Malaysia freshie salary in 1983 vs 2010, purchasing power really dropped!
empire23
Feb 14 2012, 07:14 PM
Team Island Hopper
I think the problem is more complex than mere government and public policy.
It comes down to many things,
1) Oversupply of graduates with little in terms of trade skills. Overemphasis on the IT wave 2) Our economic position as a source of cheaper skilled labour 3) A lack of investment in practical skills and too much emphasis on academia 4) Lack of collective bargaining arrangements and unions for workers. We just aren't interested
empire23
Feb 14 2012, 07:26 PM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(replymela @ Feb 14 2012, 07:18 PM) who can afford that  ask ktards, most still staying in parents house. true story , but it's the government's fault our people are so dumb, all from education. keeping people dumb so they can rule for centuries I went through the same education everyone went through. It is up to the individual and above all their parents and surrounding culture to instill a love of thought. How many parents these days read to their kids? Most just turn the TV on and let it do the parenting. I got TV for 30 minutes a day, then we read for an hour before we slept in my house. In the Ray Bradbury classic, it is not the government who has chosen to take liberties away from people, but people themselves, wanting easier entertainment, more mindless lives, less burden from thought and so forth that took away their own liberties.
empire23
Feb 14 2012, 07:45 PM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(replymela @ Feb 14 2012, 07:34 PM) most parents are working hard trying to sustain the middle class lifestyle that they have thats why there isnt time for all that leisure. read to their kids is more of a western thing where they dont have to OT so much. luckily there was much interaction in my family so we're fine My mother used to work at MBF as a secretary and was studying law at the same time. She'd be back by 7, after 7:30 we'd do mathematics for 1 hour, we'd get into the bedroom at 8:30, read till 9:30 and then sleep. She'd wake up for her own study later once we were asleep and she'd study till 12. Then she'd wake up and get me and my sister ready for school at 6am. We have to admit it. Parents are just lazy these days and kids themselves rather not spend time with their folks.
empire23
Feb 14 2012, 07:51 PM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(hirano @ Feb 14 2012, 07:45 PM) if know dad already shaking head at the fees, then why still got to Taylors? Should already know Taylors only for richfags... Maybe he is gambling that a better qual means more money. There are a lot of factors at play. My father die die oso wan me go oberseas to study. Maybe it's a face thing.
empire23
Feb 14 2012, 08:23 PM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Feb 14 2012, 08:08 PM) True. I got one uncle who sent 2 of his son oversea because of their good result of which one is earning more than RM15k per month. Another uncle of mine was so loaded that he also sent his son oversea despite having so so result. Sometimes, parents do need to question themselves as well. Like my dad's friend who sent his son oversea and graduate with Master in Business or Accounting, but wanted him to come back for him being the eldest. When go interview, the company boss said I want to hire you but can't afford your salary. Later go work for his dad in something totally not related... Wasted few hundred K. That was almost 10 years ago. Honestly I don't think my old man thought it over a lot. But good thing I figured it out and didn't come back so soon. Probably will go back, but I figure that I'll aim for more experience.
empire23
Feb 14 2012, 08:54 PM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(liverpool2020 @ Feb 14 2012, 08:41 PM) malay got bumi right.. so dun worry  I'm not sure how bumi rights add to my pay packet, but do tell, do tell.
empire23
Feb 14 2012, 08:59 PM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(liverpool2020 @ Feb 14 2012, 08:55 PM) not salary .. but u noe i noe.. I don't really. Considering, maybe except ASB which I pay off by loan, I don't think there are any major bumi things I access. Even at that, it's just money for when I come back.
empire23
Feb 14 2012, 09:08 PM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 14 2012, 09:00 PM) people like you should be heading our GLCs  Nah, I'll just become worse than Taib. Plus I find my job here challenging in a skill sense, rather than just a pure effort sense.
empire23
Feb 14 2012, 09:21 PM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 14 2012, 09:10 PM) haha taib skill level is >9000 I'll beat Taib so bad that I'll buy over Sarawak and burn 1000 ringgit in front of every citizen. Because I can.