SΛMSUNG Galaxy W (I8150) Official Thread V5, Wonderful things coming to you Worldwide
IwanAGP
May 23 2012, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(nokian @ May 23 2012, 08:54 AM) Anyone using KIES to sync your contacts and calendar with ms Outlook 2010? The process took a long time eg.45 minutes..... TQ I just sync with google. Less hassle, faster, awesome-er, superb-er Anyway... I only sync with google. Then backup sms using the app. I hate outlook so never looked at it
IwanAGP
May 25 2012, 10:47 PM
New activity of the week: "Don't touch my phone" 42hours, 28% battery used. LOL Anyone wanna join me?  See how long it can last before I'm going to charge it!
IwanAGP
May 26 2012, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(xxxcriminal @ May 25 2012, 11:41 PM) hi all, i need help here~~ i wana do factory reset, but i wana keep my sms... what should i do?? pls help...thanks~~ Go to market, download SMS backup and restore. Free and confirmed working. Just keep the backup copy nicely then ok
IwanAGP
May 26 2012, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(VoiVod @ May 26 2012, 09:44 AM) Guys need some help/info here. I find wifey's Galaxy W ringtone volume when having incoming call is not loud enough. Many times she didn't notice the phone is ringing when it is in the handbag etc Already set the volume to max in settings. When test in settings the ringtone volume is ok but when actual call coming in, the sound is not loud enough. Already tried different mp3s. Furthermore the phone has this escalating volume (starts from low then after few seconds only go to max, but this max is still low volume to me), how to make it go straight to max without escalating? Phone is not rooted and I don't plan to, so I don't want to use apps like Volume+. Any ideas how to solve this problem? Thanks in advance I also noticed this problem but I rarely call. Mostly sms. SMS ringtone no problem. I saw the solution in XDA but requires root.  No idea how you can solve it
IwanAGP
May 26 2012, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(HateFakers @ May 26 2012, 07:07 PM) There's a new firmware update isn't it? How long did it take to complete? Mine stuck at 0% for half an hour already with the android logo with a word ''downloading'' and ''do not turn off target!!'' below it. But before the logo and others appear the things all download already... Kies? If yes, and it's the first time you do firmware update through kies, restart your phone, restart kies client then try again. You should succeed. So far didn't heard anyone say got the phone bricked or what because of this.
IwanAGP
May 26 2012, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(n8210 @ May 26 2012, 07:38 PM) can we use apex launcher? Yes but still not liked by me. haha
IwanAGP
May 26 2012, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(n8210 @ May 26 2012, 08:57 PM) using the phone to search for apex launcher, i could not find. using the website, i can find it. Login to my google, but it is grey out. login to my friend's S2, can install becos it is not grey out. How? Hold on! Wait... I think I remembered the wrong thing. Ya... Cannot. I think your friend S2 is ICS edi. This one is for ICS only.
IwanAGP
May 27 2012, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(kopiPeng @ May 27 2012, 11:36 PM) How do you get item from TaoBao? I thought items in TaoBao only delivers within China? Mind sharing?   Search for it in lowyat... Tonnes of them offering the service to buy from taobao. Choose one you think you're comfortable with and compare the pricing Lowyat.NET -> Classifieds -> Services Noticeboard
IwanAGP
May 28 2012, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(jayro_88 @ May 28 2012, 12:32 AM) After updating to 2.3.6, my data connection always dc. No problem while connecting to wifi. But when connected to data always dc. Baseband I8150DXLC1. My baseband DXLM2
IwanAGP
May 28 2012, 08:13 AM
QUOTE(AlexLai @ May 28 2012, 01:01 AM) Dude, that's sexy stuff. Should have organized bulk.  Lol... My friend said the photo taken sucks. Taken with Nokia N82. It's too dark so flashed, Xenon flash... all the tiny dust appears in the picture. LOL... Ya... It's sexy. Much better than my previous casing!  I can't organise bulk. Got other item on discount, so I just add in more orders to make up the weight  I also got myself another Stylus quite nice too. Also around 10~12. This post has been edited by IwanAGP: May 28 2012, 08:18 AM
IwanAGP
May 28 2012, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(n8210 @ May 28 2012, 03:37 PM) eg of hard brick: flash another model's rom onto your phone. that will make it die really fast. Flash S2 rom onto Wonder = mati Once mati, root or not, don't matter. I guess the key here is which technician handles your case. If the lazy technician see, oh cannot on, tukar motherboard. Maybe if you meet hardworking technician, oh cannot on, check SOP, ok let's check #1, then #2, then #3... then maybe they have some method to detect actually it is not their fault. But, I tend to believe everyone takes the shortcut. It all lies in what you say to them when you hand them the phone. My second advice is, go to Samseng Plaza, use their Drop & Go service. If the techinician dismantled and found tahi inside? I don't think this is a good way. If it's rooted, I think it's still be fine to send in. You can also choose to unroot but I believe they will get the way to know you've rooted even if you're unrooted  Just my opinion.
IwanAGP
May 29 2012, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(wemglucas3 @ May 29 2012, 03:33 PM) hey guys, how to save image from internet ? Press and hold, save image or something like that.
IwanAGP
May 29 2012, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(wemglucas3 @ May 29 2012, 06:22 PM) means i press my finger on screen displaying the image i wana save then wait till a menu pop out ? I just tried on facebook desktop page. Ya, hold your finger until pop up. Then press save image.
IwanAGP
May 30 2012, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(ultramankaiser @ May 29 2012, 11:17 PM) hey guys! i just bought mine last week..however i noticed that I dont use most of the provided apps. i would like to remove them..how is it possible for me to do so? You can do that after rooting. However, sometimes an app cannot be simply removed. I'm not sure about this but I tried to freeze google+ installed by Samsung. After I freeze it, it gives me FC notification very frequently. Can't stand the annoying thing so I installed Google+ back
IwanAGP
May 30 2012, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(ultramankaiser @ May 30 2012, 11:22 AM) this rooting term sounds serious...unlike jb on apple devices that i've done it myself. anyone has root their device here? thanks for replying..appreciate it!  ... Rooting is far more simple than jb. Just download the zip file, put into your internal storage, boot into recovery, update from zip. Tada, that's all. Basically no changes like what you do in JB but it's the access it grants that allows you to do modification down to the root of the system. It's nothing if you don't mess with anything after you root. The difference between android and iOS is... Android can install apps, cracked or from another developer even before rooting. This is not possible in iOS. Refer: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1317394
IwanAGP
May 31 2012, 12:56 AM
QUOTE(em3an @ May 30 2012, 11:52 PM) Yeah, your phone cant stress it self, so he reboot  . Yeah, Maps, Email can be freeze using Titanium Backup and 100% will not harm your phone. I also did that. Just root, nothing bad gonna happen  NEVER NEVER AND EVER update your phone thru KIES. 90% including me got phone soft bricked after updating firmware using KIES. Just dwld new stock rom(if you wish to ) and flash it via ODIN. head to the group for more info and assist  Download latest firmware, and your kernel will be XXLM8  Seriously? I'm not active in the group but so far as I concerned, everyone here who updated through kies (in fact, I suggested so...) had not return saying that their phone is softbricked or anything. For me, I found out that updating via kies will fail the first time(real first time) you update your phone through kies. It tends to sort of install a driver when you first update it through kies, causing the phone to be disconnected when it's in download mode. I discovered this both on my bro's Galaxy Mini and my W. Only the very first time (first time update through kies, including previous version updates). That is, when I update to DXLC1, it failed the first time, I reboot the phone then reupdate then it goes well. When I update from DXLC1 to DXLM3, it just update in one go. Same goes to the Galaxy Mini Just my experience. Whether you agree or not, you may comment on what I'm saying. I'd be glad to listen to them
IwanAGP
May 31 2012, 08:21 AM
QUOTE(em3an @ May 31 2012, 01:24 AM) Yeah maybe for the 1st time only since I only tried it ONCE. Hahah, shock with 1st time got soft brick, I rather download 3xx MB file and flash it via ODIN and got XXLM8 kernel. After got the soft brick, my phone just stay at Galaxy Wonder thingy and keep hangs there. Entering download mode and flash via odin is the simple way ^^ Some more, I already freeze KIES and now enjoying my custom rom which is Hybrid v2  Other people, other opinion, am I right?  Wow... Yours is really softbricked.  But you're already using custom rom. I got too much data. Thinking whether I should move on to custom rom. Cow's v7 is based on DXLM3?
IwanAGP
Jun 1 2012, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(em3an @ Jun 1 2012, 01:19 AM) CM9 still got camera bugs, and others well known bugs. After CM9 fix all the bugs, I will not hesitated to try CM9, otherwise, stay with Bionic Cow and enjoying non lag games  Just join. ask to join. Someone will approve you  But seems like the camera bug will be solved in few weeks time. They've got it working with 'Silent Camera'. That's a good move! A good sign  Added on June 1, 2012, 1:47 amAnyone using Bionic V2, Cow V7 knows whether the Memo app is still there?? This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Jun 1 2012, 01:47 AM
IwanAGP
Jun 1 2012, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(afnan @ Jun 1 2012, 10:18 PM) why my galaxy w cant recive mms...can any sifu help me You need to enable packet data to receive MMS. But remember to disable it right away since you'll get charged for any data synced. Another solution is provided in the thread but I got no idea and can't remember what is it. Something about changing the apn. You should find that out. I can on packet data all the time, got a data plan.