127 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Simulation SimCity (2013), MY and SG will have access 11PM tonight.

ysc
post Jan 26 2013, 04:30 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Jan 26 2013, 04:09 PM)
Can anyone confirm this?
Just patched the game, took 2 bloody hours
Going to test now

BTW the 1 hour thing is true. You play for 1 hour then you need to restart again, but it's okay because I was toldthat you run out of stuff to do as most stuff are locked

Damn, stuck at tutorial...
At the part where I visit my neighbor, it shows an error "fail to load city" and pressing OK does nothing =_=

edit- oh , the server seems to be down
edit2- oh, it's back up

This post has been edited by ysc: Jan 26 2013, 05:06 PM
wKkaY
post Jan 26 2013, 05:08 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Jan 26 2013, 04:09 PM)
Can anyone confirm this?
I didn't get "constant bombardments to order the game". The others are true.
wKkaY
post Jan 26 2013, 05:08 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

So far I've built two cities. Second one reached 14+K population. Trying to reach 15K now to get another Town Hall upgrade biggrin.gif

Servers are down mad.gif

This post has been edited by wKkaY: Jan 26 2013, 05:09 PM
ysc
post Jan 26 2013, 05:09 PM

860 posts

Yeah darn, it's down...
Halfway throughout tutorial lehhh sad.gif
bobohead1988
post Jan 26 2013, 05:11 PM

852 posts

So at the end of the day

Its just a glorified demo instead of beta
ysc
post Jan 26 2013, 05:32 PM

860 posts

So what do you guys think? Worth getting?

Rei7
post Jan 26 2013, 06:07 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

There are no constant ads to pre-order. They only ask to pre-order in the patch loader and also the main menu. Once in game they never ask you to pre-order or anything.

Here is my thoughts on the beta.

Pros:
The game is easy to learn
Building things in SimCity has never been easier.
No more pipping which I dislike
No more terrain which I dislike as well (pretty sure some likes it)

Cons:
Laggy (in the beta only I assume)
Graphic could have been better with higher texture for high end PC
The map is small (in the beta) as i've heard people asking the developers told that there is going to be medium and large size map.
Too easy.
Not much challenge(need more crisis and problems in game)

I've already pre-ordered the game.
The feel of SimCity is there which is what I like.
I like the concept in the game and it doesn't fell like the terrible SimCity Societies.
The always online feature is fine by me and hopefully there is a way to play offline if I balik kampung.
chesterchek
post Jan 26 2013, 08:52 PM

77 posts

I have a extra beta key from Nvidia Fanpage which can access SimCity beta from now till 28th. PM me if you really want to join the beta =)
rockpoper
post Jan 26 2013, 10:11 PM

Intel Nvidia
582 posts

8 hours of server down = =
liquidsny
post Jan 26 2013, 10:40 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jan 26 2013, 06:07 PM)
There are no constant ads to pre-order. They only ask to pre-order in the patch loader and also the main menu. Once in game they never ask you to pre-order or anything.

Here is my thoughts on the beta.

Pros:
The game is easy to learn
Building things in SimCity has never been easier.
No more pipping which I dislike
No more terrain which I dislike as well (pretty sure some likes it)

Cons:
Laggy (in the beta only I assume)
Graphic could have been better with higher texture for high end PC
The map is small (in the beta) as i've heard people asking the developers told that there is going to be medium and large size map.
Too easy.
Not much challenge(need more crisis and problems in game)

I've already pre-ordered the game.
The feel of SimCity is there which is what I like.
I like the concept in the game and it doesn't fell like the terrible SimCity Societies.
The always online feature is fine by me and hopefully there is a way to play offline if I balik kampung.
thanks for the insight
i'll be pre-ordering it nao
paanjang16
post Jan 26 2013, 10:46 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jan 26 2013, 06:07 PM)
As of now there is no indication if it can be played offline. While I am hopeful that EA MIGHT patch it later on to be playable offline I feel it is better for me to wait and see how the final products turns out.

I saw the videos of the beta, the game is excellent! thumbup.gif

But no matter how nice the game is, it is not enough for me to pre-order or buy it on release day. Somehow this game does not have the "SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY" attractiveness of say the Iphone or Ipad. It does not help I hate consumer unfriendly DRM. Sometimes I wish EA is the one that went bankrupt instead of THQ cry.gif Oh well.

This post has been edited by paanjang16: Jan 26 2013, 10:47 PM
ysc
post Jan 26 2013, 11:18 PM

860 posts

How do you guys increase the land value??

and also, the houses are using so much space/land/real estate, hard to group them together
xXAgent47Xx
post Jan 26 2013, 11:33 PM

15 posts

Based on my previous simcity experience, Parks, Good Education, Health Care, police coverage and fire station coverage. Also, no pollution and the sort around the area. If there's an industrial park, move your residential areas away.

Also, still not gonna buy this. 10 regions per player is too little not to mention always online drm.
wKkaY
post Jan 27 2013, 12:22 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Note that there's 3 levels of parks to attract low, medium, and high wealth residents and commerce.
ysc
post Jan 27 2013, 12:35 AM

860 posts

Thanks...

One more thing, is there a screenshot button?
wKkaY
post Jan 27 2013, 12:40 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(ysc @ Jan 27 2013, 12:35 AM)
One more thing, is there a screenshot button?
There is. I accidentally mashed it tongue.gif There's also video capture (didn't manage to try this)

Here's the manual courtesy of a reddit poster: http://issuu.com/tart11/docs/simcity_manual/1
Grif
post Jan 27 2013, 01:05 AM

378 posts

Interesting...

We'll see how much rage the released game will generate. That'll give a fair idea on whether or not the game is up to expectations.
M1X
post Jan 27 2013, 03:30 AM

2,334 posts

Already raging http://community.simtropolis.com/forum/83-...ral-discussion/

But... still, remember there are different types of SC4 player.

One is the type that growing their cities. This depend, the casual maybe will like the new SC but the hardcore demanding every single detail under their control will be a little issue. The feedback in Simtropolis seems pretty balanced so far as what I read.

Another type is the pure aesthetic factor player. I'm among this group. We don't care about simulations and such, we only care about how many freedom we can use the game to produce a beautiful scene. As of this new SC won't be supporting mod off the go (and moreover THAT graphic style), this group of player is extremely hard to get happy with this all together different game.

This post has been edited by M1X: Jan 27 2013, 03:43 AM
Rei7
post Jan 27 2013, 01:40 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

Pretty sure those who say they are not gonna buy this, will still buy it in the end. There isn't much city simulation games being created forcing most gamers who love it to buy it. If people hate origin that much, things on origin has changed, I don't see why people love steam that much but hates origin. It's the effing same thing, and I use both.

Since the fan base is huge i'm sure that EA/Maxis will provide us with offline features in the future.
They are pushing people to buy this games and preventing this game from being pirated.
xXAgent47Xx
post Jan 27 2013, 02:15 PM

15 posts

It's not because of origin/steam thing. It's more about I want to play it offline and build the numerous regions. My simcity 4 cities are located in large sprawling regions, filled with cities and farmlands and the sort with the occasional planes and freights moving around. This (SC4) is the simcity that I want and due to poor connection that I have at times, the always online drm will be detrimental to me.

127 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0261sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:43 PM