Credit Cards Balance Transfer (BT) Plans V2 - Banks Offer List

wanttobuylaptop
post Apr 17 2012, 12:44 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Apr 17 2012, 12:18 PM)
Hi All Sifus

Need your advise here..

Currently i got 2 CC and got o/standing total of 8k..
I really want to settle all the debt but can't afford to settle it by one year..

Personal Loan / BT? which one is better?
Personal Loan rate the best i can get only 7.50%

My basic pay was 3k
Can't afford to apply those platinum cards..
of cos BT...
TSbrotan
post Apr 17 2012, 01:05 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Apr 17 2012, 12:18 PM)
Hi All Sifus

Need your advise here..

Currently i got 2 CC and got o/standing total of 8k..
I really want to settle all the debt but can't afford to settle it by one year..

Personal Loan / BT? which one is better?
Personal Loan rate the best i can get only 7.50%

My basic pay was 3k
Can't afford to apply those platinum cards..
bro,

1st thing 1st. whatever you plan to delay the repayment, you MUST be discipline to control your current spending to clear the 8k debt by reducing your monthly spending. Or else you will be in a deeper mess next year

anyway, i would suggest you try the BSN cc. on the 1st pg, i listed the zero interest options. you can check it out

tx
DET_D5t
post Apr 17 2012, 02:58 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Apr 17 2012, 01:05 PM)
bro,

1st thing 1st. whatever you plan to delay the repayment, you MUST be discipline to control your current spending to clear the 8k debt by reducing your monthly spending. Or else you will be in a deeper mess next year

anyway, i would suggest you try the BSN cc. on the 1st pg, i listed the zero interest options. you can check it out

tx
Ya that's wut i plan to do rite now..
I already dump the cc in my drawer, but i thinking of saving in term of the interest..
Currently being charge 13.5% interest p/month..

BSN? it says would ended in April 2012.
Would i make it?
need to apply the cc first, & then can BT..

Normal gold card only can give 6k credit limit.
And for BT only 80% of the credit limit can be utilised rite??
TSbrotan
post Apr 17 2012, 03:08 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Apr 17 2012, 02:58 PM)
Ya that's wut i plan to do rite now..
I already dump the cc in my drawer, but i thinking of saving in term of the interest..
Currently being charge 13.5% interest p/month..

BSN? it says would ended in April 2012.
Would i make it?
need to apply the cc first, & then can BT..

Normal gold card only can give 6k credit limit.
And for BT only 80% of the credit limit can be utilised rite??
they say normally auto renew the plan. so i would guess so be long lasting
JamesPond
post Apr 18 2012, 04:41 PM

4,526 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Apr 10 2012, 08:41 PM)
SCB BT 1.99% still available?
I just called the sales team. They say no more.
But the website still posted.
brotan,

Please remove SCB, this 1.99% is applicable for new member only.
TSbrotan
post Apr 18 2012, 04:53 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Apr 18 2012, 04:41 PM)
brotan,

Please remove SCB, this 1.99% is applicable for new member only.
you confirmed right?

anyway, i updated with a comment for new application only

tx bro for checking it out

This post has been edited by brotan: Apr 18 2012, 04:55 PM
JamesPond
post Apr 18 2012, 05:15 PM

4,526 posts

yes, I confirmed....existing member rate is bad.
i think is 5.99% or 6.99% for 12 months.
TSbrotan
post Apr 18 2012, 05:18 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Apr 18 2012, 05:15 PM)
yes, I confirmed....existing member rate is bad.
i think is 5.99% or 6.99% for 12 months.
ok bro. tx

Can you use the below format and update here the rate for existing members? I can post it later

#########

: Plan A - 1 yr, 0% fee, 1.99% interest/yr, Min - RM 1k per transaction (Only for new application)
MYstombox
post Apr 18 2012, 05:27 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Thanks for posting the link. I couldn't find it when searching for 'balance transfer'.

Here is my question in the other tread.

Can I swipe 9k, I have 9k available for payment already. But I want to put into instalment plan of 6 months. 1.5k each month on 0% interest.

Can I straight away do BT?

Also, if I swiped using my amex to get 5x TP, will the TP be removed after i BT away to another bank?

Lastly, since early settlement got penalty and late payment will jack the interest rate up.

Can I write 6 postdated cheques with the specific due dates and just pass it all to the bank at 1 shot? Of course I need to make available the balance in my bank account first.
TSbrotan
post Apr 18 2012, 05:31 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Apr 18 2012, 05:27 PM)
Thanks for posting the link. I couldn't find it when searching for 'balance transfer'.

Here is my question in the other tread.

Can I swipe 9k, I have 9k available for payment already. But I want to put into instalment plan of 6 months. 1.5k each month on 0% interest.

Can I straight away do BT?

Also, if I swiped using my amex to get 5x TP, will the TP be removed after i BT away to another bank?

Lastly, since early settlement got penalty and late payment will jack the interest rate up.

Can I write 6 postdated cheques with the specific due dates and just pass it all to the bank at 1 shot? Of course I need to make available the balance in my bank account first.
you can't "straight away" do BT. you need to wait till your bank to give you your monthly statement only can do BT. Some banks require statement proof to do BT (eg RHB, Maybank). Some banks just ask you to fill up the numbers you want to BT w/o proof (eg Pbb)

TP won't be removed. You get to keep it even if you BT

Regarding post dated cheque, I can't be 100% sure but i remember i got ask this kind of question before (i want to bank the cheque in advance for the payment on later date). they say once you bank in the cheque, they will immediately process irrespective when is your cheque date

This post has been edited by brotan: Apr 18 2012, 05:38 PM
MYstombox
post Apr 18 2012, 05:36 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Oh yes, what I mean is that once I receive the statement.
But before the due date.

Say statement date is 6th, due 26th.

So on 7th I print out the statement and head to another bank with 0%.
Then i fill in the forms etc.

No issues right?

For postdated cheque, its okay.

But can you pay earlier?

say once u BT, how is it like? Is there a due date and statement date?
Or straight due date?

If due date is 10th, can we pay on 6 or 7th? Or got penalty for early settlement? Sorry, very new to all this, so need to clarify. Don't want to do something in hopes to get pocket money, then end up kena burn by hidden charges.
TSbrotan
post Apr 18 2012, 05:44 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Apr 18 2012, 05:36 PM)
Oh yes, what I mean is that once I receive the statement.
But before the due date.

Say statement date is 6th, due 26th.

So on 7th I print out the statement and head to another bank with 0%.
Then i fill in the forms etc.

No issues right?

For postdated cheque, its okay.

But can you pay earlier?

say once u BT, how is it like? Is there a due date and statement date?
Or straight due date?

If due date is 10th, can we pay on 6 or 7th? Or got penalty for early settlement? Sorry, very new to all this, so need to clarify. Don't want to do something in hopes to get pocket money, then end up kena burn by hidden charges.
ok. i misunderstand you. yes, you can submit your BT claim immediately after you receive your statement.

P.S. I propose you scan the BT application form and send by email to them instead of fax. Trust me, faxing your form can pop up unwanted surprises later on. nod.gif nod.gif

sure can pay earlier. banks like that. haha. Just don't cancel the card, can already. cancelling your card before you finish paying all your monthly installment means you officially do early settlement. Trust me, you don't want to do that

once you BT, they treat it like a normal spending. so they will combine your spending + BT payment for that month as your monthly statement amount

This post has been edited by brotan: Apr 18 2012, 05:45 PM
MYstombox
post Apr 18 2012, 07:01 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

So you mean I will see a "statement date" and "due date"
on the BT as well right?

Thanks!

celaw
post Apr 18 2012, 07:03 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Apr 18 2012, 06:31 PM)
you can't "straight away" do BT. you need to wait till your bank to give you your monthly statement only can do BT. Some banks require statement proof to do BT (eg RHB, Maybank). Some banks just ask you to fill up the numbers you want to BT w/o proof (eg Pbb)

TP won't be removed. You get to keep it even if you BT

Regarding post dated cheque, I can't be 100% sure but i remember i got ask this kind of question before (i want to bank the cheque in advance for the payment on later date). they say once you bank in the cheque, they will immediately process irrespective when is your cheque date
I did bt with maybank from my cimb cc last year. I just print out the online statement which is before my statement date and head to maybank to bt.. application approved without any issue..
MYstombox
post Apr 18 2012, 07:05 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Thanks celaw for the confirmation.

I'm looking for 0% interest though. But the cards offered by those banks not very attractive.
Titan_Gunners
post Apr 18 2012, 07:09 PM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Apr 18 2012, 07:03 PM)
I did bt with maybank from my cimb cc last year. I just print out the online statement which is before my statement date and head to maybank to bt.. application approved without any issue..
Most of tnly the bank will need the monthly statement for BT application.
I heard somebody even done BT without any statement given, but better provide the statement for fastest processing..
MYstombox
post Apr 18 2012, 07:14 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Thanks Titan.
TSbrotan
post Apr 18 2012, 07:51 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Apr 18 2012, 07:01 PM)
So you mean I will see a "statement date" and "due date"
on the BT as well right?

Thanks!
just assume your BT repayment like a normal retail charge will do tongue.gif
MYstombox
post Apr 18 2012, 08:17 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Nice, thanks.
For 10k, put the money first into FD you'd get 100+ for a little inconvenience. smile.gif
TSbrotan
post Apr 18 2012, 08:35 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Apr 18 2012, 08:17 PM)
Nice, thanks.
For 10k, put the money first into FD you'd get 100+ for a little inconvenience. smile.gif
or if you have a flexi home loan, you can save even more interest nod.gif

126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0172sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:30 AM