183 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Business ACCA V8, Global Body for Professional Accountants

caillech
post May 19 2012, 12:12 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(VijayHari @ May 18 2012, 08:48 PM)
Your point makes sense. However I must say I have experienced an exact opposite scenario to yours. I had been expecting to fail a particular exam, instead I ended up doing very well purely based on tips. It was my SPM History paper and I just couldn't bring myself to study it, for obvious reasons. However I attended a seminar very close to the exams conducted by an actual marker who supplied us with really accurate tips. I managed to get an A. So I don't think you can generalize by saying tips should not be relied on. Instead IMO, tips can make a difference if use to complement your exam preparation.
lol how can u compare spm with acca? doh.gif

it's totally different laugh.gif
tzxsean
post May 19 2012, 12:25 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ May 19 2012, 12:12 AM)
lol how can u compare spm with acca?  doh.gif

it's totally different  laugh.gif
maybe he's genius flex.gif

anyway good luck with preparation u guys
SereneAshley
post May 19 2012, 12:29 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ May 18 2012, 06:59 PM)
not strange at all

by focusing more on some important chapters and lesser care to those not so important chapters

examiner can easily catch all students off guard if he really want to fail you all

i myself had tried this b4 ... not focusing on linear progression on f5 since it came out last sitting

oso did not revise on ABC as it was asked as well

when i flip the question booklet and saw both ABC and linear progression...I was stunned

however, "luck" did side me as I managed to get 51 ...so close to fail

thats why I emphasis on better not knowing the tips and rather revise all

and the luck I mentioned..apart from "preparation meets luck" from another forumer ...

it's the luck u got the questions u liked, have confident... rather than the questions spotted by lecturers but you're not really good with it... or u're not good with it but u have some luck to get 50% of the total marks  smile.gif

when u noe tips...u will tend to focus more and lost some care for others no matter how u argue

im not trying to stand on high ground and menegur u all

i was rushing for time so i leave short reply... if not i will type long posts  smile.gif

Added on May 18, 2012, 7:00 pmp/s: by revising all ... u can at least get 50% from all questions eventually (theoretically) rather than hoping to get 50% from those important chapters alone
Very solid advice there rclxms.gif notworthy.gif

But the truth is, acca syllabus is really huge. To study every chapter and continuously pay attention takes really serious dedication.

I'm not even sure if there's enough time now to revise all the chapters and manage to retain everything for the exam. Thats why ask for tips for important chapters. Haiz...sucks to be an acca student T.T
tzxsean
post May 19 2012, 12:48 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(SereneAshley @ May 19 2012, 12:29 AM)
Very solid advice there  rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif 

But the truth is, acca syllabus is really huge. To study every chapter and continuously pay attention takes really serious dedication.

I'm not even sure if there's enough time now to revise all the chapters and manage to retain everything for the exam. Thats why ask for tips for important chapters. Haiz...sucks to be an acca student T.T
hehe

if u really pay attention during lecture..it wont be a problem

revise using past years is the quickest way if u really dun have time left

my way of revision for multiple papers:

example u taking p7 p5 and p2 all different dates but have some revision time in between

i will just revise p2 n p5 1st and leave p7 the last..but longest time for duration of the revision

so that u can totally focus on p7 until it is over

and when u need to revise p2 n p5..u can do it faster in shorter period

since u have revised b4 ...

junggle
post May 19 2012, 12:54 AM

220 posts

Did you teacher ask you to study in partnership?? Because there was actually 100% sure for the past few years that after partnership come out, the next sem would be agency!! Just want to clarify this.
Spent too much time in F4 makes me feel guilty for neglecting my F5 ==''' Took my F4 mock exam today. Such a disaster still even after study for such a long period lol.
SereneAshley
post May 19 2012, 01:03 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(junggle @ May 19 2012, 12:54 AM)
Did you teacher ask you to study in partnership?? Because there was actually 100% sure for the past few years that after partnership come out, the next sem would be agency!! Just want to clarify this.
Spent too much time in F4 makes me feel guilty for neglecting my F5 ==''' Took my F4 mock exam today. Such a disaster still even after study for such a long period lol.
Not partnership, my lecturer asked us to study loan capital and company formation. Don't know if its reliable or not.

I don't understand what u mean, are u saying that agency would be coming out?

I know, i totally neglected my F7, i don't know how to do the adjustments cry.gif Considering dropping F7 to concentrate on F4 entirely.

This post has been edited by SereneAshley: May 19 2012, 01:05 AM
hrevijay
post May 19 2012, 01:42 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ May 19 2012, 12:12 AM)
lol how can u compare spm with acca?  doh.gif

it's totally different  laugh.gif
The point I'm trying to make is about the reliance on and the usefulness of tips. It has got nothing to do with the exam in concern or it's difficulty level.
tzxsean
post May 19 2012, 01:45 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

usefulness of the the tips can only be assessed after exam

unless you're a prophet thou

This post has been edited by tzxsean: May 19 2012, 01:52 AM
hrevijay
post May 19 2012, 01:48 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ May 19 2012, 01:45 AM)
usefulness of the he tips can only be assessed after exam

unless you're a prophet thou
Prophet ? I didnt know they hand out exam tips nowadays.
tzxsean
post May 19 2012, 01:52 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(VijayHari @ May 19 2012, 01:48 AM)
Prophet ? I didnt know they hand out exam tips nowadays.
then how do you choose which tips to be relied on since there are so many sources of them

bpp

kaplan

open tuition

lecturers of different places
hrevijay
post May 19 2012, 01:59 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ May 19 2012, 01:52 AM)
then how do you choose which tips to be relied on since there are so many sources of them

bpp

kaplan

open tuition

lecturers of different places
Excellent question. Except I never said that we should rely on tips. All I said was tips can be used to complement your exam preparation. Relying totally on tips would be an unintelligent move.

This post has been edited by VijayHari: May 19 2012, 02:01 AM
tzxsean
post May 19 2012, 02:02 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(VijayHari @ May 19 2012, 01:59 AM)
Excellent question. Except that I never said that we should rely on tips. All I said was tips can be used to complement your exam preparation. Relying totally on tips would be an unintelligent move.
it's the same actually....

it's how are u going to pick which 1 u going to be used to complement ur preparation

since there are so many tips..which can cover as wide as whole syllabus if compare as a whole

unless all tips point to one thing...

at the end of day ... it's just easier to read all and not having to fear u miss out any

which is better preparation method after all

This post has been edited by tzxsean: May 19 2012, 02:06 AM
hrevijay
post May 19 2012, 02:06 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ May 19 2012, 02:02 AM)
it's the same actually....

it's how are u going to pick which 1 u going to be used to complement ur preparation

since there are so many tips..which can cover as wide as whole syllabus if compare as a whole

unless all tips point to one thing...

at the end of day ... it's just easier to read all and not having to fear u miss out any
Agreed. That would be the best choice and hope the tips you chose were the correct ones. If they're, then bingo !
tzxsean
post May 19 2012, 02:11 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

instead of hoping, you can decide ur destiny by urself

good night
junggle
post May 19 2012, 09:40 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(SereneAshley @ May 19 2012, 01:03 AM)
Not partnership, my lecturer asked us to study loan capital and company formation. Don't know if its reliable or not.

I know, i totally neglected my F7, i don't know how to do the adjustments  cry.gif Considering dropping F7 to concentrate on F4 entirely.
Didn't you lecturer tell you that there was a trend for past few year that once partnership come out, the next sem would be agency?? ==
I think it would be better to drop paper if you think you really can't cope with studying multi papers.
I just give up F6 and now focusing on F4 and F5. After company law then I'll start F5 liao.
All the best yeah~~
nick67
post May 19 2012, 12:48 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(SereneAshley @ May 19 2012, 01:03 AM)

I know, i totally neglected my F7, i don't know how to do the adjustments  cry.gif Considering dropping F7 to concentrate on F4 entirely.
I did that when I was taking F6 with F7. Chose to drop F7 to concentrate on F6..Man I hate F7..Didn't understand a thing my lecturer was saying..Felt she teaches too fast..
notmycupoftea
post May 19 2012, 02:16 PM

444 posts

for my case, i've short term memory. by the time i've revised the whole syllabus, i would forget what i've revised initially....then have to revise again unsure.gif

i will normally listen to what my lecturer emphasizes, coz normally my lecturer makes sense in giving advice.
however, i have met a lecturer b4, kept telling us his tips have never gone wrong, kept saying he's using high accuracy forecasting tools, and skipped to teach some topics in the syllabus, eventually this lecturer's tips were too wrong for my sitting. but thank God i passed also, even though i know nothing about transfer pricing that my lecturer skipped biggrin.gif

QUOTE(nick67 @ May 18 2012, 07:27 PM)
Hahaha for f4..I remember I only know a few case law names like Solomon vs Solomon  tongue.gif ..I did not cite the year or the sections, but still passed..Don't think it's that important if you didn't know everything..
Solomon!!! it's a book in the Bible...hahahahaha!
christinayang
post May 19 2012, 05:28 PM

22 posts

Hi there

I'm sure everyone must be busy right now preparing for the coming ACCA Exam in June. Good LUCK!!! flex.gif flex.gif

I'm currently doing P1, P2 and P3 in Sunway college, but we have a deadline to register for the next semester. I've been reading lowyat post to decide whether I should continue doing my P6 and P7 in Sunway, as it seems that Sunway lecturers are not that highly recommended for optional papers.

P7

For P7 Ms Sheila from Elitejaya seems to be highly recommended, however living in Sunway having to travel there might be an issue. So I'm just wondering if attending her revision class itself is sufficient (on top of attending lectures from your respective colleges?) or is worth travelling to KL on weekday mornings to take up her full time class in Elitejaya. sweat.gif sweat.gif

P6

The ridiculously high failing rate worries me, on top of that I'm also exempted from F6. It is not recommended to proceed? I don't mind putting in extra effort, but sometimes we can only go that far. Any tips on how to pass the paper especially for those that are exempted from f6? or any really good lecturers to recommend? (i know that Low Chin Ann is in the list but anyone else other than that?). Rozy's class in Sunway is full ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

Thanks a lot, will really appreciate your replies and advice!! Again, best of luck everyone!!!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
tzxsean
post May 19 2012, 05:57 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

as far as I'm concerned...passing rate of P6 increased since the change of examiner

Added on May 19, 2012, 6:05 pmand oh yea im taking p6 after failing p7 during 1st attempt

in addition..im exempted for f6 as well

the only disadv is u might not noe well about personal tax, partnership and etc

which may ask in a small part in p6 ...

for me..so far so good in p6...but i'll have to work harder on f6 syllabus when I start my revision

This post has been edited by tzxsean: May 19 2012, 06:05 PM
Janping
post May 19 2012, 06:35 PM

QUOTE(nick67 @ May 18 2012, 11:53 PM)
Yea it was Michael before this..Maybe cause the examiner changed and more theoretical so changed lecturer to Mr Akhbar but who knows? I met him the other day and he just mentioned to me he's gonna teach P5 next sem haha.

For F6..I attended ms Kok's class 1st 2 lessons then I switched to Ms Rozi because I felt Ms Kok not serious with that group (previously that group is her T6 group so they keep joking joking). Ms Rozi on the other hand quite ganas tongue.gif

Just wondering if Ms Kok is different in P level..?  unsure.gif
Why didn't you ask him why? tongue.gif haha.

FYI, I have one senior, F6 was under ms rozi, who's taking P6 with ms kok now, felt ms rozi exactly the same as you, haha, which is ganas, so she didn't change group even though she regretted taking p6 with ms kok...
(I didn't say anything...... tongue.gif)

183 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:20 AM