Travel All About Hong Kong V3, A place to share things about Hong Kong

lucaswjk
post Nov 14 2012, 03:14 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Johny5 @ Nov 13 2012, 09:17 AM)
I will be going to HK from 8 Dec,Sat to 12 Dec,Wed with wife n 2 child. It will be my first oversea trip with the family via flight..actually not sure what to expect, hopefully everything will be fine..

My tentative itenary should be:

Day 1, Dec 8 :
ETA HKG @5.10pm via AK1658
Check in kings de nathan hotel
The night market( if not tired)

Day 2, Dec 9 :
Shopping @ harbour city, langnam place, ladies market etc..
Arena of stars, Clock Tower, @West of Arena of Stars
Check in golden crown guesthouse

Day 3, Dec 10:
Full day @ disneyland

Day 4, Dec 11:
Sightseeing @ the peak, sky428100, clock tower...where else to go? Madame Tussauds?
Continue shopping

Day 5, Dec 12:
Check out
Ngong Ping 360  wub.gif
Shopping @ citygate
ETD HKG @ 1745 via AK1659

Is the itinery sound realistic?
if u opt for NP360, u can keep your baggage @citigate's locker, locate at B1 & B2 (below supermarket).
very convenient~

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Nov 14 2012, 07:47 PM
lucaswjk
post Nov 14 2012, 03:18 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Nov 14 2012, 11:17 AM)
macau hotel - venetian yea? heheh
thumbup.gif
can shop too wub.gif
ar_zaem
post Nov 14 2012, 06:28 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(alwinc @ Nov 14 2012, 12:31 PM)
how to get internet access for my ipad in hong kong ?
from my experience, its hard to get internet access in HK. unless you buy their sim package which include internet service... that's what friend of my brother in law do to get the internet access. Luckily i got it from some Forum CSLA near to my hotel and its free. biggrin.gif
lucaswjk
post Nov 14 2012, 07:54 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

there r alot of free wifi provided, some are by HK Gov...
so far the place i hv tested...
1) Airport
2) The Peak's Galleria
3) Arena of Star (near Starbuck)
4) Most of Hotel
mugenz
post Nov 15 2012, 11:30 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

There are a lot of free wifi but none of them worked for me.. Even MTR got wifi but didn't work.

Last time they have free 30 days wifi from govt service telco. But now no more d.

What I did was buy one2free 7 days unlimited data package for Hkd100 micro sim pack. Activate hotspots from my iPhone for my gf S3 to use. U can do same for your iPad.
rayz1031
post Nov 15 2012, 06:25 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

Has been reading this thread for the past weeks, flying off to HKG tomorrow!!

Few things to ask from fellow travelers here,

1) Which bakery/shop sell the best or famous Wife Biscuits aka Lou Po Peng?
2) If I were to travel using MRT, should I get the octopus card or tourist travel pass?
3) one2free can be bought from 7-11 and airport?
4) I'm staying nearby New Territory, is it inconvenient to go to the place such as Tsim Tsar Tsui and Mongkok?
mugenz
post Nov 15 2012, 07:20 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Nov 15 2012, 06:25 PM)

2) If I were to travel using MRT, should I get the octopus card or tourist travel pass?
4) I'm staying nearby New Territory, is it inconvenient to go to the place such as Tsim Tsar Tsui and Mongkok?
2. U staying more than 3 days? Yes then take the octuspus card,..
3. A lot of forumrer say can't find it in 7-11 same for me as well. I buy frm their telco branch in mongkok. I guess airport should have.
4. Hmmm it will be slightly far but not say inconvenience. Depends do u stay near MTR...
rayz1031
post Nov 15 2012, 08:34 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Nov 15 2012, 07:20 PM)
2. U staying more than 3 days? Yes then take the octuspus card,..
3. A lot of forumrer say can't find it in 7-11 same for me as well. I buy frm their telco branch in mongkok. I guess airport should have.
4. Hmmm it will be slightly far but not say inconvenience. Depends do u stay near MTR...
The nearest MRT to my station is Tai Wo Hau, kinda disappointed with the arrangement as that hotel doesn't look convenient at all. Although there is bus station nearby the hotel but still, need some guide to go to the MRT.

My trip to HKG is sponsored by my company, everything pre-organized so basically can't choose where and which hotel that I wanna stay. I have few things on my mind that I wanted to visit, hopefully can squeeze those into the tour schedule.

Thanks mugenz for the reply.
wyen
post Nov 15 2012, 10:20 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Nov 15 2012, 06:25 PM)

Hang heung famous for its lo po peng. No need to go yuen long as thee are branch at mongkok near Nathan road
mugenz
post Nov 16 2012, 12:31 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Nov 15 2012, 08:34 PM)
The nearest MRT to my station is Tai Wo Hau, kinda disappointed with the arrangement as that hotel doesn't look convenient at all. Although there is bus station nearby the hotel but still, need some guide to go to the MRT.

My trip to HKG is sponsored by my company, everything pre-organized so basically can't choose where and which hotel that I wanna stay. I have few things on my mind that I wanted to visit, hopefully can squeeze those into the tour schedule.

Thanks mugenz for the reply.
Ic... No choice but their bus is very reliable so it's still not that bad. Furthermore it's better to have octuspus for bus and mtr.

Even late night still a lot of bus on the roads. So no worries. HK transportation is convenient.
fcuk90
post Nov 16 2012, 04:10 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

any backpacker hotel recommended to stay in hk ?

tsim sha shui or mongkok ?
tulufun
post Nov 16 2012, 04:45 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(ar_zaem @ Nov 13 2012, 10:35 PM)
oo... if HK, i rarely heard bout someone snatching... but in china, everything can happen... even if you're in help, they wont entertain you...
recommend money clip to clip foreign currency only. yr total loss would be the money notes clipped.

always try not to flash wallet
andytan18
post Nov 16 2012, 04:56 PM

102 posts

Hi, any idea to travel from Tung Chung (NP 360) to airport?? buy bus or MTR??
lucaswjk
post Nov 16 2012, 07:26 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(andytan18 @ Nov 16 2012, 04:56 PM)
both oso can, but bus will be recommended...
high frequency, faster, nearer, and cheaper... just goto citygate bus station
mugenz
post Nov 16 2012, 10:58 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Depends... Bus will be cheaper choice.

But because we over shopped and lots of luggage... We took cab. It's very near to airport only..

Cost like rm6 like dat...
maru
post Nov 17 2012, 02:01 AM

1,191 posts

just take mrt...few station then reach airport d

Added on November 17, 2012, 2:02 am
QUOTE(y_owez @ Nov 14 2012, 11:17 AM)
macau hotel - venetian yea? heheh
u can try brows.gif

This post has been edited by maru: Nov 17 2012, 02:02 AM
straw
post Nov 17 2012, 11:43 AM

266 posts

Hi, any1 here have booked hotel, one room but 3ppls stay? Will they actually check?

Email-ed them, mostly they recommand family type room which is average per nite +-hkd2500. My budget RM2K for 4nites.

Deluxe type they replied only can stay 2ppls.

cynnz
post Nov 17 2012, 02:36 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(straw @ Nov 17 2012, 11:43 AM)
Hi, any1 here have booked hotel, one room but 3ppls stay? Will they actually check?

Email-ed them, mostly they recommand family type room which is average per nite +-hkd2500. My budget RM2K for 4nites.

Deluxe type they replied only can stay 2ppls.

there are some hostel or motel which have 3 person room ... last time stayed at Best Hotel (Jordan)... 3 person's room...i think 7 nights for hkd4000...so you do the math smile.gif hehe... unless you are looking for high end hotel then different lar ..
l.jessie1268
post Nov 17 2012, 08:49 PM

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Nov 16 2012, 04:10 PM)
any backpacker hotel recommended to stay in hk  ?

tsim sha shui or mongkok ?
I stayed at golden crown guest house, TST on oct 2012.
The room is quite clean.
I booked family room for 4 person about HKD700.
alwinc
post Nov 18 2012, 02:14 PM

786 posts

Planned to go Disneyland on 21-Nov. When i checked the weather that day, "Mainly cloudy with one or two rain patches."

Wanna ask if still advisable to go on that day?

129 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.1017sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:30 AM