123 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Bottom

AS1M/ASM/ASW2020/ASN/ASB and other PNB funds V3, lending your money to the government

cheahcw2003
post Jun 13 2013, 10:18 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(hyelbaine @ Jun 13 2013, 10:02 AM)
I've been following this thread for an awfully long time and I'd like to share my 2 cents worth on those waiting on the PNB's next fixed priced fund...

Personally, I don't think they will launch another one. Even if they would like to, the authorities wouldn't like it too much. PNB/ASNB's AUM is now in the billions and represents a huge chunk of our equity stock market. Mind you, some would deem them as a shadow bank because of their size.

And it is due to this very reason why the regulators would somewhat frown upon them if they were to launch another fixed priced fund. Imagine if its customers were to do massive withdrawal ( a run ) due to one of many potential reasons (economic crisis, political unrest, etc2..), it would be disastrous for the equity markets. And since fixed priced funds are pegged at RM1 regardless of its actual NAV per unit, it would make things worse. Unlike EPF which also has an equally large impact due to its size of participation in the equity markets, you can't do a run on EPF as the latter's withdrawal is governed by rules and regulations.

The next economic cycle is coming up (1997/98, 2008, 2017/18?) so even if they were allowed to come up with a new fixed priced fund, it wouldn't really be a good idea. They might consider one post 2017/18 if they picked up equities during the anticipated upcoming downturn.

Again personally I doubt that they'll be coming up with another fixed priced fund. They may potentially expand the existing fund sizes but that again would not be "liked" by regulators such as SC and even BNM. Mind you, these fixed priced funds are classified as low risk medium return investments. Chasing yields for it in order to give healthy dividends is not easy.

Just me 2 cents wink.gif
Good analysis.
We may only hv new fixed price funds if there is change of PM, for example ASW2020 launched during Dr.M's regime.
AS1M was launched when Najib took over.
And ASD/ASM in between the 2 above mentioned 2PMs aka during Pak Lah's time.

ronnie
post Jun 13 2013, 10:41 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Maybe we get a new PM after UMNO Meeting ?
davinz18
post Jun 13 2013, 03:21 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(hyelbaine @ Jun 13 2013, 10:02 AM)
I've been following this thread for an awfully long time and I'd like to share my 2 cents worth on those waiting on the PNB's next fixed priced fund...

Personally, I don't think they will launch another one. Even if they would like to, the authorities wouldn't like it too much. PNB/ASNB's AUM is now in the billions and represents a huge chunk of our equity stock market. Mind you, some would deem them as a shadow bank because of their size.

And it is due to this very reason why the regulators would somewhat frown upon them if they were to launch another fixed priced fund. Imagine if its customers were to do massive withdrawal ( a run ) due to one of many potential reasons (economic crisis, political unrest, etc2..), it would be disastrous for the equity markets. And since fixed priced funds are pegged at RM1 regardless of its actual NAV per unit, it would make things worse. Unlike EPF which also has an equally large impact due to its size of participation in the equity markets, you can't do a run on EPF as the latter's withdrawal is governed by rules and regulations.

The next economic cycle is coming up (1997/98, 2008, 2017/18?) so even if they were allowed to come up with a new fixed priced fund, it wouldn't really be a good idea. They might consider one post 2017/18 if they picked up equities during the anticipated upcoming downturn.

Again personally I doubt that they'll be coming up with another fixed priced fund. They may potentially expand the existing fund sizes but that again would not be "liked" by regulators such as SC and even BNM. Mind you, these fixed priced funds are classified as low risk medium return investments. Chasing yields for it in order to give healthy dividends is not easy.

Just me 2 cents wink.gif
You got some good point there.
So the conclusion is NO New Fixed price fund. Too bad those waiting to invest cry.gif
davinz18
post Jun 13 2013, 03:23 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 13 2013, 10:41 AM)
Maybe we get a new PM after UMNO Meeting ?
Who knows.. anything can happen in politic biggrin.gif
cheahcw2003
post Jun 13 2013, 03:33 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Jun 13 2013, 03:21 PM)
You got some good point there.
So the conclusion is NO New Fixed price fund.  Too bad those waiting to invest  cry.gif
Although no news funds being launch.
If u notice, the fund size keep on increasing after the declaration of the dividend paid. The dividend paid is partially by the sales of new shares.
If u read the ASM 2013 fund report, u will know what I meant
davinz18
post Jun 13 2013, 04:28 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jun 13 2013, 03:33 PM)
Although no news funds being launch.
If u notice, the fund size keep on increasing after the declaration of the dividend paid. The dividend paid is partially by the sales of new shares.
If u read the ASM 2013 fund report, u will know what I meant
I know what you mean. Those are additional units being reinvested & the size keep increasing year by year.

What I mean at the previous post was, there's no chance for adding / investing new "money" into those fixed price fund. Pity to those wanting to buy additional units (including me biggrin.gif )
hyelbaine
post Jun 13 2013, 04:48 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Jun 13 2013, 04:28 PM)
I know what you mean. Those are additional units being reinvested & the size keep increasing year by year.

What I mean at the previous post was, there's no chance for adding / investing new "money" into those fixed price fund.  Pity to those wanting to buy additional units (including me  biggrin.gif )
I believe (and hope) that sooner rather than later, PNB adopts online transactions via its own website/portal. That would certainly help those who have to rely on physically going to banks to try their luck although I can only imagine the volume the site would have to handle given the amount of people who will try their luck (now one could only do it during lunch time but online....every 2 minutes also can!) to perform additional purchases for their fixed priced funds tongue.gif

davinz18
post Jun 13 2013, 05:28 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(hyelbaine @ Jun 13 2013, 04:48 PM)
I believe (and hope) that sooner rather than later, PNB adopts online transactions via its own website/portal. That would certainly help those who have to rely on physically going to banks to try their luck although I can only imagine the volume the site would have to handle given the amount of people who will try their luck (now one could only do it during lunch time but online....every 2 minutes also can!) to perform additional purchases for their fixed priced funds tongue.gif
I also hope ASNB could have online services but logically speaking, ASNB won't be implementing the online thing. Why? because of the staff at ASNB offices. Now also they "almost no work". The only time they busy when ASB dividend time. if they implement online transaction, then PNB need to reduce / retrench their workers.

ronnie
post Jun 13 2013, 10:49 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Raya time in August will be a good chance to buy some units.....
cheahcw2003
post Jun 13 2013, 11:00 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 13 2013, 10:49 PM)
Raya time in August will be a good chance to buy some units.....
Raya time maybe Malay investors may withdraw some money from the account but it doesn't help non bumi at all as most funds like Asw2020, As1m, ASM have bumi quota.
Bumi who sold their units could only purchased back by other bumi investors.

This post has been edited by cheahcw2003: Jun 13 2013, 11:01 PM
ronnie
post Jun 14 2013, 01:13 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jun 13 2013, 11:00 PM)
Raya time maybe Malay investors may withdraw some money from the account but it doesn't help non bumi at all as most funds like Asw2020, As1m, ASM have bumi quota.
Bumi who sold their units could only purchased back by other bumi investors.
Malaysians of all races loves to "raya" together.... there would be some "window" to topup.
ronnie
post Jun 14 2013, 10:08 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(smsbusiness2u @ Jun 14 2013, 10:05 AM)
is that means non bumi can buy the unit sold by bumi?
That will NEVER EVER happen.... You buy non-Bumi lots when Non-Bumi sell it during Raya period lah doh.gif
ronnie
post Jun 14 2013, 10:38 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(smsbusiness2u @ Jun 14 2013, 10:29 AM)
why do u think non-bumi will sell during raya time?
It's my Crystal Ball telling me that...................... Hari Raya week is school holiday. Can't you make you own conclusion ?
hyelbaine
post Jun 14 2013, 12:03 PM

602 posts

To me, there's really no exact way for anyone to predict the behavior of these fixed priced fund unit holders. If the demographics does show that baby boomers occupy the large majority of unit holders, turnover of units would be low.

They've been in it for the long term and given the stage of their lives/careers at this moment, they wouldn't have any need to dilute their unit holdings (eg: good salary, senior position, comfortable loan repayment(s), empty nest due to children already working) for monetary usage. With the advent of retirement age being increased till 60, the need for withdrawal to fund their post retirement life would be delayed even longer.

Unless the demographics skew towards the younger generation (late 20's to early 40's) than you may see more volatility in terms of fund movements. Redemption of units for big purchase items such as a house or a bigger car or children's education or go on an overseas holiday trip or so many other reasons may see a higher turnover of units of the fixed priced funds.
cheahcw2003
post Jun 14 2013, 01:30 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(smsbusiness2u @ Jun 14 2013, 11:46 AM)
Please do not make any conclusion without fact which might confius other read...

moderator, should we create confusion info for other reader?
Don't take it so serious brother.
Public forum ppl are free to give their opinion and cyrstal ball prediction.

Even we live in multiracials society, as a non Hindu, I don't think it has any impact on the availability of the fixed priced funds during Thaipusam or Deepavali.
Same goes to Christmas, Wesak Day, awal Muharram, or Good Friday.
cybermaster98
post Jun 14 2013, 01:52 PM

4,440 posts

I really wish PNB would increase the maximum deposit limit for ASB funds. The current 200K is insufficient. biggrin.gif
ah_suknat
post Jun 14 2013, 02:06 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 14 2013, 05:52 AM)
I really wish PNB would increase the maximum deposit limit for ASB funds. The current 200K is insufficient.  biggrin.gif
ASB is not the only type of investment bro smile.gif
adolph
post Jun 14 2013, 03:16 PM

Hail the hitler
832 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 14 2013, 01:52 PM)
I really wish PNB would increase the maximum deposit limit for ASB funds. The current 200K is insufficient.  biggrin.gif
Cybermaster98,

There are lot of investment opportunity to open only for Bumi, it is an investment not only put all eggs in one basket. Other investment such as AHB, bank rakyat, persatuan bank, ASD, Tabung Haji, koperasi saham and etc. You can do your own calculation for such opportunity compared to other races.
cybermaster98
post Jun 14 2013, 03:27 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(adolph @ Jun 14 2013, 03:16 PM)
Cybermaster98,

There are lot of investment opportunity to open only for Bumi, it is an investment not only put all eggs in one basket. Other investment such as AHB, bank rakyat, persatuan bank, ASD, Tabung Haji, koperasi saham and etc. You can do your own calculation for such opportunity compared to other races.
Do all of them offer the same high returns as ASB?
davinz18
post Jun 14 2013, 03:43 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

ASD holders get 6.8 sen income distribution

Amanah Saham Nasional Bhd (ASNB), a wholly-owned unit of Permodalan Nasional Bhd (PNB), announced an income distribution of 6.8 sen per unit for Amanah Saham Didik (ASD) for the financial year ending June 12 2013.

ASD is a fixed-price equity growth fund aimed at providing investment opportunities that can generate long-term growth and competitive returns to unit holders.

PNB chairman Tun Ahmad Sarji Abdul Hamid said the income distribution was higher than the 6.6 sen per unit paid out in the previous year.

A total of RM307.36 million, an increase of 11 per cent compared to last year, will be distributed to ASD unit holders.

123 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0395sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:17 AM