17 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Travel South Korea V3

Listiani
post Jun 7 2012, 02:31 PM

Hahahha!! Yeah, that's why I call touch n go tour. The name is Jeju Mini Mini Land.

Actually, driving in Jeju is a breeze due to less traffic. So you can concentrate driving and look for the signboard. The sighboard is clear and in English. If you have Jeju map, it shows the alternative route. That's why I keep asking you if you have a map. If you have a map with all those places pointed in the map, you will have an idea how to move around. I got the map from Jeju KTO during MATTA Fair because they don't have it in KTO Jln P. Ramlee.

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jun 7 2012, 02:23 PM)
tis is wat i thought oso.. TS trip run from here n there.. lolz

btw, do u haf d full name for the miniland?

Added on June 7, 2012, 2:32 pmBranded perfume, branded bags, wallet etc. But too expensive. HK is cheaper.

QUOTE(anechoic @ Jun 7 2012, 02:23 PM)
y many like to mention lotte duty free? what to buy there actually??
This post has been edited by Listiani: Jun 7 2012, 02:32 PM
Listiani
post Jun 7 2012, 03:07 PM

Not really near but the same direction. From Mini Mini Land, we passed by Seoryani Forest Path also.

The map show highway and kampung road. With that map you can actually agak2 how to drive when you use the normal road instead of the highway. The map I got from KTO Jeju Tourism Organisation during MATTA Fair is very good. Very details. Not sure if is the same one from Jeju airport.

MATTA Fair coming in August/Sept. I am waiting for MATTA Fair also. To collect some brochure/map on NZ. Plan to visit NZ March 2013. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jun 7 2012, 02:42 PM)
ic.. so the Trick Art museum is near to Jeju Mini Mini Land?

oh do u mean if we haf d map, it will at least show d alternative route (short cut)? wat i mean at least frm d map we can estimate where is d shortcut cz usually d road shown on the map is very tiny. awww.. i dun haf d map sad.gif lately no MATTA fair.. maybe coming end of year.. gonna go take it.. or will it available in Jeju airport??

Added on June 7, 2012, 3:09 pmThe GPS cannot locate everything ler!! Couldn't located Fantastick Show site. We use the map to the site. It is Jungmun area. Near Chocolate Museum & Lotte Hotel.

Coach is cheaper in Hong Kong. I forgot the shop name but it is in Lantau Island. If go to Disney HK, the train stop at this mall station also.

QUOTE(bluefries @ Jun 7 2012, 02:37 PM)
When you touch down Jeju Airport, from the arrival gate - move straight (Tourism Counter) the staff there even come n great us and ask are we
tourist and frm which country. (Request from them the English Map)

Usually in the GPS will show u which road number you using and do compare with the actual map. (GPS alwys bring you to highway but distance is further)

if you know the actual destination, check the road number ... you wont get lost one biggrin.gif
The Lotte Duty Free burn my pocket laaa....bought Coach bag there...
This post has been edited by Listiani: Jun 7 2012, 03:11 PM
Listiani
post Jun 7 2012, 04:10 PM

I must go travel at least twice a year or else I go cookoo laugh.gif

I will update on my trip in NZ thread icon_rolleyes.gif

Yeah, the name is CityGate. I noticed too HK way more cheaper to shop. I shop a lot too when I was there.

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jun 7 2012, 03:20 PM)
thx alot for ur info..  biggrin.gif  gotta go MATTA fair haf a look..

envy tat u can alwiz go travel.. kekeke.. tell me more bout NZ after u go.. hahaha.. bt sure exp  tongue.gif

do u mean Citygate outlet at Tung Chung? actually if wanna buy branded stuffs in Asia country, imho would be in HK
Listiani
post Jun 30 2012, 11:17 AM

You can rent their pocket wifi. But you need reserve in advance because is very popular among travellers. Pls chk out their website.

http://www.sroaming.com/eng/Product/Product_PocketWiFi.asp

QUOTE(nles @ Jun 29 2012, 09:35 PM)
but i want always on internet connection.
Listiani
post Jul 6 2012, 01:23 PM

Even if you go any bank in Malaysia, the limit to transfer money out from Malaysia is RM30 thousand. If you want to transfer more than RM30 thousand, you need to inform Bank Negara. RM30 thousand is about USD10 thousand. Reason?? Money laundering. Malaysia are famous for money laundering.

QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Jul 6 2012, 12:43 PM)
UGPM on the first section.. for the second section..
i think most of the country also applying same rules... cash limit of $10,000USD .. 

i bring total of RM1.3k Cash only (half change to won half to USD before going go Korea)
the rest i use credit card... the rate almost same RM--> Won money changer rate..
dark still okay la.. i not sure when u going la.. since i going at summer.. many of them like to camp there sit down around the park cook and eat ramen.. sembang sembang... some street performance as well... some cycling around... 

the park is juz right beside the bridge.. nah show u in google map

Listiani
post Jul 13 2012, 11:22 AM

Korea is 4 season country.

June-Aug - summer
Sept-Nov - autumn
Dec-Feb - winter
Mar-May - spring

Since we are talking abt weather, it can be unpredictable. For example this year, winter end in March.

QUOTE(cup cake @ Jul 13 2012, 11:13 AM)
Just want to ask, is it any good going to South Korea in the next 2 - 3 months? Will be there for vacation with my parents. What will the season be?
This post has been edited by Listiani: Jul 13 2012, 02:41 PM
Listiani
post Jul 16 2012, 06:28 PM

I don't speak Mandarin, Cantonese or Korean and yet I survived during my 9 days trip in Korea. No worrylah, if you do your homework, you will able to navigate your way in the city. No need to join tour group. Waste of money and time.

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 16 2012, 05:41 PM)
kekeke..then i will need to get a lot advise from you...
Listiani
post Jul 16 2012, 09:49 PM

I stayed in Namsan Guesthouse in Seoul & 02 nites in Jeju Hiking Inn. I went for Nami Island & Suwon day trip. Beside Jeju, the rest of the stay was in Seoul.

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 16 2012, 09:18 PM)
you stay fix to a hotel? or u find other hotels throughout the 9 days of staying?
Listiani
post Jul 17 2012, 08:54 AM

I booked 05 mths before my trip.

No need guidelah!! You can go by yourself. Their train and buses very efficient one. I took train to Nami Island and bus to Petite France. From Petite France we took the bus again to the nearest train station. From the train station back again to Seoul. The train ride takes about 1 hour. to Suwon also by train. Takes about 40 minutes. Upon arrival in Suwon I join the city tour. The tour start at 10am. The bus with tour guide will drive around Suwon places of interest and finish around 1pm. Then I headed back to Seoul again. If you rajin, then you can do you own tour by walking around Suwon but since my time is limited, I opted to join Suwon City Tour bus. You can purchase the ticket upon arrival. No need to pre book.

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 16 2012, 10:01 PM)
Did you make the arrangement wiht hte hotel 1st or buta buta go there n choose?
how you get the guide to nami island and suwon?

Added on July 17, 2012, 8:57 amI bring along my own calculator. Easy to go shopping and negotiate biggrin.gif

The lowest I got from Maybank money exchange in Bkt Bintang was KRW1000 = RM2.75. That was in mid March 2012. After that the rates goes between RM2.77-RM2.85.

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 16 2012, 10:21 PM)
i plan to take my phone (off roaming), and on the CALCULATOR for the pricing..

haha..

whats the currency rate normally for WON? it fluctuate daily, and if any1 of u encounter the lowest rate, please let me know so i can benchmark it

Added on July 17, 2012, 8:59 amThe guesthouse was ok and most important very clean. The staff speak fluent english and free internet service. But the room is small. Location also very good. In Myeongdong. Previously, you need to walk under the subway station and cross from the bus station but now they city council built a walkaway. So need to walk up and down anymore to and from the bus stop.

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Jul 17 2012, 07:03 AM)
I was thinking of staying at Namsan Guesthouse as well, how was it?
If it's good I might just go ahead and book it  smile.gif
This post has been edited by Listiani: Jul 17 2012, 08:59 AM
Listiani
post Jul 17 2012, 11:54 AM

I stay in Namsan 2.

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Jul 17 2012, 11:44 AM)
@Listiani, I was just wondering if you stayed in Namsan 1, 2 or 3?  hmm.gif
@cute_miao, you mean treat me? Sorry but I'm in Melbourne haha  tongue.gif

Added on July 17, 2012, 11:56 amYou have long way to go and plenty of time to do research. I not encourage you to go buta buta there because you will be at the losing end. Seoul is big. You must plan what to do and where to go. If you go buta buta there, you will end you doing jumble programme. One moment going there, one moment going here, one momeng going over there.

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 17 2012, 09:49 AM)
wow..seems u did a lot research..i dont even know whati  need to do in there, but jsut buta buta go there...

february is autumn right?
This post has been edited by Listiani: Jul 17 2012, 11:56 AM
Listiani
post Jul 18 2012, 10:11 AM

I register and email them to make booking but their rates keep on changing everytime they responded to my email and I cancel my booking with them and I booked with KUMHO Rent a Car. Cheaper and quick reply from them.

QUOTE(eksk86 @ Jul 17 2012, 07:53 PM)
Hey Listiani, I remember you mentioned you rented your car with Avis when you are in Jeju right? How did you make the reservation? I registered at the Avis Jeju website (www.ajrentacar.co.kr/eng/index.jsp) and when I tried to make reservation, when I select the car category(e.g. Compact or others), a message box keeps popping out saying I couldn't select the category because i did not meet the requirements of having 1 year of driving experience or something like that. Did you make your reservation thru this website as well?
Listiani
post Jul 18 2012, 01:47 PM

Trouble finding parking?? The answer is no. Plenty of parking in Jeju because Jeju has less car. Meaning driving in Jeju was a breeze for me tongue.gif pick up and collecting car also was a breeze. They provide shuttle service from the deport (before you collect or drop of the car) to the airport which takes only 5 minutes drive.

I don't like the idea of hiring car with driver because they have time limit and additional charges if usage beyond the limited time which is from 0900hrs-1800hrs. If you want to see sunrise at Seongsan Ilchubong Peak, you need to start driving from 4am from Jeju Hiking Inn which I doubt car with driver willing to go. Sleeping time for them.

Jeju Hiking Inn room comes with bathroom. But the guesthouse quite run down and smelly. Not to mentioned rude inn keeper.

QUOTE(momijigari @ Jul 18 2012, 11:05 AM)
Listiani,

Would like to get your opinion on renting a car or hiring a driver in Jeju.
Understand that renting a car would have more freedom but foresee some hassle with parking, returning the car when we are leaving Jeju.
Cost-wise, I believe the difference is not very significant.

We have made reservation with HK Jeju (read through V1, V2 & V3 but didn't come across anyone mentioning them), however we are now having second thought because we have issues sharing toilet with strangers cry.gif . There are three of us travelling together.
This post has been edited by Listiani: Jul 18 2012, 01:48 PM
Listiani
post Jul 20 2012, 12:14 PM

Aiyoh!! I don't remember anymore. I need to chk the receipt and copy of the car rental agreement.

QUOTE(eksk86 @ Jul 19 2012, 03:12 PM)
Did you pay for the LDW (Loss Damage Waiver) when you booked your car? Is this necessary or advisable to pay?

I ws quoted KRW19,200 for a full immunity LDW.

Added on July 20, 2012, 12:18 pmI've been there. For me the place was very interesting and also situation very tense. hehehehe!! The soldiers gets angry if you try to take their pictures. They start making an X sign and say andeyo,andeyo tongue.gif

You are not allowed to go there by yourself. You must join the tour. An SIC tour. The tour cost KRW46,00 per pax and they will pick u up from the guesthouse. I book via internet and update them my room number & Korea hp number when I arrived in Seoul. They call the guesthouse and look for to me when they change the pick up time.

Also, you can book with the guesthouse directly. No problem also. You MUST bring your passport. No passport, no entry. Don't wear too revealing clothes. Wear something decent. Jeans and t-shirt are ok.

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Jul 20 2012, 11:58 AM)
Anyone here being to the DMZ?
Seems pretty interesting and was wondreing if there are any special requirements to undertake a DMZ tourĀ  hmm.gif
This post has been edited by Listiani: Jul 20 2012, 12:19 PM
Listiani
post Jul 22 2012, 05:43 PM

I repeat this many times. Don't worry about parking in Jeju. You are not driving in KL where parking is hassle but Jeju Island. Tourist attraction got plenty plenty of parking. Hotel parking I am not sure but Jeju Hiking Inn, the inn keeper I can park at the side of the guesthouse.

QUOTE(honkit @ Jul 22 2012, 04:50 PM)
Guys, just wanna ask for those who been to Jeju and rent a car. Any problem with parking? What is the parking fee like to go to all tourist attraction.
Which hotel you stay and car park available at hotel?

Thanks!
This post has been edited by Listiani: Jul 23 2012, 05:12 AM
Listiani
post Jul 24 2012, 09:58 AM

This is the confirmation booking I received from KUMHO. I paid KRW43,500 after minus KRW3000 for green car discount. It didn't mentioned LDW but I wonder what is (1)+(2)+(3) stand for?

This following is total rental charge on reservation no.QE5265

Rental Period: from 2012-04-22 08:30 to 2012-04-24 11:00

Vehicle Name: Matiz, Auto Mission, Gasoline

Branch: Jeju

Discounted Rate:75%(as a member)

Total rental charge :43,500won(1)+(2)+(3)

(1) Rental car charge :46,500won

(2) Navigation :free

(3) Green car discount :-3,000

QUOTE(eksk86 @ Jul 23 2012, 07:45 PM)
Can you help to check and see whether did u pay for it? hehe...

But in general is it advisable to pay? It costs KRW19,200 for a full immunity Loss Damage Waiver. If I pay for it, in any case, any damage or loss caused by my own negligence will be covered. But if I take good care of it, it shouldn't be a prob rite?
Listiani
post Jul 24 2012, 02:01 PM

For 03 days 02 nites from 22/4/12-24/4/12

QUOTE(leonghan @ Jul 24 2012, 11:07 AM)
this is for how many hours/days ??

Added on July 24, 2012, 2:03 pmBut yours probably different type of car biggrin.gif

I am a woman and I driver with confident in Jeju. A bit stiff in the beginning but after several hours you will get use to it. No problemlah.

QUOTE(eksk86 @ Jul 24 2012, 12:52 PM)
Thanks alot! I believe it's for 2 days (<48 hrs) right? Yours was cheap. I was quoted KRW62,400. The green car discount should be referring to non smoking.
What? I didn't know it's left hand drive in S.Korea...i guess im confident with my driving skills..not sure bout left hand drive though..lol
This post has been edited by Listiani: Jul 24 2012, 02:03 PM
Listiani
post Jul 24 2012, 02:19 PM

I don't remember anymore but I can say that their fuel is good. I got half tank when I received the car and fill in full. Only refill again before sending the car back. I think full tank around KRW21,000.

QUOTE(leonghan @ Jul 24 2012, 02:10 PM)
Oh...But how about the fuel consumption cost ??
Quite cheap for 3D2N only cost KRW 43,000..
Listiani
post Jul 25 2012, 12:10 PM

None smoking car.

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 25 2012, 10:11 AM)

i think (1)+(2)+(3) stand for total rental charge including rental car charge, navigation plus green car discount. btw, wat is the green car discount about?
Listiani
post Jul 31 2012, 12:49 PM

For me, it was worth my effort to go to Nami Island. However, it depends on what you want to see. Different people have different taste and opinion.

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jul 31 2012, 11:36 AM)
is Nami Island worth to go, im going with my fren(guy), heard is couple island

night shooting

please let me know if it worth
-seoul tower
-rainbow bridge
-night street ,...anymore?
Listiani
post Jul 31 2012, 02:17 PM

This is the pics I took in Nami Island during spring. April 2012. It was raining all day. The trees look botak. However, plenty of cherry blossoms also.

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jul 31 2012, 02:10 PM)
we looking for scenery for photography
This post has been edited by Listiani: Jul 31 2012, 02:27 PM

17 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0481sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:48 PM