Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V15, Free Installation / Super Speed ME promo

kimyee73
post Apr 2 2012, 07:35 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Mar 30 2012, 05:25 PM)
That's normal. They already put notice in the middle of upgrading the service, but never thought it took that long.
It happen occasionally, sometime drive me nuts. For example, in the middle of a program (BBC Lifestyle) suddenly it rewind back 5 - 10 minutes earlier like a glitch.
Maybe they are delaying it to implement censorship. I've not seen t*ts on fashion tv lately.
kimyee73
post Apr 3 2012, 06:36 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Apr 2 2012, 10:18 AM)
Any news why FashionTV will be taken down at the start of May?
Fashion TV only or including Fashion TV HD? No point to include Fashion TV HD in platinum pack if they want to remove it later. I don't really care if it is just Fashion TV but the HD version is one of my fav channel.

Added on April 3, 2012, 6:44 pm
QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Apr 2 2012, 05:59 PM)
ok that means my seeds slow nia...
now every night cannoy sleep, Time.com busy cangkulling outside my condo  doh.gif
Time is too slow and wrong strategy. They need to target areas not in Unifi list yet. Once on Unifi, you're locked for 2 years, so no chance to jump to Time/Astro iptv.

Added on April 3, 2012, 7:00 pm
QUOTE(chenster @ Apr 3 2012, 03:22 PM)
anyone of u happen to know any plans that TM will have an agreement with astro like the one between time+astro offering now?

I heard from a source that they are coming soon as well..
If this is true, it could be death blow to Unifi IPTV. I doubt it as Unifi IPTV need just 9 Mbps but Astro need 64 Mbps to support 2 concurrent channels for Byond PVR. It will break current TM's infrastructure.

This post has been edited by kimyee73: Apr 3 2012, 07:00 PM
kimyee73
post Apr 18 2012, 09:55 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 18 2012, 01:29 AM)
Try and download from MediaFire using a download manager like IDM or FDM (Free Download Manager).
If you're not getting 1.0MB/s ~ 1.5MB/s, then something is definitely wrong with your UNiFi connection.
Will IDM/FDM speed-up Rapidshare as well? I'm using JDownloader and Rapidhshare free cap at 30KB/s.
kimyee73
post Apr 18 2012, 04:24 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(kclai @ Apr 18 2012, 02:42 PM)
I plan to apply for VIP5 soon, am planing out the installation & location of those devices, appreciate anyone can advise whether the following will work for unifi :-

BTU(1st floor) -> switch(1st floor) -> 1. STB(1st floor); 2. RG(ground floor, thru existing cat5 cable from 1st floor to ground floor) sweat.gif

And also need some advise on unifi proxy setting, can we set the proxy using google proxy server?
Don't think you can have a switch between BTU and STB/RG. It has to be BTU -> RG -> 1. STB; 2. Switch.
kimyee73
post Apr 18 2012, 04:46 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Apr 18 2012, 04:37 PM)
Yes correct. Overlooked that part.
@kclai Its best to pull 2 RJ45 cables. 1 direct to the STB. One more to the switch/router/repeater.
If you're installing RG at different location than STB, I always advised my friends who are renovating their house to pull 2 cat5e cables from RG to TV location. This is because network cannot share same cable with STB and it would come in handy when you want to add media player, bd-live or smart tv in future. Irony is myself only install one cable because there is no Unifi when I did my renovation several years ago.
kimyee73
post Apr 19 2012, 10:52 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(jovial @ Apr 18 2012, 05:51 PM)
You can actually run two separate network devices using 1 Ethernet cable. Google for "network splitter". Ethernet cables have 8 wires but only 4 are used. It's not really perfect but it saves you having to hack the wall and run new cables. The cost is very minimal.

Another option is to use mikrotik routers to do vlan tagging and untagging
The splitter is a compromise as it is not advisable to run 1Gb network concurrently using it. It's ok with 100Mbps. Mikrotik is an expensive solution but could be a solution of no choice instead of hacking the wall.

Added on April 19, 2012, 11:03 am
QUOTE(rattan @ Apr 19 2012, 01:51 AM)
secret bro... hehe..
only can share if you upgrade to vip20 with me... hehe  drool.gif
I think rattan said he has a seedbox. I have 8 network points in my house as well supported by an 8-port Gb switch. Another 4-port Gb switch in my study for port expansion.

This post has been edited by kimyee73: Apr 19 2012, 11:03 AM
kimyee73
post Apr 24 2012, 08:00 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Apr 22 2012, 12:33 AM)
I only have 1 gripe - - I so wish the cordless phone (?) could be placed somewhere else in the house. I didn't know it was "attached" to the Unifi unit. Everytime someone wants to make free calls, they will come into my room. I really don't want wires running out of my room into another room.  sad.gif
If your DECT phone is Motorola brand, you can buy an extension DECT phone that you can place it anywhere your house and leave the base unit in your room. Other brand should work as well but may not use all the phone features. My base unit is in my store room with BTU and I have 2 extension units, 1 each for downstair and upstair.
kimyee73
post Apr 30 2012, 10:46 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(razin @ Apr 28 2012, 11:49 AM)
try to negotiate.... I was charge 200 for outer casing.. the round protective tube of the black optic cable... since my house is 15m from the db box.. if you choose to pay... make sure everything is up and running and then sign and pay.  if not you can call unifi now give your reason and ask for other contractor and probably new appt
That protective tube supposed to come FOC with every UG installation. I paid nothing for my installation except for a couple of cold packet drinks for their good work done.

Added on April 30, 2012, 11:01 am3 months after installation, first time I have to reboot the router yesterday due to utorrent not receiving incoming udp connection. Not bad for a stock router. Of course I don't really care about its weak wifi as I'm on wired connection throughout.

This post has been edited by kimyee73: Apr 30 2012, 11:01 AM
kimyee73
post May 8 2012, 07:48 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(APIITian @ May 6 2012, 03:47 PM)
Hypp TV introduced new channel after France 24, UTV Stars.
http://www.unifi.my/hypptv/index.php?optio...l=58&Itemid=251
I dunno why HyppTV adding strange channels.. it's not like speaking french is popular here.. unless it is uncensored french movies brows.gif
kimyee73
post May 9 2012, 02:28 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(DrPitchard @ May 8 2012, 06:33 PM)
interesting channels = additional payment from consumers

:-(
If it is interesting enough, people might pay for it, unlike Astro where more channels mean price increase, no choice. With unifi, we have choice of picking individual channels .. give us crappy channels and we won't pay.
kimyee73
post May 10 2012, 07:50 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ May 10 2012, 03:44 AM)
I strongly recommend you to get unifi installed first so you can conceal the fiber cord.

Anyway from your explaination I can say you are on a landed property and yr cabling is underground from the DP. Anyway that doesn't matter.

I strongly recommend you lay 2 LAN cables to your AV room / TV area. Also plan where your router/BTU is going to be placed.

Make sure you install extra power socket outlets in your living hall / TV area and your workstation area. 

Since you are going to do renovation, I also encourage you to pull a LAN cable to all your rooms for future proofing just incase wireless is not sufficient. Also remember, going wired is the best and most stable way.

Just my 2 cent of input.
Agreed. If your Unifi fiber cable is coming from U/G, FTB should be close to the telco pit inside your house. If you do not place BTU near the FTB, you might need to make a concealed conduit from FTB to BTU. Make sure the conduit is design so that Unifi contractor able to pull the white fiber thru it. You decide where to put the BTU and Router since it will determine how you'll wire your house. Router does not need to be close to BTU but you'll need to pull a Cat5e cable to hook them together if not at same place. BTU does not need to be close to phone port since you will get a cordless DECT phone but it would help if you want to place the phone somewhere else.

For my case, I have FTB and BTU together inside my store room where the telco pit is located. The router is located in another room together with all my other network stuff. I have the DECT base unit in the store room as well near BTU and a DECT extension units each for living room downstairs and master bedroom upstairs. The DECT base placement is not ideal but my original phone line from the DP in the store room to phone port in other rooms are quite bad quality and noisy.
kimyee73
post May 15 2012, 10:57 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(tlts @ May 12 2012, 04:48 PM)
hi i would to ask...i am using unifi vip 5

buy i got 2 tv
1 in living hall...(using to watch movie) no problem at all
2 is in a room...any way to share the chanel?
ty in advance
Both TV will be showing the same channels. There are several ways to do this. You can use either wire (cheap but messy) or wireless (expensive but no snaking wire). Using wire, you can use single RF/antenna wire solution or 3 wires AV cables. Wireless using Sarowin device for full HD video or other cheaper device for SD video. Reply if you're interested to find out more.
kimyee73
post May 21 2012, 08:05 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(FauxHawk @ May 19 2012, 01:37 AM)
My house now got 2 TVs, both also super old one, no HDMI.

I put the TV box thing in the living room coz some cats took down the antenna for it, so lazy fix antenna, put the box there. But now I want to watch hyppotv on the tv in the bedroom. The wireless option, need HDMI?

Actually, I want to know the whole process if possible. Thanks
There was a lengthly discussion on the wired and wireless solution in Astro B.yond thread. Best that I do not repeat the whole thing here. It is from page 70 onward. You'll will need to sift thru among other Astro stuff. Link to
Astro B.yond thread at page 70. After going thru that you can ask follow-up question here or at that thread. Hope this help.
kimyee73
post May 22 2012, 03:27 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ May 22 2012, 03:04 PM)
Has anyone experienced something like this before?

* Your friend/family member streams YouTube/downloads a file (even if limited to 50% of your maximum bandwidth)
* Your ping in game spikes to 99999999

Mine happens when my brother streams YouTube or sister downloads some files. My ping in Battlefield will spike from 20 to 500~1000 while in Diablo 3 my ping spikes from 250~350 to 700~infinity.

doh.gif dafuq. I switched to Unifi because of this issue but I'm STILL getting this issue.
I have to stop torrenting when my son play his online game as has game get dc often but it happen only on certain game servers especially the popular one.
kimyee73
post May 29 2012, 12:50 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(anechoic @ May 28 2012, 08:23 PM)
no wor..it happens even if u keep watching the channel.. as long as u watch the IPTV... not went u change channel.
Like what Qamarzamsyawal said, it could be the HDMI cable. I experienced this once and problem went away after replacing the cable.
kimyee73
post Jun 2 2012, 11:12 PM

1,007 posts

Hi, I plan to trunk vlan from my network location to my living room. The recommendation from klseet.com is to pair MikroTik RB750G with a Unifi compatible router. I still need to hook up an wireless AP to the RB750G. I plan to get MikroTik RB751G-2HnD wireless router and pair with TP-Link TL-SG2109WEB managed switch. The connection would be Huawei BTU <--> RB751G <--> SG2109WEB <--> IPTV & ACRyan POHD. Will this work or someone has done this before able to share experience? Thanks,

This post has been edited by kimyee73: Jun 2 2012, 11:27 PM
kimyee73
post Jun 3 2012, 01:57 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Qamarzamsyawal @ Jun 3 2012, 03:11 AM)
How do u buy the discontinued SG2109WEB switch product?  btw, i found something here n u might be interested.

Unifi Trunking 2
It is still available from Lelong. I'm aware of the SL2210WEB but would like to maintain GB network throughout. SL2210WEB is 10/100M. I would probably go with MikroTik RB250GS instead as it is cheaper although not as fast as a switch but should be enough for media application.
kimyee73
post Jun 18 2012, 11:25 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Jun 17 2012, 06:30 PM)
Not sure if you can do over the phone, but in my case, I walk in to TMpoint and fill up form.
I think over the phone should work as well. Last time on my pots phone, tm overcharge me due to their mistake in changing my package. I called to complain and ask them to revert back to my old package and rebate for all charges caused by the new package. They said OK and I get back the rebate a few months later.
kimyee73
post Jun 20 2012, 07:19 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Spiritedaway @ Jun 19 2012, 08:05 PM)
Hi sifus,

I just have my unifi installed 5mbps line. I have been trying to run torrent to download movies but my pc keeps giving blue screen of death after 5 mins running the torrent and nothing else.

I haven't had this problem before as my pc is quite top in specs.

I fear it is the old wifi USB adapter I have been using. It is a 802.11G adapter from Aztech. Driver has never been updated since 2006 and there are no new drivers for it since.

Can some one help me out? I run out of ideas how to solve this issue.

Thanks!
Why not verify your USB adapter whether it is the culprit by replacing it with wired connection and see if you have problem. Better still, uninstall it's the driver as well. If no more BSOD then you found your gremlin.
kimyee73
post Jun 25 2012, 01:57 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(CloudTen @ Jun 25 2012, 12:11 AM)
Well, anyone who experience constant disconnections, slow responding and such, it could most probably due to the router DIR-615. From my own experience, after replacing to another like TP-Link, most if not all my previous issues are resolved, with constant performance and no rebooting needed, running smooth all days and months.

Refer to KLseet.
Agreed. After I change to Mikrotik RB751G, my son's online game went smooth without dc. With DIR-615, I need to stop torrenting else he keep getting dc. BTW, Mikrotik RB751G-2HnD is working with Unifi following KLSeet instruction with some modification due to build-in wireless.

0.0529sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:06 PM