Renovation Secret & Tips Revealed, Secret&Tips contractor wont tell you

efy6kvl
post Oct 12 2015, 11:44 PM

136 posts

Can all the sifu-s provide labour cost estimation (exclude material cost) for the following:
1. construct brick wall (2 x 31 ft) with 5' height. I am planning to put in hollow stainless steel tube in between the walls.
The total area of brick wall should be around 220 sqft.

2. Clean the garden (total area = 300 sqft) and dig the ground under.
Lay batu concrete and pasir kasar and install interlocking paver.

3. hack off the existing door frame (glass door) and install a new door frame (for solid wood door).

4. Install polycarbonate at the ground floor roof. Size = 11' x 1.5' and 4' x 7'.

5. Install a small roof (roof tile) near the second floor window. The width should be around 5'.

Location is USJ.

Pucca&Garu
post Oct 13 2015, 09:35 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(GHOSTVIC @ Jun 8 2015, 03:57 AM)
hello brothers good day.. While i was looking for some tips on renovation i dropped by here and was reading all the posting and quite interesting.

Hi TOMJASON , appreciate your work and sharing. Hope you can share the formula that what everyone looking for with me as well.. since i am now in renovation idea.

So my main purpose is renovation & little designing

-re-roofing and waterproofing
-concrete leaking waterproofing
-wall crack fixing
-toilets modification and water proofing
-plumbing
-electric rewiring and lighting
-plaster ceiling
-tiling
-window framing
-interior designing rooms, study rooms, living hall, dining, kitchen

Already consulted 3 contractors visited my premise and waiting for quotation from them. All 3 Chinese ( 2 of them contractors 1 is designer who has contractor). 1 already sent quotation just for roofing, the designer fella probably he could have consulted his own contractor.

[attachmentid=4477285]
Current roofing style (timber crossing with tiles) already 20 years old and many leakage issues also from concrete. So i planned to completely change the design and interested on metal/steel truss roofing system with metal roofing/ PU FOAM roofing which good for heat insulation and noise reduction. If i am using tiles on the steel truss then planning to cover with aluminium bubble foil.

Since i am changing the roof design, which is different from original. I think i need engineer drawing for DBKL approval. I also find out some companies offering this metal truss roofing services, also have engineering services to design the truss based on roofing design..

TOMJASON , bro i see you have applied metal truss system and who installed that steels ? Ordinary contractors or steel providers ? Ordinary workers know how to install ? How they get the design from ?

OK, so the designer who gave me quotation just for ROOFING work about  48k total.

For Supply & construct metal roofing & steel support at roof top is 40k, so i throw him some question how he quoted the price, based on what type of roofing, what about design drawing of architect / engineer for approval. i even send him some pics on the type of roofs. Pending his reply.

Other 2 contractors still no quotation yet. I am looking for trustworthy and quality workmanship.
i have sent samples below to all those contractors at least to give them some ideas what i am looking for.

sorry for your loss bro TOMJASON.
Lots of Indonesian and Vietnamese freelance contractors but not very comfortable to handover them the job, fear of quality and cheating.

Any brothers, would like to recommend me trustworthy and quality workmanship contractors most welcomed
[attachmentid=4477309][attachmentid=4477310] [attachmentid=4477311][attachmentid=4477312] [attachmentid=4477313]
Hi Bro,

I m replying this because I just came through what bro tomjason shared about the light weight steel roof truss. Since this thread is so call a Renovation Secret & Tips Revealed, so I would like to give the correct information to all.

1.Design
Steel roof truss have to be designed by engineering software, according to the roof dimension, shape, roofing material, ceiling services, m&e loadings etc, to determine the size of truss, anchor bolts, fasteners to be applied. The most important of light weight steel truss is the truss connections details, which is the numbers of fasteners/screws to be applied. For an engineer, there are no such a minimum of 3 fasteners/screws per joint. This Myth is from the truss installer based on their 'experience' and most of them have been brainwash that 3 fasteners is the minimum along the years. If you engage with this kind of 'experience' installer, then you have to becareful that you might put yourself under high risk roof.

2.Material

Material Galvanised Steel (GI) AluZinc Zincalume (Blue Color/ White Color)

Yield Strength 345Mpa up to 550Mpa min 550Mpa

Coating Zinc coated Aluminium/Zinc Coated Aluminium Zinc Coated

Thickness 0.48 - 1.0mm 0.48mm - 1.0mm 0.48mm-1.0mm

From the chart about you can easily know that AluZinc/ Zincalume Steel performance is better than the Galvanised Steel not only strength but also the corrosive protection.

3. Noise from the Joint.

All the roof truss is designed to move (pin connection), this is to counter the wind load or lateral force. Changing of temperature will also cause the truss expansion or contraction. Definitely there are many ways to overcome the noise, fibreglass insulation for the ceilings, bracing for the structure etc.

I hope this will help all the forumer and do always remember that experience truss installers can carry out a good installation works but not design the roof truss base on their experience.

ck2chan
post Feb 28 2016, 12:35 AM

2,144 posts

My sifu want me make a wall partition for praying altar. Where can get it done? Any pic to share?
4ft x 8 ft.
TStomjason
post Mar 2 2016, 08:12 AM

866 posts

hi,

Who want any renovation advise, u can PM me.

TQ
rjongks
post Mar 3 2016, 02:01 PM

73 posts

Hi Tom Jason, if u dun mind can you share with me the calculation formula.. tq
yen_ssy
post May 3 2016, 09:03 PM

Hi, can I have the formula please if you are still maintaining it?

Thanks in advance.
Mohd Rozaain
post May 3 2016, 09:34 PM

hi all, if all of you need to tint your window, we can provide free on site quotation. USA window film. If you interested to DIY install, also can PM me. Give me the measurement of your window, tint specs and also colour.
tangenttheta
post May 15 2016, 10:29 PM

62 posts

(Advice needed)

Hi, newbie here.
my parents wanted to renovate our house and found a contractor contact from a magazine (more like a pamphlet), his name is Wilson.

This Mr Wilson is based in Seremban and my house is in Serdang. He claimed that he had did quite a lot of construction and had a construction company.

My house was 22x70 sq ft. The renovation that we planned to make was
1. Extend both ground and 1st floor to the end
2. extend the front living room 5sqft forward
3. make some partition by building walls
4. repair the roof which was always leaking
5. change the floor tile with 2x2
6. painting and wiring

He promised us that it will be done within 6 months and until now he had just came for around 5 times.
1st time is when coming to make quotation,
2nd time is to clean the roof
3rd time is to continue cleaning the roof,
4th time is to clean the parking lot cement
and 5th time is to continue cleaning the cement.

He gave us alot of excuses that he got dfficulty in getting permission to proceed from the local authority, although he gave us a floor plan, but the plan is in wrong format.
When i asked him why is it takes so long time and what can i do, i ended up get scold from him and he even asked us to go to the MP to get approval. When we asked from the floorplan from him, he said it was his company's property and dont want to let us have it.

So no choice, he had wasted around half year basically doing nothing for us, so we had decided to go to MPSJ ourself. At that time we found out that the floorplan he did was in wrong format,and the officer incharge was very effecient. The following few days they already follow up and send an architect to draw a plan for us.
So the question is, is this contractor im hiring is a reliable one? He had FFK us most of the time, and asked for money a few times (about 50k from total 130k his estimation eventhough seems like no progress at all).

So a few opinion i need from all the sifu's here.
1. Do i need to wait for him to continue after got the plan and approval from MPSJ or i should hire another contractor/ ID instead?
2. Do anyone have any contact of contractor/ internal design based in Serdang/ Kajang/ Putrajaya with good reputation/labour/ efficiency with reasonable cost?
zenix
post May 16 2016, 10:48 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(tangenttheta @ May 15 2016, 10:29 PM)
look around your area anyone doing major reno.
you can talk to the owner and contractor.

1. better as that contractor already in your area and people knows how to settle your area's bandaraya.
2. get comments on the owner to see if the contractor is honorable and QC the work done.
3. if only the labourers on-site just get the contact of the boss from the house owner.
4. if it is major reno i don't recommend you pinch the contractor's laborers to do it for you cheaper - but if it is for something things like tiles and painting then should be ok.
alchmiya
post May 16 2016, 12:23 PM

288 posts

Anybody with experience renovating a standard 22 x 75 single storey to double storey? Mind sharing what is the minimum cost for that assuming it is not a very elaborate renovation with superb ID or anything?
tangenttheta
post May 16 2016, 05:55 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ May 16 2016, 10:48 AM)
look around your area anyone doing major reno.
you can talk to the owner and contractor.

1. better as that contractor already in your area and people knows how to settle your area's bandaraya.
2. get comments on the owner to see if the contractor is honorable and QC the work done.
3. if only the labourers on-site just get the contact of the boss from the house owner.
4. if it is major reno i don't recommend you pinch the contractor's laborers to do it for you cheaper - but if it is for something things like tiles and painting then should be ok.
thanks for your suggestion sir =)
shadow_walker
post May 18 2016, 12:36 PM

1,288 posts

QUOTE(alchmiya @ May 16 2016, 12:23 PM)
Anybody with experience renovating a standard 22 x 75 single storey to double storey? Mind sharing what is the minimum cost for that assuming it is not a very elaborate renovation with superb ID or anything?
15k lump sum thumbup.gif
alchmiya
post May 18 2016, 01:17 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(shadow_walker @ May 18 2016, 12:36 PM)
15k lump sum  thumbup.gif
Really? When was this? I might need to pm you for contact u dy when I need it.
shadow_walker
post May 18 2016, 02:20 PM

1,288 posts

QUOTE(alchmiya @ May 18 2016, 01:17 PM)
Really? When was this? I might need to pm you for contact u dy when I need it.
ya lor..depends also how much u want to make double story
ck2chan
post May 19 2016, 01:03 AM

2,144 posts

QUOTE(tangenttheta @ May 15 2016, 10:29 PM)
(Advice needed)

Hi, newbie here.
my parents wanted to renovate our house and found a contractor contact from a magazine (more like a pamphlet), his name is Wilson.

This Mr Wilson is based in Seremban and my house is in Serdang. He claimed that he had did quite a lot of construction and had a construction company.

My house was 22x70 sq ft. The renovation that we planned to make was
1. Extend both ground and 1st floor to the end
2. extend the front living room 5sqft forward
3. make some partition by building walls
4. repair the roof which was always leaking
5. change the floor tile with 2x2
6. painting and wiring

He promised us that it will be done within 6 months and until now he had just came for around 5 times.
1st time is when coming to make quotation,
2nd time is to clean the roof
3rd time is to continue cleaning the roof,
4th time is to clean the parking lot cement
and 5th time is to continue cleaning the cement.

He gave us alot of excuses that he got dfficulty in getting permission to proceed from the local authority, although he gave us a floor plan, but the plan is in wrong format.
When i asked him why is it takes so long time and what can i do, i ended up get scold from him and he even asked us to go to the MP to get approval. When we asked from the floorplan from him, he said it was his company's property and dont want to let us have it.

So no choice, he had wasted around half year basically doing nothing for us, so we had decided to go to MPSJ ourself. At that time we found out that the floorplan he did was in wrong format,and the officer incharge was very effecient. The following few days they already follow up and send an architect to draw a plan for us.
So the question is, is this contractor im hiring is a reliable one? He had FFK us most of the time, and asked for money a few times (about 50k from total 130k his estimation eventhough seems like no progress at all).

So a few opinion i need from all the sifu's here.
1. Do i need to wait for him to continue after got the plan and approval from MPSJ or i should hire another contractor/ ID instead?
2. Do anyone have any contact of contractor/ internal design based in Serdang/ Kajang/ Putrajaya with good reputation/labour/ efficiency with reasonable cost?
tangenttheta
post May 19 2016, 04:55 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(ck2chan @ May 19 2016, 01:03 AM)
paid 2 times, total of ~50k flew away~~~
frenken
post May 20 2016, 03:30 PM

51 posts

hi TS,
kindly pm the formula as well. It looks very interesting. Nice reno BTW
Aries86
post Jul 18 2016, 01:11 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(alchmiya @ May 16 2016, 12:23 PM)
I did mine excluding wiring, extend kitchen + tiling, table top + bottom, plaster ceiling, painting, car porch tiling & side wall, under-stairs storeroom (concrete) + some piping. RM 17K
ekoldit
post Jul 19 2016, 05:40 PM

21 posts

Can any kind soul pm to me the renovation formula? Tks.
cclay
post Jul 19 2016, 08:03 PM

525 posts

I want to extend back area 5 feet long, both ground and first floor. Proper piling and MPKl approval.
How much excluding tiling and wiring?
Klang area.

56 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0357sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:50 PM