Saga FLX Audio System, How To Improve? Pls suggest

carcrazy
post Mar 22 2012, 03:03 PM

189 posts

Its a overall effect...when the car feels good the sound will be good too..hehe

Added on March 22, 2012, 3:13 pmMy ie core transformer prototype arriving this week...so excited.
Its for custom power supply, able to generate 260v dc 5 ampere for tube preamp car audio usage.

The whole core is soaked into lacquer.
My nos1960s mullards has been hibernating too long

This post has been edited by carcrazy: Mar 22 2012, 03:38 PM
jtdc
post Mar 22 2012, 03:48 PM

245 posts

it seems that most if not all head units really have lower power internal amplifier, mainly because that is supposed to be a job for an external/add-on amp. because mostly, the head unit limited space, 1-DIN.

now there are some cars who have 2-DIN slots. is there a head unit that has powerful amps enough that is stored on the 2nd DIN area?

the usual higher amp head units like most Alpine and some Blaupunkt have 18W RMS only. Pioneers even have lower, only 14W RMS. I think the OEM head units are even lower than that.

i've seen JVC KW-XR416 has 20W RMS, its 2-DIN and costs below RM400. i saw an old model Alpine CDA-9815 (can MP3 but no USB) that has a V-Drive MOSFET that delivers 27W RMS for a 1-DIN player.

the most i knew is the Alpine KTP-445 which is an add-on for compatible Alpine head units, which upgrades the output to 45W RMS. but it think that one is not cost efficient since it would cost like another head unit.

i wonder what is a quality head unit that is 2-DIN and uses the space it has for a better amp?

This post has been edited by jtdc: Mar 22 2012, 03:56 PM
howiechoo
post Mar 22 2012, 03:55 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

no matter how many rms a 1 or 2 din can generate, it will never exceed 45rms as the heat dissipation issues....just get an external amp and save the money on other items....those pnp amp are not cheap to play with compare to their performance....
jtdc
post Mar 22 2012, 04:01 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Mar 22 2012, 03:55 PM)
no matter how many rms a 1 or 2 din can generate, it will never exceed 45rms as the heat dissipation issues....just get an external amp and save the money on other items....those pnp amp are not cheap to play with compare to their performance....
^ this. that's why its normally opted to just get an external amp and get over the speaker driving power requirements.

i'm a bit interested in these things now, mainly not much about the money. its about the space, and elimination of an amp. thanks howie for the small bit of info you give me, i really learned alot from you. whenever i have idle time, i read on these things now.

This post has been edited by jtdc: Mar 22 2012, 04:03 PM
17osm17
post Mar 22 2012, 04:01 PM

just a quick check. Can a 4ch amp run both front comp and a sub?
howiechoo
post Mar 22 2012, 04:07 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Mar 22 2012, 04:01 PM)
^ this.  that's why its normally opted to just get an external amp and get over the speaker driving power requirements.

i'm a bit interested in these things now, mainly not much about the money.  its about the space, and elimination of an amp.  thanks howie for the small bit of info you give me, i really learned alot from you.  whenever i have idle time, i read on these things now.
well, if u really wanna save space with some decent sound, check out my blaupunkt amp that are plug and play with ur car tongue.gif

Added on March 22, 2012, 4:08 pm
QUOTE(17osm17 @ Mar 22 2012, 04:01 PM)
definitely yes, that's what i gonna do to your car later tongue.gif

This post has been edited by howiechoo: Mar 22 2012, 04:08 PM
Quazacolt
post Mar 22 2012, 04:32 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(17osm17 @ Mar 22 2012, 04:01 PM)
thats what i am running on smile.gif
17osm17
post Mar 22 2012, 05:23 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 22 2012, 04:32 PM)
thats what i am running on smile.gif
thx!
will92
post Mar 22 2012, 07:43 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Prince of Darkness @ Mar 22 2012, 11:35 AM)
Sad.. I got cheated too:( My P99 also not pure coz playing MP3 from my IPod Touch. Haiz!
This weekend going back to my installer to confront him..
Last night called him to check, he still can tell me why P99 can't drive speakers w/o amp??? Sight.. Gonna change installer soon..
Provide me with all the wrong info.
Simple question, how much you bought for the p99?
krayden
post Mar 22 2012, 07:51 PM

578 posts

I dun think there's any 2din that will outperform a similarly priced 1din. and any internal amp will NOT outperform a dedicated 50w rms external amp. Go try howie's 30w blaupunkt if you really wanna save space. but seriously there's no diff between a 4X7in amp and a 8X6in amp under the seat.
will92
post Mar 22 2012, 07:52 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Prince of Darkness @ Mar 22 2012, 11:59 AM)
$900 for component set alone.
I'm into soft vocal.

Glad to be here as I've learn loads of new stuff from gurus.

I will advise my wife not to get P99. As she's getting her new ride end this month, intended to install P99 as she already knows how to function it. But now, pointless as she don't intend to install any amp due to her small booth space and she needs it for her stuff thus only upgrade HU+a decent component. But useless now coz end of day, no sound still.
Maybe recommend her a doubledin. Atleast something different..

Cheers!
900 for ameron component? laugh.gif shocking.gif doh.gif
Soft vocal? Same here.
Get the new p80prs instead, i think it is more than enough for normal ice player~

Added on March 22, 2012, 7:59 pm
QUOTE(carcrazy @ Mar 22 2012, 02:05 PM)
most cars install amp under front seat. cheaper as shorter length power/grounding cables, shorter length speaker cables, shorter RCA..hence u can go for better cables as opposed to local/china brand.
kow tim!!.. P99 + amp + front speakers + optional active sub under front driver seat.. results: u will love ur ride even more!!

to further improve NVH the car, damp the cabin floor + roof + doors + noise barrier + foam all pillars and door sills..
superb car to drive!! if budget permits!

change to quieter and better all rounder tyres. ask quazacolt. he expert!!

cabin lights, changed to white LED
custom floormats with logo..thicker and wont slip
3M tint - for superb optical clarity + heat rejection
Gzoz the car for exterior protection
Install Air Ionizer, MedKlinn automotive

dats a nice project! hehe
Wuu, mod in proton/perodua to have the bmw/merc feel laugh.gif

This post has been edited by will92: Mar 22 2012, 07:59 PM
TSgeniuz
post Mar 23 2012, 10:19 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(will92 @ Mar 22 2012, 07:52 PM)
900 for ameron component? laugh.gif  shocking.gif  doh.gif
Soft vocal? Same here.
Get the new p80prs instead, i think it is more than enough for normal ice player~
What?? 900 for ameron components?? Where u buy it bro? Is this model have motorised panel? If got, it will be a must have one rclxms.gif

Added on March 23, 2012, 10:52 amIf I change my Saga stock speaker to a good ones first (Front n Rear) without changing my HU, is there any different in sound quality performance? If got, how many percent?

This post has been edited by geniuz: Mar 23 2012, 10:52 AM
zennn
post Mar 23 2012, 12:02 PM

30-50% depending on the speakers
TSgeniuz
post Mar 23 2012, 12:34 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(zennn @ Mar 23 2012, 12:02 PM)
30-50% depending on the speakers
Wow!! Thats great!! thumbup.gif but what kind of speaker it is?

This post has been edited by geniuz: Mar 23 2012, 12:47 PM
MyWifeCar
post Mar 23 2012, 04:14 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(geniuz @ Mar 23 2012, 10:19 AM)
What?? 900 for ameron components?? Where u buy it bro? Is this model have motorised panel? If got, it will be a must have one  rclxms.gif

Added on March 23, 2012, 10:52 amIf I change my Saga stock speaker to a good ones first (Front n Rear) without changing my HU, is there any different in sound quality performance? If got, how many percent?
63.27%. nod.gif
Quazacolt
post Mar 23 2012, 04:47 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Mar 23 2012, 04:14 PM)
63.27%.    nod.gif
please provide specifications, definitions and formulas on how did you concluded on the value "63.27%" smile.gif
will92
post Mar 23 2012, 09:54 PM

162 posts

What?? 900 for ameron components?? Where u buy it bro? Is this model have motorised panel? If got, it will be a must have one  rclxms.gif

Have to ask him la bah, even my cap-ayam component is only rm499 ~
U mean p80prs? Dont know lea, have to ask unker howie, if u confirm take this hu, remember to inform me, i want audit blush.gif

Change speaker? I would say 40%, another 60% is after u change to a good hu, and after some.... tuning(erhrm).. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by will92: Mar 23 2012, 09:56 PM
Prince of Darkness
post Mar 23 2012, 10:28 PM

QUOTE(will92 @ Mar 22 2012, 07:43 PM)
Simple question, how much you bought for the p99?
Over a year back. Got it at sgd1300+-.

Added on March 23, 2012, 10:41 pm
From my installer..
It's a plain silver speaker w/o any logo. Not those with Ameron logo printed on the front. Those rm200-300+ can get already.

Added on March 23, 2012, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(will92 @ Mar 22 2012, 07:52 PM)
900 for ameron component? laugh.gif  shocking.gif  doh.gif
Before I purchased, I've compared price with Singapore, same set cost sgd4++. So I got at rm900 still slightly cheaper.

This post has been edited by Prince of Darkness: Mar 23 2012, 10:55 PM
will92
post Mar 24 2012, 12:17 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(Prince of Darkness @ Mar 23 2012, 10:28 PM)
Over a year back. Got it at sgd1300+-.

Added on March 23, 2012, 10:41 pm
From my installer..
It's a plain silver speaker w/o any logo. Not those with Ameron logo printed on the front. Those rm200-300+ can get already.

Added on March 23, 2012, 10:46 pm
Before I purchased, I've compared price with Singapore, same set cost sgd4++. So I got at rm900 still slightly cheaper.
So.. Now, how is your setup actually? P99 plus ameron component plus .....?
Prince of Darkness
post Mar 24 2012, 12:33 AM

4cha+2cha+mona block+cap+3"mid+12" sub.
P99 connected to IPod Touch.
SP: 3layers for 4doors, 2layers for floor, A-pillar, B-pillar, arch wheel.
Replacing current amps, sub and cap. Still hunting..

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:42 AM