4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

MilesAndMore
post Mar 23 2012, 01:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 23 2012, 09:34 AM)
Good tip on the insurance tied to credit card promo thingy. I wasn't aware of this. Luckily i have never agreed to any insurance promoted to me over the phone that is offered only to customer of ABC, DEF bank.

By the way, the HSBC Rewards Points are good for up to 3 years only smile.gif

MilesAndMore
post Apr 5 2012, 05:40 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 5 2012, 11:34 AM)
Called MBB CS to let them know my son using his card overseas for a substantial transaction. While on the line, I ask what if I wanted increase in Permanent Credit Limit, was told in view of BNM guideline effective 1st January 2012, I need to submit 3 months proof of income - habis I, hahaha
Show them your income tax form then biggrin.gif

MilesAndMore
post Apr 7 2012, 04:44 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 6 2012, 02:36 PM)
For CIMB, there will be in lien charges of RM5 per RM1000 Credit Limit pledged. But maybe they treat their Preferred customers differently.
Am not a CIMB Preferred customer myself but i believe it is the same with the likes of HSBC Premier, Citibank Citigold, Standard Chartered Priority where one only has to maintain the Premier/Citigold/Priority status.

MilesAndMore
post Apr 29 2012, 10:24 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Apr 26 2012, 07:19 PM)
Note: sometimes the sites themselves blocks Malaysian cards. HK MRT is one example that comes to mind. Malaysian cards are flagged as high risk.
Yeah. Always have to email to them first before purchasing a ticket through their website. Usually they will open the line for about half an hour only at a specified time.

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 27 2012, 08:14 PM)
Mine is worse. When KFC shifted to the other end of KLCC, for the first few months, they claim "machine ada, signal tak ada".  doh.gif  doh.gif

But my h/p also no signal inside KFC at that time  rolleyes.gif  I think now the signal already covered, but I never eat KFC after that, got cheated of my 5% and KFC customer line says they can't do anything.
We're still stuck with technologies from the last millennium. Shame! I never had to wait once whenever i pay with credit card in South Korea.

MilesAndMore
post May 8 2012, 02:14 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 7 2012, 12:48 PM)
Petrol Pre-Authorisation at Shell pump using Maybabnkard 2 AMEX has  SMS Transaction Alert.
But i never received it. As a matter of fact, i have not been receiving a single sms alert regarding transaction made to my Maybankard for two or three months now...
MilesAndMore
post May 18 2012, 03:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hye @ May 18 2012, 10:11 AM)
In South Korea, there are many examples where signature is not required when the card physical presence is available + EMV. And you'll be surprised signature is not required is some mundane merchant - e.g. 24/7 convenience stores. Not a problem coz a lot of cards in SK is already EMV compliant anyway.
Yeah. And also Coffee Bean. However, at places such as those really big department stores and cosmetics shops, they do need our signature but we sign on an electronic pad, not a printed paper receipt (it's GREEN this way!!!) rclxms.gif

QUOTE(hye @ May 18 2012, 10:11 AM)
Authentication and approval is super fast - fastest to be around 2-3 seconds. 5 seconds consider super slow already.
Very true! thumbup.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jun 1 2012, 06:36 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(carcraze66 @ Jun 1 2012, 05:35 PM)
hi guys, wanna ask those who are using eon or hong leong bank credit card, do you ever encounter before a situation where it sms you and tell you that you have debited an amount from ur account which is actually not a big amount..

this is my case, i use my card to pump petrol and then after around 10 minutes i receive a sms from 66600 saying that my card no. / transaction no. and the petrol station address/name and i had debited RM200 from my account..

the transaction number and the petrol station address is same as the one i visited and same as the transaction number on the receipt.

but the problem is i pump RM20 only...how on earth it debited RM200 which is 10X more...

guys, anyone encounter or using the same card before?

thanks  smile.gif
RM200 is the deposit. Some bank will hold RM250 from your credit card account.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 8 2012, 06:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ Jun 8 2012, 06:28 PM)
I'm aware about that. Just curious why client with over 3K salary and only 20% liability with clean record been declined in his application. Since I’m more interested to HSBC due to its worldwide recognition as I’m often traveling osea on company trip.
Yes. HSBC is a big well known brand but other credit cards issued by other banks have no acceptance issue overseas as long as it bears the VISA or MasterCard logo.

MilesAndMore
post Jun 8 2012, 09:32 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ Jun 8 2012, 06:55 PM)
Yes and No. Visa and Mastercard logo yes is a worldwide standards. But no to some reason. For EG, my colleague went to not so famous country, and try to swap he's Maybank Platinum CC. But the salesman/shop refused to swap the CC, coz he doesnt recognised 'Maybank' eventhough with MASTERCARD and Platinum marks on it. This is additional measurement that includes in my criteria, as my job is not only heading to big country but more focusing to LDP (Least Developed Country).
But the thing is, HSBC is also not present in many much less developed countries. Anyway, mind to tell us in which country they refused to accept your friend's Maybank credit card ?

MilesAndMore
post Jun 10 2012, 09:07 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ Jun 10 2012, 03:55 PM)
Its more to the mentality on the countries visited. Eventhough they dont have HSBC present in their country, but they recognised HSBC, Citibank credit card and Amex type. The said countries such Bhutan and Burkina Faso.
----------------------------
Again, im not here to show off or looking for troubles, just looking for advise and answers if any. Please accept my deepest apologies if my issue lead to any inconvenience caused to you.
Regards
Have you had a credit card before ? I mean as a principal credit card holder. Not having a previous credit card can be the reason why they rejected you. It's just HSBC and they are being cautious. Why not try Citibank or Standard Chartered ? But if you have no previous credit card, then Citibank is going to reject you too. Citibank has this new law of not approving any fresh credit card application from anyone who has no previous credit card.

MilesAndMore
post Jun 15 2012, 12:03 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(j_h0059 @ Jun 14 2012, 09:46 PM)
dear all,

wanna seek for your advice. wanna get a cc, but unsure which one is better...

i'm looking for the best cash rebate plus points, yet annual fee can be easily waived...

income around 24k-30k p annum.

nevertheless i'm an Ambank staff...should i apply for Ambank's or just apply for others???

please help...
You may post your questions here. Thanks.

MilesAndMore
post Jun 21 2012, 12:29 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 21 2012, 12:24 AM)
Bro, posted already about two weeks ago. You were still in MEL then tongue.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jun 21 2012, 06:54 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Jun 21 2012, 03:16 AM)
MAYBE, YES and NO....  hmm.gif
For MY CASE, I apply GOLD CARD (April 2011) at HSBC Am,
I get my 1st credit card  from them with CL 5K...  tongue.gif
Later I transfer my FD 20K from other bank to HSBC,
Believe or not I been upgrated to Platinum Card Holder with CL 13K (April 2012) laugh.gif
Your HSBC credit card card is a HSBC card or HSBC Amanah card ?

MilesAndMore
post Jun 22 2012, 12:53 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(skyther @ Jun 22 2012, 12:37 AM)
Australian banking fees and interest rates are amongst the highest in the world.
Why not get yourself a debit card then ? That should solves your problem of not wanting to bring too much cash around smile.gif

Alternatively, you may want to try applying for a credit card from Standard Chartered...

MilesAndMore
post Jun 22 2012, 01:27 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(skyther @ Jun 22 2012, 01:07 AM)
Debit card is an option I've thought about. However my family is in M'sia and I want a supplementary card for my parents for emergencies and stuff as they are already retired.

Any particular reason to go with Standard Chartered? Thanks for your advice!
'cause it seems they are more lenient. So you may want to try your luck at StanChart.

MilesAndMore
post Jun 22 2012, 09:19 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 22 2012, 08:46 AM)
4. Check out HSBC Advance account when you come back. See if they will issue you the HSBC Advance Platinum Card. Maybe Miles can confirm if the card is issued automatically with opening of a HSBC Advance account. Need to maintain RM20K in account or else there's a monthly fee. However, I am not sure if you can get supp card without a join account.
For HSBC Advance, they still need to see his income documents.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 22 2012, 08:46 AM)
5. If you have RM150K to deposit, go open CIMB Preferred Banking and you'll be issued a credit card automatically or other Privilege/Priority Banking with Alliance and HLB with RM200K. Got more money to deposit, check out Standard Chartered Bank and HSBC. Once again, you need to open the account jointly with your parents to get supp cards.
Need to have RM200k to open a CIMB Preferred Banking account now smile.gif

By the way, about the supplementary card, you are talking about supplementary cards such as Standard Chartered Priority Banking VISA Infinite/HSBC Premier World MasterCard right ? If he joins Standard Chartered Priority Banking or HSBC Premier, then he can just apply for supplementary cards to anyone, even to you and me biggrin.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jun 23 2012, 12:26 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 22 2012, 10:27 AM)
if you are not using the funds for a year or so, then go open an Alliance Bank Privilege Banking or RHB Premier Banking and get their credit card for free.  Advantage is that it will help you built up your credit history here and easier for you in the future get a credit card. Best of all, these banks don't charge you anything if your AUM falls below RM200K and still get to keep your Premier Debit cards and Platinum cards which allows you free entry to KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge and LCCT too smile.gif Click here to read my article on Privilege Priority Premier Banking Accounts and the credit cards issued for FREE.
Wow, they really won't bug you to come up with more funds once your AUM falls below RM200k and no penalty too ?

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 22 2012, 11:56 PM)
I was at Alliance website earlier too but couldnt figure out what does the asterisk stands for. So it is based on tiers. Thanks  smile.gif
• Up to 2.0% cash back* on retail spend

Added on June 23, 2012, 12:05 amJust found the tiering, 2% only start after spending RM2,551 – 5,000  laugh.gif
This card, along with Younique were some of the most popular credit cards back in 2008-2009. Back then Tinkerbell (who has since been promoted to a mod) was very into plastics too biggrin.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jun 23 2012, 11:55 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 23 2012, 09:59 AM)
No, not a single call from Alliance and RHB and it has been more than 9 months since my AUM dropped to below RM200K.
Wow drool.gif

As for penalty, I think only SCB and HLB impose it.
And HSBC too and the penalty no main2 one. RM150/month sweat.gif

In my article Credit Card No.8 Fool at RWF, I mentioned that I went to surrender my RHB Premier Debit Card and cancelled my RHB Plat issued via PB but they told me to keep my cards. It seems RHB systems show my RHB Plat card annual fee waive till 2048!
2048!!! How old are you gonna be then biggrin.gif
MilesAndMore
post Jun 28 2012, 02:48 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Dkck @ Jun 27 2012, 07:46 PM)
Another question,

Which bank nowadays that i can request for credit card without the need of showing income document if i place FD over them?

*If I place 15k FD
None i guess ? Unless you are willing to pledge your 15k FD to apply for a credit card but i don't know any bank still offer this after the new credit card rules came into effect since January this year...

MilesAndMore
post Jul 24 2012, 10:10 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 24 2012, 09:56 PM)
Can we pay Quit Rent (Cukai Tanah) at TMpoint using credit card?
No. I think they only accept credit card for their own bills.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:06 AM