17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Travel South Korea V3

Listiani
post May 11 2012, 10:59 AM

Yeah, when we returned from Ilhcubong, we stop by at the beach and enjoy the scenary. We were very sleepy coz got up very early but it was all worth it.

Luckily we didn't we any summons or my credit being charge for that. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(nobunee @ May 11 2012, 10:37 AM)
Lol the jackpot 'ting ting' sound. Yeah I remember that. I think it sound once you are safe from speed trap or when you are approaching one.

The East-West road that go through Ilchubong was a fun drive. Got to see some beautiful beach and Wind Generator.

Added on May 11, 2012, 11:12 amThis is my itineary for 2nd trip to Korea smile.gif

Day 01
Departure from KLIA to Incheon at 2330hrs

Day 02
Arrive Incheon. Drop luggage. Visit Gyeongbokgung Palace, visit Pyeongchang dong & Dongdaemun.

Day 03
Visit KBS/Cheongdam/Hongdae

Day 04
Seoul/Jeongseon

Day 05
Jeongseon to Sokcho

Day 06
Sokcho to Seoul. Spend nite time at Myeongdong

Day 07
Visit Nami Island & Garden of The morning calm.

Day 08
Seoul/Busan by KTX

Day 09
Busan/Seoul

Day 10
Panmunjeom Tour

Day 11
Return to KL.

This is my initial plan. May change from time to time.

This post has been edited by Listiani: May 11 2012, 11:12 AM
Listiani
post May 11 2012, 11:39 AM

Most of us here self drive and travel on our own. But you can try driver guide in Jeju. I've met some of them. They speak fluent English. This one guy I met in Majanggul Caves. His name is Wan Mons. Well, that was written on his call card tongue.gif

When I met him in Majanggul Caves in Jeju, he was with several Malaysians. He was their driver cum tour guide. He works in the hotel line for 18 years and speak good English. Maybe you can email to him at maarooii@yahoo.co.kr or calling him to his hp at +82-10-3697-2303.

QUOTE(naTea @ May 11 2012, 11:26 AM)
i'm a bit skeptical on driving or touring jeju by myself..am considering to apply for the goodwill guide from the korea tourism website..have any of you tried it?
Listiani
post May 11 2012, 11:49 AM

only 02 hours & 40 minutes. The earliest leaving Seoul at 0530hrs. This is super high speed train at 300km/h.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 11 2012, 11:44 AM)
How long is the KTX train ride from Seoul to Busan ? Is it a normal electric train or high-speed train ?

Added on May 11, 2012, 11:51 amThis is my brief programme. I am still looking around for more infos. I wanted to spend more time outside Seoul actually. So my itinerary will depend on how much information I can get. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(nobunee @ May 11 2012, 11:42 AM)

Nice!! Not going to slip in Sinnam Park in there for some lol?
This post has been edited by Listiani: May 11 2012, 11:51 AM
Listiani
post May 11 2012, 12:00 PM

Yes, that's why I want to try this train instead of taking a plane. I' m so excited already. laugh.gif

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 11 2012, 11:56 AM)
Oh, that is just 45km/h slower compared to the Taiwan High Speed Rail. Very fast indeed. Will opt to take the KTX train instead of plane if i want to go to Busan next time    biggrin.gif
Listiani
post May 11 2012, 12:12 PM

OK, tks Bro. I will gather information first. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(anechoic @ May 11 2012, 12:09 PM)
can try Gyeongju too...not far from Busan
Listiani
post May 13 2012, 04:09 PM

I remember the journey, but I don't remember the train station name coz got several interchange. I am in Thailand now. I'll be back tmrw. I give you the details tmrw.

BTW, from Gapyeong (the station where you have to stop to go Nami Island), you can take taxi to Nami Island. Cost only KRW3000. Upon arrival in Gapyeong station, chk out the Tourist Information Centre. Get the brochure on shuttle bus schedule so that you can plan what time you can leave Nami Island to Petite France. Once you arrive Petite France, chk out what time the shuttle bus service from Petite France to Gapyeong station. As for me, from Petite France I took shuttle bus to the nearest train station. Bus fare cost KRW5000. But I don't remember the train station's name. I need to look at my note first.

QUOTE(tek_kee @ May 12 2012, 08:43 PM)
Listiani,

Need your advise on how to travel about to Nami Island and La Petite France...noticed that you've been to both the same day. I am also planning to cover both places in the same day, but not sure how to go about... hope to get some advise from you smile.gif thanks in advance!
Listiani
post May 14 2012, 09:15 PM

Ok, this was my trip to Nami Island & Petite France. I took lesser interchange for subway. From Myeongdong I took Subway Line 4 interchange at Yongsan station from Subway 1 to Jungang Line. The train will interchange at Sangbong station. From Sangbong take Gyeongchun Line and stop at Gapyeong station. From Gapyeong I took taxi cost me KRW3000 to Nami Island jetty.

From Nami Island took shuttle bus to Petite France. From Petite France took shuttle bus to Cheongpyeong station to return to Seoul. Shuttle bus cost KRW5000 per way. You can collect the brochure on shuttle bus service from Gapyeong station or Nami Island jetty ticket counter. They have Tourist Information counter.

You can use T-Money card all the way from Subway Line 1 to Gapyeong.

QUOTE(tek_kee @ May 14 2012, 04:11 PM)
thanks Listani... await your further advise smile.gif
Listiani
post May 15 2012, 12:58 PM

Tek kee, if you notice, most of the brochures on Seoul map and subway line you get from KTO or MATTA Fair does not include Gheongchun Line. You must goggle the subway map to get the clear picture on how to move around Seoul and suburb. I studied the map thoroughly and found the lesser way to interchange train/station so that I don't have to climb so many staircase. Yes, subway in Seoul needs a lot of stamina because of the staircase. Lift are for pregnant women & disable. Don't ever try to use it or you get killer stare from the locals tongue.gif

QUOTE(tek_kee @ May 15 2012, 11:26 AM)
thanks mkaz! smile.gif
thanks alot Listiani!!
Listiani
post May 16 2012, 02:14 PM

No, can fit in 4 people only.

QUOTE(leonghan @ May 16 2012, 01:55 PM)
The taxi to nami island able to fit 5ppls ?
Listiani
post May 16 2012, 03:10 PM

You have to take 2 taxi for 6 pax. I don't see any van taxi. If you think is too expensive, why don't u guys just take the shutte bus?? KRW5000 for the whole journey. Nami Island/Petite France/Garden of The Morning Calm and return to subway station Gaypyeong and Cheonpyeong. But u must follow the bus schedule. If u miss then susah lor!! Escpecially in Petite France.

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ May 16 2012, 02:23 PM)
if total 6 pax? have to opt for 2 cab or do they have larger cab tat can accommodate 6 pax?
Listiani
post May 16 2012, 03:46 PM

Dunno about that. But the shuttle bus we took from Nami Island & Petite France charged KRW5000. We even took the shuttle bus brochure from the Tourist Information Center.

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ May 16 2012, 03:34 PM)
it's the free shuttle bus as mention on korea tourism website?

http://english.visitkoreayear.com/english/...it_07_01_01.asp
Listiani
post May 16 2012, 08:15 PM

I didn't know got shuttle bus until we arrived Gapyeong station biggrin.gif

If you want to squeze 5 people in 1 taxi as per Mkaz suggestion, go ahead. But the taxi I took, nicely fit the 4 of us. I dunno where the 5th people can fit in.

Very hard to say also. Weather can ber very unpredictable. I saw many cherry blossom when I was there (22/4-28/4). So beautiful. smile.gif

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ May 16 2012, 04:06 PM)
where do u get the information bout the shuttle bus to nami island? any website link? oh btw, it's still possible to catch up n view the cherry blossom in korea end of apr? as i kno cherry bloom around beginning to mid apr. suppose plan to go on 14 apr bt tix all sold like hot cakes  sweat.gif  end up choose 22 apr..
This post has been edited by Listiani: May 16 2012, 08:16 PM
Listiani
post May 17 2012, 03:04 PM

Go to their website & register as member and you get superb discount. For 03 days 02 nites car rental I rent with them, Hyundai Matiz not even RM200. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(eksk86 @ May 17 2012, 10:46 AM)
67000W for 48hrs? That's cheap! You said you rented from Kumho rite? How did you book it? Thru their online website? Or you rent it when u reached jeju airport?
Listiani
post May 17 2012, 08:37 PM

That is why I prefer to travel alone if my hubby not coming with me. Girls is very ma fan ler! Even though I am a girl but I don't like to travel with girls. Very petty. When I travel alone, I can meet with other travellers and we can go together if we like the places and vice versa.

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ May 17 2012, 06:19 PM)
agree!! travel wif a bunch of ppl is sometimes kinda troublesome as some of them might nt agree on ur plan, etc.. sure gt argument 1. suppose wanna go wif my bf only bt in the end his sis n my sis wanna tag along as well.. i can't stop them wat..  sweat.gif

different ppl haf different type of travel style.. some like to sleep until enough n take their sweet time to go from 1 place to another.. dun like rushing.. while some is like to wake up early in the morning n start travel after breakfast till very late at nite. they dun like to waste every mins!!  tongue.gif  some ppl will think travel like tat no fun n tired.. bt wat to do.. if pack schedule n wanna cover many places.. is like tat lor.. lolz
Listiani
post May 19 2012, 04:34 PM

To forumers who asked me about Jeju do. I have to give some tips to you. If you guys decide to visit Jeju, I suggest you stay 2 nites because Jeju do is bigger than Singapore and Melaka. The places of interest are spread from West Coast to East Coast. They journey from West to East or vice versa already takes about more than 1 hour drive. You are going to be very exhausted if stay 1 nite only. The plane ride, the driving and all. Over exhausted during holiday is no fun.
Listiani
post May 23 2012, 10:34 AM

I booked mine before I got my IDP.

QUOTE(eksk86 @ May 23 2012, 10:25 AM)
Can someone help me on this? For those who register with Kumho Rent, did you register after/before getting your IDP? I want to maximize the IDP duration since its only 1 year. Probably mid of next year i might need to use the IDP so if I register now, i'm afraid I will need to re-apply next year.

And any benefits to book early? E.g. my trip is on Sept, if I book now do I get any early bird discount or it's the same if book anytime?
Listiani
post May 23 2012, 11:21 AM

International Driving Permit. Mine still valid until 21/4/13. I am going to use it for my trip to New Zealand in March 2013. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ May 23 2012, 11:13 AM)
mind me askin! what is IDP??
Listiani
post May 23 2012, 08:44 PM

My Malaysia driving license. IDP is actually like a small booklet. Is not a license but permit.

QUOTE(eksk86 @ May 23 2012, 01:51 PM)
So, what did you fill up in the 'Driving License Number' blank when you registered as member for Kumho Rent? You filled up with your current driving license number? That means the IDP number is actually the same with our driving license number?

Added on May 23, 2012, 8:45 pmMy Malaysia driving license. IDP is actually like a small booklet. Is not a license but permit.

QUOTE(eksk86 @ May 23 2012, 01:51 PM)
So, what did you fill up in the 'Driving License Number' blank when you registered as member for Kumho Rent? You filled up with your current driving license number? That means the IDP number is actually the same with our driving license number?
This post has been edited by Listiani: May 23 2012, 08:45 PM
Listiani
post May 24 2012, 06:15 PM

Maybank bukit bintang. But u need to call them first to chk if they got stock or not on that day. They don't keep stock everyday.

QUOTE(nplusr @ May 23 2012, 11:13 PM)
Does anybody know where's the money changer that has the best rate for Korean Won and USD ? Thank you in advance smile.gif
Listiani
post May 25 2012, 12:07 PM

April was KRW1000 = RM2.75.

QUOTE(nplusr @ May 25 2012, 11:17 AM)
What is their rate ? If I may ask smile.gif
Thank you for replying !

Added on May 25, 2012, 12:08 pmI heard Jeju Air but so difficult to navigate their site. So I booked with Eastar Jet.

QUOTE(naTea @ May 25 2012, 11:23 AM)
Whats the cheapest flight to jeju from gimpo?
This post has been edited by Listiani: May 25 2012, 12:08 PM

17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0427sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:15 PM