4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

MilesAndMore
post Nov 20 2012, 11:43 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Nov 20 2012, 11:35 PM)
CODE
effective 1 January 2012, transaction alerts via Short Messaging Service (SMS) will be implemented by card issuers for their cardholders after transactions are performed

implemented already this BNM guidelines?
Yes.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 29 2012, 04:50 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(roger_faderar @ Nov 29 2012, 04:40 PM)
Guys, im a student first time use credit card and quite blur.
I use cimb bank credit card, it say my due date is every 16th of the month and bank statement date is on 26th of the month.

So now the prob is due to i forgotten, i missed to pay the minimum payment before the 16th and bank called me to pay before 26th. So i paid the minimum on 24th but when i checked my credit card statemement i got penalty for late payment.

So my question is, whats the point if i pay before the 26th(bank statement date) if end of the day i still got penalty for the late payment?
You were asked to pay before the next statement comes out, but it doesn't mean there is no late payment fee or interest. You did not pay before the due date, that is why you got hit by interest and penalty.

The bottom line is, always pay up before the due date stated on your credit card statement.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 30 2012, 01:05 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(roger_faderar @ Nov 30 2012, 12:25 AM)
Yeah i know lar, but then whats the point asking me to still pay before 26th, i still kena penalty right? Might as well i wait till 16th of next month to pay it, no? Ah confused.
They reserve the rights to terminate your account anytime. Besides, the longer you delay the payment, the more interest you have to pay because interest is charged on a daily basis.

MilesAndMore
post Nov 30 2012, 06:30 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Nov 30 2012, 04:33 PM)
i wonder, if i earn below 3k, currently i got 2 cards, if i were 2 apply another card and balance transfer both card then close the 2 cards, is it workable?
I know based on gov regulation, ppl with less then 3K can only hold 2 cards..
No. You will have to close one of your current credit card account from either bank before you can apply another credit card from another bank.
MilesAndMore
post Dec 19 2012, 09:34 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 19 2012, 09:28 PM)
p.s. Mods - can I start a Thread on Enrich Miles since we are issued an Enrich Card for our account and as one of the Admin label this section - Living on credit? Get the best bang for your buck!
Go ahead nod.gif biggrin.gif

MilesAndMore
post Dec 20 2012, 05:59 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(LeonTan @ Dec 20 2012, 12:57 PM)
Hi everyone,

Doesnt any bank offer CC pledged with fixed deposit for Malaysian?

I went to ask CIMB but CS there said only for non-malaysian

*Just started a company last month and I'm still prefer using CC instead my debit card sad.gif
rjb123 just did it with Maybank. So you can try Maybank. I had a FD pledged credit card from HSBC too about 3-4 years ago but i'm not sure if they still do this now. OCBC used to do this but but someone reported here that OCBC doesn't do this anymore since the new cc rules came into effect.

MilesAndMore
post Jan 9 2013, 02:00 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Lord Elrond @ Jan 9 2013, 01:33 AM)
How soon will the amount of my purchase will be hold once my card is swipe by a merchant?
Practically right away when it is approved by your credit card issuer bank.
MilesAndMore
post Jan 10 2013, 08:05 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(singdreams @ Jan 10 2013, 12:42 PM)
@milesandmore

which bank is easier to get credit card ?

need urgent credit as my personal loan is not approved.

currently i have citibank mc , hsbc visa and mc

3 cards i have .
Most likely you are considered high risk already, that is why your PL was not approved. Getting a credit card is not really hard, provided you are not over exposed.

QUOTE(singdreams @ Jan 10 2013, 01:41 PM)
helping my friend paying his university tuition fees .

yes considered as digging debt hole  sweat.gif
The older you get, you'll realize that it is better not to mix your money with friends. It is totally fine to be big boss and buy them meals once in a while but when it comes to this kind of thing, it is better if you shoo him/her off by telling him/her to go to his/her own family for helps.

MilesAndMore
post Jan 11 2013, 11:42 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(singdreams @ Jan 11 2013, 09:50 AM)
i will need a small portion of money , i had no other options but to apply / increase the credit limit of my card.
i have 3 credits card worth of 10 thousand credit limit, almost all gone burst . Now i'm just paying for the minimum payment every single month  sweat.gif  .I know, just one last time i will help my friend.
- 10k limit
- all credit limit almost all used up
- making only minimum payment every month

You should do yourself a favor and try to clear all your credit card outstanding asap. Perhaps you should be the one to try to borrow money from your parents or siblings and pay them back later. No need to help your friend anymore. You're in a big trouble yourself already.

MilesAndMore
post Jan 25 2013, 11:48 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(shalzkasbsp @ Jan 25 2013, 11:09 PM)
hi guys, just to check... if my billing date starts 06/01 and my 20 day grace period ends on 26/01

do i need to pay off the amount by 1159 pm 25/01 or 1159pm 26/01?
It should be by 26/01, in other word, payment should be made latest on 26/01. However, there are a few things you need to take into account when making a payment, be it through the counter, online transfer from another bank, mail-in cheque, cheque bank-in through cheque deposit machine, through cash deposit machine and so on. It is advisable not to pay your bill too last minute.
MilesAndMore
post Feb 8 2013, 12:59 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 8 2013, 12:09 AM)
I am not one of the fortunate one to hold this card  sad.gif three of you are considered just one elites
Almost all the old regulars here have it smile.gif

QUOTE(zenquix @ Feb 8 2013, 12:22 AM)
that said, have anyone seen gen-x recently?
Last login was more than a month ago. Last time I talked to him was just before the New Year. Anyway, the weird thing is that one of his blogs is gone. Hope all is well sad.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Feb 8 2013, 01:00 AM
MilesAndMore
post Feb 10 2013, 09:03 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 9 2013, 07:11 AM)
As for credit cards, for more than a month I have been using my Maybank Visa Infinite only since I am overseas.
MBB VI is probably the only card that is worth using in overseas now.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 9 2013, 07:11 AM)
and Miles - here is Alliance Bank, Maybank, OCBC and UOB Privilege/Premier Banking Red Packets with my CNY greeting.

Once again Happy Chinese New Year and may you be blessed with abundant fortune, good health and endless happiness.
Thanks for sharing. You didn't forget biggrin.gif

QUOTE(b00n @ Feb 9 2013, 06:03 PM)
If it stated EPP 0% then it is 0%. I.e. Rm100 pver 10 months will be Rm10 each month.

However that being said, pls visit reputable stores. Because some shops selling electronics or handphones usually like to hike up the price like you mentioned by few % because they do not want to absorb the merchant fees. Bear in mind they are not allowed to do that.
My cousin asked me to bring him SenQ to buy a Samsung Note II yesterday afternoon. They do take AMEX there. I was told that they offer 0% instalment in three different tenures; 6-month, 12-month or 24-month. However, if you choose the 12-month or 24-month instalment, there will be an admin fee of RM25 for 12-month and RM85 for 24-month.

Anyway, i paid at one go with my MBB2 AMEX and i just realized that it is over-limit by more than RM1,000 after i charged RM2,099 to the card yesterday. And i'm also kind of surprised that Maybank approved this transaction even though there was less than RM1,000 of credit limit left then. Last time this happened was more than over a year ago but my card was over-limit by only a few hundred Ringgit.

QUOTE(hye @ Feb 10 2013, 03:48 PM)
I'd like to extend my thanks to all your valuable contributions and support to this thread. Hope this forum will continue to contribute positively to all the folks out there. My warm greetings to my fellow mod MilesandMore
Same here bro! biggrin.gif

Happy New Year everyone!!! 發發發啊!!! laugh.gif

MilesAndMore
post Feb 10 2013, 11:24 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Feb 10 2013, 09:31 PM)
happy new year, miles...i just wondering is there any charge from bank if we go over limit? i remembered to read somewhere even they honour the charge, some bank might charge certain amount because of that
Same to you biggrin.gif

Last time they didn't. So i hope there isn't any over-limit fee this time around too. Anyway, the transaction at SenQ yesterday has already been billed into my account (can see it in M2U). So far there is no over-limit fee charged.

MilesAndMore
post Feb 12 2013, 11:18 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Feb 10 2013, 09:03 PM)
My cousin asked me to bring him SenQ to buy a Samsung Note II yesterday afternoon. They do take AMEX there. I was told that they offer 0% instalment in three different tenures; 6-month, 12-month or 24-month. However, if you choose the 12-month or 24-month instalment, there will be an admin fee of RM25 for 12-month and RM85 for 24-month.

Anyway, i paid at one go with my MBB2 AMEX and i just realized that it is over-limit by more than RM1,000 after i charged RM2,099 to the card yesterday. And i'm also kind of surprised that Maybank approved this transaction even though there was less than RM1,000 of credit limit left then. Last time this happened was more than over a year ago but my card was over-limit by only a few hundred Ringgit.
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Feb 10 2013, 11:24 PM)
Same to you  biggrin.gif

Last time they didn't. So i hope there isn't any over-limit fee this time around too. Anyway, the transaction at SenQ yesterday has already been billed into my account (can see it in M2U). So far there is no over-limit fee charged.
I used my AMEX again yesterday and today a few times and surprisingly all transactions went through. Now i am more than RM2,000 over-limit... sweat.gif
MilesAndMore
post Feb 19 2013, 11:30 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 19 2013, 09:46 PM)
Hi guys, I just got back and found out that my UOB and CIMB had outstanding balance and was charge penalty and finance charges  doh.gif But CS say will waive both charges if I pay tomorrow  biggrin.gif I thought I settled in full and even paid extra but I guess I did not, haha.
It happens, especially when you are having so much fun overseas. You loss track of time, well, you forget pretty much everything laugh.gif

Anyway, it shows that it pays to pay your credit card bill full and promptly every time. Else i don't think they will be so nice to waive off all the penalty charge and finance charges for you smile.gif

By the way, now that you're back. It's time that you call your HLB RM to apply for the new Hong Leong Mach VISA biggrin.gif 10% off three pre-selected categories bro thumbup.gif
MilesAndMore
post Mar 7 2013, 01:06 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(rathian_mhfu @ Mar 3 2013, 11:14 PM)
sorry if the question is not appropriate to ask here..
i wanna apply chase bank cc..anyway to apply here in malaysia? i have heard that chase have branch in kl somewhere..
They do have an office in KL but no. You can't apply for a Chase credit card here.

MilesAndMore
post Mar 12 2013, 11:02 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 12 2013, 10:32 PM)
On the subject of Premium/Premier credit cards,

I have just noticed that there's another class above Mastercard World which is the Mastercard World Elite - Link. Check it out to anyone who's curious.
I already know the existence of this card level (MasterCard World Elite) since 5 years ago tongue.gif JP Morgan, the private bank, not its retail mass banking arm Chase, has been issuing MasterCard World Elite for a few years already.

MilesAndMore
post Apr 1 2013, 01:54 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Apr 1 2013, 11:04 AM)
Hi
Im just wondering whether can I call my bank and update my credit limit after I made my payment tru interbank giro?
They will need the IBG to clear before they can update your credit limit. The fastest way is to deposit money directly into your credit card account, be it OTC or via your credit card issuer's CDM.
MilesAndMore
post Apr 9 2013, 12:02 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 9 2013, 10:58 AM)
No news on banks implementing their 10 sen IBG come 2nd May... except OCBC
I suppose mobile banking means IBG done over the ATM ?

QUOTE(htc @ Apr 9 2013, 11:55 AM)
what about atm withdrawals?
No changes to that and existing fee (if applicable) applies. Depending on your account type, some banks provide limited fee free withdrawal at all other banks' ATM every month. For instance, HSBC Premier Account and Citibank Citigold Account.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Apr 9 2013, 12:04 PM
MilesAndMore
post Apr 11 2013, 12:55 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 9 2013, 10:00 PM)
Mobile means via Mobile devices... not ATM is not considered Mobile doh.gif It's off-site
ATM too, is a form of mobile banking besides portable mobile devices, though in this fee revision it may not includes IBG done through ATM. And some ATM are definitely off-site doh.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Apr 11 2013, 12:57 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0476sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:12 PM