Renovation Secret & Tips Revealed, Secret&Tips contractor wont tell you

TStomjason
post May 5 2015, 05:15 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 5 2015, 01:24 PM)
That's is good. Keep it up. And do post some DIY project here.

That is not much DIY here. Mostly ppl rely on contractor.

GST already here. DIY can help some saving.
hi...

apart from my latest project sink above..till now project sink is the last at this moment.. biggrin.gif

since u requested...attached is my latest project for my right fence rejuvenate..the left fence completed....haha..actually i build cause for 2 reasons...

1. To avoid cat stray cat and neighbours cat (i cannot tahan every day throw the shit)
2. For safety cause my neighbour is working in dubai..his house empty. The fence was build by neighbour at first place..he said do not touch his fence at his area...

i feel tak berapa cantik but as long it serve the purpose and i can sleep at night..fine by me...

the completed fence later i will post...i hire indon to help me...

ozak
post May 6 2015, 09:18 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ May 5 2015, 05:15 PM)
hi...

apart from my latest project sink above..till now project sink is the last at this moment.. biggrin.gif

since u requested...attached is my latest project for my right fence rejuvenate..the left fence completed....haha..actually i build cause for 2 reasons...

1. To avoid cat stray cat and neighbours cat (i cannot tahan every day throw the shit)
2. For safety cause  my neighbour is working in dubai..his house empty. The fence was build by neighbour at first place..he said do not touch his fence at his area...

i feel tak berapa cantik but as long it serve the purpose and i can sleep at night..fine by me...

the completed fence later i will post...i hire indon to help me...

That is really tall wall. I don't think you can avoid the cat with that high wall. It come thru the decoration hole and elsewhere. It already mark your garden.

Sometime such wall doesn't help prevent thief. And it given them more time to slowly break in. Cause the wall hide away from outside view.
TStomjason
post May 6 2015, 12:53 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 6 2015, 09:18 AM)
That is really tall wall. I don't think you can avoid the cat with that high wall. It come thru the decoration hole and elsewhere. It already mark your garden.

Sometime such wall doesn't help prevent thief. And it given them more time to slowly break in. Cause the wall hide away from outside view.
hi bro,

attached below is my final product...now my house is cat proof house...i m using Y10 steel bar..i m not using hollow steel like kedai grill use that always rusted and need frequent paint. Cat cannot climb the steel bar. For the thief, the steel bar is not preventing the burglar but can slow down the attempted. I also seal the decoration wall. If i hv welding equipment i would put one horizontal bar all way to the back to strengthen the steel and structure. I hv eyeing for welding equipment but due to GST, i hv to postpone to buy the welding equipment.

Even i hv put the steel bar, few weeks ago, burglar tried to enter my house and bend the steel bar, luckly they did not break into my house as i woke up cause heard noise. So for me, luckly i hv the steel bar, to slow them down.

Now i put extra measure, I hv put also CCTV at beside my house wall.

This post has been edited by tomjason: May 6 2015, 01:03 PM
TStomjason
post May 6 2015, 05:56 PM

866 posts

Giving my formulas to forumer that want to use my service and also my advised on reno. TQ for helping me to help you.

This post has been edited by tomjason: May 6 2015, 06:07 PM
ahpoo
post May 6 2015, 07:31 PM

78 posts

Hi Tom, can u give me the formulas pls...planning to do my house in october..

ozak
post May 7 2015, 09:00 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ May 6 2015, 12:53 PM)
hi bro,
attached below is my final product...now my house is cat proof house...i m using Y10 steel bar..i m not using hollow steel like kedai grill use that always rusted and need frequent paint. Cat cannot climb the steel bar. For the thief, the steel bar is not preventing the burglar but can slow down the attempted. I also seal the decoration wall. If i hv welding equipment i would put one horizontal bar all way to the back to strengthen the steel and structure. I hv eyeing for welding equipment but due to GST, i hv to postpone to buy the welding equipment.

Even i hv put the steel bar, few weeks ago, burglar tried to enter my house and bend the steel bar, luckly they did not break into my house as i woke up cause heard noise. So for me, luckly i hv the steel bar, to slow them down.

I don't no you just use the steel bar. Thought you going to cement extend up few ft. Which will look really tall.

But the slot is small enough to prevent the cat? Their body are very flexible.

Sharp object like such steel bar is bad for FS. If you believe.

For the thief, you can put a perimeter sensor around your house. Once the thief treepass the sensor, the alarm will trigger. Before the thieft can touch anything. More secure than a cctv.
loty
post May 7 2015, 11:57 AM

137 posts

Hi tomjason,
My friend house is having some issue with the floor tile. Some part of the floor start cracking and the tiles just comes out. I am wondering if you can give some advice
1. Just change the affected part. I am skeptical if it will cause other part to crack in the future?
2. Change the whole flooring. Of course this one cost more

Her place is at sg buloh area and it is just a normal walk up apartment. So far 3 rooms and the living room is affected. The tenant already left the unit.

By the way any contractor to introduce? Also aluminium windows shop? She may need to do tile flooring and maybe aluminium windows depending on budget.

This post has been edited by loty: May 7 2015, 12:03 PM
TStomjason
post May 7 2015, 12:49 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(ahpoo @ May 6 2015, 07:31 PM)
Hi Tom, can u give me the formulas pls...planning to do my house in october..

Hi bro,

Due to some abuse and normally free, some not appreciated, there is very small 'contribution' to me for all the formulas. PMed you already.

I strongly recommend for house owner that want to reno to have these formulas, this to avoid them being cheated. Your reno is your investment, your reno cost you thousands thousands of RM.

Tq

This post has been edited by tomjason: May 7 2015, 01:51 PM
TStomjason
post May 7 2015, 01:56 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(loty @ May 7 2015, 11:57 AM)
Hi tomjason,
      My friend house is having some issue with the floor tile. Some part of the floor start cracking and the tiles just comes out. I am wondering if you can give some advice
          1. Just change the affected part. I am skeptical if it will cause other part to crack in the future?
          2. Change the whole flooring. Of course this one cost more

Her place is at sg buloh area and it is just a normal walk up apartment.  So far 3 rooms and the living room is affected. The tenant already left the unit.
By the way any contractor to introduce? Also aluminium windows shop? She may need to do tile flooring and maybe aluminium windows depending on budget.
Hi bro,

You said that 3 rooms and living room have been affected, for your case mostly due to not enough cement when tiling by the tiler. Try knock (by hand also can) the floor, if you feel 'kosong' or empty, then sure not enough cement.

Solution :

1. If want to save budget, patch the tile.
2. Else need to retile.

If serious want to change, you can WhatApp me , maybe my previous tiler can help.

Benster124
post May 9 2015, 02:29 PM

167 posts

I'm trying to understand difference between roofing method/material for my extension kitchen but can't find any in mentioning.

Its 22*10 ft extension, I've allocated 6 x 10ft for skylight glass roofing on the right side which is supposed to be closed yard concept, but not sure what roofing for the inner part of kitchen, cement vs roof tiles?

Any recommendation on pros and cons of each? Or maybe no difference, just design?

What I mean roof tiles:

VS

Cement roof:

Below my ugly sketchup model:

aku_ker
post May 9 2015, 06:40 PM

438 posts

just my 2 cent, the flat design just to accommodate 2nd floor if you decide to built it later, they laid waterproof material. As for the roof tiles, it just a normal roof and your ceiling height will reduce a bit towards the end.
kilosub
post May 12 2015, 12:24 AM

59 posts

Hi Tom,

Care to share me the formula....

Thanks!!

Btw I like the idea on the cat proof fence...

TStomjason
post May 12 2015, 11:45 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(kilosub @ May 12 2015, 12:24 AM)
Hi Tom,

Care to share me the formula....

Thanks!!
Btw I like the idea on the cat proof fence...
Hi bro,

TQ bro.

lifeislikeadream
post May 12 2015, 02:33 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ May 7 2015, 12:49 PM)
Hi bro,
Due to some abuse and normally free, some not appreciated, there is very small 'contribution' to me for all the formulas. PMed you already.

I strongly recommend for house owner that want to reno to have these formulas, this to avoid them being cheated. Your reno is your investment, your reno cost you thousands thousands of RM.

Tq
Hi tomjason, mind to PM me the formula as well, though not a major renovation but contractor will start doing some works soon, just want to double check if their price is reasonable..... Thanks in advance smile.gif
TStomjason
post May 12 2015, 02:58 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(lifeislikeadream @ May 12 2015, 02:33 PM)
Hi tomjason, mind to PM me the formula as well, though not a major renovation but contractor will start doing some works soon, just want to double check if their price is reasonable..... Thanks in advance  smile.gif
hi bro,

sorry bro..there is very minimal one off fee.

TQ

SUSleonhart88
post May 12 2015, 06:32 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ May 6 2015, 12:53 PM)
hi bro,

hollow if galvanized no need to paint la bro
TStomjason
post May 12 2015, 07:08 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ May 12 2015, 06:32 PM)
hollow if galvanized no need to paint la bro
aiyo bro..u dont knowlah...GI lama lama karat lah bro , u go and see the water pipe.... think also...about how much the cost to GI your hollow steel....my Y10 steel need 100 batang bro...rest my case.

This post has been edited by tomjason: May 12 2015, 07:10 PM
TStomjason
post May 12 2015, 07:18 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ May 12 2015, 07:08 PM)
aiyo bro..u dont knowlah...GI lama lama karat lah bro , u go and see the water pipe.... think also...about how much the cost to GI your hollow steel....my Y10 steel need 1000 ++ batang bro...rest my case.
mujinkun
post May 13 2015, 07:51 AM

842 posts

Nice info
CoffeeDude
post May 18 2015, 05:32 PM

1,609 posts

TS do you know the cost to build a single story 3000 sq ft bungalow?

56 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0366sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:31 AM