9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Planted Aquarium V8

kurangak
post May 10 2012, 02:06 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ May 10 2012, 02:02 PM)

so... what is ADA look alike sweat.gif
its an aquarium tank that looks like ADA aquarium tank...

ADA tank

why ppl say ADA tank is superior?

it has no braces/visible seams, they use small amount of silicone for contact btw glass pieces, n glass used in making tank has higher clarity compared to normal one used in normal aquarium...

This post has been edited by kurangak: May 10 2012, 02:40 PM
kurangak
post May 10 2012, 02:45 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ May 10 2012, 01:16 PM)
i not sure bout chiller known issue, but if come from saltwater then better bcareful, the corrosion is more compare to fresh water tank  icon_rolleyes.gif mineral, salt, calcium might kumpul-kumpul inside
ciohbu-san, what fish is that in your siggy? im guessing its an otocinclus but which species? Otocinclus flexilis issit? can we get this fish in Malaysia?

This post has been edited by kurangak: May 10 2012, 02:47 PM
kurangak
post May 10 2012, 03:20 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(flipmode @ May 10 2012, 03:12 PM)
found on google: otocinclus cocama
i tot Otocinclus cocama is the zebra otocinclus?

Added on May 10, 2012, 3:22 pm
QUOTE(ciohbu @ May 10 2012, 03:07 PM)
huhhuu.. i wish i know the species too.. got the image from web smile.gif
dem... i tot u rear one... fell in love with otocinclus..feel like 'hav to catch em all'...they are so entertaining to be watched...lol...

This post has been edited by kurangak: May 10 2012, 03:22 PM
kurangak
post May 11 2012, 10:57 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ May 11 2012, 08:29 AM)

That is goby aka ikan ketutu...will eat whatever that can fit in its mouth...i use it as population controller in my fish pond.. REally hard to rear it..it eats only live food in my experience..but if u manage rear until big, from what i heard, it can fetch up to 3numbers per kilo if u sell to chinese restaurant...
kurangak
post May 11 2012, 12:09 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ May 11 2012, 11:31 AM)
i dont know goby is ketutu? hehe noob of me.
well i hope these guys wont get eaten by my oscar hehe.. will follow on their progress la like that.. who knows how much i can reap from them in the future.
my weird tilapia already traded with a guy for his mini tank and hob filter  brows.gif
Now that i look the pic back..maybe im wrong..the body structure looks like ikan ketutu, but the colour looks different...plus the tail looks different too...

Added on May 11, 2012, 12:13 pm
QUOTE(LuQEE @ May 11 2012, 12:04 PM)
owh.. hurm.. they look like mudskipper to me  brows.gif
Haha... probably ure correct... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kurangak: May 11 2012, 12:13 PM
kurangak
post May 12 2012, 11:04 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

so u guys din follow the ferts recommendation? no wonder ive been fighting a losing battle against GSA... >_<
kurangak
post May 12 2012, 11:12 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

GSA attack my fern quite badly... thats the only problem im facing in my tank...

after i pump ferts (BW lush n essence K) 1/2 recommended dose every day... doing WC every 4 days... reduced photoperiod to 8 hrs frm 12pm to 8pm (light i think is low light, 11Wx2), GSA is reduced dramatically but it is still there.... my tank is a 40L tall tank...

any cfu can advice on what to reduce/tweak?

This post has been edited by kurangak: May 12 2012, 11:13 PM
kurangak
post May 12 2012, 11:21 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

o ya forgot to tell, CO2 at 2bps start 2 hrs before photoperiod, n ends 1 hour before end of photoperiod, n i dose flourish excel at 2/3 recommended dose every day. (i stop dosing excel after i got CO2, after 1 week,BBA come, start dosing excel back, BBA gone n never come back ever since)

Added on May 12, 2012, 11:22 pm
QUOTE(jctasoga @ May 12 2012, 11:16 PM)
dosing is very subjective due to the tank size and qty of flora in ur tank. adjustment is always required to counter the algae types. higher light watts or intensity will require more nutrients. too much nutrients rich will also require good lighting so that your nutrients will not be food for the algae..

really need to do balancing acts with the fert + lighting + co2 also... headache... rclxub.gif
so for GSA what do u recommend me to reduce boss?

This post has been edited by kurangak: May 12 2012, 11:25 PM
kurangak
post May 12 2012, 11:29 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ May 12 2012, 11:25 PM)
GSA? i just scrape it off the glass and let the pleco do its job (eat).. haha.. so far mine haven start GSA 'yet'... waiting for it to come. start got brown algae on the glass liao...

gonna do water change tmr morning then add in the chiller.. hehe..
i got more GSA on my java fern's leaves than on my tank wall, so scraping is not a choice for me >_< ... been trimming quite aggresively for that...

Added on May 12, 2012, 11:31 pm
QUOTE(sang gemok @ May 12 2012, 11:12 PM)
last time i follow. but i experience that algae come.so, 1 day i forgot to dose. than, i see the algae slowly shrink and dissappear.hoho. and i adjust the flow to strong abit. then,my lighting i just set about 6-7 hours. then, wallah, all the algae problems solved. smile.gif brows.gif

and one more thing, the fert dosage, please reduce to 3days per push or 2push weekly. the distance of dosing is equal lor. let say, first day dose 1 push of fert. than 4th day later, dose again with 1 push. like that. for me, it is sufficient.huhu.
ooo will try that... thanks for the suggestion boss!

This post has been edited by kurangak: May 12 2012, 11:31 PM
kurangak
post May 13 2012, 04:04 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(sisaiko @ May 13 2012, 06:51 AM)
@kurangak
shade ur fern
thanx for the suggestion boss! but shade it with what? floating plant?

Added on May 13, 2012, 4:04 pm
QUOTE(calvin_ng @ May 13 2012, 12:12 PM)

nice haul!

This post has been edited by kurangak: May 13 2012, 04:05 PM
kurangak
post May 13 2012, 09:01 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

granite is quite inert AFAIK...
kurangak
post May 13 2012, 10:30 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

can any sifu identify the background plant in this pic?
kurangak
post May 13 2012, 10:53 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ May 13 2012, 10:47 PM)
off topic but what is that plant to the left of the rotala? the long2 leaf one?
kurangak
post May 14 2012, 10:00 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(sang gemok @ May 14 2012, 09:50 AM)
IF Midvalley can sell at rm3, means, they got that snail cheap lor. so, how come still want to sell for rm6?just sell below rm5 is ok i guess.
i got the last 4 snail rm2/cangkerang...at midvalley...
kurangak
post May 15 2012, 09:43 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ May 14 2012, 07:25 PM)
Just got home, searched all the unused chargers / adapters I have... most of it have input 220 / 230v but the output varies.

I have output of the following

DC 12V 250mA
12V~1A
9VAC 800mA

How do I know which is the strongest?
12v 1A is the strong one

N u cannot use the 9VAC for dc fan, coz the output is alternating current...

Btw if u using dc fan, usually (but not always true) the fan with higher amperage is the stronger one...

This post has been edited by kurangak: May 15 2012, 10:44 AM
kurangak
post May 15 2012, 10:51 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ May 15 2012, 10:30 AM)
When I look at things, I tend to look at the expensive ones, but then when I check my budget again, the product will slowly drop in price too tongue.gif

I was checking this link and it mentions RPM, ranging from 2400 to 4500. Can I know how much RPM are the fans sifus here are using? Or its not a primary concern sweat.gif
If u hav the privilege of choosing, higher rpm is better, coz higher rpm=fan spin more per minure= more air is moved/higher cfm=wind is stronger=more water evaporation=cooler water

Just my 2cent btw

kurangak
post May 15 2012, 11:27 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ May 15 2012, 11:10 AM)
Noise included too tongue.gif

Was reading this article on Ball bearing vs Sleeve bearing fans - http://www.nmbtc.com/fans/white-papers/fan..._vs_sleeve.html

kurangak, what kind of fan are you using?
Any cheap fan with high rpm is noisy..but To me, the noise is bearable, coz my room aleays on celling fan 24 hrs, n the celling fan is the main contributor of ambient noise in my room..

Im using 80mm 12vdc fan, most probably the sleeve bearing one

Problem with sleeve bearing one, u need to position the fan at Sudut tepat (forgot the term in english), means at 90deg or 0 deg angle, to prolong its life... But 12vdc is so cheap wat..if u look hard enough,, 80mm 12vdc u can get for 3 at rm10,

if u put it at 45 deg, if ur luck is good, it will bust only after 3-4 years, When rosak just swap it for a new one la...

Just my2cent btw...
kurangak
post May 15 2012, 12:34 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ May 15 2012, 11:32 AM)
All sifus punya 2cents are very good for beginners like me rclxms.gif  Impossible I will know the term in english since I learned it in malay! I guess the reason why you say about it placed on a 0 degree angle is because of the movement of the sleeve, if it is on a 45 degree the sleeve's movement is slightly heavy on the lower side (while standing 45 degree), thus spinning will in turn 'injure' itself.

Haha, noise is a big factor I will take into consideration, because it will affect me sleeping sweat.gif That's why I can't simply buy without testing the fans noise first..

Thanks nod.gif

Added on May 15, 2012, 11:34 am

How expensive are we talking here? hmm.gif But adding led into the fan, wouldn't that be weird shakehead.gif Later fishes will be getting green or pink LED lights
dont call me cfu la boss... ure disgracing all real cfu out there...hehe...

im just a noob beginner too, sharing my 2cent here

Added on May 15, 2012, 12:34 pm
QUOTE(sang gemok @ May 15 2012, 12:28 PM)
so, this is busted method lor?ok. then, how come dolphin mini chiller that using fan can achieved certain decreasing celcius yah?
if im not mistaken, they use TEC, using peltier effect to chill the water, if use for small aquaria let (nano tank?) it is effective, above that real chiller is more useful...

This post has been edited by kurangak: May 15 2012, 12:37 PM
kurangak
post May 15 2012, 12:42 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(sang gemok @ May 15 2012, 12:37 PM)
mini chiller is using fan and conductor only. no gas applied.huuhu

Added on May 15, 2012, 12:38 pm

the cost expensive kah? can't we do that?to get better fan? boring with current fan. huhu
DIY chiller

u can DIY one, follow the link i gave above, but i calculated the price for its part before, the price is the same if u buy 2nd hand hailea chiller...sumore it is TEC bro...it is effective to certain extent only...it got limitations...

Added on May 15, 2012, 12:43 pm
QUOTE(melodyworm @ May 15 2012, 12:41 PM)
hey guys i just wanted to ask a quick question. somewhere between 2-3 days ago did any of you guy's plants melted?
my glosso melts abit...

This post has been edited by kurangak: May 15 2012, 12:43 PM
kurangak
post May 15 2012, 01:22 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ May 15 2012, 11:32 AM)

Haha, noise is a big factor I will take into consideration, because it will affect me sleeping sweat.gif That's why I can't simply buy without testing the fans noise first..

i got a suggestion, buy the ac/dc adapter which can select the output voltage one, before go to sleep, just switch the output voltage to lower one, fan will spin slower, so less noise smile.gif

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0545sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:45 PM