Business ACCA V8, Global Body for Professional Accountants
lwk1988
Aug 19 2013, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(yundaley @ Aug 18 2013, 11:45 PM) Currently an alevel graduate and had already make up my mind to do ACCA fundamental alongside with 6 months for degree thingy.instead of degree. But heard people said its hard and not worth a try. May I get some suggestion from you guys thanks. do not understand y u do alevel at the first place. unless u unsure what to study then its ok y dun try to apply to reputable universities like LSE n monash? in the end u may end up doing ICAEW instead of ACCA
hoorae
Aug 19 2013, 11:31 PM
hi. i'm new here.. i took f8 and f9 this semester (i failed both last sitting) so i'll re-sit these papers.. f8 i think i can do self-study but for f9 i want to take class..can you guys recommend which lecturer is good?
i heard andrew pang from kasturi is very fast and did not focus on the theory much..i prefer max yong but eventually he stopped teaching at kasturi..so can you guys suggest/recommend anyone else who teaches f9 which is good??
thank you..
Judecat
Aug 20 2013, 08:16 AM
Hi can I ask which lecturer is good for f8 in kl/pj area that their classes isnt at night? I saw a lot of recommended lecturers but they all only teach PT
donizback
Aug 20 2013, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(Judecat @ Aug 20 2013, 08:16 AM) Hi can I ask which lecturer is good for f8 in kl/pj area that their classes isnt at night? I saw a lot of recommended lecturers but they all only teach PT  Joey Wong is not a bad choice at all, I really find him friendly and nice
donizback
Aug 20 2013, 08:35 AM
QUOTE(ck23 @ Aug 19 2013, 11:52 AM) what for? ACCA has so many papers. Scoring high mark in single paper doesn't really help in your career. Unless, you are the top affiliate, meaning the last 5 papers (P level) added up having the highest mark in Malaysia/the world. Then you'd be someone special and remarkable. But comes into work, it's NOTHING AT ALL, unless that's your own family firms, where you have power instantly and will become the successor one day. Getting High Marks might not be anything to you but it is for me. At least we get noticed by more than half the population of Malaysia.
donizback
Aug 20 2013, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(frodo baggin @ Aug 19 2013, 07:00 PM) Scoring high marks improves your confidence and your ego. You may actually take bolder steps in the future since you believe that you can do it!. Just do it for the sake of it - it can be your personal reward. The job markets - well HR managers can be quickly impressed by one or two big achievements. For degree students - this is called first class honours or dean's list. This students are usually given first priority in HR evaluation. In ACCA we do not have similar matching. Awards from ACCA is like a batch of respect. It does not mean that you will automatically be successful in the future, but it would surely improve your chances of being successful. So go for it. To do well in ACCA F8, try to find the book from Alan Lewin the former examiner for F8 from Kaplan. It is really well written and may be able to help you improve your understanding. On that note, the examiner has already started to repeat the paper from the previous sittings - she is recycling the questions but changing the contents. It would be a good idea to take her questions from the past and try to change the situation. In the last sitting she repeated the audit procedure question that she had asked for purchases but focused the question on NCA. Good luck in scoring the world prize.  Thanks sir, Will buy Alan Lewis book and will try my best this time. I hope I can do something special
ck23
Aug 20 2013, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Aug 19 2013, 10:06 PM) I'm a top affiliate. I won't say it's nothing at all. I do feel I get noticed a lot more. But yes, people also put higher expectation on me. Good! Congrats! But did you clients know about it? Answer is NO. Unless you set up an own firm or your family is doing in this line. Then you could hang your photo, certificates and recognition in your office. If not, all those certs are only well buried in your files and well kept for own reference only.
Naj91
Aug 20 2013, 05:52 PM
got problem, while doing my acca, i received an offer to continue study in medical. can i delay my acca.. and just now i received my f7 result which state that i fail for f7. Now i continue in medical. And hope i can continue my acca after finish my medical. But i already bought text and kit for f8. That book is up to 2014. May i know who want to buy this book?
princess_s
Aug 20 2013, 06:14 PM

QUOTE(Ryance @ Aug 18 2013, 12:56 AM) Not to worry, nothing's gonna happen. Depends on your lecturer whether he/she wana call out your names or not. Even if he/she does, just give your reason. Usually PT1 from her is fully tested on IFRS theory from F7 & some which she had taught. It comes out in a scenario based question(maybe 1 & half page questions)with lotsa problem for you to spot in the paragraph which u gotta state and give correct treatment and explaination. oic, thanks so so so so much for ur info. Really appreciate it man. QUOTE(nick67 @ Aug 18 2013, 07:27 PM) Nothing much will happen. In fact, I never attend any of their PTs or mocks. So how was your result? All passed as you have predicted?  Thanks so so much for the info. Appreciate it too. So u passed whole ACCA? lol
nick67
Aug 20 2013, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(hoorae @ Aug 19 2013, 11:31 PM) hi. i'm new here.. i took f8 and f9 this semester (i failed both last sitting) so i'll re-sit these papers.. f8 i think i can do self-study but for f9 i want to take class..can you guys recommend which lecturer is good? i heard andrew pang from kasturi is very fast and did not focus on the theory much..i prefer max yong but eventually he stopped teaching at kasturi..so can you guys suggest/recommend anyone else who teaches f9 which is good?? thank you.. I wouldn't recommend Andrew Pang. Had a lousy experience under him. QUOTE(princess_s @ Aug 20 2013, 06:14 PM) oic, thanks so so so so much for ur info. Really appreciate it man. Thanks so so much for the info. Appreciate it too. So u passed whole ACCA? lol I still have P6, but I am not with Sunway for this paper.
ComingBackSoon
Aug 21 2013, 12:57 AM
QUOTE(ck23 @ Aug 20 2013, 09:23 AM) Good! Congrats! But did you clients know about it? Answer is NO. Unless you set up an own firm or your family is doing in this line. Then you could hang your photo, certificates and recognition in your office. If not, all those certs are only well buried in your files and well kept for own reference only. Thank you for your somewhat sarcastic congratulations. To donizback, Please ignore those who pour cold water on you. Winning a prize is a big achievement which will leave an impact on your CV wherever you go, whatever level you're at. Work hard, it's definitely worth it. It pays, by boosting your confidence and recognition.
anggaPra
Aug 21 2013, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(anggaPra @ Aug 19 2013, 01:52 PM) if a person graduated from accounting, can that person still find job in accounting background without acca? anyone?
supermandatory
Aug 21 2013, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(anggaPra @ Aug 19 2013, 01:52 PM) if a person graduated from accounting, can that person still find job in accounting background without acca? sure! why not?
~sky~
Aug 22 2013, 12:40 AM

usually exam centre if u select to go for help college but u end up nt getting it they will put u to which centre?anyone experiences b4?
This post has been edited by ~sky~: Aug 22 2013, 12:40 AM
lexxy88
Aug 22 2013, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(anggaPra @ Aug 21 2013, 06:43 PM) I'm a accounting graduate and only start taking ACCA after start working. Actually its easy to get a job with accounting qualification, whats difficult is to get job with a good salary. This post has been edited by lexxy88: Aug 22 2013, 02:24 PM
anggaPra
Aug 22 2013, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(supermandatory @ Aug 21 2013, 09:46 PM) sure! why not?  okay, thanks QUOTE(lexxy88 @ Aug 22 2013, 02:21 PM) I'm a accounting graduate and only start taking ACCA after start working. Actually its easy to get a job with accounting qualification, whats difficult is to get job with a good salary. I have no problem with the salary, just wanted to know whether it's hard or not to get a job without acca. Thanks for your reply
donizback
Aug 22 2013, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Aug 21 2013, 12:57 AM) Thank you for your somewhat sarcastic congratulations. To donizback, Please ignore those who pour cold water on you. Winning a prize is a big achievement which will leave an impact on your CV wherever you go, whatever level you're at. Work hard, it's definitely worth it. It pays, by boosting your confidence and recognition. Thank you so much sir for motivating me even more. I am trying my best now, i guess 82 is not a difficult record to break coz i have starting study for like 8 to 9 hours each day for f8. Any recommendation since you are also a top affiliate? By the way which paper are you a topper in?
neverknowgirl
Aug 22 2013, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(Judecat @ Aug 20 2013, 08:16 AM) Hi can I ask which lecturer is good for f8 in kl/pj area that their classes isnt at night? I saw a lot of recommended lecturers but they all only teach PT  I prefer sheila or siva Both of them care about u And its not boring I just come back from p1 siva class, for me he really care about student, u can even whatsapp him middle of night to ask q.. About sheila, her notes damn neat and simple I pass my f8 only by going to her irc and study her note since im quite lazy back then
lexxy88
Aug 22 2013, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(anggaPra @ Aug 22 2013, 05:07 PM) okay, thanks I have no problem with the salary, just wanted to know whether it's hard or not to get a job without acca. Thanks for your reply Don't worry about it. Out of 49, only 3 of my classmate pursuing ACCA including me. But all get job right after graduating. Some even before graduating. For your information i'm not graduating from those top local uni though  so don't worry to much, just get a good result.