192 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Nokia N9 - V03 - [Fluidity King For Nokia], Let~~~ SWIPE~~~ all~~~ the~~~ way~~~

ViRaViRa
post Mar 18 2012, 01:06 AM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 17 2012, 10:55 PM)
You mean Nokia has official drop the price to RM1499?
I am not sure if the official price (RRP) has dropped because the one in Gardens is official Nokia store. The 2nd store in Megamall is also Nokia's official store.

Added on March 18, 2012, 1:12 amMy comparison review - Nokia Lumia 800 vs Nokia N9

This post has been edited by ViRaViRa: Mar 18 2012, 01:12 AM
KennyKB
post Mar 18 2012, 08:55 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Mar 18 2012, 01:06 AM)
I am not sure if the official price (RRP) has dropped because the one in Gardens is official Nokia store. The 2nd store in Megamall is also Nokia's official store.

Added on March 18, 2012, 1:12 amMy comparison review - Nokia Lumia 800 vs Nokia N9
Nice review. But you are mistaken that N9 has no FM radio. N9 has FM radio hardware and there are a few FM radio apps in ovi store. There is also an app where you can use the Volume + button as a a camera button.

N9 now has flashplayer with firefox, something you don't get in Lumia. This opens up a lot of sites with embedded video and other functions like ticket booking. N9 can do video calls, Lumia can't. Calligra to edit MS Office docs is coming to N9 soon.

Another important difference - Nokia Maps has offline navigation for N9 but must be online for Lumia 800. Surprise!

The price of 16GB N9 has dropped to RM1500 if you shop around.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Mar 18 2012, 10:05 AM
ViRaViRa
post Mar 18 2012, 11:55 AM

4,625 posts

Hi. Thanks for your feedback. Below are some responses :

Nice review. But you are mistaken that N9 has no FM radio. N9 has FM radio hardware and there are a few FM radio apps in ovi store. There is also an app where you can use the Volume + button as a a camera button.

I did not say that N9 don't have a radio at all. It was, "I am not sure whether it is hardware related or just a matter of software but previous Maemo phone, Nokia N900 already had the hardware for radio but didn’t have the application. I assume that it is the same case with N9". So based on your explanation, I take it that it has a hardware but doesn't have radio feature out of the box. nod.gif . The radio app in app store is RM4, is that correct?

I am aware of the volume button as camera key app but it will still not be as good as Lumia 800's camera shutter key. This is my personal opinion though. I might block the camera's view or my holding position will not be suitable to take shots without people noticing smile.gif

N9 now has flashplayer with firefox, something you don't get in Lumia. This opens up a lot of sites with embedded video and other functions like ticket booking. N9 can do video calls, Lumia can't. Calligra to edit MS Office docs is coming to N9 soon.

Yes, having a flash player is good. Noted on Calligra to edit MS office docs. Thanks

Another important difference - Nokia Maps has offline navigation for N9 but must be online for Lumia 800. Surprise!
Yes, I am aware of that. However, it is confirmed that Lumia 800 will be having offline navigation too in the next update smile.gif

The price of 16GB N9 has dropped to RM1500 if you shop around.

Yes, I am aware of it and I've posted it here. My benchmark is based on this forum (garage sales) and Nokia official stores. Some official store still set the RRP at RM1799. Even in garage sale, I see most of them selling for RM17XX. Only 1 person (I mean seller) who is selling for RM1560 (X123456). I am not able to use normal shops to check the prices because most of them say "original" and give me an AP set.

KennyKB
post Mar 18 2012, 12:45 PM

1,765 posts

N9 did not have an FM Radio app when it was first released. There are a few now. Those who want a free one can try QML Radio.

The location of the Volume+ button as camera key is not ideal but workable. It shows the sort of hacks you can do with MeeGo which are out of bound to WP7 as a totally closed OS.

Next update for offline navigation is not good enough. Users do not like to wait a long time for something they can already get from the competition.

Microsoft seems to have made some basic mistakes in WP7.5. There is only one master volume control so turning down your music volume also turns down your ring volume. Wifi connection will cut off when it goes to lockscreen so any background updates will use 3G if available or no updates. You also can't save draft sms messages.

The N9 like all Nokia Symbian phones have alarms which work even if the phone is off. Lumia is step backwards here.

One more thing, ICS is being ported to N9. It is already bootable and developers are making services and sensors work on it. This will be a game changer.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Mar 18 2012, 06:58 PM
eaglehelang
post Mar 18 2012, 05:26 PM

1,075 posts

Kenny, that FM Radio app, does it work well? Can get Msia radio stations if use headphones as antenna, same as Nokia Symbian phones?

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Mar 18 2012, 05:26 PM
KennyKB
post Mar 18 2012, 05:49 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Mar 18 2012, 05:26 PM)
Kenny, that FM Radio app, does it work well? Can get Msia radio stations if use headphones as antenna, same as Nokia Symbian phones?
Sure, it works with Malaysian radio stations.
Delta_gate
post Mar 18 2012, 06:12 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 18 2012, 05:49 PM)
Sure, it works with Malaysian radio stations.
Hey bro i tried the fm radio app at ovi store by Andrey works fantastic just 4 ringgit

GravityFi3ld
post Mar 18 2012, 11:08 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 17 2012, 10:55 PM)
You mean Nokia has official drop the price to RM1499?
Was at Curve few hours back..and yeap, N9 16GB confirm 1,499 and 64GB 1,699 smile.gif
KennyKB
post Mar 19 2012, 12:12 AM

1,765 posts

News on Whatsapp development from the developer.
Link: http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=82384&page=25

tgalal

03-17-12 , 10:17 PM
Posts: 98 | Thanked: 368 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Egypt, Cairo

Report This | #244
First of all I would like to thank everyone offering to translate. When I come to the point of adding translations I would definitely refer to these posts. And in addition to those translations offered, I would do Arabic translations myself

As for the current progress, I did say a usable version would be ready last week, but I never said it would be released tongue.gif Because a usable version does not necessarily pack essential features for a public release. For instance, I wouldn't release a usable version without message notifications

I understand many people are eagerly waiting for using whatsapp on their N9/N900 (including me), and I'm doing my best to deliver that project. But as many people realize here I'm only doing this in my free time; which unfortunately is not full time at the moment.

So, this is my aimed list of features for the first public release:

* Message delivery indicators
* Chat logging
* Editing Status
* Only 1 to 1 Conversations
* Contacts sync
* Integration with Accounts manager
* Integration with Meego's notifications
* Running the app in background

As for whether the project is going to be opensource or not. It is going to be opensource when the first release goes out, except for registration code.

So the big question: "When is this going to be". I'll see how the progress goes this weekend and will tell you on Monday.
drexar
post Mar 19 2012, 09:14 AM

Drexar21.my
718 posts

QUOTE(Delta_gate @ Mar 18 2012, 06:12 PM)
Hey bro i tried the fm radio app at ovi store by Andrey works fantastic just 4 ringgit
Is it loud and clear?
Delta_gate
post Mar 19 2012, 09:30 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(drexar @ Mar 19 2012, 09:14 AM)
Is it loud and clear?
Yup Loud and clear, you need to plug in the ear piece to act as antenna very nice console giving t retro feel.
arsaa
post Mar 19 2012, 09:31 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Mar 16 2012, 06:11 PM)
Enjoying selling it, i see...

NOT BAD
seriously....i don't see the point of your sentiment....so i'll just ignore you. tq!
tonberry_ax
post Mar 19 2012, 09:54 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(arsaa @ Mar 19 2012, 09:31 AM)
seriously....i don't see the point of your sentiment....so i'll just ignore you. tq!
Why so serious? How much u selling ur 64GB N9?
Andy214
post Mar 19 2012, 10:56 AM

3,308 posts

Fluid and smoothness; This part, it depends how you judge.
If we only see the surface and cover, yes; Windows Phone OS is more fluid.
But for those smartphones users especially for more technical users, we should understand its not as simple as that. Just like iOS, it's fluid because? Similar like Windows Phone, the OS is simple and very controlled, there is little service running.
For other smartphone OS, especially a true mobile computer OS, it will not be as simple as that, it's not just a mobile phone that only runs mobile phone services, it has other OS related services and other features provided for users. It up to the user how they wish to customize or they wish to make it simple.
BUT if leaving no options for user, that is a nono.

For the UI part, as I mention above, they can make it simple, but doesn't mean they have to remove what it can do.
Example:
Don't like widgets? Don't use
Don't like homescreen? Make option to turn it off, only only 1 main screen like Lumia.
So, with OPTIONS (or CHOICE), it's up to the user, they can CHOOSE between SIMPLE or COMPLEX.
BUT Windows Phone OS? Sorry, no OPTIONS or CHOICE.

By the way, I did met some hiccups on the Lumia too, so does the person who were passed on to review.
Sometimes, the black screen turns white too; but nothing serious.

For the restrictions on ZUne and bluetooth file transfer; While I agree people have no problems with iPhone, it doesn't mean there's no reason to dislike Windows Phone OS (Not Lumia or Nokia).
In my perspective, it doesn't matter if some people have no issue with the restrictions or limitations, if it's not a good thing, we need to highlight and keep feedback to Microsoft, they need to remove this restrictions and limitations. If we just accept, then we're no different that those hardcore blinded Apple fans.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Mar 19 2012, 10:57 AM
KennyKB
post Mar 19 2012, 11:12 AM

1,765 posts

For camera buffs, Fcam with HDR is coming to N9. Don't know what it means, maybe sifu Andy or sifu Aspire can explain.

Andy214
post Mar 19 2012, 11:41 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 19 2012, 11:12 AM)
For camera buffs, Fcam with HDR is coming to N9. Don't know what it means, maybe sifu Andy or sifu Aspire can explain.
Is it the full FCam?

Basically, FCam is a very powerful library for camera app, on the default FCam app, you can get manual controls like shutter speed, ISO (even above what's provided in the default, like if not wrong, there is 6400 ISO for Nokia N900, of course the quality is another story; and on Nokia N900, it allows shutter speed up to 1 second exposure).
The default FCam app is very interesting and nice to use, in N900 forum, you can see there're few DSLR users who are very impressed and enjoyed using it. It also adds vignett effects sometimes which makes it nice and the photos taken with FCam is usually way better than the default N900 camera app.
With the library, developer can develop camera app for it, such as HDR and LowLight in N900.
HDR basically does HDR, I've used it few times and loving it. I'm not talking about those over-doing HDR, I'm talking about proper HDR as in getting what we see with our eyes (e.g. Person standing in front of windows, camera usually only able to expose either the window or the person, but our eyes can see both). Many people usually mistaken HDR with those "artistic" type which is over-doing and different. I prefer the HDR which achieve high dynamic range, which camera cannot do but our eyes can.
LowLight is another app which works something like HDR (basically, it merge 2 photos) to get a better low light photo.

OK, I'm not really good in explaining, best to read it here, you can also see the HDR as what I mention, not those "artistic" HDR.
http://conversations.nokia.com/2010/07/27/...light-examples/

KennyKB
post Mar 19 2012, 11:55 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 19 2012, 11:41 AM)
Is it the full FCam?
I wouldn't know head or tail. The Fcam library is already available for MeeGo-Harmattan developers here:
http://harmattan-dev.nokia.com/docs/librar...main.html?tab=1
ViRaViRa
post Mar 19 2012, 12:00 PM

4,625 posts

Fluid and smoothness; This part, it depends how you judge.
If we only see the surface and cover, yes; Windows Phone OS is more fluid.
But for those smartphones users especially for more technical users, we should understand its not as simple as that. Just like iOS, it's fluid because? Similar like Windows Phone, the OS is simple and very controlled, there is little service running.
For other smartphone OS, especially a true mobile computer OS, it will not be as simple as that, it's not just a mobile phone that only runs mobile phone services, it has other OS related services and other features provided for users. It up to the user how they wish to customize or they wish to make it simple.
BUT if leaving no options for user, that is a nono.

Erm, I don't understand this part. Fluid depending on how you judge? Question - Is WP7 more fluid than others? Yes or no...just ONE answer. Anwsers such as, "it is not fluid because this and that" is a totally another story. Users always have options - to use WP7 phone or use other phone. I always have a choice there. Just because WP7 phone @ Lumia 800 is not customizable, it doesn't mean the end of world. There are some reasons for Microsoft to make it such way...and again, I disagree that we are left with no choice if you look at the overall picture.

For the UI part, as I mention above, they can make it simple, but doesn't mean they have to remove what it can do.
Example:
Don't like widgets? Don't use
Don't like homescreen? Make option to turn it off, only only 1 main screen like Lumia.
So, with OPTIONS (or CHOICE), it's up to the user, they can CHOOSE between SIMPLE or COMPLEX.
BUT Windows Phone OS? Sorry, no OPTIONS or CHOICE.

If their intention is to make it simple, which is their priority, then why do they have to give you option to use widgets and homescreen? Obviously those things will make your phone slow and Microsoft don't want it. So I don't see a problem to disable those stuff.

By the way, I did met some hiccups on the Lumia too, so does the person who were passed on to review.
Sometimes, the black screen turns white too; but nothing serious.

As much as any other phones that you have used? My N9 had more hiccups than the Lumia. And, as for the white screen, I don't have that problem. Phone related?

For the restrictions on ZUne and bluetooth file transfer; While I agree people have no problems with iPhone, it doesn't mean there's no reason to dislike Windows Phone OS (Not Lumia or Nokia).
In my perspective, it doesn't matter if some people have no issue with the restrictions or limitations, if it's not a good thing, we need to highlight and keep feedback to Microsoft, they need to remove this restrictions and limitations. If we just accept, then we're no different that those hardcore blinded Apple fans.

As much as we are not happy about it, I can't say that others may not like it too. That is why I relate it with iOS. I admit, I don't like the feel of not being able to transfer files via bluetooth and there is no mass storage. But when I pass it to some of my friends, they are happy because it can do all that they need. So obviously they don't need the bluetooth and file transfer thing. Why would these people complain then?

Same like iPhone. Most of my friend who are using an iPhone, use it to make calls and send smses. Some may browse websites. That's all. They don't use bluetooth etc and they don't complain. When I give an Android phone, they just don't like it. It is buggy, slow and annoying. Do you see that reaction?\

Yes, we can give our feedback to Nokia/Microsoft but if we don't, it doesn't mean that we accept it as how it is and we are the same with Apple fanboys because as I've said above:
1) you have a choice
2) Microsoft may have a reason to make it such way.

Also, basic law of nature applies here - you can't satisfy everyone smile.gif
Andy214
post Mar 19 2012, 01:01 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Mar 19 2012, 12:00 PM)
Erm, I don't understand this part. Fluid depending on how you judge? Question - Is WP7 more fluid than others? Yes or no...just ONE answer. Anwsers such as, "it is not fluid because this and that" is a totally another story. Users always have options - to use WP7 phone or use other phone. I always have a choice there. Just because WP7 phone @ Lumia 800 is not customizable, it doesn't mean the end of world. There are some reasons for Microsoft to make it such way...and again, I disagree that we are left with no choice if you look at the overall picture.
If their intention is to make it simple, which is their priority, then why do they have to give you option to use widgets and homescreen? Obviously those things will make your phone slow and Microsoft don't want it. So I don't see a problem to disable those stuff.
If we judge by COVER or SURFACE --> the answer above is YES.

If we use above SIMPLE answer and judge everytime, then what for develop a powerful customizable and flexible OS? Just make it simple and ensure everything running smoothly.
The key here is to make something that is powerful, customizable and flexible, smooth and reliable. Not drop everything and make it simple to achieve the smoothness and fluidity.

A DSLR is very powerful camera, does it it, in order to make it easy for people to use, it must remove all it's capabilities? NO.
Every PROPER DESKTOP OS outthere, even MacOS, they're all capable and powerful OS, they improve and make it better everytime, but does it mean it need to make it simple and remove everything? NO
Photoshop is a very powerful and complex tool, they constantly improves and make it easier for newbie to pickup and use, improve the performance, make it smoother and faster, add in new processing engine, simplifies some feature, but does it need to remove it's capabilities? NO.

Thanks to Apple's iOS, people tend to overlook this. iOS is not a mobile version of MacOS; It's actually an OS used by the iPod Touch, the media player. Hence, why it's smooth and simple.
Instead of developing a mobile version of MacOS for smartphone, they simply use the iPod Touch.
Similarly, Windows Phone OS is no longer the original Windows Mobile which is mobile version of Windows. It more like taking the Zune player and make it into a phone like what Apple did.

With a smarpthone, it's like your computer. IF you add in customizations, widgets, install services, install this and that, runs services, then the performance of your device will be affected.
As with N9, in default factory mode, it's very smooth and hardly have any issue. But it provides many services that is always running with it's TRUE multi-tasking nature.

I didn't disagree the Windows Phone OS is smooth, just that, it cannot directly be compared to N9 as it's like something that is solely built for performance only, while N9 is for performance, flexibility and power.
Think of it as, a car built solely for SAVING FUEL, and another sports car with high power, yet easy on the fuel and nice and good handling. If we compare which car saves more fuel, it's not really fair as one of the car is solely built for saving fuel and sacrifices everything else.
If we look at the COVER or SURFACE, it's means comparing these car without knowing the details. Surely and no doubt, Windows Phone will performs smoother, there's no need to even run any test. Based on it's nature, I don't even need to test it to know.

I didn't say end of the world? Make it such way? The problem is, they DON'T have to make it such way.

I'm a software developer, I understand very well about software. No such thing a make it simple and remove everything. That in simple words, is to control, cheat and limit what user can do. What they're doing now is no different than what Apple is doing. There're many types of user, are they only targeting certain specific user?
I'm a long term user of Microsoft and also using their development products and also attended their course, they have never thought or recommendeds things like restrict or limit or control, it's always about flexibility, provide options, customization. This current Windows Phone OS is way off Microsoft's route.

What they do here is NOT disable, is completely removed. Disable is ok, but NOT removed. As I mentioned, they can make the default mode as disabled. For users who wish to have this feature, they can turn it on at their own risk and understand that it may affect the performance. Just like Flash, you can turn it off. JavaScript? You can turn it off. It's also a nature of Microsoft to allow such options. But Windows Phone OS? Sorry, so NOT Microsoft.

As I said, if we just agree with what they did, then they will continue with it since nobody or little people is complaining.

Some people may don't care about the widgets, homescreen, wallpapers, etc. BUT, we should always consider different types of user NOT forced them to accept and use, especially from GOT become NONE.

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Mar 19 2012, 12:00 PM)
As much as any other phones that you have used? My N9 had more hiccups than the Lumia. And, as for the white screen, I don't have that problem. Phone related?
As much as we are not happy about it, I can't say that others may not like it too. That is why I relate it with iOS. I admit, I don't like the feel of not being able to transfer files via bluetooth and there is no mass storage. But when I pass it to some of my friends, they are happy because it can do all that they need. So obviously they don't need the bluetooth and file transfer thing. Why would these people complain then?

Same like iPhone. Most of my friend who are using an iPhone, use it to make calls and send smses. Some may browse websites. That's all. They don't use bluetooth etc and they don't complain. When I give an Android phone, they just don't like it. It is buggy, slow and annoying. Do you see that reaction?\
Maybe only your friends have no problem. All of my friend, young to old, have problems with it. Just a simple example: My uncle don't really use computer, you expect him to use Zune? He's using N8 and usually using high end Nokia devices. He transfer photos to friends/colleagues using bluetooth.
How can one remove the most commonly used transfer method and WANTS everybody to accept it?

Yes, no doubt, some poeple have no issue, but are you saying we should just accept and push forward this? Or should we tell Microsoft, they should consider and provide this feature?

For me, I don't support any brands, if it's not good, then it's not good, I will tell out.
Even if I have no problems with some limitations, I think about others and other possibilities as much as possible.
There're many different users, you never know what missing feature or limitations can change their mind.

If we want the product to be successful, it's not forcing people to like it, it's to try pass the message to the manufacturer so they know and understand. With big companys with multi-level, somethings, they don't even see the small little things that matters.
If the reviewers or bloggers is saying "nice things" or how others can accept it with iPhone, it gives the wrong impressions that this is OK and we should just accept it.
Just imagine those political people on top, how they judge things and make decisions.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Mar 19 2012, 01:02 PM
eaglehelang
post Mar 19 2012, 01:20 PM

1,075 posts

Because windows phone is supposed to replace Symbian in future. These nokia users who are used to having SD card, usb mass storage, bluetooth. Those who did not jump to iphone, due to the restrictions. Those who will most likely jump to android if Microsoft keeps with tbe restrictions.
That is why we want to highlight to Nokia/Elop, Microsoft. If not, nokia will become MicroNokia and all the remaining loyal users cabut. Iphone users wouldnt care, they just continue using iphone

192 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:32 AM