129 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Bottom

Travel All About Hong Kong V3, A place to share things about Hong Kong

datuk_batery
post Nov 3 2012, 06:37 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(nakedtruth @ Nov 3 2012, 12:59 PM)
for how many person and days? Shopping depend on your budget. the last time i went i used rm6000 for 2 person inclusive everything except hotel stay for one week

p/s: i shop alot
2 person for 4days only...
y_owez
post Nov 3 2012, 08:57 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Nov 2 2012, 10:00 PM)
i think it is better to move Monday to Thursday...
tat mean u hv to do Disney first smile.gif and NP360 on last day.

and if u wan, u still can get drunk on Wednesday and still make it to NP360 the next day...
fyi, NP360 is really small and simple, u probably need 2hours max to visit all.

the other advantage is Wifey Biscuit will still be fresh when u touchdown KL...  drool.gif

cha chan teng, hemm... there r too many... just like mamak stall in MY, just choose one
if u r picky, u can head to the infamous Kam Wah Cafe Polo Bun, Prince Edward, Mongkok 3pm
>> note: i didnt try this cafe, so no comment... btw they said Dan Nai is better in HK than Macau, i didnt try tat either
thanks so much! rclxm9.gif

we just want to try things that are special in HK icon_rolleyes.gif

definitely will try the polo bun , egg tart in macau, and wifey biscuit...

cant wait to visit LKF icon_idea.gif drink drink only..

how's the electronic there? cheaper in malaysia or?
are the stuff there cheap? or they try to con tourists? shakehead.gif

still havent decided on hotels..probably want area kowloon?

3 ppl , so need to add extra bed? Cosmo hotel has air suite room for 3 ppl, 1 queen and sofa bed..
very tempting but about 200 aud ... exp la.....

and will try let us like check out ( cause want to go macau 1 day/1 night ) then go check in again?

does that mean have to carry ALL luggage around or can leave in the HK hotel? hmm.gif hmm.gif
rjb123
post Nov 4 2012, 11:17 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Nov 3 2012, 08:57 PM)

we just want to try things that are special in HK  icon_rolleyes.gif

cant wait to visit LKF icon_idea.gif  drink drink only..

3 ppl , so need to add extra bed? Cosmo hotel has air suite room for 3 ppl, 1 queen and sofa bed..

and will try let us like check out ( cause want to go macau 1 day/1 night ) then go check in again?

does that mean have to carry ALL luggage around or can leave in the HK hotel? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Regarding purchasing electronics - please stick to shops that openly display a price when buying items such as cameras.

First time I went, wanted to buy a camera for my mum as it was cheaper than UK at the time (HK no sales tax like UK..) anyway I already knew the model I wanted and how much it should be.

The sales guy tried to sell me another camera for the same price (although it was only worth half) and changed the settings on the camera I wanted to buy to make the picture quality look terrible compared to the cheap one .. luckily I knew what I wanted otherwise I might have fallen for it.

Second time I bought another camera - they tried to sell me the accessories that are meant to come with it separately mad.gif

So best thing to do is stick to the retail chains such as Fortress etc. who openly display prices and won't try to rip you off.

Malaysia doesn't have sales tax either on electronics so I don't think the prices will be much cheaper in HK anyway.

Leaving luggage in Hotel until the next day shouldn't be an issue - I've done this before. Worst case you could leave it at one of the train stations (last time left mine at Hong Kong station) but I think they charge by the hour so can get expensive. Just did it that time as I had some hours to kill and didn't want to take a huge suitcase around with me all day.

Hotel I used to always stay at Langham place - used to be about 700HKD per night that time but I think now the prices have gone up already. These days I go for work and stay in Shen Zhen where you get more hotel for your money ... then just go HK for day trip if no work related things to do smile.gif

This post has been edited by rjb123: Nov 4 2012, 11:18 AM
poweryou
post Nov 4 2012, 01:05 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Nov 3 2012, 08:57 PM)

we just want to try things that are special in HK  icon_rolleyes.gif

cant wait to visit LKF icon_idea.gif  drink drink only..

does that mean have to carry ALL luggage around or can leave in the HK hotel? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
For food, must try curry fishball, won zai chi as well.
electronic stuffs there are slightly cheaper than malaysia, like iPhone, handphones, tablets, etc
for hotel, I would recommend you to search it at travel.hooiweng.com. This site compares all rates from all hotel booking sites. Thus, you are guarantee to get the best deals.
Normally hk hotels would have a luggage section to let clients put their luggage before check in or after check out a room.

This post has been edited by poweryou: Nov 4 2012, 01:06 PM
y_owez
post Nov 4 2012, 02:12 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Nov 4 2012, 11:17 AM)
Regarding purchasing electronics - please stick to shops that openly display a price when buying items such as cameras.

First time I went, wanted to buy a camera for my mum as it was cheaper than UK at the time (HK no sales tax like UK..) anyway I already knew the model I wanted and how much it should be.

The sales guy tried to sell me another camera for the same price (although it was only worth half) and changed the settings on the camera I wanted to buy to make the picture quality look terrible compared to the cheap one .. luckily I knew what I wanted otherwise I might have fallen for it.

Second time I bought another camera - they tried to sell me the accessories that are meant to come with it separately  mad.gif

So best thing to do is stick to the retail chains such as Fortress etc. who openly display prices and won't try to rip you off.

Malaysia doesn't have sales tax either on electronics so I don't think the prices will be much cheaper in HK anyway.

Leaving luggage in Hotel until the next day shouldn't be an issue - I've done this before. Worst case you could leave it at one of the train stations (last time left mine at Hong Kong station) but I think they charge by the hour so can get expensive. Just did it that time as I had some hours to kill and didn't want to take a huge suitcase around with me all day.

Hotel I used to always stay at Langham place - used to be about 700HKD per night that time but I think now the prices have gone up already. These days I go for work and stay in Shen Zhen where you get more hotel for your money ... then just go HK for day trip if no work related things to do smile.gif
wah...thanks for the advise.. i'll prob just browse at big shops or back in KL then..somemore we all banana
even easier to get conned rolleyes.gif

train station - how big are the lockers? or is like office place thing?

will that into consideration..

Langham.. i think is bit pricey now? hoping around RM400 ( 120+ AUD) for 3 of us and i know its hard to get 3 bed cause the hotel rooms are small...looking around MTR near kowloon

QUOTE(poweryou @ Nov 4 2012, 01:05 PM)
For food, must try curry fishball, won zai chi as well.
electronic stuffs there are slightly cheaper than malaysia, like iPhone, handphones, tablets, etc
for hotel, I would recommend you to search it at travel.hooiweng.com. This site compares all rates from all hotel booking sites. Thus, you are guarantee to get the best deals.
Normally hk hotels would have a luggage section to let clients put their luggage before check in or after check out a room.
oooo..what is won zai chi and where? so i can put in the itinerary like our fellow member suggestd
h9s9h
post Nov 4 2012, 02:27 PM

43 posts

which telco company is recommended for 3g service in hk?? any unlimited 3g usage plan available?? please advise. thx
rjb123
post Nov 4 2012, 03:37 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Nov 4 2012, 02:12 PM)
wah...thanks for the advise.. i'll prob just browse at big shops or back in KL then..somemore we all banana

Langham.. i think is bit pricey now? hoping around RM400 ( 120+ AUD) for 3 of us and i know its hard to get 3 bed cause the hotel rooms are small...looking around MTR near kowloon
oooo..what is won zai chi and where? so i can put in the itinerary like our fellow member suggestd
Train station is not lockers, you bring trolley with luggage and they give you tags like a hotel would but charge you per pc, I don't remember the charge but was quite expensive. According to MTR website :

Charge
-Up to 3 hours: HK$40 per item
-Over 3-24 hours: HK$55 per item
-Over 24-48 hours: HK$130 per item
-Each subsequent 24-hour period or part thereof: Additional HK$80 per item

You'd probably be best leaving at the hotel , I couldn't as I didn't have a hotel in HK at the time.

Just checked Asiarooms, Langham is showing now as 800+ per night yawn.gif quite expensive. My colleague stayed a couple of weeks ago in Regal iClub and he managed to get for RM250 that time but I guess this depends on the dates you're booking ... quite convenient but Wan Chai is a seedier area although you still feel safe thumbup.gif Just search on Expedia/Hotels.com/Ctrip/Asiarooms etc. HK has lots of choice for hotels

Added on November 4, 2012, 3:39 pm
QUOTE(h9s9h @ Nov 4 2012, 02:27 PM)
which telco company is recommended for 3g service in hk?? any unlimited 3g usage plan available?? please advise. thx
I used 3 SIM Card last time for data, see here for details on charges. You can pick one up at HK airport on arrival

http://www.three.com.hk/website/appmanager...710594&lang=eng

This post has been edited by rjb123: Nov 4 2012, 03:39 PM
straw
post Nov 4 2012, 04:11 PM

266 posts

rjb123 : Regal iClub and he managed to get for RM250 ?

checked agoda standard also rm700 after discount.
rjb123
post Nov 4 2012, 04:15 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(straw @ Nov 4 2012, 04:11 PM)
rjb123 : Regal iClub and he managed to get for RM250 ?

checked agoda standard also rm700 after discount.
Yes, was RM250.

It was done via Expedia (UK site, he was visiting from UK) I met my colleague at HK airport around 4-5PM and was booked for the same night there online - so very much last minute - maybe the prices drop last minute if they have availability? This was on 9th Oct FYI

Edit : Think there's been a confusion somewhere, I remember him telling me was RM250, but I just checked the transaction on the bank and it was actually GBP 115 = RM 575. blush.gif

This post has been edited by rjb123: Nov 4 2012, 04:20 PM
y_owez
post Nov 5 2012, 12:49 PM

1,745 posts

in HK, how accessible are free WIFI?

if i were to get a HK sim card, I would be able to use my phone as a hotspot for my laptop right?

Do they sell nano simcard?
rjb123
post Nov 5 2012, 03:29 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Nov 5 2012, 12:49 PM)
in HK, how accessible are free WIFI?

if i were to get a HK sim card, I would be able to use my phone as a hotspot for my laptop right?

Do they sell nano simcard?
There's quite a lot of free Wifi around, if you start to roam on a certain network you will actually get an SMS with a code for free public Wifi for 24 hours ... I can't remember what network this is provided now.

Not sure about nano sim, but HK is quite up to date so I wouldn't worry about it - if they only have normal SIM can also cut down for you smile.gif
Reventon
post Nov 5 2012, 06:28 PM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(h9s9h @ Nov 4 2012, 02:27 PM)
I roam using CSL . Its data bridge for maxis. Last week buy the 3day pass 88 unlimited. Speed is quite decent around 5mbps dl 2 mbps ul . Coverage also quite good even np360 hill and saikong.
gcphoton
post Nov 6 2012, 01:48 AM

216 posts

What is the minimun budget per day for food and transportation in HK? Thanks.
straw
post Nov 6 2012, 10:16 AM

266 posts

poweryou
post Nov 7 2012, 10:26 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Nov 4 2012, 02:12 PM)

won zai chi = Fake shark's fin soup
Normally you could find it with the same store which selling curry fishball. Sure you can put in the itinerary.
mugenz
post Nov 7 2012, 02:15 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(gcphoton @ Nov 6 2012, 01:48 AM)
What is the minimun budget per day for food and transportation in HK? Thanks.
i think food is around HKD40 per meal.

transportation cannot generalize. Coz really depends what mode and where u going.

sonijia
post Nov 7 2012, 03:37 PM

hi all,
the guide & advises provided here really helps me.
my friends & i planning to take steambot supper upon arriving hk in the night, heard that the supper price will have discounts ><
plz recommend me some nice steambot in kowloon area.
and does anyone knows about Clarks's price in hk? i'm hoping to get 1 if its cheaper than here.
many thks~
Devil4life
post Nov 8 2012, 02:49 PM

986 posts

Going HK on mid January 2013. Is Uniqlo fleece jacket suitable for me? Currently eyeing the reversible one though it's a bit exp for me. Or does the normal fleece will do? Or I have to get the down jacket?

Attached 3 links for it. Do advice which one is more suitable for the weather then. I'm slightly afraid of cold as seldom get to experience winter. Thanks in advance.

Uniqlo Reversible Fleece Jacket

or

Fleece Jacket

or

Airtech Fleece Jacket

or

Down Jacket
y_owez
post Nov 9 2012, 06:55 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(poweryou @ Nov 7 2012, 10:26 AM)
won zai chi = Fake shark's fin soup
Normally you could find it with the same store which selling curry fishball. Sure you can put in the itinerary.
oh? hmm.gif will look into it....

if wanna go for supper like hawker stall road side ( like in the tvb movies rolleyes.gif )

hard to communicate? i mean english rclxub.gif
mkaz
post Nov 9 2012, 07:02 PM

208 posts

issit possible to go to ocean park n disneyland in a day??
or shud i go one day each.. i cant decide rclxub.gif
and where's dingding?? blush.gif

129 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0341sec    1.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:40 AM