Xbox 360 or PS3 ?

alfiejr
post Apr 6 2012, 08:30 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 5 2012, 01:32 PM)
Well, rumor says that PS4 probably will only be unveiled later this year and will only go on sale next year. Hardware also less than flattering (seriously, x86_64 and not PowerPC like Cell? Why!?!). And of course still need to wait a few years for price to drop. And then there's the teething issues...

Yeah, still worth it to go for PS3 first.
This year bro blink.gif , I thought they haven't had a blueprint of it yet. Anyway it's worth buying the PS3 now. Xbox 360 you have to pay live like forever whistling.gif .
RAMChYLD
post Apr 6 2012, 03:32 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ Apr 6 2012, 08:30 AM)
This year bro  blink.gif , I thought they haven't had a blueprint of it yet. Anyway it's worth buying the PS3 now. Xbox 360 you have to pay live like forever  whistling.gif .
What ElReg said. This year announce. Next year only release.

http://www.reghardware.com/2012/03/29/sony...r_2013_release/

Sos say to expect a surprise announcement on E3 2012, apparently Sony jelly after Nintendo announce Wii U and rush to build next gen PS (which probably explains the off-the-shelf components).

Also, they're rubbing off the numeric scheme (probably either to follow Apple Mac OS release and/or to avoid number 4): Instead of being called PS4, it's now called PS Orbis.

One more important note: Apparently it has anti-used-games mechanism to block second hand games. If Sony is avoiding the number 4 because they think it will mean their downfall, they're not thinking properly...

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 6 2012, 03:57 PM
lchee
post Apr 7 2012, 06:55 AM

511 posts

I am not that much into online games on console. I still think online games are better for PC games, like SC2, warcraft, counterstrike.

I am planning to get console for playing games arcade style. Therefore, I am looking to play games that involves kinect/move. Would also wanna buy those games with accessories like the guitar or drum tool kit, racing wheels kit, and definitely gun for pointing a gun at the tv to shoot monsters or something.

Which platform should I choose if I am into these type of games? I really like the house of the dead 2 games when I last played in in Sega dreamcast years ago.
arimii
post Apr 7 2012, 01:54 PM

Go and get a PS3 !!!!!!!!

or wait for PS4 ..
Mr.Beanster
post Apr 14 2012, 02:45 PM

1,267 posts

Im planning to buy PS3 Slim or Xbox360 Slim this year. Im a fan of games genre like Action, Adventure and SP-Multiplayer Based Games. I like playing online games especially with family or friends alot.

My budget is very tight because im still a student and will use my allowance to buy games. I do make abit of money on internet every month. Im still in dilemma whether to get the modded consoles because the games are much cheaper. The downside is I cant play online with modded consoles.

Im still clueless of which to buy and what is the best console that suit me. Hopefully Sifu-Sifu around can recommend me and perhaps give me some good idea smile.gif. Thanks!

I already own a PC with 100+ games. Would like to give a try on some exclusive console games that aren't available on PC.

This post has been edited by Mr.Beanster: Apr 14 2012, 03:57 PM
yayiyu99
post Apr 14 2012, 02:55 PM

958 posts

Definitely PS3 if you like online game. XBOX does not support Malaysian yet for on line game unless you use fake Singapore account. Need to change your local address to Singapore and use your credit card to become XBOX Live member. For PS3 is free.

This post has been edited by yayiyu99: Apr 14 2012, 03:02 PM
Mr.Beanster
post Apr 14 2012, 03:12 PM

1,267 posts

Thx for the info ^ Need more suggestion smile.gif
RAMChYLD
post Apr 15 2012, 11:38 PM

1,715 posts

Well, I agree with yayiyu here. XBL has no official support for Malaysia. Here's where it gets bad: XBox Live requires you to buy membership to play online (you can renew membership monthly, every three months, every 6 months or every year). No support for Malaysia means you cannot buy the membership using Malaysian credit card. Also, no Malaysian credit card support means cannot buy any games online for that matter. You can go look for shops that carry SG prepaid cards, but eh, inconvenient already, and it still doesn't work for certain games unless you tunnel using VPN (for some stupid reason, the XBL Arcade also implement IP check with some games and DLC).

Second problem: If get caught, very tiresome... My mother caught me using one of my Singapore uncle's address. Kena scolding for few hours, then forced to close account.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 15 2012, 11:41 PM
ihobbyzone
post Apr 16 2012, 02:00 AM

i got both, here's my opinion...

xbox 360 (modded):
pros:
- budget on games, u can try out lots of games for dirt cheap. u wont regret if bought the wrong games =)
- controller better than ps3
- got kinect system, very interesting game play
cons:
- no bluray
- cant on9 (but still can play wif few peoples in a single tv)

ps3:
pros:
- Woot! bluray!
- got many exclusive games only for ps3 (mostly jrpg if u like them =) [mostly xbox 360 games r available for ps3]
- got ps move/eye, very nice [something like Wii]
- can go on9, play games on9 if da games available for on9
cons:
- (if u r budget) only original games, so if u buy da wrong games, u r gonna regret for a month/maybe longer lol

well not much cons for ps3, only that if r in budget,u need to pay more for da original games, that's all. yeah the controller feel abit too ringan but its still playable. both r great consoles =)

well for u i think xbox 360, its the best for ur budget. games cheaper, xbox got lots of exclusive games like gears of war, bayonetta, ff13-2, etc...

u can play on9 games in ur pc, pc on9 games is still way better than those of consoles =)

well these r my opinions anyway, not the best, hope this will help u...lets listen to some others too

ps: ps3 can be modded too, but many new games still cant be played wif it & u cant go on9 too. be4 this i played modded ps3 too but now i had upgraded it to newest firmware cause lazy to wait for the custom firmware. cfw for ps3 for now is still very slow

This post has been edited by ihobbyzone: Apr 16 2012, 02:04 AM
ncnskh
post Apr 16 2012, 10:04 AM

Currently looking towards xbox. Later only Ps 3
BobThe Builder
post Apr 16 2012, 10:13 AM

38 posts

just to add...

for PS3, some games have demo versions in PSN/SEN where you can try them first. To me this is a good feature coz there are some games that i decided not to buy after trying out the demo.

This post has been edited by BobThe Builder: Apr 16 2012, 10:14 AM
GamersFamilia
post Apr 16 2012, 10:16 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,864 posts

seriously go for Playstation 3 , bout games you can buy 2nd hand or renting tongue.gif
evoHahn
post Apr 16 2012, 10:24 AM

Mika !
1,711 posts

QUOTE(BobThe Builder @ Apr 16 2012, 10:13 AM)
just to add...

for PS3, some games have demo versions in PSN/SEN where you can try them first. To me this is a good feature coz there are some games that i decided not to buy after trying out the demo.
Xbox Live also has this feature smile.gif

to TS, the key thing here is what game you wanna play. For example, you cant play GOW on PS3 and you cant play Uncharted on Xbox360
RAMChYLD
post Apr 16 2012, 02:16 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(evoHahn @ Apr 16 2012, 10:24 AM)
Xbox Live also has this feature  smile.gif

to TS, the key thing here is what game you wanna play. For example, you cant play GOW on PS3 and you cant play Uncharted on Xbox360
Uh, bro, what you talking about? The GOW games is a PS3 exclusive tongue.gif Everyone with a PS3 and PSP loves Kratos, right? tongue.gif

Anyways, XBox more mah huan to own for Malaysians. PS3 at least officially support Malaysians when online is concerned. Even if you can get your conscience to shut up about lying about your location (and also manage to successfully keep it secret from other family members), you have to do VPN tunneling for the sake of some games, and then you actually need to go out to buy membership card and game credit prepaid cards.

As mentioned before, I have all 3 consoles. But I somewhat feel that my 360 is a letdown by not having official Malaysia XBL support. It has a lot of awesome functions (MCE Extender and Kinect) and even some great JRPG/CRPG exclusive games. Just that too bad they dun let Malaysians play or buy games online officially.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 16 2012, 02:28 PM
evoHahn
post Apr 16 2012, 02:56 PM

Mika !
1,711 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 16 2012, 02:16 PM)
Uh, bro, what you talking about? The GOW games is a PS3 exclusive tongue.gif
lol wrong example
y3ivan
post Apr 16 2012, 04:13 PM

502 posts

X360 current heavily rely on XBLA exclusives. MS 2010-2012 lineup of games are mostly XBLA.

Heck this year 2012, lineup are 6 XBLA and 2 retail exclusives.
Mr.Beanster
post Apr 16 2012, 07:44 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(ihobbyzone @ Apr 16 2012, 02:00 AM)
i got both, here's my opinion...

xbox 360 (modded):
pros:
- budget on games, u can try out lots of games for dirt cheap. u wont regret if bought the wrong games =)
- controller better than ps3
- got kinect system, very interesting game play
cons:
- no bluray
- cant on9 (but still can play wif few peoples in a single tv)

ps3:
pros:
- Woot! bluray!
- got many exclusive games only for ps3 (mostly jrpg if u like them =) [mostly xbox 360 games r available for ps3]
- got ps move/eye, very nice [something like Wii]
- can go on9, play games on9 if da games available for on9
cons:
- (if u r budget) only original games, so if u buy da wrong games, u r gonna regret for a month/maybe longer lol

well not much cons for ps3, only that if r in budget,u need to pay more for da original games, that's all. yeah the controller feel abit too ringan but its still playable. both r great consoles =)

well for u i think xbox 360, its the best for ur budget. games cheaper, xbox got lots of exclusive games like gears of war, bayonetta, ff13-2, etc...

u can play on9 games in ur pc, pc on9 games is still way better than those of consoles =)

well these r my opinions anyway, not the best, hope this will help u...lets listen to some others too

ps: ps3 can be modded too, but many new games still cant be played wif it & u cant go on9 too. be4 this i played modded ps3 too but now i had upgraded it to newest firmware cause lazy to wait for the custom firmware. cfw for ps3 for now is still very slow
PS3 meet most of my criteria. Free online play, exclusive games titles (GOD OF WAR, Little Big Planet, Uncharted series) which i really want to try it out. The only thing still concern is the cost of bluray games. As i mention my budget is very tight cause i still studying. I could only buy 1 per month or most 2 if budget allowed.
ramz
post Apr 16 2012, 08:12 PM

21,375 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Apr 16 2012, 07:44 PM)
PS3 meet most of my criteria. Free online play, exclusive games titles (GOD OF WAR, Little Big Planet, Uncharted series) which i really want to try it out. The only thing still concern is the cost of bluray games. As i mention my budget is very tight cause i still studying. I could only buy 1 per month or most 2 if budget allowed.
Once a month is ok.that's how I do it too
Mr.Beanster
post Apr 16 2012, 08:34 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Apr 16 2012, 08:12 PM)
Once a month is ok.that's how I do it too
Dont you get bored of the same game? I might choose to buy some long SP story game or singleplayer+multiplayer. THe online feature can keep me in touch smile.gif. I like game like LBP alot where i can have fun with my family or friends in my living hall
ramz
post Apr 16 2012, 09:11 PM

21,375 posts

No. buy 2 single player for every 1 multiplayer game. the multiplayer will keep u busy for up to 1 year. seriously. and the single player will keep me busy for 2 months (i play deep). so in 1 year i would have 8 single player and 4 multiplayer. which half of them i still be actively playing. should be more then enough unless u are a professional hardcore.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0205sec    1.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:38 PM