS3, Xbox 360 and a PC for ethernet. I wonder how many maximum ethernet port it has. No problem bro, my pleasure serving you You dont need to do anything. Just sit back and relax. The only thing that would really put a smile on the installer face is a chill bottle of coca-cola after the installation is done. Nothing beats chill cola in a hot sunny weather This post has been edited by rattan: Apr 19 2012, 04:08 AM
djhenry91
Apr 19 2012, 04:27 AM
[quote=rattan,Apr 19 2012, 01:51 AM] secret bro... hehe.. only can share if you upgrade to vip20 with me... hehe  dun like tht..
TSrattan
Apr 19 2012, 04:52 AM
Droid
[quote=djhenry91,Apr 19 2012, 04:27 AM] [quote=rattan,Apr 19 2012, 01:51 AM] secret bro... hehe.. only can share if you upgrade to vip20 with me... hehe  dun like tht..  [/quote] haha joking only ler
dawnreaver
Apr 19 2012, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(rattan @ Apr 18 2012, 02:11 PM) No its not a must. Optional. Thanks Rattan for the clarification!  Much appreciated.
sanzo_reload
Apr 19 2012, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(jovial @ Apr 18 2012, 10:13 PM) Custom make...shops in lowyat can offer this service or even forumers in the tradezone But do realize that 100m is the max for Ethernet cable so get good quality cble How do I know whether it's a good quality or not? I'm kinda a noob in this department. T_T