7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V8

jctasoga
post May 6 2012, 08:12 PM

179 posts

luqee, if u wanna get rid off some of the overgrown java ferns, i'm willing to take it off you. smile.gif
jctasoga
post May 6 2012, 09:50 PM

179 posts

i believe its the rhizome that you tie onto DW or rocks. they will spread that way... maybe check and google first. haha..

then i booking first lo.. hehe
jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 10:39 AM

179 posts

last night my tank temp also went down to 26.8c for first time. usually is about 28c at night. daytime is approx 29-30c.

really cool...

Added on May 7, 2012, 10:43 am
QUOTE(sang gemok @ May 7 2012, 10:20 AM)
JUST USE RAZOR BLADE.scratch the calcium.done. works for me. smile.gif
yeah i also used razor blade or those refill blade to scratch off. when you are scratching, make sure you are pulling the blade with the sharp edge pointing opposite direction.

pull this way <<<- \ this point is the sharp edge
----------------------------------------------------- (glass surface)

DANGER if pull this way <<<-/ sharp edge pulled at same direction
----------------------------------------------------- (glass surface)

you will get less issue of glass scratches but of course you will need more rounds la... haha... i also do it for the algae issue on glass..

This post has been edited by jctasoga: May 7 2012, 10:43 AM
jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 10:45 AM

179 posts

plastic ruler cannot remove it... have to use blade...
jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 11:17 AM

179 posts

mine is free time... salesperson no need clock in.. hahaha...

but my wife, 1 min late also will potong gaji pokok... x_X
jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 11:50 AM

179 posts

hungry liao... pls don't continue... cry.gif

jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 01:17 PM

179 posts

why BP dun have ... cry.gif JB also make this promo also good la....

jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 02:47 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ May 7 2012, 01:40 PM)
come, lets duduk bantah in front of pet family in JB
tongue.gif
cannot la.... i got better things to bantah about.. haha

i got this plant but its very very tiny at the moment. very small leaves. is it lighting not enough or the water too warm? my water approx 29c to 30c most of the time... lighitning at the moment is 6 hours on 1.5wpg... any advise?
it looks as though its melting.... had this plant for almost 1 year already... but its not growing... in fact, used to be a big bunch, but now only 1-2 stem tiny ones left.... any help is appreciated.

Added on May 7, 2012, 2:48 pmedit : source of the picture , i searched from google and it ends up at a photobucket website. if you are the owner, please let me know how to put the credit for this pic. thanks.

This post has been edited by jctasoga: May 7 2012, 02:51 PM
jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 02:54 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ May 7 2012, 02:50 PM)
Did you guys/gals find the assassin snails emit stink smell like rotted stuff? yest i clean up my 40cm tank, dig out 10 assassin snails from the substrate,
notice the stink coming from them but they are alive not dead.
maybe ammonia smell? is it like the smell like "aquarium water no change for 7 days or more" type? snails dig into or run around the substrate to aerate the substrate which i believe is to gas out those gas trapped in the substrate. any sifu wanna clarify?
jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 03:24 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ May 7 2012, 02:57 PM)
The smell is like rotten dead stuff. My palm got the smell after i holding them. Small driftwood also got the smell. But after wash, smell is gone.
i think should be ok la... but why u wanna disturb the substrate leh? aint it suppose to hold the good bacterias?

Added on May 7, 2012, 3:31 pm
QUOTE(Malformed @ May 7 2012, 03:04 PM)
I'm reading an article on Eheim 2213 vs 2215.. I hear they say when there are too many plants, stronger filter is required?
Is this guy crazy or what?

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/equipmen...15-20-long.html
i think it depends on the flora you have in the tank. from my experience, i control the water flow until you see your fish are not struggling and my plants are not swaying around like hurricane. its not nice at all to see everything flying around.... but once you have maxed out your filter, its time to upgrade. i'm using a 1000lph on a 4ft (about 230liters of water) and its really powerful with the rain bar. however, once i take off the rain bar, the effect is also less current coz the tube is pointing downwards (i do this to blow the DIY co2 i have in the tank).

more so, when i connected a external filter DIY co2 reactor (for future pressurised co2), i noticed the flow rate is kept same. i use those outdoor house water filter to do the reactor. i removed out the white micron filter (it gets dirty very quickly). flowrate is actually better after i removed the dirty micron filter.

anyway, i would check if the filter is dirty or not, because when the flow rate reduced, means the filter is dirty already.

This post has been edited by jctasoga: May 7 2012, 03:31 PM
jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 03:55 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ May 7 2012, 03:54 PM)
cos i resetting the tank to hold Sulawesi shrimps. Those substrate are just sand with coral stone.

oic... all done now? happy? happy.gif
jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 04:23 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ May 7 2012, 04:20 PM)
100L tank, filter capacity should at least x5 or x6 of tank capacity = 600L/H power filter, Eheim 2215 match it, but you need to take into consideration if any inline CO2 diffuser or chiller is used, those will cut back the filter flow rate esp chiller.
+1 , if given HOB or canister, I would prefer canister anytime. you can store the canister elsewhere and more space on top of the tank for other things.
jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 04:40 PM

179 posts

HOB yes, has its own advantages too no doubt. individual preference la... haha... most difference too!

HOB store less filter media.. canister more... hehehe...
jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 05:22 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ May 7 2012, 04:52 PM)
So if I make a planted nano tank, it still require a canister filter, seeing that HOB has less media?
filter media applicable to size of tanks as well. for your case, i think better stick to HOB since its a 2ft tank smile.gif HOB can cope with it. dun get things too complicated.. hehehe..
jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 08:46 PM

179 posts

nice melody!

kimimaro : really la... haha...
jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 09:21 PM

179 posts

melody : maybe this: Cabomba caroliniana
http://animal-world.com/encyclo/fresh/plan.../StemPlants.php

hard to say...
jctasoga
post May 7 2012, 10:57 PM

179 posts

and the sifu has spoken... happy.gif
jctasoga
post May 8 2012, 06:39 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ May 7 2012, 11:51 PM)
pic how to proof the temp bro
possible its aircon room? my 4ft also around 28c to 30c mostly. i find it hard to believe at 26c. can i know your filtration that you're using and your setup? i mean more water movement could also bring down the temp (more water being circulated?) please let me know if i'm mistaken....

happy sharing rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by jctasoga: May 8 2012, 07:15 AM
jctasoga
post May 8 2012, 09:35 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ May 8 2012, 09:11 AM)
you use airstone?? cause I know air will lower temp.
now that you've mentioned it, i've used to fire up my airstone 24hrs at high speed using a 4" flat type airstone. recently i changed it to medium/slow speed on a round smaller airstone and the temp was a little higher.

I lower it because i wanted to retain more co2 in the water (less water surface agitation). maybe i will also give it a try to give more water agitation... haha... see if i can get from 29/30c down to 27/28c... hehe..
jctasoga
post May 8 2012, 10:15 AM

179 posts

1c difference is normal because there is no heat from lights and also night time also cooler.. my 4ft also about that range too.. but daytime could fluctuate more.. maybe chiller is needed... haha

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:54 AM