129 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Travel All About Hong Kong V3, A place to share things about Hong Kong

tulufun
post Jul 25 2012, 04:57 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(cynnz @ Jul 25 2012, 04:35 PM)
Yes there is bus A21 from Nathan Road to HKIA...direct bus ...

for me, HK is for shopping and shopping and shopping...haha..besides Ocean Park, Disneyland..you can visit NP360, The Peak,  Avenue of Star...

I think Day 2, you wont spend that long at NP360 and Citygate..maybe can have some other plan for evening / night...

Day 3 & 4, if you are into shopping, can go to shopping mall...or even ladies street, fa yuen street etc...

For the peak try to go on weekdays coz weekends packed  rclxub.gif

Casual clothes depends what category you are talking, for men/lady? Looking for casual and cheap i think H&M is good choice coz really too cheap ... not sure if H&M, Zara etc stil having summer sales coz their sales just started when i was there end of last month for shopping...

Tag is slightly cheaper than here, Tissot also slightly cheaper..not sure bout Casio as I dont fancy Casio too.. smile.gif
Slightly cheaper meaning after deducting VAT? How do I get VAT waived ?
Looking at the depreciating RM against HKD, would the savings be eroded by the time I travel in Oct? rclxub.gif
cynnz
post Jul 25 2012, 05:39 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(tulufun @ Jul 25 2012, 04:57 PM)
Slightly cheaper meaning after deducting VAT? How do I get VAT waived ?
Looking at the depreciating RM against HKD, would the savings be eroded by the time I travel in Oct? rclxub.gif
HK is tax free hence there is no VAT to be deducted yea smile.gif

Oh you are going only in Oct...Oct not much sales...the sales will be only on winter clothes (unless you wanna buy winter clothes)...

Hmm it depends on the rate too...I bought my Tag last year Oct, KL price was 6.5k...i bought it at 5.8k... Bought my Tissot last month...KL price was 1.9k...i bought it at 1.5k... you see the difference now? hehe smile.gif)
NicholasMY
post Jul 25 2012, 08:50 PM

hi all,

malaysian here. going to hong kong.

i have some HKD on hand. converted from RM at rate RM100 = HKD 244.0347

will be converted back to RM after few weeks later. at those money changer counter in malaysia.

how to check the rates ?

here ?
http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?tpl=exchangerates

is that a sure will loss ?

anyway which i can do to reduce the loss ?
-is that possible i convert to RM at hong kong ?

Thanks for advice !
activez
post Jul 25 2012, 10:03 PM

186 posts

for me, HK is for shopping and shopping and shopping...haha..besides Ocean Park, Disneyland..you can visit NP360, The Peak,  Avenue of Star...

I think Day 2, you wont spend that long at NP360 and Citygate..maybe can have some other plan for evening / night...

Day 3 & 4, if you are into shopping, can go to shopping mall...or even ladies street, fa yuen street etc...

Casual clothes depends what category you are talking, for men/lady? Looking for casual and cheap i think H&M is good choice coz really too cheap ... not sure if H&M, Zara etc stil having summer sales coz their sales just started when i was there end of last month for shopping...

Tag is slightly cheaper than here, Tissot also slightly cheaper..not sure bout Casio as I dont fancy Casio too.. smile.gif
Thanks for info. smile.gif
ryan18
post Jul 25 2012, 10:21 PM

2,406 posts

if im not mistaken around HKD300+ can get a casio g-shock
shortleg88
post Jul 26 2012, 09:12 AM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

If going around end of January won't have any sale besides winter clothing? If so what a bummer, thought of shopping for new CNY clothes next year there.

Will H&M only selling winter clothes too? or there'll be casual wear and stuff like that.
ccgenius
post Jul 26 2012, 09:32 AM

1,349 posts

QUOTE(NicholasMY @ Jul 25 2012, 08:50 PM)
hi all,

malaysian here. going to hong kong.

i have some HKD on hand. converted from RM at rate RM100 = HKD 244.0347

will be converted back to RM after few weeks later. at those money changer counter in malaysia.

how to check the rates ?
here ?
http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?tpl=exchangerates
is that a sure will loss ?

anyway which i can do to reduce the loss ?
-is that possible i convert to RM at hong kong ?

Thanks for advice !
RM is worth less outside Malaysia..

i saw the rate in HK really very bad..

change in Malaysia u get better rates..

my point of view..

NicholasMY
post Jul 26 2012, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(ccgenius @ Jul 26 2012, 09:32 AM)
RM is worth less outside Malaysia..

i saw the rate in HK really very bad..

change in Malaysia u get better rates..

my point of view..
i see. thanks for your advice !
tulufun
post Jul 26 2012, 01:00 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(cynnz @ Jul 25 2012, 05:39 PM)
HK is tax free hence there is no VAT to be deducted yea smile.gif

Oh you are going only in Oct...Oct not much sales...the sales will be only on winter clothes (unless you wanna buy winter clothes)...

Hmm it depends on the rate too...I bought my Tag last year Oct, KL price was 6.5k...i bought it at 5.8k... Bought my Tissot last month...KL price was 1.9k...i bought it at 1.5k... you see the difference now? hehe smile.gif)
thanks for yr info. where to buy tissot?
phenally
post Jul 26 2012, 02:24 PM

116 posts

where to shop besides those in open air market , eg ladies market etc?
any recommended shopping mall?

btw will be travelling alone next week thu-sat... anyone in HK want to meet up ?
cynnz
post Jul 26 2012, 08:24 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(tulufun @ Jul 26 2012, 01:00 PM)
thanks for yr info. where to buy tissot?
you can buy from tissot shop...i bought mine at harbour city's tissot outlet smile.gif

QUOTE(phenally @ Jul 26 2012, 02:24 PM)
where to shop besides those in open air market , eg ladies market etc?
any recommended shopping mall?

btw will be travelling alone next week thu-sat... anyone in HK want to meet up ?
shopping mall there are many..depends what you are looking for...if want more branded can go to timesquare at causeway bay or go to harbour city at tsim sha tsui...
tulufun
post Jul 26 2012, 09:02 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(cynnz @ Jul 26 2012, 08:24 PM)
you can buy from tissot shop...i bought mine at harbour city's tissot outlet smile.gif
shopping mall there are many..depends what you are looking for...if want more branded can go to timesquare at causeway bay or go to harbour city at tsim sha tsui...
Tq. Another silly question, in kl, which tissot shop u use as benchmark and at what disc rate?

carpathia
post Jul 26 2012, 11:07 PM

2,619 posts

Ok - i plan to go HK to bring wifey to shop and eat. what are the best shopping places that i must go ? and best place to stay ?

day 1- women's street

day 2 - causeway bay, mongkok

day 3 ?

day 4 ?
cynnz
post Jul 27 2012, 12:00 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(tulufun @ Jul 26 2012, 09:02 PM)
Tq. Another silly question, in kl, which tissot shop u use as benchmark and at what disc rate?
you can try mid valley GF there is a Tissot shop there...their price quite standard..not sure bout disc..but if you have frens working in Tissot, maybe they can help u to get 30% discount smile.gif

QUOTE(carpathia @ Jul 26 2012, 11:07 PM)
Ok - i plan to go HK to bring wifey to shop and eat. what are the best shopping places that i must go ? and best place to stay ?

day 1- women's street

day 2 - causeway bay, mongkok

day 3 ?

day 4 ?
Day 1 - Ladies Street, its at Mongkok..hence you may also go to Fa Yuen Street if you want coz its next to each other...

Day 2 - Causeway Bay is at HK island...Mongkok you can move back to Day 1...Causeway Bay you can go Timesquare..i personally think its nice place...everything they have there... Or can go to Central too...

Day 3 - Can go to Tsim Sha Tsui, Harbour City is also a very big shopping mall...

Day 4 - Depends what else you wanna do smile.gif

Staying around Mongkok / TST / JOrdan i think is all convenient...if you wana stay at HK island, a bit more expensive lor smile.gif Yau Ma Tei also ok...can go to temple street too...but nothing much to buy lar..just like our petaling street smile.gif
activez
post Jul 27 2012, 08:14 AM

186 posts

what about other watch brands like Longines? cheaper in HK ?
cougar richard
post Jul 29 2012, 01:49 PM

I want money
1,007 posts

any budget analog watch around RM 300 worth to take a look?

which place?
Scopio
post Jul 29 2012, 07:11 PM

♥ Need Love ♥
807 posts

QUOTE(Scopio @ Jul 25 2012, 03:03 PM)
hi all.. which hotel/guest house is better ar?? i got a few list over here ler..

Lucky hotel
Carlton guest house
Las vegas guest house
New Chung King Mansion Guest House
Garden guest house
any1 stay at these places b4??
cynnz
post Jul 29 2012, 07:48 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(activez @ Jul 27 2012, 08:14 AM)
what about other watch brands like Longines? cheaper in HK ?
not sure bout longines though..never really take a look at longines smile.gif

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Jul 29 2012, 01:49 PM)
any budget analog watch around RM 300 worth to take a look?

which place?
not sure bout that but can always check around at their outlet or boutique, or city chain also have discounts sometimes..

QUOTE(Scopio @ Jul 29 2012, 07:11 PM)
any1 stay at these places b4??
no..
kimmiz
post Jul 31 2012, 11:51 AM

165 posts

anyone has any recommendation of hotels to stay at which are below rm200 per night and near to mrt station/ public transport?
mugenz
post Jul 31 2012, 01:25 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(kimmiz @ Jul 31 2012, 11:51 AM)
anyone has any recommendation of hotels to stay at which are below rm200 per night and near to mrt station/ public transport?
quite hard for forumers to recommend you coz price varies by season.

below rm200 hotel is quite little. Do check those bridal tea house franchise/chain. Not best choice but suits your budget.

do check Casa hotel, its nearby to MRT. But possible to get rm200 if u book early and out of peak season.

Besides that, there are plenty of hostel that offer below rm200.. Go agoda to find out more.

129 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:54 PM