29 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

[Power Tool] Screw driving, Tool for driving screw, nut and bolt....

TSbahathir
post May 14 2012, 10:48 AM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(Mike Echo @ May 11 2012, 09:24 PM)

I've just read this thread because I wanted to read what people thought about Makita TD0101F impact drivers - Thanks to bahathir for the fantastic videos.

What's interesting is I am in Brisbane, Australia, and yesterday purchased mine from Bunnings! I paid $100AUD, which is about 300 Malaysian ringgit. Is that cheap?

I'm in a generous mood this evening, so if someone sees something (ideally not in a huge box!) from Bunnings I can see how much it will cost for me to buy it locally and send it overseas marked "gift" (and get paid by Paypal or something).
Hi, and welcome to lowyat.net.

Thanks for visiting this thread and, purchased the CORDED impact driver. Yeah, it is very basic, but, it fulfilled most of my needs in DIY, home fixing and PC repairing. smile.gif You may broke several screws or even screw driver bits, but, your finger will know how much to pull the trigger, especially when using it for PC reparing. I am planning to make a video, using the impact driver to unscrew/screw an electronic appliance, to demonstrate it is possible to use the impact driver for a delicate work, which already available in more advanced cordless impac driver which costs 3-10x of the this basic corded impact driver.

IMHO, better get the power tools locally. It will be handy especially dring warranty claim. FYI, the cheapest price for the Makita TD0101F is MYR248, which was on special deal during the Makita power tool's road show, few weeks ago at Kepong. You always can try Internet shooping and find deals in your country. Or, you can call authorized distributor and asked for the nearest dealers around you, and shop around to get the better deal.

Hope you can share with us your opinions/reviews on the impact driver. smile.gif

Good luck and thank you.

uchi78
post May 14 2012, 12:22 PM

13 posts

all drill specialist,

i Would like to get an impact drill.

which is better between Borch and Makita?

Any shop in JB for recommendation for best price?

Eng_Tat
post May 14 2012, 12:31 PM

2,215 posts

what is your budget bro for the drill? few post back i did mention places that can be bought. which area are you in??? smile.gif

QUOTE(uchi78 @ May 14 2012, 12:22 PM)
all drill specialist,

i Would like to get an impact drill.

which is better between Borch and Makita?

Any shop in JB for recommendation for best price?

uchi78
post May 14 2012, 05:37 PM

13 posts

I staying in AUstin Perdana.

Just need the drill for simple task to hang some decoration. Think the normal drill will do. Seldom use.

any recommendation on the brand and model.

This post has been edited by uchi78: May 14 2012, 05:38 PM
JinXXX
post May 14 2012, 07:56 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(uchi78 @ May 14 2012, 05:37 PM)
I staying in AUstin Perdana.

Just need the drill for simple task to hang some decoration. Think the normal drill will do. Seldom use.

any recommendation on the brand and model.
check out our sister thread about drills.. this one is about screw drivers... tongue.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2051914&hl=drill

This post has been edited by JinXXX: May 14 2012, 07:57 PM
TSbahathir
post May 15 2012, 09:19 AM

1,200 posts

Yes, there is a dedicated thread for masonry/concrete/wall drilling which JinXXX mentioned.

Any percussion/impact drill may usable for drilling into wall, and you may suffer a bit if it hit concrete slab, such as, concrete ceiling or beam on the top of the windows. Also, the drill bit is easy wear out. You can find cheap MYR100 or less impact drill, but I always prefer rotary hammer, even a cheap well made Chima rotary hammer, which is around MYR200. If you want the lightest and smallest rotary hammer, Makita HR1830 is my choice, cost around MYR400. Our LYN DIYers prefers Makita 2470, Bosch GBH 2-24 or 2-26.. smile.gif Yeah, go ahead to the thread and hope you can find something useful. smile.gif
Oya, Bosch or Makita? Yeah... up to you.. Both have great products. I picked Makita for price/performance.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by bahathir: May 15 2012, 09:24 AM
uchi78
post May 16 2012, 08:26 AM

13 posts

Thanks for the advice.

Any shop at JB i can get best price if i wan to get a Makita HR 1830?

tyja
post May 17 2012, 08:31 AM

-I Just Want To Share-
913 posts

QUOTE(uchi78 @ May 16 2012, 08:26 AM)
Thanks for the advice.

Any shop at JB i can get best price if i wan to get a Makita HR 1830?
uchi78, i saw there is one shop that sell makita product. at mcd tebrau (near carefour). there's a shop lot there. i cant remember the shop name. and the other one is at taman tasek, oxygen state.
JinXXX
post May 17 2012, 10:10 AM

2,516 posts

finally something to share..

my new toy smile.gif

didn't know the power of impact driver at 90Nm is damn alot... smile.gif

special thanks to a forummer, who help me with my procurement smile.gif

This post has been edited by JinXXX: May 17 2012, 10:10 AM
tomjason
post May 17 2012, 11:00 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ May 17 2012, 10:10 AM)

my new toy smile.gif

hi Jixxx,

wauuu....very jerlous biggrin.gif .......how much it cost you and where you bought it?..

TQ

This post has been edited by tomjason: May 17 2012, 11:01 AM
ozak
post May 17 2012, 11:50 AM

17,018 posts

my new toy smile.gif

Wuh! Finally. ha...... I bet you won't use it. Look like Limited Edition Set. biggrin.gif

Get a tool waist bag and can carry like a gun. thumbup.gif
TSbahathir
post May 17 2012, 02:42 PM

1,200 posts

my new toy smile.gif

Congratulation... smile.gif You got the LCT302W, which include TD090WDE impact driver and DF030W drill driver. Nice.. nice.. smile.gif
In impact driver's world, 90Nm is at middle, where the lower torque about 10-20Nm (Makita Penpact or TD020); and 140Nm-170Nm is at the higher torque (BTD144 or TD147). It is not about the torque, but how the impact driver utilize the impact mechanism to transfer all the torque to drive screws/bolts efficiently., as I demonstrated driving screw using impact driver and rotary hammer (substitution of the driil driver). The impact driver also dramatically reducing the hand twisting especially at higher torque, and we able to drive long screws very comfortably and accuratel y without damaging the screws or screw driver bit.

Enjoy you new toys and good luck. smile.gif

Thank you.

This post has been edited by bahathir: May 17 2012, 02:43 PM
tyja
post May 17 2012, 04:23 PM

-I Just Want To Share-
913 posts

my new toy smile.gif

wahhhh...i ask around...still no luck. mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
you already have one...
all forumer, lets rompak JinXXX's new toys. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

JinXXX
post May 17 2012, 11:14 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ May 17 2012, 11:00 AM)
hi Jixxx,
wauuu....very jerlous biggrin.gif .......how much it cost you and where you bought it?..
TQ
got it from amazon us .. smile.gif just search LCT302W in amazon us

QUOTE(ozak @ May 17 2012, 11:50 AM)
Get a tool waist bag and can carry like a gun. thumbup.gif
like cowboy.. smile.gif

QUOTE(bahathir @ May 17 2012, 02:42 PM)
Enjoy you new toys and good luck. smile.gif
will test it fully when i install my rain gutter

QUOTE(tyja @ May 17 2012, 04:23 PM)
wahhhh...i ask around...still no luck. mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
you already have one...
all forumer, lets rompak JinXXX's new toys. tongue.gif 
no luck ? meaning ? either u want it or not only the price for the impact driver + 2batt is MYR 450 that one cannot run..

totally_skint
post May 19 2012, 12:20 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ May 17 2012, 11:14 PM)
got it from amazon us .. smile.gif just search LCT302W in amazon us
How much was the shipping and how was your experience with shipping?
JinXXX
post May 19 2012, 12:22 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ May 19 2012, 12:20 PM)
How much was the shipping and how was your experience with shipping?
a forummer helped me get it smile.gif the shipping well shipping lo ... not as cheap as i wished it to be.. but then

sometimes u just really need to spend on some tools that you really want smile.gif
TSbahathir
post May 19 2012, 03:20 PM

1,200 posts

My estimation is around MYR 1k smile.gif
JinXXX
post May 19 2012, 03:38 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ May 19 2012, 03:20 PM)
My estimation is around MYR 1k smile.gif
for the set ? nope its less than that cause i bought extra 2 stuff.. but those werent that expensive la
TSbahathir
post May 19 2012, 04:03 PM

1,200 posts

Yeah, so it is an awesome deal. Great, but, money doesn't matter much if you are happy smile.gif

This post has been edited by bahathir: May 19 2012, 06:33 PM
TSbahathir
post May 19 2012, 06:34 PM

1,200 posts

As I said earlier, I just published a YouTube video demonstrating using impact driver to screw and unscrew an electronic appliance. smile.gif

Makita TD0101F impact driver has 100Nm of torque. The torque is enough to break 'high quality' screwdriver bit. In my case, this impact driver had broke two 100mm Vanadium Chrome Steel Phillips #2 screw driver bit, and one of it is is the 'ICEBIT'. smile.gif It also can drive 5" lag bolt into wood without any stress. It seem that, these kind of power seem to be useless for PC repairing which only needs small torque to tighten the screw without damaging the thread. In this clip, I am using Makita's torsion screw driver bit, which is an excellent, tough and durable bit. smile.gif

I demonstrated the impact driver can be used to screw/unscrew an electronic appliance, in this case, my 20 years old digital audio effector, Sony DPS M7. I have open it up for several times for tweaking and replacing CMOS battery.

Scene 1: Unscrew and screw.
This impact driver does NOT have electric auto-brake, the mechanism which stops the spindle to spin as soon as the trigger being released. so, the spindle keep spinning due to the inertia. I let inertia to tighten the screw until it stop. Usually it stopped after 2-4 clicks of impact, which IMHO, gives a good tighten torque.

Scene 2: Close up.
Notice the screw's head. Very little damages, after the years..., which most of the time, I was using a normal Phillips screw driver.

Enjoy.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by bahathir: May 19 2012, 07:03 PM

29 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:02 PM