Malaysia freshie salary in 1983 vs 2010, purchasing power really dropped!
replymela
Feb 14 2012, 07:20 PM
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Feb 14 2012, 07:17 PM) i got som frens. com here to work from another state. rent outside, hav to send money to parents bck home. for those people, budget is really tight. & his spending style edi quite kedekut.... thats the ideal life for rcracer
rcracer
Feb 14 2012, 07:20 PM
QUOTE(replymela @ Feb 14 2012, 12:18 PM) who can afford that  ask ktards, most still staying in parents house. true story , but it's the government's fault our people are so dumb, all from education. keeping people dumb so they can rule for centuries /k/ tards mostly kids lah, and no one ever admits they have money, ever! but like i said SnP are being done and closed at those prices, no slowing
replymela
Feb 14 2012, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(rcracer @ Feb 14 2012, 07:20 PM) /k/ tards mostly kids lah, and no one ever admits they have money, ever! but like i said SnP are being done and closed at those prices, no slowing my aunt also does SnP lah, its already slowing for KL/mont kiara areas. its very soon that people realise properties are too inflated. you know all the ages of the people that buy property? or you're just assuming everyone is rich just because some speculators are snapping properties
andrekua2
Feb 14 2012, 07:24 PM
I think nowadays freshie salary is quite high. Sometimes even better then me after working 7 years.
However, one thing that differentiate us is how muc difference graduate pay for their studies nowadays. When I was trying to get a higher diploma in IT, it was only 13k for 2 years. Now the figure is quite scary. My sis went for a year in Taylor and my dad was left shaking in disbelief when he was told the tuition fees is in the 20k++ for a year not inclusive of the monthly usage for petrol, tolls, meals etc.
rcracer
Feb 14 2012, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(replymela @ Feb 14 2012, 12:22 PM) my aunt also does SnP lah, its already slowing for KL/mont kiara areas. its very soon that people realise properties are too inflated. you know all the ages of the people that buy property? or you're just assuming everyone is rich just because some speculators are snapping properties fuuu you know mont kiara kl 1 mil also not enough. now only slowing means all those years before that people and reports say we no money is tipu?
wlcling
Feb 14 2012, 07:26 PM
last time to be a graduate is like being a phd holder today
empire23
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(replymela @ Feb 14 2012, 07:18 PM) who can afford that  ask ktards, most still staying in parents house. true story , but it's the government's fault our people are so dumb, all from education. keeping people dumb so they can rule for centuries I went through the same education everyone went through. It is up to the individual and above all their parents and surrounding culture to instill a love of thought. How many parents these days read to their kids? Most just turn the TV on and let it do the parenting. I got TV for 30 minutes a day, then we read for an hour before we slept in my house. In the Ray Bradbury classic, it is not the government who has chosen to take liberties away from people, but people themselves, wanting easier entertainment, more mindless lives, less burden from thought and so forth that took away their own liberties.
tech3910
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Feb 14 2012, 07:24 PM) I think nowadays freshie salary is quite high. Sometimes even better then me after working 7 years. However, one thing that differentiate us is how muc difference graduate pay for their studies nowadays. When I was trying to get a higher diploma in IT, it was only 13k for 2 years. Now the figure is quite scary. My sis went for a year in Taylor and my dad was left shaking in disbelief when he was told the tuition fees is in the 20k++ for a year not inclusive of the monthly usage for petrol, tolls, meals etc. ei....20+k fees is considered very cheap edi la...
fantasy1989
Feb 14 2012, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(wlcling @ Feb 14 2012, 07:26 PM) last time to be a graduate is like being a phd holder today when my father time ..holding SPM like degree already
poyohebat
Feb 14 2012, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Feb 14 2012, 07:26 PM) ei....20+k fees is considered very cheap edi la... a year that's cheap? IPTA only 2000+ now that's cheap.
replymela
Feb 14 2012, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(rcracer @ Feb 14 2012, 07:25 PM) fuuu you know mont kiara kl 1 mil also not enough. now only slowing means all those years before that people and reports say we no money is tipu? only the rich are buying lah, the rich are getting richer i noticed. the upper middle class is shrinking or upgrading to upper class whilst the lower middle class and poor increases. becoming like pagoda. people complaining are fresh grads who earn <5k? those people buying million dollar properties are not in this category
vanpersie91
Feb 14 2012, 07:29 PM
tak apa, next election bring down BN, I wanna be representative of /ktard to compete next GE
poyohebat
Feb 14 2012, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(vanpersie91 @ Feb 14 2012, 07:29 PM) tak apa, next election bring down BN, I wanna be representative of /ktard to compete next GE What.... you think other party can increase salary just like that?
gs20
Thing sure is lot difference after 30 years. Just sharing some info I know within my field: During the 80s, a low ANSI (<1k ANSI) projector was selling for RM 10k and above. Today, you can get a 2,700 ANSI projector for RM 1,099. During the 80s, a piece of fax machine that consume ink film was selling for RM 3k. Today, the similar model is only retailing for RM 399.
The senior salesman told me, during the 80s, if he manage to sell 2 units of projector, he can go for holiday for the whole month. But today, the commission given out by manufacturer is terrible.
This post has been edited by gs20: Feb 14 2012, 07:32 PM
andrekua2
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Feb 14 2012, 07:26 PM) ei....20+k fees is considered very cheap edi la... You think every family's dd also earn 100k a year aa? Somemore for one son/daughter only. You haven't include the installment payment for vehicle plus this and that. One year exceed 40k for sure.
replymela
Feb 14 2012, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 14 2012, 07:26 PM) I went through the same education everyone went through. It is up to the individual and above all their parents and surrounding culture to instill a love of thought. How many parents these days read to their kids? Most just turn the TV on and let it do the parenting. I got TV for 30 minutes a day, then we read for an hour before we slept in my house. In the Ray Bradbury classic, it is not the government who has chosen to take liberties away from people, but people themselves, wanting easier entertainment, more mindless lives, less burden from thought and so forth that took away their own liberties. most parents are working hard trying to sustain the middle class lifestyle that they have thats why there isnt time for all that leisure. read to their kids is more of a western thing where they dont have to OT so much. luckily there was much interaction in my family so we're fine QUOTE(poyohebat @ Feb 14 2012, 07:31 PM) What.... you think other party can increase salary just like that? i think they can help set up trade unions ?
SUSbigMEECH
Feb 14 2012, 07:38 PM
eh still got people paying 2k salary is it? i thought the minimum starting salary nowadays is 4k.. at least for engineering.. which dog work you do get 2k salary?
tech3910
Feb 14 2012, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(replymela @ Feb 14 2012, 07:34 PM) most parents are working hard trying to sustain the middle class lifestyle that they have thats why there isnt time for all that leisure. read to their kids is more of a western thing where they dont have to OT so much. luckily there was much interaction in my family so we're fine i think they can help set up trade unions ? yet got money to buy ipad & just throw to their kids. ironic....
replymela
Feb 14 2012, 07:42 PM
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Feb 14 2012, 07:39 PM) yet got money to buy ipad & just throw to their kids. ironic.... nah i notice most parents have ipads/iphone for their work, their children always borrow their gadgets to play. you all see them holding it and automatically think its theirs. this is the case for my relatives, they earn 5 digits too.
empire23
Feb 14 2012, 07:45 PM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(replymela @ Feb 14 2012, 07:34 PM) most parents are working hard trying to sustain the middle class lifestyle that they have thats why there isnt time for all that leisure. read to their kids is more of a western thing where they dont have to OT so much. luckily there was much interaction in my family so we're fine My mother used to work at MBF as a secretary and was studying law at the same time. She'd be back by 7, after 7:30 we'd do mathematics for 1 hour, we'd get into the bedroom at 8:30, read till 9:30 and then sleep. She'd wake up for her own study later once we were asleep and she'd study till 12. Then she'd wake up and get me and my sister ready for school at 6am. We have to admit it. Parents are just lazy these days and kids themselves rather not spend time with their folks.