post Mar 20 2012, 07:18 PM

162 posts

A good hu and normal component set first if your budget is limited~
will92
post Mar 20 2012, 09:12 PM

162 posts

Steering wheel control button can retain or not im not sure, it think is depends on hu gua? blush.gif cause my ride don't have steering wheel button blush.gif

will92
post Mar 21 2012, 07:22 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Mar 20 2012, 09:49 PM)
get a proper component fix first to have the best effect smile.gif
For example, the rm499 "hertz" from brother? biggrin.gif sweat.gif doh.gif

Added on March 21, 2012, 7:42 pm
QUOTE(Prince of Darkness @ Mar 21 2012, 08:37 AM)
So to speak, when replace HU, it's a MUST to purchase amp together or else can't drive any component???
Wow! Then sales is easy, have to come in package?
In that case, I reckon P99 is not a user friendly HU.

So which are the few that has build in amp? Then purchase those HU don't have to install amps anymore save alot of $..
Build in amp? 9887 ? I am very sure this can drive a component, way better then stock hu (of course after tuning) laugh.gif

if you're not a hardcore ice player~ just go for those low-priced hu like sony(two hundred something have aux-in already icon_rolleyes.gif with build in amp rclxm9.gif ) and some"budget" speaker like ameron, mohawk.. Sure you'll feel the difference from stock units d~ laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by will92: Mar 21 2012, 07:42 PM
will92
post Mar 21 2012, 10:07 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Prince of Darkness @ Mar 21 2012, 08:09 PM)
Care to share why is that so that if everything in my car is in stock condition and I just change the P99 HU alone, what will happen? Not workable?
In short, get those HU with "in-build amp" so in future don't have to waste $ for adding amps anymore?

Which phrase of mine makes you say that I'm misleading others?
I'm just sharing(if free speech is allow) the result of changing a HU 1st pairing with OEM speakers - can fall asleep...
Rather i suggest to replace speakers+amps+wirings as 1st step, then HU subsequently, follow by SP and etc.

Puredeck? Hmm.. If I can recaps, processer is build in instead of external?

Not a pro here and hence pls correct me if I'm wrong.
No offense, I wish to learn too.

Cheers!

Added on March 21, 2012, 8:17 pm
Understood and had been through..
Is 9887 with build in amp? Heard the imprint is good?

Nah, I'm just a normal user. My products used are normal ones.
Infact, I'm using one of the cheap range ameron component set. Silver cone material w/o the branding printed on the speakers. $900 which I felt... Haiz! No point crying over spilled milk.

Btw, ever heard of Rave product? Thought of trying thou..
I am also newbie in ice duh biggrin.gif
Anyway, p99 won't drive your speaker/component because it does not have internal amplifier. But in the case of 9887/cda-117/p80prs, they have internal amplifier to drive your speaker/component, but the internal amp is weak, so you'll need external amplifier to boost your component/speaker(correct me if i'm wrong blush.gif ) . As for imprint, i have no idea, because i've yet to experience it.

900 for learning a lesson is ok already, i paid 1k plus(without changing hu) to brothers -.- result is, "lala" bass, poor mid, piercing highs~
As for rave, i've no idea.
Anyway, what type of music you normally listen to?this will guide you whether to go SQ road or SPL road.(my thinking lah blush.gif )
will92
post Mar 21 2012, 10:40 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Mar 21 2012, 10:19 PM)
long time i dun putting effort in explaining, so now i have a try

[attachmentid=2749899]

see the red circle? this is so common that its written on every headunit about it's internal amp output capability.....

why the cheap hu got but p99 don't have? Because p99 is pure deck (headunit without built in amplifier to reduce heat, power consumption, and interference with the ultimate key point that nobody will buy such an expensive hu and use the internal 4x50watts max amplifier). It's job is just getting data from your cd, provide preamp/tuning function and send to amplifier(external which you need to buy seperately). This goes to mcintosh, denon, naka high end, alpine high end, eclipse SM and also some other brands....Some old ppl actually think those hu are rubbish because they dunno why the hu cant connect to spk directly and looks oldschool....actually i got a fren who bough a mcintosh at rm300 in half cut shop...

if u said you use p99 to pair with oem spk and it sound boring, i do find it misleading because it will not be able to drive a speaker without adding an external amp. If a newbie that know nothing but got lotsa money go buy a p99 and wanted to drive the oem spk but found out cant do that, who's gonna blame?
Then i will offer swap his p99 with my 18w rms x 4 cap-ayam hu biggrin.gif laugh.gif
will92
post Mar 22 2012, 07:43 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Prince of Darkness @ Mar 22 2012, 11:35 AM)
Sad.. I got cheated too:( My P99 also not pure coz playing MP3 from my IPod Touch. Haiz!
This weekend going back to my installer to confront him..
Last night called him to check, he still can tell me why P99 can't drive speakers w/o amp??? Sight.. Gonna change installer soon..
Provide me with all the wrong info.
Simple question, how much you bought for the p99?
will92
post Mar 22 2012, 07:52 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Prince of Darkness @ Mar 22 2012, 11:59 AM)
$900 for component set alone.
I'm into soft vocal.

Glad to be here as I've learn loads of new stuff from gurus.

I will advise my wife not to get P99. As she's getting her new ride end this month, intended to install P99 as she already knows how to function it. But now, pointless as she don't intend to install any amp due to her small booth space and she needs it for her stuff thus only upgrade HU+a decent component. But useless now coz end of day, no sound still.
Maybe recommend her a doubledin. Atleast something different..

Cheers!
900 for ameron component? laugh.gif shocking.gif doh.gif
Soft vocal? Same here.
Get the new p80prs instead, i think it is more than enough for normal ice player~

Added on March 22, 2012, 7:59 pm
QUOTE(carcrazy @ Mar 22 2012, 02:05 PM)
most cars install amp under front seat. cheaper as shorter length power/grounding cables, shorter length speaker cables, shorter RCA..hence u can go for better cables as opposed to local/china brand.
kow tim!!.. P99 + amp + front speakers + optional active sub under front driver seat.. results: u will love ur ride even more!!

to further improve NVH the car, damp the cabin floor + roof + doors + noise barrier + foam all pillars and door sills..
superb car to drive!! if budget permits!

change to quieter and better all rounder tyres. ask quazacolt. he expert!!

cabin lights, changed to white LED
custom floormats with logo..thicker and wont slip
3M tint - for superb optical clarity + heat rejection
Gzoz the car for exterior protection
Install Air Ionizer, MedKlinn automotive

dats a nice project! hehe
Wuu, mod in proton/perodua to have the bmw/merc feel laugh.gif

This post has been edited by will92: Mar 22 2012, 07:59 PM
will92
post Mar 23 2012, 09:54 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(geniuz @ Mar 23 2012, 10:19 AM)
What?? 900 for ameron components?? Where u buy it bro? Is this model have motorised panel? If got, it will be a must have oneĀ  rclxms.gif

Added on March 23, 2012, 10:52 amIf I change my Saga stock speaker to a good ones first (Front n Rear) without changing my HU, is there any different in sound quality performance? If got, how many percent?
Have to ask him la bah, even my cap-ayam component is only rm499 ~
U mean p80prs? Dont know lea, have to ask unker howie, if u confirm take this hu, remember to inform me, i want audit blush.gif

Change speaker? I would say 40%, another 60% is after u change to a good hu, and after some.... tuning(erhrm).. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by will92: Mar 23 2012, 09:56 PM
will92
post Mar 24 2012, 12:17 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(Prince of Darkness @ Mar 23 2012, 10:28 PM)
Over a year back. Got it at sgd1300+-.

Added on March 23, 2012, 10:41 pm
From my installer..
It's a plain silver speaker w/o any logo. Not those with Ameron logo printed on the front. Those rm200-300+ can get already.

Added on March 23, 2012, 10:46 pm
Before I purchased, I've compared price with Singapore, same set cost sgd4++. So I got at rm900 still slightly cheaper.
So.. Now, how is your setup actually? P99 plus ameron component plus .....?
will92
post Mar 24 2012, 12:38 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(Prince of Darkness @ Mar 24 2012, 12:33 AM)
4cha+2cha+mona block+cap+3"mid+12" sub.
P99 connected to IPod Touch.
SP: 3layers for 4doors, 2layers for floor, A-pillar, B-pillar, arch wheel.
Replacing current amps, sub and cap. Still hunting..
Interesting setup.. Wish to try your ice and listen how they sound~ icon_rolleyes.gif
will92
post Mar 24 2012, 01:38 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(Prince of Darkness @ Mar 24 2012, 01:05 AM)
Basic sound nothing much actually.
I'm base in Singapore. Installer in JB, opposit tebrau city jusco. We can catch up around that area if you are near by.

Cheers!
That's far, i'm based in selangor
will92
post Apr 3 2012, 08:00 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Apr 3 2012, 06:29 PM)
there's less chances u will have problem with ice if it's properly done...but shit does happen sometimes..smile.gif
Oh ya, that day got the hiss noise when playing songs i think is ipad problem.. I tried with friend's iphone 4s(using the ori music player software) and the noise disappear .. smile.gif
will92
post Apr 4 2012, 07:29 PM

162 posts

Nice.. Going to soundproof mine.. ... .... One day.. ... ... Perhaps blush.gif blush.gif
will92
post Apr 26 2012, 07:20 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(geniuz @ Apr 26 2012, 01:35 PM)
Yeap!! Agreed with you. I just upgraded my HU to P99 and changed the front speaker and also added tweeter to pillar and of coz 4ch amp to drive my front speakers.

Also sound proof for my front two doors. Now my audio listening very3 crystal clear and more natural bass  thumbup.gif
Aww~ can audit? blush.gif
will92
post Apr 30 2012, 11:45 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(geniuz @ Apr 29 2012, 02:39 PM)
Still play with my HU and got so many things to learn. Once done sure can audit ones..... biggrin.gif

Does P99 support SACD and XRCD?
Ok, i'll wait , remember invite me when done biggrin.gif

0.0447sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:05 AM